Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
venaria reale - excursions points of interest attractions in venaria reale
Promotions found !
Look in the IdeasForTravels home page

 architectural site VENARIA REALE

architectural site
VENARIA REALE

Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to VENARIA REALE Fiano Rivoli Torino

PALAZZINA DI STUPINIGI

PALAZZINA DI STUPINIGI  Apri
Loc. PIAZZA PRINCIPE AMEDEO, 7D, STUPINIGI TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
16 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Nichelino, Moncalieri, Torino
The construction of the Palazzina di Caccia began in 1729 and designed by Filippo Juvarra which redraws the entire territory of the Commandery ( first donation from the Boss Emanuele Filiberto the Order of Saints Maurice and Lazarus ), and continues until the end of the eighteenth century . with work on extension and completion of Benedetto Alfieri and other architects such as John Thomas Prunotto , Ignatius Birago Borgaro , Ludovico Bo, Ignazio Bertola . Exceptional testimony to the spirit of the late Juvarra and Benedetto Alfieri , reflected and found in Rococo International royal residences in Europe. And ' place of loisir for hunting in the life of the court of Savoy , sumptuous and refined by the Savoy favorite residence for parties and weddings in the buckets. Eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, appreciated by Napoleon in the early 800 . At the beginning of the twentieth century was chosen as the permanent residence of the Queen Margherita , and since 1919 it is also home to the Museum of Furniture . Constitutes the eminent historical and artistic heritage of Mauritius . Since June 2011, thanks to the coordination of the many support obtained for the restoration and redevelopment of the area, Stupinigi has reopened to the public with the first steps on the green (June 2011) and the internal path in the form of exhibitions ( June 2011) : Stupinigi First Time . Treasure trove , in particular where you can admire the apartment Levante with fixtures and furniture of 700 restored and returned to their former glory. Dall'15 March 2013, the course is enhanced ( Stupinigi . Intermezzo . Works in progress ) from the complete restoration of the Hall of Squires , supported by the Council for the Promotion of Arts and Culture in Turin, and the progression of the restoration : gardens , facades south of S. Hall Hubert, Central Hall and adjoining apartments of the King and Queen. La Palazzina di Caccia is currently involved in a complex restoration site outside on the central and south facades , while work is in progress in the restoration of the decorations in the Hall of Squires and nell'Anticappella of S. Uberto .

CHIESA DI SAN FILIPPO NERI

CHIESA DI SAN FILIPPO NERI  Apri
Loc. CHIERI - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
22 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Monte Aman, Superga, Poirino
The Church of St. Philip Blacks is still the largest church in Turin. Monument of national prestige, is located in Via Maria Vittoria 5, at the center of an urban fabric of the most significant in Italy. Commissioned by the Congregation of the Fathers of the Oratory of San Filippo Neri in the second half of 600 is the work of Guarino Guarini and Filippo Juvarra . The monument is composed of the Main Church, Oratory, from the House of the Fathers. The underground home to a cemetery crypt dating back to 1600 where the rests of the Founding Fathers, the citizens of the city center and some of that time fallen in the Napoleonic wars. The crypt was restarurata in 2006 and is open to public tours at certain times of the year. The promotion and enhancement of monumental strttura are handled by the San Filippo.

BASILICA DI SUPERGA

BASILICA DI SUPERGA  Apri
Loc. STRADA DELLA BASILICA DI SUPERGA TORINO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
14 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Monte Aman, Torino, Chieri
The history of the church is to be traced back to September 2 , 1706, when the Duke of Savoy Vittorio Amedeo II and the Prince of Carignano Eugene of Savoy went up the hill to observe Turin besieged by the French and Spanish . Vittorio Amedeo , kneeling before an old pylon, swore that , if victorious , he would build a monument to Madonna.E it was so from dawn until the wee hours of the afternoon of September 7 clashed in the fields at Lucento and Our Lady of country French and Piedmontese armies , and the victory went to the latter 's entry in the sumptuous basilica portico supported by eight massive Corinthian columns. At the end of the battle, even before the end of the ongoing war against Louis XIV ( Spanish Succession War ) , Victor Amadeus , later crowned King of Sicily , he dismissed the vote and entrusted the design of the building to Filippo Juvarra ( 1711 ) . The building of the future basilica began July 20, 1717 , and lasted for fourteen years. The role of impresario was entrusted to Pietro Filippo Somazzi plasterer , who , as well as a part of the decorations in stucco, was also in charge of some masonry .

WWF: OASI CASCINA BELLEZZA

WWF: OASI CASCINA BELLEZZA  Apri
Loc. POIRINO TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
30 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Chieri, Moncalieri, Monte Aman
  Brochure PDF
Cascina Bellezza is located within a Site of Community Importance in the municipality of Poirino (Turin). The oasis for 4 hectares immersed in the countryside south of Turin , in the municipality of Poirino . This is an area originally intended for the poplar with a pond in the center in the shape of a horseshoe , typical of fish ponds in this area. The pond and surrounding grounds have been the subject of a massive naturalization in 2001 that returned the wetland and its functionality has transformed the agricultural land in a heterogeneous mosaic of reforestation , hedgerows , meadows and fallow ideal venue for numerous species of flora and fauna. The wetland tem of Cascina Bellezza has an exceptionally high number of amphibians : there are nine species , among which the Italian spadefoot toad , which is present here with a stable population and that each year is subject to a specific monitoring , only one of its kind in Italy. environment Cascina Bellezza is located within the Ponds Poirino - Favari , a large area of 1845 hectares in the south- east of the hill of Turin , between the towns of Santena , Poirino and Villastellone . This protected area was established by ' European , precisely to protect the last breeding sites of the Italian spadefoot toad . The SIC is characterized by a predominantly agricultural landscape ( with maize crops , cereals, vegetables and poplars , including the famous asparagus ) and poorly urbanized , to the exclusion of some farm buildings and blocks the small town of Favari ( Poirino , TO) the latter , however, in recent rapid expansion .

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE TRE DENTI - FREIDOUR

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE TRE DENTI - FREIDOUR  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE DI INTERESSE PROVINCIALE DEL MONTE TRE DENTI - FREIDOUR, TORINO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
31 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Avigliana, Piossasco, Sant'Ambrogio di Torino
The mountain of Cumiana The unmistakable profile of the crest of the Three Teeth with its outpost, the Fortress Two Teeth, it's definitely an attractive framework for landscape and man's imprint is evident in the Park there are vast spaces in which it captures a naturalness almost unthinkable, so a short drive from Turin. Flora and fauna are characteristic of the mountainous area and it can be observed, depending on the season, primrose, white and pink carpets of anemones, lush woods, ungulates and birds of various species. Inside the park you can hike by following the recommended itineraries or simply enjoy the beauty of the place with a walk and then relax and enjoy a good meal at one of the picnic areas.

