Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
viganella - excursions points of interest attractions in viganella vb, italia
Promotions found !
Look in the IdeasForTravels home page

 city town VIGANELLA

city town
VIGANELLA

Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to VIGANELLA VB, ITALIA Beura-cardezza Premosello-chiovenda Staffa

CASTELLI DI CANNERO

CASTELLI DI CANNERO  Apri
Loc. CASTELLI DI CANNERO, CANNOBIO VB, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
44 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Maccagno con Pino e Veddasca, Luino, Cannobio
They are called castles of Cannero, despite being in the territory of the town of Cannock, three rocky islets located in the Lake Maggiore in front of Cannero Riviera on two of which are the ruins of ancient fortifications. They were built between the eleventh century and twelfth century

MACUGNAGA

MACUGNAGA  Apri
Loc. MACUGNAGA VERBANO-CUSIO-OSSOLA, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
21 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Viganella, Gressoney-Saint-Jean, Valtournenche
Macugnaga ( Makana Titsch in the local language Walser ) is an Italian town of 613 inhabitants in the province of Verbania in Piedmont. The first permanent settlements settlers occurred in the second half of the thirteenth century. It was a people from dall'elvetica Saas valley : the Walser . Settled in the upper part of the Anzasca , as well as in other centers ossolani Formazza and Ornavasso . Once you have crossed the pass of Monte Moro these people would find a suitable place in the wide glacial basin to develop sheep farming and agriculture , featuring specific elements of their culture architecture and a High German language still firm in the semantics 1300 high Anzasca . You can still see the typical Walser houses , many of them beautifully restored with a conservative approach, with stone foundations , structures and interiors entirely in larch wood , characteristic balconies and stone gable roof covered with slabs of gneiss , these also flagstone , or more rarely of larch shingles . As a soapstone stove heating , said hofe , usually indicating the date of construction of the dwelling (some bear dates of the sixteenth century). A beautiful example of this architecture is the Walser House Museum which is located in the village Borca . From the perspective of political-administrative Macugnaga partially followed the events of the Ossola . Originally belonging to the Duchy of Milan, followed the fate with the Spanish and Austrian domination . In 1743 the Treaty of Worms Ossola was joined to the Kingdom of Sardinia. From an administrative point Macugnaga, as all of Lower Ossola, was included in the Province of Pallanza , and included in the District of Vogogna. In 1818, with the abolition of the District of Vogogna , Macugnaga became part of the new district of Bannio , who was reassigned to the Ossola Province . With the birth of the Kingdom of Italy was transformed into Environment Ossola Province and was included in the Province of Novara. Macugnaga belonged to this province until 1992 , the year of establishment of the new Province of Verbano -Cusio -Ossola.

ORRIDO DI SANT'ANNA

ORRIDO DI SANT'ANNA  Apri
Loc. CANNOBIO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
41 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Cannero Riviera, Maccagno con Pino e Veddasca, Luino
The Ravine Sant'Anna is 3 km from the point where the river flows into Lake Maggiore Cannobino. Over the centuries, the water has eroded the rock walls of the narrow valley surroundings, creating a narrow cleft where the waters flow violently. Two bridges allow to cross from the top: the medieval one (called dell'agostana) that allows transit only to pedestrians, and a more modern one that allows the passage by car. The deep green waters dell'Orrido, densely populated by brown trout, are quite cold in summer (15-16 degrees) in the winter and reach a temperature of 2-3 degrees. The maximum depth is 25 meters. Not far dall'orrido was built in 1683, presumably on a design by GA Crivelli, a church dedicated to St. Anne. It incorporates an ancient frescoed chapel dedicated to Our Lady of Loreto, which is the apse of the current structure. Inside the attention is captured by the remarkable altar decorated with twisted columns in black marble and elegant friezes. The work was donated to the church by the company of Terrafiumesi in Rome, a kind of corporation that gathered the workers building the village. Most notable frontals (ie fronts altar) in scagliola, fine artist's work Ascona CG Pancaldi and dating back to the eighteenth century. Altars seventeenth century adorn the side chapels dedicated to Saints Anne and Joachim and St. Joseph. Once in Cannobio, turn left and follow signs for the Valley Cannobina and after less than a mile you will take a road on the right bearing indications for the Ravine. Continue along the valley after about a mile you will come to a crossroads, take the road up the hill to the left. Later see on the right indication tourist and a narrow road that descends exit horror: here you will be able to park your car. The horrid, especially on weekends, is very popular with fans of diving and beyond. Its fresh waters are a panacea against the summer heat.

ROCCA BORROMEA

ROCCA BORROMEA  Apri
Loc. ANGERA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
45 Km from VIGANELLA
Altitude: 218 mt. a.s.l.  Area Arona, Dormelletto, La Sacca
La Rocca Borromeo of Arona is a building for defensive purposes , overlooking Lake Maggiore. Together with her sister Rocca Borromeo of Angera was one of the main strategic points of control of Lake Maggiore in ancient times. The fortress , built in the Piedmont, in the municipality of Arona, was founded in a period of just prior to the year one thousand under the control of the Lombards. Designed solely for defensive purposes , in the following centuries passed between Bishop's property up to fill the role of mere shelter around the eleventh and twelfth centuries . Having undergone a complete destruction at the hands of the House of Della Torre returned possession of the Visconti in 1227 . Two centuries later, precisely in 1439, the building changed to the new owner along with the entire City and the Castle of Arona, when Filippo Maria Visconti gave it as a fief to Vitaliano Borromeo. For four centuries, the castle remained in the hands of the Borromeo family , even giving birth to the future Cardinal St. Charles Borromeo in 1538 . The history of Rocca di Arona closes in 1800 when the Napoleonic army was ordered to destroy fortifications occupied by the Austrians. Since that time the fortress of Arona there are only a few remnants . After ten years of abandonment , since September 2011, the park is re- usable. Final opening from mid- March 2012

