Altitude: 16 mt. a.s.l. Area Sestu, Quartu Sant'Elena, Pula
The first documented mention of the Basilica of San Saturnino , dates back to the 533 - 34.La basilica existed at the time and historians believe that its foundation goes back to the middle of the fifth century. It would be sort of like martyrium martyr Saturninus of Cagliari , beheaded according to the Passio sancti Saturns on November 23, 304 AD . C. for refusing to renounce his Christian faith. In 1089 the court of Cagliari Salusio Constantine II de Lacon - Gunale made a gift of the church to the Benedictine monks of St. Victor of Marseille who established the headquarters of the priory Sardinian Order and restored the church, according to pre-Romanesque ways . The monastery was seriously damaged in the first half of 1300 during the siege Catalan, fell completely ruined a century later. The church was restored again around 1484 . In 1614 began , by the will of Archbishop Francisco Desquivel , the famous excavations to search cuerpos de los santos . Two drawings of the scholar Francisco Carmona in 1631 show us the plan and an exterior view of the building is still intact . In 1669 the basilica was partly dismantled in order to obtain useful materials to the restructuring of the Cathedral of Cagliari. Granted in 1714 to the corporation of Physicians and Apothecaries , it was retitled to Saints Cosmas and Damian. At the beginning of our century the church underwent several restorations . New interventions were necessary after the bombing of 1943. Closed to the public in 1978 , was reopened in July 1996 . The area surrounding the subject of archaeological excavations , has returned numerous burials of the Roman and Byzantine periods.
Wetland area of special natural value
The park is a wetland extending over an area of about 1600 hectares bordered by urban municipalities of Cagliari, Quartu S. Elena, Selargius and promenade Poetto. It was founded in 1999 with the aim to protect and enhance a site of international interest already included in the Ramsar Convention since 1977 for its significance as a place of rest, wintering and nesting of several species of waterfowl. The uniqueness of these areas is the presence of reservoirs of both salt and fresh water are separated by a planar characteristics of the prevailing aridity called Is Arenas. The zones are formed by freshwater ponds Bellarosa Minor and Perdalonga born as expansion tanks of rainwater. The areas include the saltwater ponds of the former production tem of Saline di Cagliari made by Bellarosa Greater than or Molentargius (tank before evaporation), from Pond Quartu (evaporation basins II and III), the other salt pans (saline Cagliari) and Lose Bianca (ex catchment area of the mother liquors).
The Roman amphitheater in Cagliari is a building of Roman origin, situated in the Sardinian town of Cagliari. The amphitheater is half dug into the rock , while the remainder was white limestone , and the south facade to exceed 20 meters. The amphitheater hosted fights between animals , between gladiators and between sed fighters who were recruited from outside Sardinia. Equally death sentences were carried out in front of the cheering crowd . It could hold about 10,000 spectators , almost one third of the inhabitants of Carales romana.La area was acquired by the city of Cagliari in the nineteenth century that gave the archaeological excavations at Canon Giovanni Spano . Today the amphitheater is covered with an iron frame and wood that can accommodate performances and concerts during the summer season. Environmentalists and the archaeological sovritendenza have often criticized this property ( officially removable but in fact this for ten years now ), which has already caused a lot of damage during its construction of the monument and it's causing, because of the lack of air circulation under the stands, the formation of mold which are slowly eroding the stone. Even the local councilor for culture Giorgio Pellegrini has proven critical of the situation in which it is currently the amphitheater. Since 2011, with the change of administration in the city, the new administration led by Mayor Massimo Zedda began the gradual process of removing the structure with the aim of bringing the amphitheater to its original function of the archaeological site .
Area Pula, Provincia di Carbonia-Iglesias, Cagliari
The beach of Cala of the Dead, is located between the beautiful beaches of Chia, and is so named because of the presence of a cross between the rocks near the falls.
Characterized by a small beach nestled between two small cliffs, consists mainly of fine sand amber, and a beautiful sea with crystal clear water from shallow and sandy bottom. Behind the hills winds the dense maquis. Well sheltered from the wind. Not overly crowded despite the small size.