PARCO NATURALE DI STUPINIGI

PARCO NATURALE DI STUPINIGI  Apri
Loc. NICHELINO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
18 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Stupinigi, Moncalieri, Piossasco
Just ten kilometers from Turin, is the building of Stupinigi, erected in the first half of the eighteenth century by the architect Juvarra. The hunting lodge and resort, built by the Savoy, is the nucleus around which develops the natural park. A short distance from the building, which now houses the Museum of Art and Furniture, you will find the Castelvecchio, an ancient medieval manor house in good condition.

PALAZZO REALE TORINO

     

PALAZZO REALE TORINO  Apri
Loc. ROYAL PALACE OF TURIN, PIAZZETTA REALE, TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
9 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Superga, Moncalieri, Monte Aman
The Royal Palace of Turin was the first and most important of the Savoy residences in Piedmont , the theater of politics of the House of Savoy for at least three centuries. It is located in the heart of the city, in the central Piazza Castello, from which branch off the main streets of the historic center : Via Po, Via Roma, Via Garibaldi and Via Pietro Micca . The heart of the Savoy court , symbol of the power of the dynasty and , together with the other royal residences around Turin , like the Palace of Venaria Reale, the Hunting Palace of Stupinigi or the Castello del Valentino , is part of the assets d by ' such as Unesco World Heritage Site. The building , designed to royal residence , was designed in the late sixteenth and early seventeenth century by Ascanio Vittozzi . The latter's death , the work was entrusted , during the reign of Queen Christine of France, to Charles of Castellamonte . The facade has a central part flanked by two wings higher , according to the seventeenth-century project of Carlo Morello . The main floor rooms are decorated by allegoric images that celebrate the royal dynasty , hand-made by different artists. At the end of the seventeenth century Daniel Seiter is called to paint the ceiling of the gallery , which is also called the Daniel Gallery , Guarino Guarini and builds the Chapel of the Holy Shroud to house the precious relic . In the eighteenth century it is called, for some interventions of change, the architect Filippo Juvarra. He realizes for the Palazzo La Scala of scissors consists of double ramps and the Chinese Cabinet decorated by the eighteenth-century frescoes by Claudio Francesco Beaumont, court artist during the reign of Carlo Emanuele III. In the nineteenth century restoration and modification are entrusted to Ernesto Melano and Pelagius Palagi inspired by antiquity and the Egyptian culture. The Palagi realized the huge gate with statues of Castor and Pollux , which closes the square in front of the Palace . Shortly after the unification of Italy is made the Grand Staircase on the draft Domenico Ferri. She moved the capital to Rome , the Palace Museum is transformed from a house to the public. The Garden was redesigned in the late seventeenth century by Andre' Le Notre with different basins and picturesque paths adorned with fountains and statues. The Garden was rearranged and restored over the years by different architects . The balustrade is the work of John the Baptist Casella Monora and Mattia Solari ( 1660 ) .

MOLE ANTONELIANA

     

MOLE ANTONELIANA  Apri
Loc. VIA MONTEBELLO, 20, TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
10 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Monte Aman, Superga, Moncalieri
  Brochure PDF
The Mole is the symbol of the city of Turin. Located in the center , almost close to the neighborhood Vanchiglia , it is named after the architect who conceived it , Alessandro Antonelli. It reaches a height of 167.5 meters , so it is still currently the highest building in the central city of Turin profile , despite the ongoing controversy about the construction of the Skyscraper Skyscraper Intesa Sanpaolo and the Piedmont Region. For a long time , the Mole was also the tallest brick structure in Europe , but during the twentieth century of major renovations reinforced the structure with reinforced concrete and steel beams , so it can no longer be considered a structure exclusively in masonry. Inside the building today houses the National Museum of Cinema , that only in 2008 was visited by 532,196 people , making it one of the most popular museums . The shape of the monument is special and unique , the daring and unique technology and nineteenth-century architectural technique . The massive bottom is brick pyramid with a square base , it rises above a large dome and square curve , with masonry walls smooth and elongated . The shell of the same it is also the structural scheme , is formed by two thin walls ( 12 cm thick) separated from each other by a distance of 2 meters . At the entrance of the pyramid there is a portico with columns in neoclassical style, while above the dome there is an additional plan colonnade ( the so-called Temple ) and a spire or a cusp ( then internally reinforced steel ) , a very developed in height , inspired by neo-Gothic architecture . For this reason , it was considered a bizarre attempt to mediate between neoclassical and neo-Gothic , then mixed with technological innovations : the same Antonelli already experimented with the use of iron , used in all its structural potential , but without neglecting the traditional architectural language . The so-called Temple ( about halfway up , at a height of 85.24 m) is reached via an elevator that goes back to the center of the dome , giving visitors an insight into internal to 360 degrees. Square-shaped and supported by columns 21 +21 , is on two floors , where the tourists have access only to the lower one . The rest of the spire , now inaccessible to tourists, ending up with 3 circular terraces to 8 columns , then another 3 small circular metal , plus another 6 small circular reinforced concrete up to the 12-point star on top

GOLF CLUB: LA MADRIA

GOLF CLUB: LA MADRIA  Apri
Loc. FIANO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
12 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Cittā Metropolitana di Torino, Venaria Reale, Rivoli
The Circolo Golf Torino was founded in 1920 on the initiative of eleven people. So much desire and passion in the years of reconstruction after the First World War. First seat in the lower Canavese, near St. Maurice, in the middle of a heath also used for military exercises. In 1924, the Torino moves to the trotters of Mirafiori and affiliated to the Italian Golf Federation. Nine holes in sharing with the horse races. We need a more specific location, and then chooses the new field to the Colle della Maddalena. But that only comes true in 1956, the present location of The Herd, the regional park of the most beautiful and fascinating of the Po valley, formerly a hunting reserve of the Savoy, a few steps from the Baroque splendor of the Royal Palace of Venaria Reale. Among the many pages of his golfing history remembers the Italian Open in 1999, organized and hosted by the Circle (see photo), under the chairmanship of enlightened 'engineer Sergio Pininfarina and the 70th Italian Open 2014 Lindt . During the last twenty years there has been increased activity and the emergence of an increasing number of samples, growth is also due to a policy mindful of the Youth Club. The Palmares of the Circolo Golf Torino - The Herd is the richest and titrated in Italy. In its wall (see photo above) are present successes in all major trophies at the international level, as well as all races and national competitions. At the Torino are at home the brothers Edoardo and Francesco Molinari, international standards and standard-bearers of Italy (as well as the Club itself) in major international championship golf. A combination of the two samples that were born and raised in the course of Turin, which has resulted in the Golden Circle the World Cup 2009 and the 2010 and 2012 Ryder Cup (European team). Two trophies that very few in the world can boast the bulletin board of your own Club House ..

