Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
necropoli etrusca: tomba degli auguri - excursions points of interest attractions in tarquinia viterbo, italy
Promotions found !
Look in the IdeasForTravels home page

 archaeological site NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI

archaeological site
NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI

Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to TARQUINIA VITERBO, ITALY Tolfa Barbarano Romano Canale Monterano

PALAZZO FARNESE

PALAZZO FARNESE  Apri
Loc. CAPRAROLA - LAZIO  Navigatore
41 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 511 mt. a.s.l.  Area Sutri, Corchiano, Viterbo
The Palazzo Farnese (or Villa Farnese) is Caprarola in the province of Viterbo in Lazio. It is one of the best examples of house by Mannerist. It was built for the family Farnese. The palace was one of the many mansions built by the Farnese in their domains. Initially had to have defensive characteristics as was common in the mansions of the Lazio region between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. The design for a fortified residence was initially entrusted to Antonio da Sangallo the Younger by Cardinal Alessandro Farnese the Elder. Work began in 1530, but was suspended in 1546 because of the death of Sangallo. Cardinal Alessandro the Younger, who began to turn in Caprarola, wanted to resume the project of his grandfather, so, in 1547, gave the site to Vignola, but work resumed only in 1559. The Vignola radically modified the original project: the construction, while maintaining the original pentagonal fortification, was transformed into an imposing Renaissance palace, which became the summer residence of the cardinal and his court. In place of the ramparts corner architect ed the large open terraces surrounding countryside, while at the center of the residence was built a circular courtyard with two floors, with the top slightly back. Vignola did cut the hill with steps to isolate the building and, at the same time, integrate harmoniously with the surrounding area; was also open a straight road in the center of the village below, so as to visually connect the building to the city and enhance its dominant position on the entire village. Inside the magnificent residence worked the best painters and architects of the time. The themes of the frescoes were inspired by literary Annibal Caro and made by Taddeo Zuccari, then replaced, at his death (1566), by his brother Federico Zuccari, by Onofrio Panvinio and Fulvio Orsini. Are attached to the villa the Farnese Gardens (with the same name of the gardens of the family on the Palatine Hill in Rome), a splendid example of late Renaissance garden, created through a tem of terracing behind the villa, perched on the hill from which construction and property rises connected by Vignola with the residence through the bridges. Work on the garden was begun in 1565 by Giacomo Del Duca, using for terracing the land drainage of the foundations of the church of Jesus in Rome, and ended only in 1630, under the direction of Girolamo Rainaldi. The small building that is located within the gardens has been chosen by Luigi Einaudi as a summer residence for the seven years of his Presidency of the Republic (1948-1955). The building however was finished two years after the death of Vignola.

BRACCIANO

BRACCIANO  Apri
Loc. BRACCIANO ROME, ITALY - LAZIO  Navigatore
39 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Trevignano Romano, Bracciano, Canale Monterano
On Lake Bracciano is surrounded by three charming villages , must see 'attractions to visit after a nice walk along the beautiful lake.    The ancient village of Bracciano The town of Bracciano is located on the banks of the lake , an enchanting spot for his land , owes its fame mainly to the magnificent castle Orsini Odescalchi , known worldwide for its spectacular bellezza.In origin is a small fishing village and farmers, already known at the time of the Etruscans ( some graves have been found on the shore of the lake) , which was sold in 1419 by Pope Martin V to the Orsini family .   Since then comes the unbreakable bond with the noble Roman family which makes it the headquarters of his military fortress , the castle Orsini Odescalchi . . According to legend, beneath the waters of the lake of volcanic origin, there was a part of the city submerged , the emerged part would be called Bracciano following the form taken . Numerous historical and artistic treasures to be admired on a walk in the old town which stands on a high relief, which dominates the splendid panorama of the lake until the Apennines : the Collegiate Church of St. Stephen, the churches of S. Maria Novella Church and the Our Lady of Rest and the square of the town .   And yet , in the surrounding area , the villages of Pisciarelli and Castel Giuliano and the vestiges of what was the first spa was built in 1737 by the German College in Hungarian agricultural village of Vicarello ( now private property ), along the north shore of the lake. In 1753 the village was completed with the construction of the Church of the Annunciation , which replaced the old church fell into ruin . In front of the village , on the other side of the road, in a panoramic position on the lake , is the hunting lodge of the Orsini , also called Casina Valadier , as purchased in 1789 by the Roman architect Giuseppe Valadier.