PARCO NATURALE ALTA VALSESIA

PARCO NATURALE ALTA VALSESIA  Apri
Loc. CORSO ROMA, 35, VARALLO VC, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
27 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Isola San Giulio, Colma, Verbania
The Park highest Europe's The Park covers an area of 6,511 acres, including the 900 and 4,559 meters above sea level, making it the highest in Europe Park. Its territory covers the upper portions of the heads of the river and the river Sesia and Val Sermenza But stallion and several confluent valleys. Its western and north western boundaries running on the watershed that separates the Valsesia from Gressoney, from Swiss territory and Anzasca. To the north the boundary coincides with the crest of the mountain massif of Monte Rosa, reaching 4,559 meters of Signalkuppe.

VOGOGNA

VOGOGNA  Apri
Loc. VOGOGNA VERBANO-CUSIO-OSSOLA, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
9 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Premosello-chiovenda, Viganella, Baceno
The name may have originated from the name of the ancient people who inhabited these lands before the Romans , the Gauls Agoni : Vallis Agonum Valley of Agoni . A plaque dating back to 196 A.D. testifies to the Roman presence in Vogogna . The epigraph is located between the bridge and Dresio of Masone . Indicates the starting point of the Treaty of alpine route . The village is mentioned for the first time in a notarial document dated 970 AD, is a farming village until the thirteenth century, when Vogogna , due to its geographical location, is chosen as the capital of Lower Ossola . In 1014 Emperor Henry II gives the county Ossola to the bishop of Novara. Vogogna becomes a vassal of Vergonte , then Pietrasanta . Following the destruction of the latter ( 1328 ) because of a disastrous flood , becomes the center of political and administrative life of the Lower Ossola and then the seat of the Lower Ossola JURISDICTION which included the Four Lands Masera , Trontano , and Beura Cardezza . In 1342 it passed under the control of the Archbishop of Milan , and is intended as a bulwark in defense of the duchy . In 1348 the Visconti built the castle and fortress walls and restructure . In 1375 , the rivalry between Domodossola , the capital of Upper Ossola , and Vogogna, culminating in the sack of the latter by opponents . In 1411 Vogogna rejects Swiss invaders but in 1416 an alliance with them against the Ossola Superior. Between 1450-1535 , during the rule of the Sforza and under the government of the Borromeo (1416-1600) Vogogna became a flourishing town , the center of trade and commerce along the ancient road of the Simplon through it.

CANNOBIO

CANNOBIO  Apri
Loc. CANNOBIO - LOMBARDIA  Navigatore
43 Km from VIGANELLA
Altitude: 211 mt. a.s.l.  Area Cannero Riviera, Maccagno con Pino e Veddasca, Luino
Cannobio (Canobi in the local Western Lombard dialect) is an Italian town of 5,181 inhabitants in the province of Verbania. It is located on the northwestern shore of Lake Maggiore and at the mouth of the Valley Cannobina; the extension of the joint is very high, about 51 square kilometers, due to the number of fractions distributed in the area. In the years 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 he was awarded the prestigious environmental recognition of the FEE, the Blue Flag, thanks to great service water purification and a precise plan of separate collection of waste. The town has been awarded since 2011, the orange flag from the Italian Touring Club. Cannobio is a director of international connection, the State road 34 of Lake Maggiore from Gravellona Toce (VB) reaches the state border of Piaggio Valmara, where you enter in Switzerland. From Cannobio also part of the Provincial Road 75 Valley Cannobina former Highway 631 Valley Cannobina leading in the Valley from which you can reach via the Highway 337 Vigezzo Valley, the so-called Valley of the painters, the Shrine of King and Domodossola . The town is also connected with the rest of Lake Maggiore through lines of hydrofoils and ferries that are often used for summer cruises to Switzerland (Locarno, Ascona) or down the lake (Borromean Islands, Santa Caterina del Sasso, etc.). The town has ancient origins, perhaps pre-Roman; prove some cremation burials, came to light between the XVI and XVII century near the present via Campo Recio. After the annexation to the Roman Empire in northern Italy and the Alpine valleys (first century BC), Cannobio was certainly a mall and strategic and home to a lake fleet. The Roman origin of the village can be found by identifying, today difficult, the thistle and the decumanus, typical of the Roman camp, the streets Giovanola Antonio Recio and Field, the site of the residence of the commander of the garrison. There is no precise information on the change of the country during the collapse of the empire, but it is thought that the area was not touched by the big barbarian invasions from the north, as opposed to other Italian areas. Certain facts about the existence of the village we find them in the tenth century: in 929 you know for sure that it was the seat of a curtis regia. The Middle Ages was undoubtedly very prosperous, especially in terms of manufacturing and trade, and in 1207 Cannobio held the title of Borgo. Officially since 1992, but actually from 1994, Cannobio is part of the Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola, spun off from the Province of Novara. Since 2006, Cannobio, by virtue of his vocation tourist-economic, had the official recognition of the status of the city. (In the picture: The main street named after A. Giovanola). The late medieval period was characterized by the historical link with the city of Milan, also in the diocesan and ecclesiastical: by virtue of this bond Cannobio and some neighboring towns used and still use the Ambrosian rite for liturgical functions, unlike other centers of the Piedmont side of the lake, always linked to the Roman rite. In 1817 it was decreed the passage of Cannobio and of other towns of Lake Maggiore by the Archdiocese of Milan to the diocese of Novara, while maintaining the Ambrosian rite. This decision led, in later years, to some friction with some bishops of the chair Gaudenzian, likely to eliminate the Ambrosian rite in place of the Roman one. The most avid supporter of this change was the cardinal, bishop of Novara, Giuseppe Morozzo Della Rocca, who changed his mind only during a pastoral visit to Cannobio in 1824, after he realized the determination of the local population not to accept the change of rite . Throughout the period of the Wars of Independence (1818-1860), Cannobio was part of Piedmont and Savoy was an important center of the border (the eastern shore of Lake was Austrian); the Cannobio proudly recall the famous defense against an attack via Austrian lake, which was rejected, on the night of 27 to 28 May 1859. The end of the nineteenth century was marked by the introduction of numerous industries, now disappeared, which characterized the history of the country: the silk factory, tanneries, paper mills, etc. During the two world wars, Cannobio sent many of his men as soldiers at the front, and many of them never returned. It has recently been made a Memory Park (in a little-used) with tombstones and monuments that recall the fallen Cannobio the two wars, moving the monument to the fallen, originally placed at the center of the lake. The postwar period was characterized by a strong immigration of people who came from southern Italy, Sardinia and Veneto due to the proximity of the village with Switzerland that guaranteed various job prospects; even then, in fact, local industries were in crisis and ended up being closed in a matter of thirty years (the last, SA Metallic Oxides, in 1989). The country's economy is based mainly on summer tourism from Germany, Switzerland, the Netherlands and France, and on the movements of frontier workers.