MUSEO DI ARTE ORIENTALE TORINO

MUSEO DI ARTE ORIENTALE TORINO  Apri
Loc. VIA SAN DOMENICO, 11, TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
8 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Monte Aman, Superga, Venaria Reale
The MAO - Museum of Oriental Art is one of the newest museums of Turin. Situated in the city center , is located in the historic Palazzo Mazzonis and houses one of the most interesting Asian art collections in Italy. Opened in 2008, it was visited by over ten thousand people in the first three days of opening . Inaugurated on 5 December 2008, the MAO - Museum of Oriental Art of Turin is one of the newest museums in entering the already rich cultural context of Turin. From time local institutions were wondering about how best to organize oriental collections , previously preserved in the Museo Civico d'Arte Antica , and with the contribution of Regione Piemonte, the Compagnia di San Paolo and the Agnelli Foundation , during the early twenty-first century it has come to a considerable number of exhibits. A concrete support was provided by the City of Turin , which has made available to the nascent museum complex the valuable Palace Mazzonis . The museum is chaired by Franco Ricca, professor of quantum mechanics, for years a passionate lover of oriental art .

FAI: CASTELLO DI MASINO

FAI: CASTELLO DI MASINO  Apri
Loc. MASINO TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
41 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Cascine Rossi, Cerrione, Santhiā
The Castle, overlooking the large plain of the Canavese and immersed in a huge romantic park, located on a hill in front of the long barrier of the Serra moraine of Ivrea. Inhabited by Valperga accounts for ten centuries, tells the story of Piedmont and Italian through its many rooms monumental, such as frescoed halls and richly furnished between the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, rooms for ambassadors, secluded lounges and apartments of Madame Royale. Among the most fascinating there is the ballroom, with large windows that create a perfect harmony between the exterior and interior landscape paintings. No less interesting is the rich collection of carriages of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, for the most part of the family Valperga, preserved in the Palace of Carriages. Like the Castle, the park also has undergone many changes over the centuries. The current configuration is derived from the layout of the park according to the English from the first half of the nineteenth century, which led to the construction of the road of the 22 laps extraordinary scenic route.

MUSEO EGIZIO DI TORINO

MUSEO EGIZIO DI TORINO  Apri
Loc. VIA ACCADEMIA DELLE SCIENZE, 6, TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
9 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Superga, Moncalieri, Monte Aman
The Museum of Egyptian Antiquities in Turin, better known simply as the Egyptian Museum , is considered , for the value of the finds , the most important in the world after Cairo , as well as the most important in Italy and Europe, followed by that of Florence . At the beginning of 800, the aftermath of the Napoleonic campaigns in Egypt , broke out in Europe a real fashion for collecting of Egyptian antiquities . Drovetti Bernardino , Piedmont , Consul General of France during the occupation in Egypt , he collected during this period more than 8,000 pieces, including statues, sarcophagi , mummies, papyri , amulets and various jewelry . In 1824 King Charles Felix bought this great collection , and joining other artifacts of Classical Antiquities of the House of Savoy , gave birth to the first Egyptian museum in the world. At the end of the 800, the museum's director , Ernesto Schiaparelli started new acquisitions and began personally to conduct major excavations in Egypt. In this way, around the thirties of the 900 , the collection grew to more than 30 000 pieces in a position to testify and explain the most important aspects of Ancient Egypt , from the splendours of the arts to the common objects of daily use. The museum is dedicated solely to Egyptian . Inside you can find mummies, papyrus and everything about Egyptian art (including stuffed animals ) . In the museum there are about 30 thousand pieces covering the period from the Paleolithic to the Coptic .

TORINO

TORINO  Apri
Loc. TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
12 Km from VENARIA REALE
Altitude: 317 mt. a.s.l.  Area Moncalieri, Monte Aman, Superga
  Brochure PDF

Torino e' il capoluogo di regione del Piemonte, quarta citta per numero di abitanti. Si trova sulla riva sinistra del Po' ed e' un grande centro industriale (indistria autmobilistica, siderurgica e metalmeccanica) ma posside anche numerose localita turistiche come Bardonecchia, Sestriere, Claviere e Oulx. Originariamente fu una citta romana (Augusta Taurinorum), in seguito fu sotto il dominio dei Longobardi e dei Franchi. Nel 1563 divenne capitale dello stato dei Savoia e da allora Torino ebbe un fiorente sviluppo economico ed artistico. Divenne successivamente il centro del Risorgimento italiano e dal 1861 al 1865 fu la prima capitale d'Italia. Da vedere: Duomo: si tratta di una chiesa rinascimentale con cappella barocca della Sacra Sindone di Guarini e tre portali in stile toscano. Al suo interno la chiesa e' strutturata in tre navate e conserva sopra l'altare la Sacra Sindone racchiusa all'interno di un'urna d'argento. Chiesa di San Lorenzo: chiesa del 1600 di Guarino Guarini priva di facciata ha una struttura complessa all'interno: possiede una pianta centrale con decori in marmi policromi ed una bellissima cupola. Palazzo Reale: questo palazzo fu costruito nel 1660 e fu reggia dei regnanti sabaudi fino alla fine del 1800. All'interno si possono ammirare sontuose sale che offrono esempi di arredamento dei secoli XVII e XIX. Alle spalle del palazzo sorgono i giardini reali in stile francese realizzati alla fine del 1600. Mole Antonelliana: e' il vero simbolo della citta di Torino; e' alta 167 metri e dalla sua sommita si gode la vista della citta nella sua intierezza. E' stata realizzata nella seconda meta del 1800 da Alessandro Antonelli. Attualmente ospita il Museo Nazionale del Cinema.

