Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
vogogna - excursions points of interest attractions in vogogna verbano-cusio-ossola, italy
Promotions found !
Look in the IdeasForTravels home page

 city town VOGOGNA

city town

Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to VOGOGNA VERBANO-CUSIO-OSSOLA, ITALY Premosello-chiovenda Viganella Baceno


35 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area La Sacca, Cittiglio, Isola Bella
Tradition has it that the Hermitage was founded by Alberto Besozzi , a wealthy local merchant who , to escape a storm while crossing the lake, decided to retire on that stretch of coast and to lead life as a hermit . There the Blessed Alberto he built a chapel dedicated to St. Catherine of Egypt, is currently visible on the back of the church . The chapel , which dates back to the twelfth century, was soon joined by two other churches , that of St. Nicholas and Santa Maria Nova , whose existence is certain from the fourteenth century. After an initial period of history , during which the Dominicans stayed there , from 1314 to 1645 led the Hermitage the monks of the monastery of St. Ambrose ad Nemus Milan , then replaced by the Carmelites in 1770 . To emphasize is the miracle of early eighteenth century, when five huge boulders dancers rushed into the church, but remained entangled in the vault of a chapel , without causing serious damage , remaining suspended for nearly two centuries , until 1910. These stones shaky that seem to give the name of the hermitage , in full, is Santa Caterina del Sasso Ballaro , although it is more likely that the etymology of the name is linked to the nearby town of Ballarate . Since 1970, the Hermitage is owned by the Province of Varese. From 1986 to 1996 he was supported by a Dominican community , today it is passed to Benedictine Oblates .


41 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Cittiglio, Castello, Bedero Valcuvia
A small town of Valcuvia , rich in history and tradition, by passing point of the road that connects Cittiglio with the most important center of the valley, ie Luino. Casalzuigno essentially consists of three groups : Zuigno , Casale and Arcumeggia . The first of these , appears to be already present in Roman times, as evidenced by the discovery of tombs dating back to that time , with the name of Sovinium that , in medieval times become Civignum . Of Zuigno you start talking long after , when in 1200 there was born Jacobus de Covignio , which will be one of the most well-known abbots of the valley, and then became the first provost of the canonical parish church of San Lorenzo in Cuvio . From the same century have been found in Casale and documents relating to the small village of Aga , where Marcadus son of Hugh de Aga de Casale participated as a witness in a barter Rogata in plebe de Cuvio . Arcumeggia , the ancient Arx Media , positioned to defend the road between Valcuvia to Valtravaglia , will be remembered for the discovery of relics from the Neolithic period and evidence that prove the existence since the thirteenth century. From the seventeenth century it became the seat Casalzuigno stable to the family home from the port , in a short time , extended his possessions across the valley . Officially , however, is that Casalzuigno Arcumeggia were ruled by a vicinia which were part of all householders who gathered in the square on Sunday after mass . The bells gave start to the session presided over by a mayor who could count on a console. Today, both locations of Casalzuigno and Arcumeggia are united under a single municipality.


35 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Cittiglio, Casalzuigno, Cannero Riviera
L'edificio originario aveva un'unica navata voltata e chiusa da abside rivolta ad oriente con campanile all'estremo opposto mentre sul lato settentrionale, rivolto verso il lago, sorgeva un portico. Nel XVII secolo la chiesa venne ingrandita con l'inclusione del portico che divenne la seconda navata e l'innalzamento del tetto. Nel XIX secolo con la costruzione del cimitero vennero apportate altre modifiche nelle aperture. Configurazione strutturale: Edificio rettangolare a due navate con abside semicircolare rivolta ad est. La struttura perimetrale e' in muratura portante in pietra e ciottoli. La copertura e' a due falde ricoperte di lastre in beola cosi' come il tetto dell'abside. Addossata al lato occidentale della chiesa si eleva la torre campanaria quadrata costruita in pietre squadrate con copertura piramidale in lastre di beola. Descrizione: La parete rivolta a monte e' in pietre e ciottoli disposti in modo irregolare con tracce di intonaco, tre lesene costruite con pietre piu' grosse e squadrate inquadrano le due aperture, la porta di accesso e una finestra rettangolare aperte nel XIX secolo. La parete rivolta verso il cimitero mostra chiaramente le progressive trasformazioni del monumento: sopra l'abside e' visibile l'andamento primitivo del tetto dell'edificio romanico a navata unica mentre a destra e' l'arco murato dell'originario portico aperto. La muratura e' a vista con una finestra murata ed una piu' recente chiusa da grata. L'elemento piu' importante e' l'abside, elevata sopra uno zoccolo e' formata da grandi blocchi di pietra con due semicolonnine terminanti con capitelli scolpiti a motivi floreali che dividono la curvatura in tre segmenti con al centro una monofora strombata murata con archivolto ricavato da un unico blocco di pietra. L'abside termina con un cornicione leggermente aggettante retto da un fregio di archetti ciechi ricavati da blocchi di pietra di diverso colore e poggianti su mensoline in pietra di colore diverso e contrastante con il blocco sovrastante. Il modello decorativo con cornice di archetti monoblocco e' diffuso nell'area comasca ma e' presente nel territorio varesino, oltre a Sarigo, solo nella chiesa di San Materno a Clivio e nel campanile della badia di San Gemolo a Ganna. Il modello complessivo dell'abside ricorda comunque il vicino San Vittore a Canonica. Il massiccio e corto campanile ha aspetto liscio e regolare ed e' costruito con piccole pietre regolari. La canna e' percorso da lesene angolari con specchiatura coronata da quattro archetti formati da piccoli conci in tufo e aperta da una sottile feritoia con a chiusura una bifora con colonnina e capitello a stampella. Sotto il tetto sono visibili quattro peducci privi di archetti che hanno indotto ad ipotizzare l'esistenza, forse solo a livello progettuale, di un'ulteriore piano. Il campanile e' molto simile alle altre torri della Valtravaglia e in particolare alla vicina San Martino a Saltirana.