CAPRAROLA

CAPRAROLA  Apri
Loc. CAPRAROLA - LAZIO  Navigatore
41 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 489 mt. a.s.l.  Area Corchiano, Sutri, Viterbo
Caprarola is an Italian town of 5,676 inhabitants in the province Despite being immersed in the ancient Etruscan territory, Caprarola has its roots in more recent times, in particular, we have the first news of the existence of permanent settlements around the eleventh century, this, as it did for Ronciglione, because of the Monti Cimini anciently called forest Cimina and considered difficult terrain and impenetrable. During the Middle Ages was disputed by several feudal families, in 1275 there is evidence that it was under the Orsini, but for a short time, the power was in fact in a short time to the Prefects Di Vico. Since 1370, he began a struggle for control of these areas between the Prefects of Vico and the Counts of Anguillara. In 1435 it fell under the jurisdiction of the Holy See. Five years later, in 1440, the estate was bought by Count Everso dell'Anguillara and remained in that family until 1465, when Pope Paul II confiscated all their property. Towards the end of the fifteenth century, Caprarola was entrusted in the vicariate Riario-Della Rovere, under whose rule the country began to flourish and to be populated. It was then in the sixteenth century that experienced its greatest splendor, when the Farnese, with his appointment as Pope Paul III of Cardinal Alessandro Farnese, and with the establishment of the Duchy of Castro, greatly extended its dominance by building sumptuous villas and castles. A Caprarola was built the residence more representative of the level of wealth and power that this noble family reached, the Palazzo Farnese in Caprarola. During the Second World War, in the period after 8 September 1943 and the German occupation, found refuge in the country the 24 members of the family of the Roman Jewish Veneziano. Guests of the family Brunetti, the Veneziano could enjoy for eight months of the solidarity of many residents and local authorities until the Liberation. On 27 January 2005 the spouses Roberto and Maria Brunetti was why conferred the highest honor of Righteous Among the Nations by the Yad Vashem in Jerusalem of Viterbo in Lazio.

PARCO URBANO DELL'ANTICHISSIMA CITTA' DI SUTRI

PARCO URBANO DELL'ANTICHISSIMA CITTA' DI SUTRI  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE REGIONALE DELL'ANTICHISSIMA CITTA DI SUTRI, SUTRI VT, ITALIA - LAZIO  Navigatore
40 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 278 mt. a.s.l.  Area Caprarola, Trevignano Romano, Lungolago
  Brochure PDF
An area of considerable archaeological interest at the Via Cassia The park is centered mainly on the surrounding area a historic country house with Italian garden; the remaining protected area is represented by a hilly area on the substrate bedrock, arising from the storage of materials emitted from the volcano eruption Sabatino. Despite the narrowness of its scope, the park includes a variety of environments, from the stain with oak, ash, viburnum fillirea and best exposed on the steep volcanic cliffs, sometimes with mesophilic forest of oak, oak, maple, hornbeam and chestnut or forest wet with hazel, poplar and willow in scope riapriale.

ROMITORI DI ISCHIA DI CASTRO

ROMITORI DI ISCHIA DI CASTRO  Apri
Loc. ISCHIA DI CASTRO - LAZIO  Navigatore
33 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Pitigliano, Sorano, Saturnia
  Brochure PDF
One of the hermitages (or monasteries ), the most interesting is that of Poggio Conte , housed in a tuff ridge according to types of architectural inspiration Cistercian , overlooking a picturesque valley , a natural amphitheater from the top of a small waterfall . Home environments are almost completely collapsed , while he retains the small church, with columns and capitals carved into the tuff , consisting of two quadrangular rooms , with a domed roof that entrance to cruise to the bottom , with an apse remains of a fresco depicting two saints with the miter ( headdress worn by bishops as a sign of authority) , perhaps S. Columbanus and S. Savino . The room door was decorated with a large cycle of frescoes of the thirteenth century , including the figures of the twelve apostles of the Redeemer. Some slabs of tufa of these precious frescoes were stolen in the sixties of the twentieth century , and fortunately recovered, are now preserved at the Museum of Ischia di Castro . More complex is the floor plan of the hermitage of Ripatonna Cicognina dug on three different levels and attended the fifteenth to the seventeenth century, at the time of the first plant seem to relate the frescoes of the Sienese school that decorate the church , representing St. Anthony Abbot and a holy bishop .

GOLF CLUB: LE QUERCE

GOLF CLUB: LE QUERCE  Apri
Loc. SUTRI VT, ITALIA - LAZIO  Navigatore
39 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 296 mt. a.s.l.  Area Caprarola, Trevignano Romano, Barbarano Romano
Technical field, exciting and fun, it is appreciated for the way it has been used the undulating terrain on which it stands, for the use of a natural ditch that crosses a horseshoe, for the quantity and beauty of oak trees trees that stand in over 70 acres bordering the Golf Club Designed by George and Jim Fazio and David Mezzacane, the path is 300 meters above sea level included in the impressive natural landscape of Northern Lazio, and marries the principles of 'environmental sustainability with green carpet made of a new generation of Bermudagrass that is well suited to the climate of the Mediterranean basin and is able to overcome harsh winters. Exposed to the north, at the highest point of the Circle, stands the first practice field that has a beautiful view of the mountains Cimini. In the days of the north you can get to see even Terminillo and Gran Sasso. The Practice Range Driving Range is located a few meters from the batsman hole 1. Its strategic location allows for a relaxed and full pre-race warm-up practice. The batter at two levels allows the player to practice grass throughout the year. In case of bad weather conditions there are 6 convenient locations covered. The area devoted to the short game includes two large putting green and a chipping area with a large green and a bunker. Adjacent to the practice field Driving Range are located 3 Holes utive, in which beginners can try before you enter the path to the championship. Then there is the practice area dedicated to Golf Academy: This field is used by professionals who choose the Golf National for their training, by the boys of the Federal School of Golf and students of our golf courses. The driving range of the Golf Academy is equipped with equipment for the analysis of Swing; also has a putting green, two-zone approach and the 9-hole Pitch and Putt. Degree of difficulty: 18 holes, Mt. 6462, par 72. Driving Range; Putting Green; Pitching and chipping area; Field utive with 3 holes. services: Cart rental; Car trolley (hand and electric); Rent bag and sticks.