Acquafredda Castle dating from the thirteenth century, is situated near the town of Siliqua, in the province of Cagliari, and dominates the whole valley of Cixerri.E' fairly widespread opinion that the castle was built at the behest of Count Ugolino della Gherardesca, which actually became the owner of the fort in 1257. The castle dates back to a time instead oldest being already mentioned in a papal bull of 1215. After the death of Count Ugolino, the castle passed to Pisa and then in 1324 following the end of the Pisan domination in Sardinia to the Aragonese likely to be abandoned since 1410. It later passed to various feudal lords Sardinian until he was ransomed by the King of Sardinia Victor Amadeus III of Savoy in 1785. Recently, the excavations at the site of the castle returned the remains, buried in bare earth, three males between the ages of 35 and 45 years.
Cagliari e' il capoluogo di regione della Sardegna ed anche il porto principale di questa regione. Si trova al centro del golfo omonimo nella costa meridionale della Sardegna. E' conosciuta come la bellissima 'Citta del Sole' grazie ai suoi splendidi paesaggi ed alla sua luminosita. Originariamente si pensa sia stata fondata dai Cartaginesi e divenne successivamente citta e municipio romano. Nel IV secolo fu un importante sede vescovile e centro ecclesiastico ma nel V secolo fu conquistata dai Vandali ed in seguito dai Bizantini. Risorse dopo un periodo di distruzione sotto il dominio dei Pisani nel XII secolo che vi governarono fino al 1326. Allora Cagliari fu presa dagli Aragonesi e poi dagli Spagnoli. Nel 1720 Cagliari fu sotto il dominio dei Savoia e successivamente fu annessa al Regno d'Italia. Da vedere: Torre dell'Elefante e Torre di San Pancrazio: Durante il dominio di Pisa su Cagliari vennero edificate queste due torri dall'architetto Giovanni Capula nel 1305 (San Pancrazio) e nel 1307 (Elefante). Entrambe presentano una forma ad elle, sono alte circa 30 metri e composte da blocchi calcarei. La Torre di San Pancrazio era anticamente conosciuta come la Torre del Leone (sulle sue mura era scolpito un leone) mentra la Torre dell'Elefante deriva il proprio nome ad una statua marmorea raffigurante un elefante che si trova a circa 10 metri di altezza. Originariamente entrambe le torri avevano funzione di vedetta mentre nel XIX secolo furono sedi di carceri e sale di tortura. Cattedrale: questa chiesa dedicata a Santa Maria Assunta si trova in Piazza Palazzo al centro del quartiere di Castello. Fu edificata dai Pisani nel XIII secolo al posto della chiesa dedicata a Santa Cecilia. E' strutturata su tre navate e all'interno conserva bellissime opere come il Pulpito di Guglielmo da Pisa e sculture e dipinti del XIV secolo. Della sua struttura medievale conserva solo il campanile mentre la facciata fu rimaneggiata nel corso dei secoli (la prima volta nel 1702 e la seconda nei primi anni del 1900). Anfiteatro Romano: fu edificato tra il I ed il II secolo d.c. Tutta la struttura era rivestita con preziosi materiali (dimostrata dal rinevenimento di numerose listine di marmo durante gli scavi). L'anfiteatro poteva ospitare circa 10000 spettatori e gli spettacoli che venivano rappresentati erano combattimenti di gladiatori, lotte tra uomini e belve, esecuzioni di sentenze. Nel corso dei secoli sfortunatamente sono state effettuate dannose espoliazioni : non resta niente delle parti in muratura e dei rivestimenti.
Poetto beach of St. Helens, several kilometers long, is the portion quartese the famous beach of Cagliari and extends from the Foxi Poetto. It has a thin, white sand surrounded by palm trees and vegetation which at times also involved the sandy shore. This long beach, for its natural quality, clarity and cleanliness of the water and sevices offered, has been awarded the Blue Flag
Loc. SPIAGGIA DI SU GIUDEU, VIALE SPARTIVENTO, DOMUS DE MARIA CA, ITALIA - SARDEGNA
17 Km from NORA
Area Pula, Provincia di Carbonia-Iglesias, Sant'Antioco
The Beach Giudeu of Domus de Maria, more properly known as Chia, Teulada is reached by following the scenic route of the south coast, which leads to the sea where you can see the Tower of Chia. Under the tower are the ruins of the Phoenician city of Bithia and west lie the beautiful beaches of Chia, whose Giudeu part. Access is from the coastal villages through short dirt. Giudeu, combined with the beach S'Aqua Durci, has a coastline very large crescent-shaped, with a dazzling white sand and a sea shimmering in shades of green. The sea is crystal clear and of an extraordinary transparency, with shallow water suitable for children. The beach is fully equipped and offers car park, hotel, restaurant, bar and camping.