37 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Casalzuigno, Castello, Leggiuno
  Brochure PDF
The three waterfalls Cittiglio, are formed by the river S.Giulio and placed at altitudes between 324 and 474 meters high in a natural woodland setting of striking beauty. The path of the river, before reaching the country, winds through winding lines, which invite the water in sudden jumps and bursting. The mountainous landscape that surrounds the stream, has a thick vegetation, formed mainly by beech, pine and chestnut trees, the fruits of which are attractive to many people during the months of September and October. At the moment you can only visit the first cascade, starting from Cittiglio and moving walk along a path, well indicated that climbs up to a combined picnic area, with tables and fields, in order to live moments of relax in the green natural areas that few are able to offer. From here, to reach the first waterfall, the trail is rather small and more difficult the previous year (at this time) but the waterfall can be reached easily in about 10 minutes. A recent regional funding will allow the redevelopment of paths and signage on each part of the path leading to the picnic area and from there to the first waterfall.


9 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Beura-cardezza, Premosello-chiovenda, Staffa
Viganella (Viganela Ossola in Piedmont dialect) is a town of 207 inhabitants in the province of Verbania and the Valley Antrona. As from 17 December 2006, the small town has known a great reputation for the installation in the vicinity of a large mirror (8x5 meters), intended to illuminate, as from 11 November to 2 February each year, the country lies completely in the absence of the sun because of the mountain overlooking. The construction of the mirror has cost about 100,000 euro.


30 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Viganella, Gressoney-Saint-Jean, Valtournenche
Macugnaga ( Makana Titsch in the local language Walser ) is an Italian town of 613 inhabitants in the province of Verbania in Piedmont. The first permanent settlements settlers occurred in the second half of the thirteenth century. It was a people from dall'elvetica Saas valley : the Walser . Settled in the upper part of the Anzasca , as well as in other centers ossolani Formazza and Ornavasso . Once you have crossed the pass of Monte Moro these people would find a suitable place in the wide glacial basin to develop sheep farming and agriculture , featuring specific elements of their culture architecture and a High German language still firm in the semantics 1300 high Anzasca . You can still see the typical Walser houses , many of them beautifully restored with a conservative approach, with stone foundations , structures and interiors entirely in larch wood , characteristic balconies and stone gable roof covered with slabs of gneiss , these also flagstone , or more rarely of larch shingles . As a soapstone stove heating , said hofe , usually indicating the date of construction of the dwelling (some bear dates of the sixteenth century). A beautiful example of this architecture is the Walser House Museum which is located in the village Borca . From the perspective of political-administrative Macugnaga partially followed the events of the Ossola . Originally belonging to the Duchy of Milan, followed the fate with the Spanish and Austrian domination . In 1743 the Treaty of Worms Ossola was joined to the Kingdom of Sardinia. From an administrative point Macugnaga, as all of Lower Ossola, was included in the Province of Pallanza , and included in the District of Vogogna. In 1818, with the abolition of the District of Vogogna , Macugnaga became part of the new district of Bannio , who was reassigned to the Ossola Province . With the birth of the Kingdom of Italy was transformed into Environment Ossola Province and was included in the Province of Novara. Macugnaga belonged to this province until 1992 , the year of establishment of the new Province of Verbano -Cusio -Ossola.


38 Km from VOGOGNA
Altitude: 204 mt. a.s.l.  Area Cannero Riviera, Luino, Cannobio
The history of Macclesfield is very old and in some ways very original. In 962 , Otto I landed in what was then a small village of fishermen and craftsmen , the servants of the accounts Mandelli . We found shelter and hospitality. In gratitude gave independence of the feud and the right to mint coins . Macclesfield became a tiny statelet in a district of vassals . The autonomy was perpetuated for centuries , until the rule of the Borromeo. Among the prominent citizens whose Macclesfield was the birthplace remember the humanist Domenico Della Bella , called the Macaneo . The village, until a few decades ago, it was divided into Upper and Lower stream from Jonah, the two villages were autonomous administrative life , even now the physical difference of the urban plan is relevant . Feature Contrada Maggiore, the old center of the village, with narrow streets crowded by houses, dominated by an Imperial Tower and the small sanctuary of the Madonna della Punta (XVI century) , supported by powerful arches , a balcony overlooking the sparkling expanse of the lake from here you can see the Cannero castles , placed on a small island not far from the shore Piedmont. The town of Macclesfield superior, more modern, it is the Town Hall. Worthy of note is the Casa Branca , a courtyard with arcades . But what conquest of Macclesfield is the breathtaking view, allowing you to span almost the entire Verbano : from the peaks of the Canton of Ticino, the Borromeo Gulf . The beach , created by Jonah , can not be found elsewhere, for the length and depth : it is a privileged place among the many beautiful tourist centers of Verbano . To admire these beauties , every year, thousands of tourists come to Macclesfield ; their host several hotels , two campsites equipped and numerous holiday homes. Starting in 1979 in a futuristic building - bridge thrown over Jonah was made the Civico Museo Parisi Valley , which houses the modern art collection donated by its creator : Giuseppe Vittorio Parisi . Among the recurring events , the risotto with sausage that can be enjoyed every Carnival. Recently, the City has , even for events and events in the city , a multipurpose building , the Parco delle Feste . In 1971 came into operation Roncovalgrande Power Station ( ENEL ) , located along the 394 highway , north of the town of Macclesfield , fed by the waters of Lake Delio : You can visit by appointment.