SACRA DI SAN MICHELE

SACRA DI SAN MICHELE  Apri
Loc. SACRA DI SAN MICHELE, VIA ALLA SACRA, 14, SANT'AMBROGIO TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
25 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Sant'Ambrogio di Torino, Avigliana, Cittā Metropolitana di Torino
  Brochure PDF
According to some historians , already existed in Roman times , in the place where now stands the abbey , a military garrison that controlled the road to Gaul . Subsequently Lombards also installed a garrison that could serve as a bulwark against the invasion of the Franks. The initial stages of the birth of the holy St. Michael are uncertain and wrapped in alternating history and legendary tales . The oldest historic monaco was a William , who lived at that monastery , and that around the end of the eleventh century , wrote the Chronicon Sancti Michaelis de Coenobii Clusa . In this paper , the date of the founding of the sacred is shown in 966 , but the same monaco , in another passage of his work, states that construction began under the pontificate of Pope Sylvester II ( 999-1003 ), formerly abbot of ' abbey of St. Columban of Bobbio . As regards the date of foundation , some scholars are oriented in the years 999-1002 to identify the time of his birth this abbey , while for others the foundation date should be brought forward to the years 983-987 . In essence then the real origin of the building dates back to the time when the saint lived John Vincent, between the late tenth and early eleventh century. Next to the chapel oldest , Giovanni Vincenzo I realized another which is the central room of the crypt. Scholars tend to attribute this environment to John Vincent as niches , arches and columns reminiscent of Byzantine own similar reasons , and the hermit probably lived in the city of Ravenna or in some dioceses of Ravenna. In the decades since it was built a small monastery that housed a few monks and could accommodate some pilgrim. This construction is due to the patience and the faith of Hugo Montboissier , governor of Aurec -sur -Loire, nell'Alvernia . In the following decades , the structure of the abbey, entrusted to the Benedictines , developed progressively giving shelter to pilgrims and protection for people in the area. In the eleventh century it was in fact built the building of the guest house , detached from the monastery , and able to accommodate the many pilgrims along the Via Francigena , I went up to find physical and spiritual refreshment . A great impetus was given by the abbot of Adverto Lezat (diocese of Toulouse ) called by Hugh of Montboissier to direct the first monastery . Probably the architect William Volpiano realized the church project placed over the three pre-existing . The period covered by this development is between 1015 and 1035.

CAPPELLA DELLA SACRA SINDONE

CAPPELLA DELLA SACRA SINDONE  Apri
Loc. VIA XX SETTEMBRE, 87, TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
9 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Superga, Moncalieri, Monte Aman
The Chapel of the Holy Shroud or the Guarini Chapel is a wonderful architectural work of the architect Guarino Guarini , built in Turin at the end of the seventeenth secolo.La chapel was commissioned to Carlo di Castellamonte by Duke Carlo Emanuele I of Savoy to preserve the precious cloth of the Shroud that the ducal family of Savoy kept for centuries . By the time the projects were modified by the son of Charles, Amedeo di Castellamonte , and then by the Swiss Bernardino Quadri , who was responsible for the design of a building with a square base nestled between the ducal palace ( former bishop's palace and the future royal palace) and the apse of the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist . At the end of the project was entrusted to the priest - architect Guarino Guarini that revolutionized the plant design giving internal circular , elevated to the presbytery and communicating directly with some of the rooms of the Royal Palace . Since 1694 the chapel houses the Shroud. The Chapel of the Holy Shroud , with the altar of Bertola , in a photograph by Giovan Battista Maggi the late nineteenth century In the first half of the nineteenth century the chapel was decorated with some groups of statues on the major characters of the House of Savoy commissioned by King Carlo Alberto. In the night between 11 and 12 April 1997 a fire caused by a short circuit in some equipment restoration , heavily damaged the building and the same shroud is removed from the flames by firefighters smashing in the glass case containing the cassette wood and silver that held the cloth . Today is involved in a major restoration . Externally the chapel looks like a square building that permeates both the Cathedral and the Royal Palace. Above the base stands a polygonal drum brick with 6 large arched windows framed by pilasters and protected by a roof that lies softly on the arches . Above there is an a cappella cover supported by ribs on which they are installed numerous stone urns . Between the ribs emerge softly curved lines that draw oriental numerous openings in a semicircle, to climb up to the end of the dome, a small drum with a circular window and extended structure sights ( unrelated to the original design , which included a spire spiral ) . The dome is designed so as to be higher , due to an optical illusion. It is internally that the genius of the baroque Guarini is realized : the sides of the main altar of the cathedral are two doorways in black marble which introduce two dark stairways with low semicircular steps . At the end of the two staircases you enter vestibules in two parallel circular bordered by black marble columns . From here you enter the chapel, circular , where the center stands the Baroque altar ( by Antonio Bertola ) that he kept in a silver casket and glass , the Shroud . The floor has a drawing in black and white marble that emphasizes the importance of the altar, while large bronze stars embedded in white marble reflect the light coming from above. The stucco decoration of the chapel and its sacristy is due to the plasterer Peter Somazzi .

GRISSINO RUBATA' DEL CHIERESE

GRISSINO RUBATA' DEL CHIERESE  Apri
Loc. CHIERI TO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
23 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Monte Aman, Superga, Poirino
The breadsticks and ironed rubata' are the two well-known typical variations of Turin, worked and molded with different techniques. The breadstick Rubata' Piedmont (literally tumbled) is obtained by rolling, by manual compression on the work table. The term derives from Rubata' Robat, agricultural tool of the past, and with a large cylinder of wood, driven on tilled ground, the flattened by compression. Grissino Rubata' of ChiereseIl Rubata' is therefore a particularly elongated bread or breadsticks. Traditionally kneaded by hand, with the addition of lard or oil and lard, is cooked in a wood oven. The production area is around the Chierese (from Chieri Chieri Poirino and Andezeno). These breadsticks appear with bread on every table, have a leading role with the starters, are chopped in soups, sauces accompany, show all their versatility in sinoire snacks.

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE SAN GIORGIO

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE SAN GIORGIO  Apri
Loc. MONTE SAN GIORGIO, PARCO NATURALE DI INTERESSE PROVINCIALE DEL MONTE SAN GIORGIO, PIOSSASCO TO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
22 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Avigliana, Ravera, Rivoli
A treasure chest of precious natural, historical and cultural A trip out of town worthy of natural interest is definitely one that you can take to the Natural Park of Monte San Giorgio, who, despite being only 20 kilometers from Turin, offers the visitor walks immersed in nature, picnic areas for a relaxing break and for those who wish to carry out free flight, the top of the mountain is a great point of fledging for hang gliding and paragliding. The area allows for continuous use throughout the year for those who love the mysteriousness of the winter forest for lovers of warm weather, being able to see the many colors of flowers and plants and having the opportunity to see the small and large birds found in the park.