PARCO NATURALE DELL'ALPE VEGLIA E DELL'ALPE DEVERO

PARCO NATURALE DELL'ALPE VEGLIA E DELL'ALPE DEVERO  Apri
Loc. VARZO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
25 Km from VIGANELLA
Altitude: 1744 mt. a.s.l.  Area Baceno, Beura-cardezza, Viganella
  Brochure PDF
The natural park Alpe Veglia and Alpe Devero was established in 1995 and is located in the Val d' Ossola, in the province of Verbania . The basins are interesting both from a mineralogical point of view that geology. Evidenced by the long course of geological processes : the origin of the glacial basins is demonstrated by the persistence of some residues of ancient glaciers , such as the Lion and the Aletsch Glacier d'Aurona from Alpe Veglia or the Glacier of the Red Army from the alp devero . From the mineralogical point of view interesting minerals are present as the asbecasite , the cafarsite and Cervandonite . The National Coordination of Parks and Nature Reserves, in the persons of Dr. I. De Negri , director of the Park , and Radames Blonde , rangers , testified in 1993 that from the geological point of view in this area was confirmed after completion of the Simplon Tunnel , the interpretive theory of the structure of the Alps according to a model in which overlapping flaps , as a result of compressive forces , have emerged to form the alpine building . These strata, for the chromatic contrast of the different lithological types , are easily recognizable on the walls of the mountains that surround the area

ORRIDI DI URIEZZO

ORRIDI DI URIEZZO  Apri
Loc. BACENO VERBANO-CUSIO-OSSOLA, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
26 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Ponte, Varzo, Beura-cardezza
  Brochure PDF
The Uriezzo Gorges are deep ravines carved into the rock , caused by the streams that once flowed on the bottom of the glacier that occupied the interamante Pomatt . The peculiarity of the Uriezzo gorges is that the stream that molded them does not travel more than these narrow incisions , so today you can walk easily in them. The gorges are constraddistinti by a series of large subcircular cavity separated by narrow and winding tunnels . The walls are all carved with niches and grooves produced by the whirling motion and violent waterfalls and in some places are close to such an extent that the fund does not provide a view of the sky. The most spectacular spot is undoubtedly the South , about 200 m long by 20 to 30 m deep , called by the locals Tomb of Uriezzo explanatory panels and metal stairs will guide the visitors . The rocky bottom is not always visible because it is often covered by a layer of soil and alluvial material . The ecotem of orridi is very complex : constant conditions of high humidity and low light determine difficult environmental conditions to which they adapt especially mosses and ferns , present in a wide variety of species .