33 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Colma, Varallo, Arona
The island of San Giulio ( ed San Giulio island in Piedmont , Lombardy Island in San Giuli ) is the only island in Lake Orta and is part of the town of Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara , in Piemonte.Le archaeological investigations have shown the antiquity of human presence , attested from the Neolithic to the Iron Age . According to the legend of the life of San Giulio in Roman times the site was abandoned. You can , however , although lacking archaeological evidence , that the island was a center of worship pre-Christian . This would explain both why the evangelist decided to build toward the 390 , the first church , the symbol is overshadowed by the legendary infestation of snakes and dragons. These reptiles are therefore an allegory of evil and , in this case , according to the Christians of those times of paganism. The archaeological investigations have revealed the remains of an ancient church , dating from the late fifth to the seventh century , providing a historical basis to the Legend. In the Dark Ages the island 's strategic position made it an important defensive center . A tradition, still under discussion , identifies the castle on the island, the castrum built by the bishop of Novara Onorato , quoted by the poet and bishop of Pavia Ennodio (Bk II Carm. ) . In the Lombard period the island was fortified and certainly , according to the testimony of Paul the Deacon , resided there the Duke Mimulfo . The war of 962, when the Emperor of the Holy Roman Emperor Otto I besieged the island for months the queen Willa wife of Berengar II, King of Italy, perhaps led to the destruction of the early church . In 1219 the bishops of Novara assumed full sovereignty over the territory of the Riviera di San Giulio, of which the island was the religious and administrative center . The economic activities but gradually moved towards the nearby village of Orta , who in the course of the seventeenth century came to give its name to the lake, which in medieval times was known as the Lago di San Giulio . The occupation of the castle played a decisive role during the turmoil that saw the inhabitants of the Riviera fiercely defend their freedom against the raids of the mercenary troops from the neighboring Duchy of Milan in the first half of the sixteenth century . In 1841 the medieval castle was demolished to make way for the new large Episcopal Seminary , Lombard work of the architect Ferdinando Caronesi . A pedestrian street runs along the entire perimeter of the island along the ancient houses of the canons, one of the oldest was owned by Caesar Augustus Heel , piano maker and tuner craft of Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli . Each year it hosts a popular series of concerts . In 1973 the island was founded a Benedictine monastery , the monastery Mater Ecclesiae , which are carried out important research, studies and translations of ancient texts. The monastery also has a conservation laboratory and center for research and study of ancient textiles . For some years the monastery is housed in the seminar.


8 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Beura-cardezza, Verbania, Viganella
  Brochure PDF
The WWF Bosco Tenso home to over 40 species of nesting birds , including the green woodpecker . The Oasis Bosco Tenso is located in the municipalities of Premosello Chiovenda and (Vb ) . The area of 22 hectares is home to over 40 species of birds that nest in this Oasis , consisting of a deciduous forest . environment The trend is linear and continuous air woodland in the south side , rather irregular and sinuous north , and follows for most of its length the course of the Rio dei Rughetti . The geological structure of the land on which lies the Bosco Tenso is alluvial : sandy - gravelly deep , sandy - loamy surface , a consequence of the periodic flooding of the River Toce. The wooded area is flat, interrupted by sunken river beds of the Rio dei Rughetti and Rio del Ponte . The soil as a whole , it is moist permeation and flood Toce and the two above mentioned Rii torrential character. Extension of 22 hectares curiosity Flora and fauna Over the entire area extends a dense mixed deciduous forest . In some areas of forest are found presences almost pure stands of ash, linden and white alders . The uppermost layer of the forest is composed primarily of oaks, poplars blacks , willows, alders , white mountain elms , maples, cherry trees. The middle layer includes hazel shrub , lime, mulberry, cherry , gorse , poplars , ash trees. The bottom layer is composed of herbaceous species, native and exotic . Are as many as 40 species of nesting birds found, including: green woodpecker , little ringed plover , pigeon, cuckoo, owl , stiff neck, nightingale , wood warbler , chaffinch, Serin , Goldfinch , melodious warbler , wren , great, coal, biking , dark green , kingfishers, cormorants , hen harrier , hawk , quail , lapwing , lark , Crag Martin and many other species of migratory birds or wintering . Of invertebrates we can find the oasis multiplicity ' of different species of butterflies.


28 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Isola Bella, Stresa, La Sacca
  Brochure PDF
Isola Superiore , also called Isola dei Pescatori from the historical work of its inhabitants, is located to the north of Isola Bella , from which it is separated by a small island that has more or less the size of a rock and is known as the Malghera . With its 100 meters wide by 350 long Fishermen 's Island is the smallest of the Borromean Islands ( the largest being Isola Madre ) . Only one of the Borromean islands to be inhabited during all months of the year, there is a small village of fifty inhabitants characterized by a small square surrounded by narrow winding streets that lead to the promenade on the northern tip of the island. Features are the multi-storey houses arose to take advantage of the little space available : they are almost all equipped with long balconies indispensable for drying fish . As clearly indicated by the name, the activity of fishing is still much practiced , and you can taste the fresh fruits in one of the many taverns overlooking the lake. The island's history is ancient : we know that it was already inhabited seven hundred years ago . The parish church is dedicated to St. Victor, in mid-August during the procession of the statue of the patron saint is transported by boat around the islands . Characteristic is the small market that sells local crafts and attracts many tourists.