The Oasis of Monte Arcosu is located within a Site of Community Importance in the municipalities of Uta , Siliqua and Asselby (Ca) .
Who enters the WWF reserve of Monte Arcosu , just a step from Cagliari , seems to live in a documentary of which, finally , it was also a little protagonists. And ' one of the few natural parks of the island 's most admired of the Mediterranean, one of the last realms of the Sardinian deer , a treasure trove of biodiversity.
The Reserve is located in the forest complex Monte Arcosu - Piscinamanna , which is the largest forest of Mediterranean entire Mediterranean basin , approximately 35,000 acres : the WWF reserve is about 3,600 hectares and is home to important species of flora and Sardinian fauna .
The territory has a morphology quite rugged , characterized by long and steep valleys where , during the winter and spring , slide rushing streams whose flow is drastically reduced during the summer.
The major findings of over a thousand meters in height and are characterized by a profoundly different morphology due to different geological component .
Loc. VIA DEI TIGLI QUARTU SANT'ELENA - SARDEGNA
36 Km from NORA
Altitude: 25 mt. a.s.l. Area Quartu Sant'Elena, Cagliari, Simius
The Nuraghe Diana is located on the hill Is Mortorius, 35 m. above sea level and a short distance from the latter. Its location evidently responding to policy needs, and the need for precision to control the means of penetration from the sea inland. This dolmen is one of the best preserved in the territory quartese and, paradoxically, has this to the fact that it was converted during the Second World War to be using the shell as a fort. The results of this intervention, rather invasive, are still clearly visible today, in particular on the top of the central tower, where it was made a concrete cover equipped with openings to allow firing. The central tower is still preserved in its entirety, as opposed to what happened in the cases of several nuraghis the area, such as those of Niu Crobu and Commands, whose blocks were reused to build modern buildings, respectively, a tank and a pizzeria. The area of the dolmen Diana has recently been affected by a campaign of archaeological excavation and recovery of the site.
The Bastion of Saint Remy is one of the most important fortifications of Cagliari , located in the Castle District. The name comes from the first viceroy, Philip William - Pallavicini , Baron of Saint Remy . At the end of the nineteenth century it was monumentally transformed into a staircase, topped by the arc de Triomphe , which gives access to a covered promenade and a large roof terrace . It was built in the late nineteenth century on the ancient city walls dating back to the early fourteenth century , linking the three southern ramparts of the Mint , St. Catherine and the Spur , to join the Castle district with the underlying Villanova and marina. the promenade deck and terrace Umberto I , the latter built on the old ramparts of the Spur , were designed in 1896 by engineer Joseph Costa and Fulgenzio Setti. The entire building is made in classical style , with Corinthian columns , and was built in Pietra Forte , a white and yellow limestone . It was inaugurated in 1901. The double stairway , by which you enter from Constitution Square , is interrupted in a covered walkway , and ends beneath the Arc de Triomphe , the terrace Umberto I. In 1943 , the staircase and the Arch of Triumph were severely damaged by bombs in the Second World War, but after the war were faithfully reconstructed . From the terrace Umberto I, accessed via a short flight of steps , the bastion of Santa Caterina, where there was an old Dominican convent , destroyed by fire in 1800. It is said that in the austere environments of the convent prepared the conspiracy to the Viceroy Camarassa in 1668 , the most dramatic episode of blood in the history of the city during the Spanish Government .
The promenade deck since it opened in 1902, has been variously used . At first it was used as a banqueting hall , then during the First World War was used as an infirmary . In the thirties , during the period of sanctions , it was an exhibition of autarchy . During the Second World War it was used as a shelter for displaced people whose homes were destroyed by bombs. In 1948 it hosted the first Trade Fair of Sardinia. After many years of neglect , the walk was restored and re-evaluated as a cultural space reserved especially for art exhibitions .
