Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
sandymount - events festivals folklore in dublin



Events, festivals, concerts and folklore close to DUBLIN


The Eastern province of Ireland is Leinster made of up counties Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow. The actual name of Leinster derives from the name of a Celtic tribe, the Laighin. This tribe was known to be the first Celtic tribe to invade Ireland and who powered the areas of Carlow, Kilkenny and Wexford. Some of the earliest recorded tribes in Leinster was the sons of Chu Chorb called Nio Corb, Corbmac Losc, Messin Corb, and Cairpre Cluichechair. Beside Leinster was the fifth province of Ireland, Mide, and was where the High King of Ireland was located, at the Hill of Tara. Today the province of Mide no longer exists and is now part of Leinster. Over centauries many battles had taken place in Leinster between tribes and any invading forces, such as the Vikings and the Normans. One known dispute was between Dermot MacMurrough who at the time was the King of Leinster, and that of Rory O'Conner, the High King of Ireland. The dispute resulted in MacMurrough requestingistance from the Anglo-Normans, a move that resulted in a loss of support from the Irish.