CASTEL SAVOIA

CASTEL SAVOIA  Apri
Loc. STRADA CASTEL SAVOIA, GRESSONEY-SAINT-JEAN AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
45 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Saint-vincent, Ussel, Verrès
Built at the behest of Queen Margherita of Savoy, who was staying in Gressoney host the Barons Beck Peccoz already since 1889 , the castle is at the foot of Ranzola hill in the area called Belvedere , because of the beautiful view from there that dominates the whole valley until the Lyskamm glacier. The laying of the foundation stone took place August 24, 1899 in the presence of King Umberto I, who was assassinated in Monza a year later, would not have seen the end of the works , which continued until 1904. The mansion was home to the Queen during her summer holidays until 1925 , a year before his death , which occurred in Bordighera January 4, 1926 . After the purchase in 1936 by the Milanese industrialist Moretti , the castle became the property of the Autonomous Region of Valle d'Aosta in 1981. Consists of a core of rectangular body , which are flanked by five towers cuspidate , each one different , the castle was designed by the architect Emilio Stramucci ( creator of the neo-Baroque decorations for the Palazzo Reale in Turin and the Quirinale Palace in Rome) in medieval style , described as the Lombard style of the fifteenth century , quite frequent in France and Savoy , region of origin of the reigning monarchs . The exterior is clad in gray cut stone from the quarries of Chiappey in Gressoney , Gaby and Vert ( Donnas ) . The ornamental pictures were taken by the young painter and restorer Carlo Cussetti , who later worked in the new wing of the Royal Palace of Turin. The coffered ceilings , wooden panels and furniture, inspired by medieval are by the Turin Michele Dellera , supplier of the Royal House . The castle is divided into three floors: the ground floor with living quarters, the main floor with the royal apartments and the second floor (not open ) , reserved for gentlemen of the court , the cellars are located underground . All authentic furnishings displayed in the Castle , as well as tapestries adorning the walls , linen fabric and silk , decorated with a chine' effect . The sundial made of facade in 1922 , bears the words cards already reported on a sundial in Cogne , 1915 : Sit golden quaevis patriae - Every hour is gold for their country . The hope , unfortunately, would not have been achieved by the dramatic events that occurred in Italy in that year . The kitchens : located in a building not far from the castle are connected to the dining room by a Decauville underground . The botanical garden opened in 1990 in the park at the foot of the castle, is made up of rocky beds with botanical species of the alpine environment .

CHIESA DI SAN GIORGIO IN BAGNILLA

CHIESA DI SAN GIORGIO IN BAGNILLA  Apri
Loc. CASTELVECCANA VA, ITALIA - LOMBARDIA  Navigatore
42 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Cittiglio, Casalzuigno, Cannero Riviera
L'edificio originario aveva un'unica navata voltata e chiusa da abside rivolta ad oriente con campanile all'estremo opposto mentre sul lato settentrionale, rivolto verso il lago, sorgeva un portico. Nel XVII secolo la chiesa venne ingrandita con l'inclusione del portico che divenne la seconda navata e l'innalzamento del tetto. Nel XIX secolo con la costruzione del cimitero vennero apportate altre modifiche nelle aperture. Configurazione strutturale: Edificio rettangolare a due navate con abside semicircolare rivolta ad est. La struttura perimetrale e' in muratura portante in pietra e ciottoli. La copertura e' a due falde ricoperte di lastre in beola cosi' come il tetto dell'abside. Addossata al lato occidentale della chiesa si eleva la torre campanaria quadrata costruita in pietre squadrate con copertura piramidale in lastre di beola. Descrizione: La parete rivolta a monte e' in pietre e ciottoli disposti in modo irregolare con tracce di intonaco, tre lesene costruite con pietre piu' grosse e squadrate inquadrano le due aperture, la porta di accesso e una finestra rettangolare aperte nel XIX secolo. La parete rivolta verso il cimitero mostra chiaramente le progressive trasformazioni del monumento: sopra l'abside e' visibile l'andamento primitivo del tetto dell'edificio romanico a navata unica mentre a destra e' l'arco murato dell'originario portico aperto. La muratura e' a vista con una finestra murata ed una piu' recente chiusa da grata. L'elemento piu' importante e' l'abside, elevata sopra uno zoccolo e' formata da grandi blocchi di pietra con due semicolonnine terminanti con capitelli scolpiti a motivi floreali che dividono la curvatura in tre segmenti con al centro una monofora strombata murata con archivolto ricavato da un unico blocco di pietra. L'abside termina con un cornicione leggermente aggettante retto da un fregio di archetti ciechi ricavati da blocchi di pietra di diverso colore e poggianti su mensoline in pietra di colore diverso e contrastante con il blocco sovrastante. Il modello decorativo con cornice di archetti monoblocco e' diffuso nell'area comasca ma e' presente nel territorio varesino, oltre a Sarigo, solo nella chiesa di San Materno a Clivio e nel campanile della badia di San Gemolo a Ganna. Il modello complessivo dell'abside ricorda comunque il vicino San Vittore a Canonica. Il massiccio e corto campanile ha aspetto liscio e regolare ed e' costruito con piccole pietre regolari. La canna e' percorso da lesene angolari con specchiatura coronata da quattro archetti formati da piccoli conci in tufo e aperta da una sottile feritoia con a chiusura una bifora con colonnina e capitello a stampella. Sotto il tetto sono visibili quattro peducci privi di archetti che hanno indotto ad ipotizzare l'esistenza, forse solo a livello progettuale, di un'ulteriore piano. Il campanile e' molto simile alle altre torri della Valtravaglia e in particolare alla vicina San Martino a Saltirana.