42 Km from VOGOGNA
Altitude: 218 mt. a.s.l.  Area Arona, Dormelletto, La Sacca
La Rocca Borromeo of Arona is a building for defensive purposes , overlooking Lake Maggiore. Together with her sister Rocca Borromeo of Angera was one of the main strategic points of control of Lake Maggiore in ancient times. The fortress , built in the Piedmont, in the municipality of Arona, was founded in a period of just prior to the year one thousand under the control of the Lombards. Designed solely for defensive purposes , in the following centuries passed between Bishop's property up to fill the role of mere shelter around the eleventh and twelfth centuries . Having undergone a complete destruction at the hands of the House of Della Torre returned possession of the Visconti in 1227 . Two centuries later, precisely in 1439, the building changed to the new owner along with the entire City and the Castle of Arona, when Filippo Maria Visconti gave it as a fief to Vitaliano Borromeo. For four centuries, the castle remained in the hands of the Borromeo family , even giving birth to the future Cardinal St. Charles Borromeo in 1538 . The history of Rocca di Arona closes in 1800 when the Napoleonic army was ordered to destroy fortifications occupied by the Austrians. Since that time the fortress of Arona there are only a few remnants . After ten years of abandonment , since September 2011, the park is re- usable. Final opening from mid- March 2012


41 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Isola San Giulio, Varallo, Dormelletto
A mighty mountain and lonely over the mountains of the Lower Valsesia The park is named after the mountain that stands mighty and solitary, over the mountains of the Lower Valsesia and that, for him, is recognizable from the plains of Novara and Vercelli: The Fenera. Its territory, excellent choice for a holiday, it is located in a central area than the plain characterized by rice fields, the High Valsesia, where stands the Monte Rosa, the lakes Maggiore and Orta. E 'therefore a starting point for excursions related to the surrounding area where history, culture and traditions are expressed and influenced each other over time.


Loc. STRESA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
28 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Isola Bella, Isola Superiore, La Sacca
  Brochure PDF
It is the largest of the Borromeo Islands and the most characteristic for the atmosphere of silence , enchantment: a garden of rare plants and exotic flowers in which they live peacocks , parrots and pheasants to create the charm of a land tropical . Isola Madre is particularly famous for the blooming of azaleas, rhododendrons , camellias , but also for the pergolas of ancient wisteria , the largest specimen of Europe 's Cypress Cashmir of over two hundred years , the backs of citrons and lemons , the collection of hibiscus , Ginkgo biloba. In 1978 it was opened to the public palace of the sixteenth century, interesting for the reconstruction of period rooms and collections of liveries, dolls and porcelain. Exceptional exposure Puppet Theatres the '600 / '800 . Isola Madre leaves the visitor with a feeling of extreme elegance in the care of the gardens and the interiors offering a certain quality for the most demanding . The rooms of the palace, set up in 1978 with furniture from various historical residences of the family, offer numerous works of art , such as tapestries, furniture and paintings . Among the most important rooms : the reception room with paintings on the walls of biblical subject of Stephen Danedi , said Montalto (1618-1683) , Ercole Procaccini the Younger (1596-1676) and Giovan Battista Costa (1636-1690) , the hall of Seasons with the great tapestry belonged to a cardinal family , the Hall of dolls which contains an important collection of nineteenth-century French and German dolls . Unique and interesting addition is the collection of puppets and puppet theaters from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The palace is surrounded by a beautiful botanical garden, established by the French writer Gustave Flaubert an earthly paradise , which hosted , and houses , rare and exotic plant species originating from all over the world including hovering multicolored peacocks, parrots and pheasants.


42 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Angera, Dormelletto, La Sacca
The Colossus of St. Charles Borromeo (called the Sancarlone or , in the local dialect el Sancarlu'n ), is a more than 30 meters high statue located in Arona (NO) in the village of San Carlo , the Sacro Monte di San Carlo.Carlo Borromeo was born on 2 October 1538 in Rocca di Arona (later partially destroyed by order of Napoleon Bonaparte ) . Become a bishop and cardinal at twenty-two , he was elected archbishop of Milan in 1565 and strove material and spiritual assistance especially during scourges such as famine and plague. He died on 3 November 1584 (being expired after sunset, according to the custom of the time shall be the day 4), and was beatified in 1602 and canonized in 1610 , just 26 years after morte.Su will of his cousin Frederick , Archbishop of Milan and his successor, work began on the construction of a Sacred Mountain that we celebrate the memory . Federico Borromeo with Marco Aurelio Grattarola , supervisor of the work of the Holy Mount , also wanted to build a huge statue visible from Lake Maggiore. The design was by Giovanni Battista Crespi , known as Cerano and the statue was made with sheets of hammered copper and assembled using nails and iron rods . The sculptors that were realized Siro Zanella of Pavia and Bernardo Falconi of Bissone . The work was completed in 1698 and 19 May of the same year Cardinal Federico Hunting, archbishop of Milan, gave the solemn blessing of the monument .


Loc. BACENO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
21 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Ponte, Varzo, Beura-cardezza
  Brochure PDF
The Uriezzo Gorges are deep ravines carved into the rock , caused by the streams that once flowed on the bottom of the glacier that occupied the interamante Pomatt . The peculiarity of the Uriezzo gorges is that the stream that molded them does not travel more than these narrow incisions , so today you can walk easily in them. The gorges are constraddistinti by a series of large subcircular cavity separated by narrow and winding tunnels . The walls are all carved with niches and grooves produced by the whirling motion and violent waterfalls and in some places are close to such an extent that the fund does not provide a view of the sky. The most spectacular spot is undoubtedly the South , about 200 m long by 20 to 30 m deep , called by the locals Tomb of Uriezzo explanatory panels and metal stairs will guide the visitors . The rocky bottom is not always visible because it is often covered by a layer of soil and alluvial material . The ecotem of orridi is very complex : constant conditions of high humidity and low light determine difficult environmental conditions to which they adapt especially mosses and ferns , present in a wide variety of species .