PARCO NATURALE LA MANDRIA

PARCO NATURALE LA MANDRIA  Apri
Loc. PARCO REGIONALE LA MANDRIA, VENARIA REALE TO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
2 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Fiano, Rivoli, Torino
The Herd, a park to discover ... La Mandria Park, surrounded by 30 km of wall, boasts a significant historical and architectural heritage thanks to Vittorio Emanuele II, who made his private hunting grounds. In addition to the use of the section of the museum and exhibition and cultural activities of the Castle Village and other historic sites of The Herd, the Park is characterized first and foremost in its specific natural as a unique place where you can enjoy and experience situations experiences rare or completely new: the sensations transmitted from its places of silence, natural smells and dark, the activities of walking / hiking in the woods or biking, from the discovery of wild flora and fauna, the Guided tours to the moors on the trail of understorey vegetation or trees on deposits of fossil remains, the same opportunity, more generally, to seize and dive into the slow pace of becoming natural. This type of use is permitted through free experience alone, or with the aid of suitable routes, reserved for guided tours, and scientific activities organized and led by appropriately trained staff.

CASTELLO DELLA ROTTA

CASTELLO DELLA ROTTA  Apri
Loc. MONCALIERI TO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
16 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Stupinigi, Torino, Nichelino
The Castle Course is an old building of medieval origin located in the town of Moncalieri , near Turin . The castle can be reached from Moncalieri , which is ten kilometers away , through the national road No. 193 of Villastellone : a dusty path , right, leads to a square where stands the old building . The fortified house , in fact , is located in the narrow space between the aforementioned artery and the national highway to Turin , in a plain bounded by several rivers - the Po , the Stellone and Banna - the southern edge of the district town of Moncalieri with that Carignano . The original location of the manor has now resized in a narrow site between two busy streets , south of the city of Piedmont . The manor , when it was built , it was built to defend the bridge over the stream Banna , which passed the Roman road from Pollenzo . On On his unusual name were proposed the following explanations: route (military defeat), Rotha (irrigation ditch, irrigation ditch), broken (broken levees, open place, the way rupta, or the route of ships). In any case, the building, named in the fifteenth century Grange Rupta, stood just in a plain open and sparsely inhabited. The grange was a fortified farm where they were collected the products of the estate. Following the restoration of the eighties, the fortified house revealed its fifteenth structure. It has the shape of a quadrilateral with vast courtyard and central cistern, a chapel with a rib vault, the mighty watchtower, the convent wing with boardroom, the cellarer, stables, warehouses, underground. The main facade is characterized dall'arcigno tower, with access portal surmounted by the crest of Valperga (a twig with the goat), which divides the left, the part with the first floor and rectangular windows with pointed arches which extend service spaces, and, right, the factory unless extended with the chapel and other rooms. Some chronicles speak of a destination Templar and Johannite for the castle of the Route. Other sources, on the contrary, believe it was built after the suppression of the said order. The route, however, was especially fortified for defense against robbers, because in the middle of the '400 were over conflicts between municipalities or feuds, since the Piedmont plain was under giurisdizine of the Duke of Savoy. In the early decades of the twentieth century the castle of Rotta was in a state of neglect and this, together with the solitary location and the fact that he was a long possession Templar, favored the rise of arguments about self-styled supernatural presences that infest. The building would have an astrological position suitable to the contribution of natural energies, because oriented in relation to the position of the sun, moon and planets, being the intersection of particular lines of terrestrial magnetic forces. The notoriety of the dwelling that effect was consolidated since the eighties, although clearly difficult to believe the veracity of the many alleged evidence. According to the experts, however, the castle would have the reputation of being the most haunted of Italy and the following incomplete list summarizes the appearances that would be manifested in his chambers: an armored knight on his steed, a priest criminal, a ritual procession of clergy (each June 14), a noble possibly suicidal, an elderly nanny guilty of having caused the death of an infant, a cardinal sitting and reading a book and a man dressed in black who returns to the place of their own death.

PARCO DEL VALENTINO

PARCO DEL VALENTINO  Apri
Loc. CORSO MASSIMO D'AZEGLIO, TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
10 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Moncalieri, Monte Aman, Superga
The Parco del Valentino ( El Valentin in Piedmontese ) is a famous park in the city of Turin , located along the banks of the Po Positioned as Turin , diagonally from the North - East to South -West has as its borders to the East the course of the Po River , North- East Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, where formally ending the Murazzi , North- West Corso Massimo D'Azeglio. To the south it narrows , following Via Francesco Petrarca and its continuation , Corso Sclopis , and continuing along the Po river and Corso Unita' d' Italy with a language that gets lost in Moncalieri. It covers an area of 421,000 m2 It is the most famous city park of Turin and has been taken as a symbol of the city like the Mole. The origin of the name is uncertain : some speculate that it is of Roman origin , others that it was created by the fact that in the place arose in ancient times a chapel dedicated to St. Valentine. The initial nucleus of the park originates from the Castello del Valentino, which took its name from the park . It was begun in the sixteenth century, but only nell'XIX work began on that later shaped the park itself, according to the project 's romantic French landscape Barrillet - Deschamps . In Italian General Exhibition of 1884 was created the so-called medieval village , or the reconstruction of a full glimpse of the main architectural and stylistic features of the works of the Piedmont and Val d' Aosta the Middle Ages , complete with a castle can be visited. While in the medieval village have set up periodic exhibitions in the Park have been implemented over the years, numerous flower shows (like FLOR 61 , staged on the occasion of the centenary of the Unification of Italy ) , which remains in memory large flower beds, the Garden rocky mountain and the garden , with waterfalls , fountains and small streams . To visit the fountain of the strains ( inaugurated in 1898 ) , called the Twelve Months , large tub surrounded by rococo statues representing the twelve months of the year . In recent years the park has been heavily redeveloped and is visited at sunset, many joggers and bike.

PARCO NATURALE DEL COL DEL LYS

PARCO NATURALE DEL COL DEL LYS  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE DEL COL DEL LYS, TORINO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
21 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Sant'Ambrogio di Torino, Fiano, Avigliana
Meeting point between different environmental features At the turn of the Val di Susa and Val di Viu' from Colle del Lys can enjoy an impressive view over the plains north of Turin to that of Cuneo until, with an attentive eye, the Maritime Alps. The park has rich birdlife and diverse as it is on a major migration route; there are also various types of habitat that can support a significant biological diversity. Here, nature is not the only protagonist: the hill was the scene of important historical events and the visitor finds himself at the center of what was once the cradle of resistance Piedmont. The area is also of considerable architectural interest and scenic beauty for the Sanctuary of the Madonna della Bassa, a major pilgrimage destination.