ISOLA MADRE

ISOLA MADRE  Apri
Loc. ISOLA MADRE, STRESA, VERBANO-CUSIO-OSSOLA, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
34 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Isola Bella, Isola Superiore, La Sacca
  Brochure PDF
It is the largest of the Borromeo Islands and the most characteristic for the atmosphere of silence , enchantment: a garden of rare plants and exotic flowers in which they live peacocks , parrots and pheasants to create the charm of a land tropical . Isola Madre is particularly famous for the blooming of azaleas, rhododendrons , camellias , but also for the pergolas of ancient wisteria , the largest specimen of Europe 's Cypress Cashmir of over two hundred years , the backs of citrons and lemons , the collection of hibiscus , Ginkgo biloba. In 1978 it was opened to the public palace of the sixteenth century, interesting for the reconstruction of period rooms and collections of liveries, dolls and porcelain. Exceptional exposure Puppet Theatres the '600 / '800 . Isola Madre leaves the visitor with a feeling of extreme elegance in the care of the gardens and the interiors offering a certain quality for the most demanding . The rooms of the palace, set up in 1978 with furniture from various historical residences of the family, offer numerous works of art , such as tapestries, furniture and paintings . Among the most important rooms : the reception room with paintings on the walls of biblical subject of Stephen Danedi , said Montalto (1618-1683) , Ercole Procaccini the Younger (1596-1676) and Giovan Battista Costa (1636-1690) , the hall of Seasons with the great tapestry belonged to a cardinal family , the Hall of dolls which contains an important collection of nineteenth-century French and German dolls . Unique and interesting addition is the collection of puppets and puppet theaters from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The palace is surrounded by a beautiful botanical garden, established by the French writer Gustave Flaubert an earthly paradise , which hosted , and houses , rare and exotic plant species originating from all over the world including hovering multicolored peacocks, parrots and pheasants.

WWF: OASI BOSCO TENSO

WWF: OASI BOSCO TENSO  Apri
Loc. PREMOSELLO-CHIOVENDA VERBANO-CUSIO-OSSOLA, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
13 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Beura-cardezza, Verbania, Viganella
  Brochure PDF
The WWF Bosco Tenso home to over 40 species of nesting birds , including the green woodpecker . The Oasis Bosco Tenso is located in the municipalities of Premosello Chiovenda and (Vb ) . The area of 22 hectares is home to over 40 species of birds that nest in this Oasis , consisting of a deciduous forest . environment The trend is linear and continuous air woodland in the south side , rather irregular and sinuous north , and follows for most of its length the course of the Rio dei Rughetti . The geological structure of the land on which lies the Bosco Tenso is alluvial : sandy - gravelly deep , sandy - loamy surface , a consequence of the periodic flooding of the River Toce. The wooded area is flat, interrupted by sunken river beds of the Rio dei Rughetti and Rio del Ponte . The soil as a whole , it is moist permeation and flood Toce and the two above mentioned Rii torrential character. Extension of 22 hectares curiosity Flora and fauna Over the entire area extends a dense mixed deciduous forest . In some areas of forest are found presences almost pure stands of ash, linden and white alders . The uppermost layer of the forest is composed primarily of oaks, poplars blacks , willows, alders , white mountain elms , maples, cherry trees. The middle layer includes hazel shrub , lime, mulberry, cherry , gorse , poplars , ash trees. The bottom layer is composed of herbaceous species, native and exotic . Are as many as 40 species of nesting birds found, including: green woodpecker , little ringed plover , pigeon, cuckoo, owl , stiff neck, nightingale , wood warbler , chaffinch, Serin , Goldfinch , melodious warbler , wren , great, coal, biking , dark green , kingfishers, cormorants , hen harrier , hawk , quail , lapwing , lark , Crag Martin and many other species of migratory birds or wintering . Of invertebrates we can find the oasis multiplicity ' of different species of butterflies.

CASCATE DI CITTIGLIO

CASCATE DI CITTIGLIO  Apri
Loc. CASCATE DI CITTIGLIO, VIA PIANELLA, CITTIGLIO VA, ITALIA - LOMBARDIA  Navigatore
44 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Casalzuigno, Castello, Leggiuno
  Brochure PDF
The three waterfalls Cittiglio, are formed by the river S.Giulio and placed at altitudes between 324 and 474 meters high in a natural woodland setting of striking beauty. The path of the river, before reaching the country, winds through winding lines, which invite the water in sudden jumps and bursting. The mountainous landscape that surrounds the stream, has a thick vegetation, formed mainly by beech, pine and chestnut trees, the fruits of which are attractive to many people during the months of September and October. At the moment you can only visit the first cascade, starting from Cittiglio and moving walk along a path, well indicated that climbs up to a combined picnic area, with tables and fields, in order to live moments of relax in the green natural areas that few are able to offer. From here, to reach the first waterfall, the trail is rather small and more difficult the previous year (at this time) but the waterfall can be reached easily in about 10 minutes. A recent regional funding will allow the redevelopment of paths and signage on each part of the path leading to the picnic area and from there to the first waterfall.