Loc. VARZO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
25 Km from VOGOGNA
Altitude: 1744 mt. a.s.l.  Area Baceno, Beura-cardezza, Viganella
  Brochure PDF
The natural park Alpe Veglia and Alpe Devero was established in 1995 and is located in the Val d' Ossola, in the province of Verbania . The basins are interesting both from a mineralogical point of view that geology. Evidenced by the long course of geological processes : the origin of the glacial basins is demonstrated by the persistence of some residues of ancient glaciers , such as the Lion and the Aletsch Glacier d'Aurona from Alpe Veglia or the Glacier of the Red Army from the alp devero . From the mineralogical point of view interesting minerals are present as the asbecasite , the cafarsite and Cervandonite . The National Coordination of Parks and Nature Reserves, in the persons of Dr. I. De Negri , director of the Park , and Radames Blonde , rangers , testified in 1993 that from the geological point of view in this area was confirmed after completion of the Simplon Tunnel , the interpretive theory of the structure of the Alps according to a model in which overlapping flaps , as a result of compressive forces , have emerged to form the alpine building . These strata, for the chromatic contrast of the different lithological types , are easily recognizable on the walls of the mountains that surround the area


30 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Isola San Giulio, Colma, Verbania
The Park highest Europe's The Park covers an area of 6,511 acres, including the 900 and 4,559 meters above sea level, making it the highest in Europe Park. Its territory covers the upper portions of the heads of the river and the river Sesia and Val Sermenza But stallion and several confluent valleys. Its western and north western boundaries running on the watershed that separates the Valsesia from Gressoney, from Swiss territory and Anzasca. To the north the boundary coincides with the crest of the mountain massif of Monte Rosa, reaching 4,559 meters of Signalkuppe.


36 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Maccagno con Pino e Veddasca, Luino, Cannobio
They are called castles of Cannero, despite being in the territory of the town of Cannock, three rocky islets located in the Lake Maggiore in front of Cannero Riviera on two of which are the ruins of ancient fortifications. They were built between the eleventh century and twelfth century


29 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Isola Superiore, Stresa, La Sacca
  Brochure PDF
In 1632 , Count Vitaliano Borromeo began the construction of the monumental baroque palace and the majestic scenery of the gardens that made the island famous and still witness to the splendours of an era. The Borromeo offers visitors an elegant and lavish it contains priceless works of art, tapestries , furniture, statues, paintings , stucco but also the unusual mosaic grotto , a place of cool and delightful . After visiting the palace, there is access to the garden for a leisurely stroll . This unique flowered monument to ornate terraces , is a classic and inimitable example of Italian garden of the seventeenth century. Among rare and exotic plants , the spectacular flowering is designed to provide colors and scents from March to ottobre.Splendido and great Italian baroque garden is one of the most famous and best preserved in Italy . Built at different times , it is a coherent set of pyramidal shape that culminates in the large statue of the Unicorn ridden by Love. Divided into ten sloping terraces , is decorated with pools, fountains , architectural perspectives and a multitude of statues dating from the second half of the seventeenth century representatives personifications of rivers, winds and seasons . Many of these environments are delimited by walls and balustrades on which even today are perceived steps which welled jets , fountains, waterfalls and water features . The particularly mild climate , has enabled the growth of a vast variety of vegetation and species which have found their habitat. Among azaleas and rhododendrons, collars grapefruit and bitter oranges , orchids and carnivorous plants, distinctive outline of a large camphor tree of more than two hundred years. Exotic plants are placed in the greenhouse during the winter season nineteenth century , included in the tour. The finishing touches recurring from March to September they never leave the garden devoid of charm and color.


Loc. ANGERA - LOMBARDIA  Navigatore
42 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Arona, Dormelletto, La Sacca
Along the western border of Lombardy, near Lake Maggiore, the beauty of the landscape is reflected on the water and buy a new charm , made of light and glare that change with the seasons : the summer sunsets give flows of gold and ruby on the water , while the winter fills the air a milky whiteness , in the mystery that surrounds the villages on the banks . Among these is Angera, pretty town of about six thousand inhabitants in the province of Varese , nestled along the southern cove of Lake Maggiore , 12 km from Sesto Kalends . As a lady vain, rightly proud of its historic beauty , Angera watches his double image and gives visitors a dual wonder. Intimately linked to its lake, the town over the years has been able to enhance the landscape: walk along the lake , letting yourself be charmed by the trees rustling in the wind , or watching the sun set , is a unique and romantic . Not to mention the trips that you can do in the nearby nature reserve , which is considered Site of Community Interest , with its unspoiled views and the greenery of a deep green. In this scenario except you the jewels of historical Angera that the long history of the town has spread , century after century , the urban fabric. Ancient artefacts found in the Wolf's Lair , a cave below the fortress, have revealed that the area was inhabited since the late Paleolithic, and there are numerous testimonies of the Roman period , gathered today in the Archaeological Museum in the center . But the most representative monument of Angera is without a doubt the Rock , who sits upright on top of a limestone bluff and once served as a lookout on lake traffic below . Purchased by the Borromeo in 1449 , the fortress bears the marks of the various changes made over the centuries , which have gradually increased the fascination : the oldest part of the structure is the castle tower , the first thirteenth century, while the wing and Visconti Borromea that are of later periods. To admire the different rooms of the castle, in particular the Hall of Justice edlla with its magnificent frescoes and refined, dating from the thirteenth century and focusing on the stories of Ottone Visconti , Archbishop of Milan. Other frescoes are found in the living room of Ceremonies , subtracted from the Palazzo Borromeo of Milan immediately after the bombing during the Second World War. Even the churches Angera are numerous, and have been since medieval times , when the village was head of a parish church , which embraced many villages on the shores of the lake. Today, the building of worship more interesting is the Church of Santa Maria Assunta , an ancient foundation , expanded and become increasingly important since 1400 , to become the Parish Church. Made entirely of stone Angera, staining yellow -pink , the building overlooking the church square with the beautiful facade of the early twentieth century , but made in the sixteenth century style . Inside, the nave and two aisles , you can see several frescoed chapels , a choir seventeenth-century wooden carved by Giovan Battista Beson , a fine baptistery and an ancient stone statue of Angera.