PARCO NATURALE DEL LAGO DI CANDIA

PARCO NATURALE DEL LAGO DI CANDIA  Apri
Loc. CASCINE ROSSI - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
33 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Caravino, Aglič, Cerrione
Surrounded by morainic hills on which the ancient towns of Candia Canavese, Vische and Mazze' Lake Candia shows streaked with many colors that change at the turn of the seasons. Let yourself be guided by the singing of birds and the scent of swamp lily in bloom: discover one of the most precious wetlands of Piedmont, and perhaps Italy.

CASTELLO DI RACCONIGI

CASTELLO DI RACCONIGI  Apri
Loc. VIA FRANCESCO MOROSINI, 3, RACCONIGI CN, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
41 Km from VENARIA REALE
Altitude: 25 mt. a.s.l.  Area Savigliano, Bra, Saluzzo
The royal castle of Racconigi (in Piedmontese el castel ed Racunis) is located in Racconigi, in the province of Cuneo but not far from Turin. In the course of its almost thousand-year history has seen many changes and became the property of the Savoy in the second half of the fourteenth century. Later it was the official residence of the Savoia-Carignano branch and was later elected the seat of the Royal Villeggiature of the royal family of the King of Sardinia (and then in Italy) in summer and autumn months. Become a highly attended exhibitions and cultural events, the castle is part of the circuit of Savoy Residences of Piedmont, tem Open Castles in Southern Piedmont since 1997 and is part of the serial site Savoy residences included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

VILLA DELLA REGINA

VILLA DELLA REGINA  Apri
Loc. STRADA COMUNALE SANTA MARGHERITA, 79, TORINO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
11 Km from VENARIA REALE
Altitude: 297 mt. a.s.l.  Area Monte Aman, Superga, Moncalieri
Commissioned by Cardinal Maurice of Savoy, built and designed by Ascanio Vitozzi the early seventeenth century, it was restored and designed by Juvarra in the first half of the eighteenth century especially paid attention to the villa in relation to the whole of the gardens. The ducal residence constituted a model for the vines and the villas of the aristocracy and the bourgeoisie. The villa, in the center of the Italian gardens, spread the Piano nobile from the grand central hall with the extraordinary scenery of Joseph Dallamano, c. 1733, paintings by Corrado Giaquinto and Giovan Battista Crosato. The hall is connected to the Royal Apartments richly decorated, in which is placed in an exemplary way the eighteenth-century taste for chinoiserie. Long abandoned in recent years have been carried out major restoration that has allowed its reopening to the public in 2006. The upper floors will house the Regional Centre for Documentation and Cataloguing Cultural Heritage.

CASTELLO DUCALE DI AGLIE

CASTELLO DUCALE DI AGLIE  Apri
Loc. AGLIE' TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
29 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Cascine Rossi, Caravino, Chiaverano
The Dukes' Castle Aglie is an elegant and imposing building situated in the town of Aglie', in the province of Turin. The construction of the central core, which are still identifiable tracks, began in the twelfth century on behalf of the family of the counts of San Martino, originating in the Canavese. In 1939 the State acquired by the Royal House of the castle that was used as a museum. In the eighties, was the subject of a further delicate restoration. Currently has undergone major restoration and consolidation work static that prevented a visit to most of the salt. It is part of the circuit of the Canavese Castles.

ABBAZIA DI VEZZOLANO

ABBAZIA DI VEZZOLANO  Apri
Loc. ALBUGNANO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
30 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Chieri, Monte Aman, Superga
The Abbey of Santa Maria di Vezzolano , is a religious building in the Gothic and Romanesque , one of the most important medieval monuments of Piedmont , located in the municipality of Albugnano in the province of Asti.Vi are several theories about the origin of the name and location , including the apparentamento with the gens Vetia or in the middle of Ve'zelay in France , where it already existed in the time of Charlemagne subject to Cluny abbey . It is probably the most reliable regional or medieval origin of the place name by Vezola or Vetiola in the significance of water vessel since in the vicinity of the building flows a ruscello.Secondo a legend the foundation of the church dates back to Charlemagne , according to the latest version reliable , the emperor in the year 773 he was hunting in the forest of Vezzolano , when suddenly would appear three skeletons come out of a grave , causing a major scare. Aided by a hermit and asked us to pray the Virgin Mary, he wanted to build in a site of the abbey church . According to a historical reconstruction you may think that it already exists in the Lombard period and that it was later enlarged enjoying more and more of fame and wealth . In the tenth century the abbey was destroyed by the Saracens , rebuilt in 1002 and donated by Arduino king of Italy in Odo of Bruzolo who gave it for an inheritance to his descendants, who gave it in 1095 to the provost to Vezzolano . The abbey was inhabited by monks until the early nineteenth century, during the Napoleonic domination .

PALAZZO CARIGNANO

PALAZZO CARIGNANO  Apri
Loc. VIA ACCADEMIA DELLE SCIENZE, 5, TORINO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
9 Km from VENARIA REALE
Altitude: 235 mt. a.s.l.  Area Superga, Moncalieri, Monte Aman
Palazzo Carignano, designed in the second half of the seventeenth century by Guarino Guarini, is a historic building in the center of Turin, has always been considered one of the finest examples of Baroque Europe. The Palace, particularly linked to the history of Italian Risorgimento, was originally intended to host the first Subalpine Parliament and the Council of State. After more than half a century, reopened to the public Apartments baroque, certainly the most spectacular part of the palace. With the restoration of these environments, which housed, among other things the study of the Count of Cavour, on the occasion of the celebrations of the unification of Italy was born in Turin, a new museum which includes: the House of the South, also known as Apartment principles and famous for the splendor of the wood paneling and mirrors that cover the walls, the apartment Midnight, the beautiful grand staircase that leads to the Subalpine Parliament and visible in the path. In addition to these environments, will also visit some areas has always been closed to the public and therefore somehow 'secret', such as spiral staircases Piazza Carignano and atmospheric basement.