CASCATA DEL TOCE FORMAZZA

CASCATA DEL TOCE FORMAZZA  Apri
Loc. FORMAZZA VERBANO-CUSIO-OSSOLA, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
41 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Baceno, Oberwald, Varzo
What led to the notoriety and fame Pomatt together at the sight of the mountains that surround that was certainly the Toce waterfalls . The Most Beautiful , the most majestic waterfalls of the Alps , a waterfall of 143 meters for a maximum face at the base of 60 meters. On the top of a fantastic vantage point is the wooden balcony leaning over the water jump . On The Summit , is the famous hotel built in 1923 and designed in Art Deco style by architect Piero Portaluppi , one of the leading exponents of the architectural style . The Toce and his water are not only strong element of characterization of the landscape formazzino : hyower exploited for electric . It is also the greatest wealth of the valley. Currently the waters of Toce are collected in the basin of Morasco , upstream of the cascade , and through a tunnel and a penstock reach the central Ponte ENEL for use in the production of electricity. The man's hand has bent nature to his service, but at the same time he made a famous victim : the waterfalls of the toilet , to production requirements guessed , is visible in its majesty only for short periods during the year. In the Specifications to top are indicated periods and hours in which to enjoy the majesty of the waterfall in its full force. La Cascata del Toce was visited and loved by many illustrious visitors such as Richard Wagner, Gabriele D' Annunzio , Queen Margherita , De Saussure and Stoppani , who left enthusiastic deions of what was already being called the most beautiful waterfall in the Alps The path that along with genuine charm, is a stretch of the street merchant from Gries who joined Milan for centuries and Bern. Since the beginning of 1930 the waters of the Toce are used for the production of electricity, for this reason, the Cascata del Toce is visible in its majesty only for short periods of the year.

ISOLA BELLA

ISOLA BELLA  Apri
Loc. ISOLA BELLA, STRESA, VERBANO-CUSIO-OSSOLA, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
34 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Isola Superiore, Stresa, La Sacca
  Brochure PDF
In 1632 , Count Vitaliano Borromeo began the construction of the monumental baroque palace and the majestic scenery of the gardens that made the island famous and still witness to the splendours of an era. The Borromeo offers visitors an elegant and lavish it contains priceless works of art, tapestries , furniture, statues, paintings , stucco but also the unusual mosaic grotto , a place of cool and delightful . After visiting the palace, there is access to the garden for a leisurely stroll . This unique flowered monument to ornate terraces , is a classic and inimitable example of Italian garden of the seventeenth century. Among rare and exotic plants , the spectacular flowering is designed to provide colors and scents from March to ottobre.Splendido and great Italian baroque garden is one of the most famous and best preserved in Italy . Built at different times , it is a coherent set of pyramidal shape that culminates in the large statue of the Unicorn ridden by Love. Divided into ten sloping terraces , is decorated with pools, fountains , architectural perspectives and a multitude of statues dating from the second half of the seventeenth century representatives personifications of rivers, winds and seasons . Many of these environments are delimited by walls and balustrades on which even today are perceived steps which welled jets , fountains, waterfalls and water features . The particularly mild climate , has enabled the growth of a vast variety of vegetation and species which have found their habitat. Among azaleas and rhododendrons, collars grapefruit and bitter oranges , orchids and carnivorous plants, distinctive outline of a large camphor tree of more than two hundred years. Exotic plants are placed in the greenhouse during the winter season nineteenth century , included in the tour. The finishing touches recurring from March to September they never leave the garden devoid of charm and color.

ISOLA DI SAN GIULIO

ISOLA DI SAN GIULIO  Apri
Loc. ISOLA SAN GIULIO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
34 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Colma, Varallo, Arona
The island of San Giulio ( ed San Giulio island in Piedmont , Lombardy Island in San Giuli ) is the only island in Lake Orta and is part of the town of Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara , in Piemonte.Le archaeological investigations have shown the antiquity of human presence , attested from the Neolithic to the Iron Age . According to the legend of the life of San Giulio in Roman times the site was abandoned. You can , however , although lacking archaeological evidence , that the island was a center of worship pre-Christian . This would explain both why the evangelist decided to build toward the 390 , the first church , the symbol is overshadowed by the legendary infestation of snakes and dragons. These reptiles are therefore an allegory of evil and , in this case , according to the Christians of those times of paganism. The archaeological investigations have revealed the remains of an ancient church , dating from the late fifth to the seventh century , providing a historical basis to the Legend. In the Dark Ages the island 's strategic position made it an important defensive center . A tradition, still under discussion , identifies the castle on the island, the castrum built by the bishop of Novara Onorato , quoted by the poet and bishop of Pavia Ennodio (Bk II Carm. ) . In the Lombard period the island was fortified and certainly , according to the testimony of Paul the Deacon , resided there the Duke Mimulfo . The war of 962, when the Emperor of the Holy Roman Emperor Otto I besieged the island for months the queen Willa wife of Berengar II, King of Italy, perhaps led to the destruction of the early church . In 1219 the bishops of Novara assumed full sovereignty over the territory of the Riviera di San Giulio, of which the island was the religious and administrative center . The economic activities but gradually moved towards the nearby village of Orta , who in the course of the seventeenth century came to give its name to the lake, which in medieval times was known as the Lago di San Giulio . The occupation of the castle played a decisive role during the turmoil that saw the inhabitants of the Riviera fiercely defend their freedom against the raids of the mercenary troops from the neighboring Duchy of Milan in the first half of the sixteenth century . In 1841 the medieval castle was demolished to make way for the new large Episcopal Seminary , Lombard work of the architect Ferdinando Caronesi . A pedestrian street runs along the entire perimeter of the island along the ancient houses of the canons, one of the oldest was owned by Caesar Augustus Heel , piano maker and tuner craft of Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli . Each year it hosts a popular series of concerts . In 1973 the island was founded a Benedictine monastery , the monastery Mater Ecclesiae , which are carried out important research, studies and translations of ancient texts. The monastery also has a conservation laboratory and center for research and study of ancient textiles . For some years the monastery is housed in the seminar.