41 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Cittiglio, Castello, Bedero Valcuvia
The current structure of the villa, based on typical plant U around a court of honor, is on two floors and dates back to the early eighteenth century, a period in which they were carried out considerable work that affected both the sixteenth century complex that the wing extended at the end of the seventeenth century. To the interior, designed by Antonio Maria Porani with the client Giovan Angelo III, the Milanese painters worked Salvione Bosso and creating one of the most sophisticated and unitary decorative cycles of the eighteenth century Lombardo, of which the central hall and the long gallery on the main floor are an eloquent example. In the frescoes alternate themes of a religious nature, especially in environments of a private nature, and secular scenes inspired by the themes of classical antiquity in the halls of courtly representation. The elegant decorations, fresco and tempera, are mostly inspired floral subjects. Both the exterior of the Court of Honour that the walls, the doors and times of the rooms are also richly painted with trompe l'oeil-style rococo architecture, according to the baroque aesthetics of the wonderful, the fiction that deceives reality. Among the most striking on the ground floor include the ballroom, dining room, originally used as a chapel, and two kitchens: the seventeenth century (the so-called Caminata, one of the most ancient building) and the eighteenth-century . The interiors retain little of the rich original furniture was stolen over the years. Among the few exceptions may include the magnificent four-poster beds placed in the rooms of the main floor, dating from the eighteenth century and contemporary covered with precious fabrics, and wooden fittings of the study. Numerous furniture and works of art from the seventeenth to the nineteenth century, the result of donations to the FAI, have now been set up in the rooms, with the intention of offering a correct interpretation of the original domestic atmosphere.


35 Km from VOGOGNA
Altitude: 211 mt. a.s.l.  Area Cannero Riviera, Maccagno con Pino e Veddasca, Luino
Cannobio (Canobi in the local Western Lombard dialect) is an Italian town of 5,181 inhabitants in the province of Verbania. It is located on the northwestern shore of Lake Maggiore and at the mouth of the Valley Cannobina; the extension of the joint is very high, about 51 square kilometers, due to the number of fractions distributed in the area. In the years 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 he was awarded the prestigious environmental recognition of the FEE, the Blue Flag, thanks to great service water purification and a precise plan of separate collection of waste. The town has been awarded since 2011, the orange flag from the Italian Touring Club. Cannobio is a director of international connection, the State road 34 of Lake Maggiore from Gravellona Toce (VB) reaches the state border of Piaggio Valmara, where you enter in Switzerland. From Cannobio also part of the Provincial Road 75 Valley Cannobina former Highway 631 Valley Cannobina leading in the Valley from which you can reach via the Highway 337 Vigezzo Valley, the so-called Valley of the painters, the Shrine of King and Domodossola . The town is also connected with the rest of Lake Maggiore through lines of hydrofoils and ferries that are often used for summer cruises to Switzerland (Locarno, Ascona) or down the lake (Borromean Islands, Santa Caterina del Sasso, etc.). The town has ancient origins, perhaps pre-Roman; prove some cremation burials, came to light between the XVI and XVII century near the present via Campo Recio. After the annexation to the Roman Empire in northern Italy and the Alpine valleys (first century BC), Cannobio was certainly a mall and strategic and home to a lake fleet. The Roman origin of the village can be found by identifying, today difficult, the thistle and the decumanus, typical of the Roman camp, the streets Giovanola Antonio Recio and Field, the site of the residence of the commander of the garrison. There is no precise information on the change of the country during the collapse of the empire, but it is thought that the area was not touched by the big barbarian invasions from the north, as opposed to other Italian areas. Certain facts about the existence of the village we find them in the tenth century: in 929 you know for sure that it was the seat of a curtis regia. The Middle Ages was undoubtedly very prosperous, especially in terms of manufacturing and trade, and in 1207 Cannobio held the title of Borgo. Officially since 1992, but actually from 1994, Cannobio is part of the Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola, spun off from the Province of Novara. Since 2006, Cannobio, by virtue of his vocation tourist-economic, had the official recognition of the status of the city. (In the picture: The main street named after A. Giovanola). The late medieval period was characterized by the historical link with the city of Milan, also in the diocesan and ecclesiastical: by virtue of this bond Cannobio and some neighboring towns used and still use the Ambrosian rite for liturgical functions, unlike other centers of the Piedmont side of the lake, always linked to the Roman rite. In 1817 it was decreed the passage of Cannobio and of other towns of Lake Maggiore by the Archdiocese of Milan to the diocese of Novara, while maintaining the Ambrosian rite. This decision led, in later years, to some friction with some bishops of the chair Gaudenzian, likely to eliminate the Ambrosian rite in place of the Roman one. The most avid supporter of this change was the cardinal, bishop of Novara, Giuseppe Morozzo Della Rocca, who changed his mind only during a pastoral visit to Cannobio in 1824, after he realized the determination of the local population not to accept the change of rite . Throughout the period of the Wars of Independence (1818-1860), Cannobio was part of Piedmont and Savoy was an important center of the border (the eastern shore of Lake was Austrian); the Cannobio proudly recall the famous defense against an attack via Austrian lake, which was rejected, on the night of 27 to 28 May 1859. The end of the nineteenth century was marked by the introduction of numerous industries, now disappeared, which characterized the history of the country: the silk factory, tanneries, paper mills, etc. During the two world wars, Cannobio sent many of his men as soldiers at the front, and many of them never returned. It has recently been made a Memory Park (in a little-used) with tombstones and monuments that recall the fallen Cannobio the two wars, moving the monument to the fallen, originally placed at the center of the lake. The postwar period was characterized by a strong immigration of people who came from southern Italy, Sardinia and Veneto due to the proximity of the village with Switzerland that guaranteed various job prospects; even then, in fact, local industries were in crisis and ended up being closed in a matter of thirty years (the last, SA Metallic Oxides, in 1989). The country's economy is based mainly on summer tourism from Germany, Switzerland, the Netherlands and France, and on the movements of frontier workers.