PARCO NATURALE DEI LAGHI DI AVIGLIANA

PARCO NATURALE DEI LAGHI DI AVIGLIANA  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE LAGHI DI AVIGLIANA, VIA MONTEPIRCHIRIANO, AVIGLIANA TO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
23 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Sant'Ambrogio di Torino, Piossasco, Ravera
A corner of nature in close symbiosis with the city of Avignon The Lakes Natural Park of Avignon, established in 1980, is situated at the mouth of the Susa Valley, at the foot of Mount Pirchiriano on which stands the ancient abbey of Sacra di San Michele, in a quaint area of the morainic amphitheater of Rivoli-Avigliana is just over 20 kilometers from Turin.

CASTELLO DI RIVOLI

CASTELLO DI RIVOLI  Apri
Loc. RIVOLI - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
12 Km from VENARIA REALE
Altitude: 406 mt. a.s.l.  Area Piossasco, Avigliana, Nichelino
Mighty structure, dating from the eleventh century on the hill at the mouth of the Susa Valley Road and has lived in France, over the centuries, many vicissitudes related to its strategic location. The Savoy family, owners of the Castle since the High Middle Ages, early '600 transformed it into a stately residence. Bombed in 1693 by the French, was at the center of a major construction site under the guidance of Filippo Juvarra, who planned to Victor Amadeus II, a magnificent palace that was supposed to compete with those of other European courts. The project, which dates to 1718 and left unfinished, was taken at the end of the century by the architect Carlo Randoni to break definitively with the Napoleonic occupation. In 1883 it was sold to the City by the Savoia Rivoli, who used it as a barracks. The residence was damaged and occupied by the Germans in World War II, and the adjacent Long Sleeve, ancient ducal Art Gallery, was used to house the displaced and homeless. The castle reopened in 1984 after a major restoration campaign, to host the first and most important Museum of Contemporary Art of Italy in an exhibition area of about 7000 square meters has an important permanent collection and exhibitions temporary. Since 1997 he is a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

MUSEO PIETRO MICCA

MUSEO PIETRO MICCA  Apri
Loc. TORINO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
8 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Moncalieri, Venaria Reale, Monte Aman
  Brochure PDF
The Pietro Micca Museum and the siege of Turin in 1706 was born in 1961 on the occasion of the celebration of the centenary of the Unification of Italy . Between the autumn of 1705 and the autumn of 1706, French troops besieging Turin (see Siege of Turin in 1706 ) . They dig trenches to approach the walls of the citadel and bombard it . To defend the army subalpine dig several kilometers of tunnels around the citadel . The tunnels would be used to place explosive charges with which the French attack and terrorize the surface. During an assault on the French manage to break through a door giving access to the underground tunnels and only the sacrifice of Pietro Micca , which gives light the fuse of an explosive charge , and his companion away before trying to escape himself, prevent the French to penetrate into the underground tunnels. The gesture of Pietro Micca was considered heroic in the nineteenth century and after the Second World War aroused the interest of the military, Guido Amoretti , who died in July 2008. Amoretti worked in an office near the citadel of Turin and occasionally watched the work to build the foundations of a building nearby . See come to light some galleries and discovers that other galleries had been used during the Second World War as shelters. They shall be accessible through the cellars of some buildings . In 1958 was found the famous staircase where the miner Pietro Micca detonated the mine. Amoretti begins a work of discovery and restoration of the galleries , leading to the construction of the Museum. It contains eighteenth-century weapons , maps and paintings of the areas affected by the battles and some plastic reconstruct the areas affected by the events . The most striking part of the visit is no doubt , however, that takes visitors in the galleries , which in some places are quite low , up to the scale along which fell after Pietro Micca have triggered the fuse and to the point where it was found his corpse .

CATTEDRALE DI SAN GIOVANNI BATTISTA

     

CATTEDRALE DI SAN GIOVANNI BATTISTA  Apri
Loc. CATHEDRAL OF SAINT JOHN THE BAPTIST, PIAZZA SAN GIOVANNI, TORINO, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
9 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Superga, Moncalieri, Monte Aman
The cathedral, dedicated to St. John the Baptist , the patron saint of Turin , is the only example of Renaissance architecture in the city. It was built between 1491 and 1498 by Cardinal Domenico della Rovere , the architect of the Tuscan Meo Caprina on three existing churches . That greater position in the north, was founded by Bishop Maximus I and dedicated to San Salvatore , the second , dedicated to St. John the Baptist, contained the baptismal font , the third was dedicated to Santa Maria de dompno . The three buildings basilicas were then supplemented by the houses of the canons and a vast cemetery. Starting in 1490, the basilicas were demolished to make way for a new cathedral . In 1498 the work was completed in 1513 and the cathedral was erected by Pope Leo X to metropolitan center . The building underwent several alterations over time : in 1656 the vault of the nave was rebuilt , in 1834, was decorated with frescoes inside , then eliminated between 1927 and 1929 during the restoration work undertaken by Cardinal Leg . The most significant measure was the inclusion of the Chapel of the Holy Shroud designed by Guarino Guarini , in an elevated position , instead of the original apse , and connected to the rear of the Royal Palace. The cathedral, with three naves with large transept , is fitted at the intersection of the arms of a small octagonal cupola on the sides of the aisles secondary there are six chapels along the right ship and seven along the left. Worthy of note is the second chapel on the right, dedicated to Saints Crispin and Crispian , painted by Defendente Ferrari, while the first chapel on the right contains the baptistery . The facade of the cathedral, in white marble, with gable and three portals decorated with reliefs of elegant Renaissance , perhaps derived from the contemporary church of Santa Maria del Popolo in Rome . Outside, on the left side, detached from the building, is the bell tower of bricks, donated by Bishop De Compeys just before the reconstruction of the cathedral. The bell tower , designed by Filippo Juvarra , and started according to the drawings , was never completed.