EREMO DI S. CATERINA DEL SASSO

EREMO DI S. CATERINA DEL SASSO  Apri
Loc. LEGGIUNO - LOMBARDIA  Navigatore
40 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area La Sacca, Cittiglio, Isola Bella
Tradition has it that the Hermitage was founded by Alberto Besozzi , a wealthy local merchant who , to escape a storm while crossing the lake, decided to retire on that stretch of coast and to lead life as a hermit . There the Blessed Alberto he built a chapel dedicated to St. Catherine of Egypt, is currently visible on the back of the church . The chapel , which dates back to the twelfth century, was soon joined by two other churches , that of St. Nicholas and Santa Maria Nova , whose existence is certain from the fourteenth century. After an initial period of history , during which the Dominicans stayed there , from 1314 to 1645 led the Hermitage the monks of the monastery of St. Ambrose ad Nemus Milan , then replaced by the Carmelites in 1770 . To emphasize is the miracle of early eighteenth century, when five huge boulders dancers rushed into the church, but remained entangled in the vault of a chapel , without causing serious damage , remaining suspended for nearly two centuries , until 1910. These stones shaky that seem to give the name of the hermitage , in full, is Santa Caterina del Sasso Ballaro , although it is more likely that the etymology of the name is linked to the nearby town of Ballarate . Since 1970, the Hermitage is owned by the Province of Varese. From 1986 to 1996 he was supported by a Dominican community , today it is passed to Benedictine Oblates .

GOLF CLUB: VERBANIA GOLF AND SPORTING

GOLF CLUB: VERBANIA GOLF AND SPORTING  Apri
Loc. VERBANIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
25 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Isola Superiore, Isola Bella, Stresa
utive-hole par 27 at character level, on the shore of Lake Mergozzo and against the back of the Alps that draw the striking natural surroundings. The game turns out to be varied and interesting for the presence of internal lakes and a large forest of alders blacks, but at the same time calm and quiet little tiring for her and for the type of route.

PARCO DELLA VILLA PALLAVICINO

PARCO DELLA VILLA PALLAVICINO  Apri
Loc. LA SACCA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
38 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Leggiuno, Isola Bella, Isola Superiore
The park of Villa Pallavicini is waiting for you in Stresa , to spend an unforgettable day in one of the most beautiful places on Lake Maggiore . The park covers an area of about 20 hectares of flower-lined paths , trees and a botanical garden. The main attraction of the park is made up of our animals. You can observe more than 40 species of mammals and exotic birds (llamas, kangaroos, zebras , flamingos ) , who live in large natural areas . Furthermore, to make your day even more complete , inside the park you will find the restaurant The Stables , the Chalet Bar , the shop Parcobello and several areas used for picnics. Younger guests can have fun in a well-equipped playground . The Park of Villa Pallavicini you are totally immersed in nature, often spectacular , always beautiful and charming. The park, with its 160,000 square meters. of meadows and woods is definitely a destination to be favored in the organization of school trips . Here, in fact , in a unique environmental setting , you can admire rare and exotic plant species such as the majestic Lyriodendri , the ancient Gynko biloba or stroll in the beautiful Italian garden or in the driveway of the Camellias , contemplating the bloom of hundreds of different species. The particular structure of the park, allows visitors to truly be in contact with nature and can even bring some animals such as deer , llama , rhea free living in large natural areas . However, the Park provides unforgettable encounters with other kangaroos, zebras and monkeys, and curious animals like skunks and ferrets . And yet , within beautiful natural environments reconstructed one can observe various species of exotic birds including splendid specimens of parrots and hornbills . In the vicinity of the pond are instead turtles , swans and ducks , or you can also surprise beavers struggling with their constructions of high engineering. The physiognomy of the gardens and parks of the villas on the lakes is very different from that found in other parts of Italy . The use of evergreen is limited, the bloom is especially spring and summer and plants are adapted to the humid climate and soil acid lakes. Even the ground, which often descends steeply towards the lake , adds to the charm of these gardens , designed to offer spectacular views of the lake and surrounding mountains .

ISOLA DEI PESCATORI

ISOLA DEI PESCATORI  Apri
Loc. ISOLA SUPERIORE - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
33 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Isola Bella, Stresa, La Sacca
  Brochure PDF
Isola Superiore , also called Isola dei Pescatori from the historical work of its inhabitants, is located to the north of Isola Bella , from which it is separated by a small island that has more or less the size of a rock and is known as the Malghera . With its 100 meters wide by 350 long Fishermen 's Island is the smallest of the Borromean Islands ( the largest being Isola Madre ) . Only one of the Borromean islands to be inhabited during all months of the year, there is a small village of fifty inhabitants characterized by a small square surrounded by narrow winding streets that lead to the promenade on the northern tip of the island. Features are the multi-storey houses arose to take advantage of the little space available : they are almost all equipped with long balconies indispensable for drying fish . As clearly indicated by the name, the activity of fishing is still much practiced , and you can taste the fresh fruits in one of the many taverns overlooking the lake. The island's history is ancient : we know that it was already inhabited seven hundred years ago . The parish church is dedicated to St. Victor, in mid-August during the procession of the statue of the patron saint is transported by boat around the islands . Characteristic is the small market that sells local crafts and attracts many tourists.