Loc. LA SACCA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
33 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Leggiuno, Isola Bella, Isola Superiore
The park of Villa Pallavicini is waiting for you in Stresa , to spend an unforgettable day in one of the most beautiful places on Lake Maggiore . The park covers an area of about 20 hectares of flower-lined paths , trees and a botanical garden. The main attraction of the park is made up of our animals. You can observe more than 40 species of mammals and exotic birds (llamas, kangaroos, zebras , flamingos ) , who live in large natural areas . Furthermore, to make your day even more complete , inside the park you will find the restaurant The Stables , the Chalet Bar , the shop Parcobello and several areas used for picnics. Younger guests can have fun in a well-equipped playground . The Park of Villa Pallavicini you are totally immersed in nature, often spectacular , always beautiful and charming. The park, with its 160,000 square meters. of meadows and woods is definitely a destination to be favored in the organization of school trips . Here, in fact , in a unique environmental setting , you can admire rare and exotic plant species such as the majestic Lyriodendri , the ancient Gynko biloba or stroll in the beautiful Italian garden or in the driveway of the Camellias , contemplating the bloom of hundreds of different species. The particular structure of the park, allows visitors to truly be in contact with nature and can even bring some animals such as deer , llama , rhea free living in large natural areas . However, the Park provides unforgettable encounters with other kangaroos, zebras and monkeys, and curious animals like skunks and ferrets . And yet , within beautiful natural environments reconstructed one can observe various species of exotic birds including splendid specimens of parrots and hornbills . In the vicinity of the pond are instead turtles , swans and ducks , or you can also surprise beavers struggling with their constructions of high engineering. The physiognomy of the gardens and parks of the villas on the lakes is very different from that found in other parts of Italy . The use of evergreen is limited, the bloom is especially spring and summer and plants are adapted to the humid climate and soil acid lakes. Even the ground, which often descends steeply towards the lake , adds to the charm of these gardens , designed to offer spectacular views of the lake and surrounding mountains .


32 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Cannero Riviera, Maccagno con Pino e Veddasca, Luino
The Ravine Sant'Anna is 3 km from the point where the river flows into Lake Maggiore Cannobino. Over the centuries, the water has eroded the rock walls of the narrow valley surroundings, creating a narrow cleft where the waters flow violently. Two bridges allow to cross from the top: the medieval one (called dell'agostana) that allows transit only to pedestrians, and a more modern one that allows the passage by car. The deep green waters dell'Orrido, densely populated by brown trout, are quite cold in summer (15-16 degrees) in the winter and reach a temperature of 2-3 degrees. The maximum depth is 25 meters. Not far dall'orrido was built in 1683, presumably on a design by GA Crivelli, a church dedicated to St. Anne. It incorporates an ancient frescoed chapel dedicated to Our Lady of Loreto, which is the apse of the current structure. Inside the attention is captured by the remarkable altar decorated with twisted columns in black marble and elegant friezes. The work was donated to the church by the company of Terrafiumesi in Rome, a kind of corporation that gathered the workers building the village. Most notable frontals (ie fronts altar) in scagliola, fine artist's work Ascona CG Pancaldi and dating back to the eighteenth century. Altars seventeenth century adorn the side chapels dedicated to Saints Anne and Joachim and St. Joseph. Once in Cannobio, turn left and follow signs for the Valley Cannobina and after less than a mile you will take a road on the right bearing indications for the Ravine. Continue along the valley after about a mile you will come to a crossroads, take the road up the hill to the left. Later see on the right indication tourist and a narrow road that descends exit horror: here you will be able to park your car. The horrid, especially on weekends, is very popular with fans of diving and beyond. Its fresh waters are a panacea against the summer heat.