PARCO NATURALE DELLA COLLINA DI SUPERGA

PARCO NATURALE DELLA COLLINA DI SUPERGA  Apri
Loc. MONTE AMAN - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
15 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Superga, Torino, Chieri
The Parco della Collina di Superga was established in 1991 to protect and enhance an area of considerable interest for its special environmental, architectural and landscape still well preserved, despite its proximity to the town of Turin. The park is part of a tem of hills, whose morphological variety and location halfway between the Alps and the sea mean that the floristic heritage is rich and interesting, with microthermic species of alpine origin (beech, Scots pine, rowan mountain bilberry), alternating with species of the Mediterranean environment (ash, sorb, holly, burning bush). The forest stands are the most common deciduous forests dominated by oak and chestnut, until a few decades ago widely grown for wood and for the fruit. Close to the Road Panoramic Hills are large nuclei of exotic plants, especially conifers, introduced on several occasions over the past few decades with the purpose of reforestation and ornamental. In cultivated and abandoned vineyards, but also inside of the deciduous forest, black locust is ed with force, and its presence tends to displace native species hills. The marginal zone of the park is characterized by the appearance of areas of intensive cultivation, while the landscape is dominated by the monumental complex of the Basilica of Superga, a masterpiece of Baroque architecture of Filippo Juvarra. The fauna is characteristic of the Turin Hills and Bosco del Vaj. Among the larger mammals are the fox, badger, marten, weasel, hedgehog, red squirrel, dormouse, wild boar; among the birds of prey are mostly diurnal species like the buzzard, red kite, sparrowhawk, kestrel; between the nocturnal species include tawny owl and owl. Other interesting species of birds: the woodpecker (green and red), hoopoe, black bunting and numerous species of passerine birds. From a geological point of view of the hills are made up of sedimentary rocks (sandstones, conglomerates and marls, often rich in fossils) formed on the ocean floor, from about 40 million years ago, pick up as giant folds from tectonic-related genesis in the Alps. The Parco Naturale della Collina di Superga covers approximately 750 hectares in the municipalities of Baldissero Torinese, Pino Torinese, San Mauro Torinese, and Turin.

PARCO NATURALE ORSIERA ROCCIAVRE'

PARCO NATURALE ORSIERA ROCCIAVRE'  Apri
Loc. FENESTRELLE - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
43 Km from VENARIA REALE
  Area Meana di Susa, Usseaux, Exilles
The park covers in the Alps Cozie Northern territories pertaining to Chisone, Susa and Sangone. The boundaries of the protected area run average to an elevation of 1400 meters and the most important peaks including within them do not reach the 3000 meters: 2890 m Mount Orsiera; 2778 m M. Rocciavre'; 2852 m Punta Rocca Nera. The massive dell'Orsiera-Rocciavre' is made up of rocks of different origin, the presence of which can be understood if one leads to the process of Alpine orogeny. Much of it, including its main peaks, consists of rocks, called ophiolites or green stones (complex of schists with Ofioliti), resulting from pre-existing back of the ancient ocean basin. Other rocks, known as the water table resulting from the margins of the continental plates (complex Dora-Maira), are located on the periphery of the massif. Their outcrops touch the area of the Park to the south east, extending a little high altitude along the valleys Sangone and Sangonetto and the valley of Selleries, just below the tip of the glass case; the same rocks are placed within the massive Orsiera-Rocciavre', forming a central core covered by ophiolitic aquifer. The history of recent Mountain Park is characterized by erosion modeling work. Clearly, the action of the glaciations of the Quaternary era for the presence of moraines, glacial lakes of circus and fire (Chardonnet Lake, Lake of the Laus and Channel Lake, Lake Sottano, Lake Soprano), sheepbacks and valleys U . Also in attendance were accumulations of debris and landslides; particularly striking landscape strewn with large blocks in the basin of Cassafrera, in the heart of the Park.

Excursions and attractions in PIEMONTE close to VENARIA REALE Fiano Rivoli Torino: 'PALAZZINA DI STUPINIGI'   'CHIESA DI SAN FILIPPO NERI'   'BASILICA DI SUPERGA'   'WWF: OASI CASCINA BELLEZZA'   'PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE TRE DENTI - FREIDOUR'   'PARCO NATURALE DI STUPINIGI'   'PALAZZO REALE TORINO'   'MOLE ANTONELIANA'   'GOLF CLUB: LA MADRIA'   'MUSEO DI ARTE ORIENTALE TORINO'   'FAI: CASTELLO DI MASINO'   'MUSEO EGIZIO DI TORINO'   'TORINO'   'SACRA DI SAN MICHELE'   'CAPPELLA DELLA SACRA SINDONE'   'GRISSINO RUBATA' DEL CHIERESE'   'PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE SAN GIORGIO'   'PARCO NATURALE LA MANDRIA'   'CASTELLO DELLA ROTTA'   'PARCO DEL VALENTINO'   'PARCO NATURALE DEL COL DEL LYS'   'PARCO NATURALE DEL LAGO DI CANDIA'   'CASTELLO DI RACCONIGI'   'VILLA DELLA REGINA'   'CASTELLO DUCALE DI AGLIE'   'ABBAZIA DI VEZZOLANO'   'PALAZZO CARIGNANO'   'PARCO NATURALE DEI LAGHI DI AVIGLIANA'   'CASTELLO DI RIVOLI'   'MUSEO PIETRO MICCA'   'CATTEDRALE DI SAN GIOVANNI BATTISTA'   'PARCO NATURALE DELLA COLLINA DI SUPERGA'   'PARCO NATURALE ORSIERA ROCCIAVRE''  

PIEMONTE


Piedmont is in the north-west of Italy and borders Switzerland and France. True to the meaning of its name (foot of the mountain), Piedmont is a land of mountains. It is surrounded on three sides by the Alps, with the highest peaks and largest glaciers in Italy. Monviso, the Piedmont side of Mount Rosa and the other spectacular mountains in the region, create incredibly beautiful landscapes; there are many ski resorts as well, such as Via Lattea and Sestriere, which welcome winter sports enthusiasts with their state of the art facilities. The Alps form the background for great picturesque valleys, for example, the Val di Susa, Valsesia and Val d'Ossola. The hilly landscape of the Langhe and Monferrato is different, but still beautiful: a succession of cultivated hills and vineyards, dotted with small towns and castles. Expanses of water and rice-fields, long rows of poplars and old farmhouses make up the typical scenery of the plains around Novara and Vercelli. Lake Maggiore is the most sought-after tourist resort, with Stresa and the Borromean Islands, charming landscapes with ancient villas surrounded by beautiful lawns. Yet, nature is only one of the many attractions in Piedmont. This region has many other facets: from Turin and the Italian car manufacturing capital and with its history and remarkable cultural heritage, to other cities such as Cherasco, Alba and Ivrea. Next we come to charming medieval castles, including the imposing castle of Ivrea, and prized works of architecture, for example the famous Residences of the Royal House of Savoy and the Sacri Monti (Sacred Mountains). The famous spa resorts of Acqui Terme and Vinadio offer treatments and therapy for a relaxing, reviving holiday. Discoveries and surprises of all kinds are in store for visitors to the region, including a wide range of food and wine for all tastes. The region's provinces are: Turin (regional capital), Alessandria, Asti, Biella, Cuneo, Novara, Verbano Cusio Ossola and Vercelli.