SAN CARLONE DI ARONA

SAN CARLONE DI ARONA  Apri
Loc. ARONA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
45 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Angera, Dormelletto, La Sacca
The Colossus of St. Charles Borromeo (called the Sancarlone or , in the local dialect el Sancarlu'n ), is a more than 30 meters high statue located in Arona (NO) in the village of San Carlo , the Sacro Monte di San Carlo.Carlo Borromeo was born on 2 October 1538 in Rocca di Arona (later partially destroyed by order of Napoleon Bonaparte ) . Become a bishop and cardinal at twenty-two , he was elected archbishop of Milan in 1565 and strove material and spiritual assistance especially during scourges such as famine and plague. He died on 3 November 1584 (being expired after sunset, according to the custom of the time shall be the day 4), and was beatified in 1602 and canonized in 1610 , just 26 years after morte.Su will of his cousin Frederick , Archbishop of Milan and his successor, work began on the construction of a Sacred Mountain that we celebrate the memory . Federico Borromeo with Marco Aurelio Grattarola , supervisor of the work of the Holy Mount , also wanted to build a huge statue visible from Lake Maggiore. The design was by Giovanni Battista Crespi , known as Cerano and the statue was made with sheets of hammered copper and assembled using nails and iron rods . The sculptors that were realized Siro Zanella of Pavia and Bernardo Falconi of Bissone . The work was completed in 1698 and 19 May of the same year Cardinal Federico Hunting, archbishop of Milan, gave the solemn blessing of the monument .

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE FENERA

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE FENERA  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE FENERA, VALDUGGIA VC, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
40 Km from VIGANELLA
  Area Isola San Giulio, Varallo, Dormelletto
A mighty mountain and lonely over the mountains of the Lower Valsesia The park is named after the mountain that stands mighty and solitary, over the mountains of the Lower Valsesia and that, for him, is recognizable from the plains of Novara and Vercelli: The Fenera. Its territory, excellent choice for a holiday, it is located in a central area than the plain characterized by rice fields, the High Valsesia, where stands the Monte Rosa, the lakes Maggiore and Orta. E 'therefore a starting point for excursions related to the surrounding area where history, culture and traditions are expressed and influenced each other over time.

Excursions and attractions in PIEMONTE close to VIGANELLA VB, ITALIA Beura-cardezza Premosello-chiovenda Staffa: 'CASTELLI DI CANNERO'   'MACUGNAGA'   'ORRIDO DI SANT'ANNA'   'ROCCA BORROMEA'   'PARCO NATURALE ALTA VALSESIA'   'VOGOGNA'   'CANNOBIO'   'PARCO NATURALE DELL'ALPE VEGLIA E DELL'ALPE DEVERO'   'ORRIDI DI URIEZZO'   'CASTEL SAVOIA'   'CHIESA DI SAN GIORGIO IN BAGNILLA'   'ISOLA MADRE'   'WWF: OASI BOSCO TENSO'   'CASCATE DI CITTIGLIO'   'CASCATA DEL TOCE FORMAZZA'   'ISOLA BELLA'   'ISOLA DI SAN GIULIO'   'EREMO DI S. CATERINA DEL SASSO'   'GOLF CLUB: VERBANIA GOLF AND SPORTING'   'PARCO DELLA VILLA PALLAVICINO'   'ISOLA DEI PESCATORI'   'SAN CARLONE DI ARONA'   'PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE FENERA'  

PIEMONTE


Piedmont is in the north-west of Italy and borders Switzerland and France. True to the meaning of its name (foot of the mountain), Piedmont is a land of mountains. It is surrounded on three sides by the Alps, with the highest peaks and largest glaciers in Italy. Monviso, the Piedmont side of Mount Rosa and the other spectacular mountains in the region, create incredibly beautiful landscapes; there are many ski resorts as well, such as Via Lattea and Sestriere, which welcome winter sports enthusiasts with their state of the art facilities. The Alps form the background for great picturesque valleys, for example, the Val di Susa, Valsesia and Val d'Ossola. The hilly landscape of the Langhe and Monferrato is different, but still beautiful: a succession of cultivated hills and vineyards, dotted with small towns and castles. Expanses of water and rice-fields, long rows of poplars and old farmhouses make up the typical scenery of the plains around Novara and Vercelli. Lake Maggiore is the most sought-after tourist resort, with Stresa and the Borromean Islands, charming landscapes with ancient villas surrounded by beautiful lawns. Yet, nature is only one of the many attractions in Piedmont. This region has many other facets: from Turin and the Italian car manufacturing capital and with its history and remarkable cultural heritage, to other cities such as Cherasco, Alba and Ivrea. Next we come to charming medieval castles, including the imposing castle of Ivrea, and prized works of architecture, for example the famous Residences of the Royal House of Savoy and the Sacri Monti (Sacred Mountains). The famous spa resorts of Acqui Terme and Vinadio offer treatments and therapy for a relaxing, reviving holiday. Discoveries and surprises of all kinds are in store for visitors to the region, including a wide range of food and wine for all tastes. The region's provinces are: Turin (regional capital), Alessandria, Asti, Biella, Cuneo, Novara, Verbano Cusio Ossola and Vercelli.