Loc. LUINO - LOMBARDIA  Navigatore
40 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Maccagno con Pino e Veddasca, Cannero Riviera, Cannobio
  Brochure PDF
The historical evidence proving such as cheese and goat formaggella are always present in the culinary tradition of the places are numerous, from the note of the expenditure made dalli reverend priests Valtravaglia in the visit of Monsignor illustrious Cardinal Borromeo made the year 1596 of August , which refers to as a few pounds of cheese ever burst regularly in lunches and dinners offered to Cardinal Federico Borromeo , but also by the mention of Specious cheese that is made in Valtravaglia in a famous treatise of the seventeenth century . Two centuries later, in 1814, local cheeses and their flavors are mentioned by Luigi Boniforti in The Lake Maggiore area with trips to the lakes and the mountains round about. Equally explicit references to the local dairy products are reported in 1710 by Vagliano, citing the casci precious Porto Valtravaglia. The area in which the production of formaggella includes the territory of the mountain communities of the mountain community of Val Ceresio, Val Cuvia, Valganna and Valmarchirolo and valleys Luinese. The formaggella is a soft cheese, produced exclusively with whole milk and raw goat, with minimum aging of 20 days. The milk used must be obtained at most three milked and stored at a temperature not higher than four degrees. Heating the milk can be made with a wood fire, gas or steam. The rennet must be exclusively natural and coagulation occurs between 32 and 34 degrees with a duration of 30-40 minutes. Other features of formaggella Dop are: cylindrical shape, diameter of 13-15 cm, average weight of 700-900 grams, natural rind, not hard, with the possible presence of mold, soft texture, firm, sweet and pleasant taste, aroma delicate that intensifies with aging, predominantly white color. As regards the transformation, the salting can be carried out dry or in brine and is followed by drying at room temperature. The curing is carried out in cells with controlled humidity and with a maximum temperature of 15 degrees, or in cellars at natural moisture. The maturation phase must be continued for at least 20 days.


45 Km from VOGOGNA
Altitude: 297 mt. a.s.l.  Area Arona, Angera, Localita' Bindellina
A mosaic of forests, meadows and wetlands Not far from the center of Arona, on the moraine hills surrounding Lake Maggiore from the Piedmont is a natural area that includes bogs Mercurago, some pastures dedicated to the breeding of thoroughbred horses and many woodlands. In prehistoric settlements have been found, dating back to the Bronze Age necropolis of the Iron Age and Roman domus and necropolis. This area has been protected since 1980, when, on the initiative, was established Lagoni Park Mercurago.


Loc. PONTE - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
35 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Baceno, Oberwald, Varzo
What led to the notoriety and fame Pomatt together at the sight of the mountains that surround that was certainly the Toce waterfalls . The Most Beautiful , the most majestic waterfalls of the Alps , a waterfall of 143 meters for a maximum face at the base of 60 meters. On the top of a fantastic vantage point is the wooden balcony leaning over the water jump . On The Summit , is the famous hotel built in 1923 and designed in Art Deco style by architect Piero Portaluppi , one of the leading exponents of the architectural style . The Toce and his water are not only strong element of characterization of the landscape formazzino : hyower exploited for electric . It is also the greatest wealth of the valley. Currently the waters of Toce are collected in the basin of Morasco , upstream of the cascade , and through a tunnel and a penstock reach the central Ponte ENEL for use in the production of electricity. The man's hand has bent nature to his service, but at the same time he made a famous victim : the waterfalls of the toilet , to production requirements guessed , is visible in its majesty only for short periods during the year. In the Specifications to top are indicated periods and hours in which to enjoy the majesty of the waterfall in its full force. La Cascata del Toce was visited and loved by many illustrious visitors such as Richard Wagner, Gabriele D' Annunzio , Queen Margherita , De Saussure and Stoppani , who left enthusiastic deions of what was already being called the most beautiful waterfall in the Alps The path that along with genuine charm, is a stretch of the street merchant from Gries who joined Milan for centuries and Bern. Since the beginning of 1930 the waters of the Toce are used for the production of electricity, for this reason, the Cascata del Toce is visible in its majesty only for short periods of the year.


21 Km from VOGOGNA
  Area Isola Superiore, Isola Bella, Stresa
utive-hole par 27 at character level, on the shore of Lake Mergozzo and against the back of the Alps that draw the striking natural surroundings. The game turns out to be varied and interesting for the presence of internal lakes and a large forest of alders blacks, but at the same time calm and quiet little tiring for her and for the type of route.



Piedmont is in the north-west of Italy and borders Switzerland and France. True to the meaning of its name (foot of the mountain), Piedmont is a land of mountains. It is surrounded on three sides by the Alps, with the highest peaks and largest glaciers in Italy. Monviso, the Piedmont side of Mount Rosa and the other spectacular mountains in the region, create incredibly beautiful landscapes; there are many ski resorts as well, such as Via Lattea and Sestriere, which welcome winter sports enthusiasts with their state of the art facilities. The Alps form the background for great picturesque valleys, for example, the Val di Susa, Valsesia and Val d'Ossola. The hilly landscape of the Langhe and Monferrato is different, but still beautiful: a succession of cultivated hills and vineyards, dotted with small towns and castles. Expanses of water and rice-fields, long rows of poplars and old farmhouses make up the typical scenery of the plains around Novara and Vercelli. Lake Maggiore is the most sought-after tourist resort, with Stresa and the Borromean Islands, charming landscapes with ancient villas surrounded by beautiful lawns. Yet, nature is only one of the many attractions in Piedmont. This region has many other facets: from Turin and the Italian car manufacturing capital and with its history and remarkable cultural heritage, to other cities such as Cherasco, Alba and Ivrea. Next we come to charming medieval castles, including the imposing castle of Ivrea, and prized works of architecture, for example the famous Residences of the Royal House of Savoy and the Sacri Monti (Sacred Mountains). The famous spa resorts of Acqui Terme and Vinadio offer treatments and therapy for a relaxing, reviving holiday. Discoveries and surprises of all kinds are in store for visitors to the region, including a wide range of food and wine for all tastes. The region's provinces are: Turin (regional capital), Alessandria, Asti, Biella, Cuneo, Novara, Verbano Cusio Ossola and Vercelli.