Loc. PROVINCIA DI CARBONIA-IGLESIAS - SARDEGNA
34 Km from NORA
Area Sant'Antioco, Domus De Maria, Calasetta
It is located south of the beach of Porto Pino (Sant'Anna Arresi see next tab) and has fantastic dune formations; extends to the south-east, inside the military zone of Capo Teulada (see chart above). The visit is possible only in July and August, from sea and from land. From the ground, reach Porto Pino, park behind the beach and go on foot, in full, to the eastern boundary; alternatively, before the tourist village and at the ponds, try and take the only small road dirt (not reported) that runs through the Corrumanciu largest island in the center of the ponds themselves; exceed the fishing village and come to the end of the lakes (south-east); park in the lot, and go south towards the coast and the low dunes placed behind the eastern sector of the beach of Porto Pino. From here you can get faster, walk to White Sands (south-east). Aspect of nature wild and lonely; large; white sand, fine; blue-green sea, shallow; never crowded, even in high season
Excursions and attractions in SARDEGNA close to NORA Domus De Maria Cagliari Provincia di Carbonia-Iglesias:
'BASILICA DI S. SATURNINO'
'PARCO NATURALE REGIONALE MOLENTARGIUS'
'ANFITEATRO ROMANO DI CAGLIARI'
'SPIAGGIA DEL MORTO'
'CASTELLO DI ACQUAFREDDA'
'SPIAGGIA DEL POETTO'
'SPIAGGIA DI SU GIUDEU DI DOMUS DE MARIA'
'WWF: OASI MONTE ARCOSU'
'BASTIONE DI SAINT REMY'
A journey sailing on an emerald sea among small and big coves with snow-white sand and this is Sardinia, an Island that strikes its visitors with natural contrasts, the lights and colours of a region that guards old traditions, amid wilderness and pure nature.
Situated in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, Sardinia is a mainly mountainous region, without high peaks, with a vast and charming, yet bittersweet, natural environment. In fact, the presence of man does not seem to affect this territory; great surfaces still preserve their natural composition, luxuriant woods with even millenary trees, small desert areas and marshes inhabited by deer, wild horses and rapacious birds.
The sea reigns over this region with its colours and it creeps into the coves, along the coasts, the beaches and the most popular resorts. An example is the Costa Smeralda (Emerald Coast) with its pearl, Porto Cervo, that combines the history and culture of a region that has old traditions with a joyful and colourful nightlife. Porto Cervo was named after its enchanting cove, which looks like the antlers of a deer; the Old Port is considered the best-equipped tourist port in the Mediterranean Sea. Porto Rotondo is also a famous location; it overlooks the wide Gulf of Cugnana and is full of villas and piazzas embedded in a splendid natural environment.
Those who prefer the mountain to the sea can explore the area of Gennargentu, the greatest mountain range in Sardinia, with its peculiar landscape, where Man and Nature joined one another and decided that the latter should have the priority. This region is rich in flora and fauna, with its mouflons, golden eagles, Sardinian deer and several species that are now threatened with extinction.
Among its wonders, Sardinia offers the visitor the Nuragic complexes scattered all over the territory. These are unique monuments in the world that testify an ancient culture, that remains partly mysterious, and that went from the fifteenth century to the sixteenth BC. The Nuragic constructions were built using great blocks of stone and develop around a central cone-shaped tower that transmits strength and power. These are archaeological sites where it is possible to grasp the archaic charm of ancient rituals and domestic life. Of these many constructions, the complex of Barumini, in the province of Cagliari, is among the sites in the UNESCO World Heritage list.
The provinces of the region are: Cagliari (regional capital), Carbonia-Iglesias, Nuoro, Olbia-Tempio, Oristano, Medio Campidano, Sassari and Ogliastra.
You will receive a Newsletter if will be registered new Promotions in the indicated area:
IdeasForTravels Id: 65XANYEDGIOO3Y2P
Point of Interest: ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITE
NORA - SARDEGNA - ITALIA
Area Domus De Maria Cagliari Provincia di Carbonia-Iglesias
Have you a Tourist Structure ? Free register in IdeasForTravels
nora - point of interest - nora - excursions - attractions - points of interest - domus de maria cagliari provincia di carbonia-iglesias - sardegna - italia