NECROPOLI DELLA BANDITACCIA

NECROPOLI DELLA BANDITACCIA  Apri
Loc. NECROPOLI DELLA BANDITACCIA, CERVETERI RM, ITALIA - LAZIO  Navigatore
36 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Canale Monterano, Cerveteri, Lungolago
The Etruscan necropolis of Banditaccia is set on a high tufa north-west of Cerveteri (RM), and its 400 hectares are many thousands of burials (the fenced and is open to only 10 hectares in size and has about 400 mounds), the oldest in the Villanovan period (ninth century BC) to the most recent of the Etruscan period (third century BC). Its origin is to be found in a group of Villanovan tombs in the town of pozzolana quarry, and the name Banditaccia comes from the fact that from the end of the zone is banned, that is rented by the notice, the landlord of Cerveteri for the local population. Because of its grandeur, the Necropolis of Banditaccia is the largest ancient necropolis of the entire Mediterranean area. The oldest tombs are Villanovan (from the ninth century BC the eighth century BC), and are characterized by the shape of the cockpit, where they were the ashes of the deceased, or from the pits for burial. From the seventh century BC, the Etruscan period, there are two types of burials in the mound and the nut. These consist of a long line of graves aligned regularly along streets burial. In the open part of the Necropolis of Banditaccia there are two of these ways, because of the mountains and away Ceriti of the Tolfa Hills, dating from the sixth century BC The burial mounds are characterized by a circular structure tuff that contains a representation in the house of the deceased, complete with a corridor (dromos) to gain access to the various rooms. The wealth of detail of the interior of these tombs has allowed archaeologists to be aware of the uses home of the Etruscans. To this end, the burial is better to be the Tomb of the Reliefs, dating from the fourth century BC and belonged to the family of Matunas, as stated in the inions: the interior of the tomb remained in particularly good, allowing you to observe the frescoes on the walls and columns (which is, in fact, this tomb is the only one of the Banditaccia that we can not visit -but the interior is visible through a glass-, due to the particular sensitivity of the frescoes). Burials more recent are the third century BC Some of these are characterized by the presence of cippiera, a container for cippi probably used to indicate the sex of the dead inside. Many of the artifacts found in the necropolis are collected in the National Etruscan Museum in Rome and in many other museums around the world, and only a small part of the funerary objects unearthed on site is kept in the National Archaeological Museum of Cerveteri. Since July 2004, the necropolis of Banditaccia, along with that Monterozzi Tarquinia, joins the list of World Heritage Sites of UNESCO.

NECROPOLI DI TARQUINIA

     

NECROPOLI DI TARQUINIA  Apri
Loc. TARQUINIA - LAZIO  Navigatore
1 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Tolfa, Barbarano Romano, Canale Monterano
The hill Monterozzi , approximately 6 km long and home to the main necropolis town , extends parallel to the Tyrrhenian coast , between this and the rise of the Etruscan town on the site of Civita . The logo Unescotombe cover practically the whole hill , if they know more than six thousand , for most rooms carved into the rock and topped with mounds. It is precisely the latter, now barely visible on the ground today because leveled by agricultural work (but only a century ago , there were more than 600 ) , which gave the name to the hill folk and expressive. The extraordinary series of painted tombs - we know about 200 - is at the heart of the most prestigious cemeteries that remain , to this point , the most important of the Mediterranean, so as to be defined by M. Pallottino the first chapter in the history of Italian painting . Use to decorate the tombs with paintings of aristocratic families is documented also in other towns of Etruria, but only in Tarquinia, the phenomenon is so large in size and continue over time : it is in fact attested from the seventh to the second century. BC, that is, for almost the entire duration of the life of the city. In the area of the necropolis currently open to the public you can admire some of the most famous paintings in tombs , such as the tombs of the Lionesses , Leopards , Hunting and Fishing etc. . The visit of the so-called Scataglini necropolis , a picturesque corner fully excavated, also allows the visitor to understand how it was originally present the city of the dead .

WWF: OASI LAGO DI BURANO

WWF: OASI LAGO DI BURANO  Apri
Loc. CAPALBIO - TOSCANA  Navigatore
37 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 176 mt. a.s.l.  Area Orbetello, Poggio Pertuso, Albinia
  Brochure PDF
The lake of Burano was a hunting reserve. Then came the WWF and the destiny has changed . Beautiful lagoon , coastal dunes , Mediterranean . The Oasis is located in the town of Capalbio ( GR ) . The Oasis area is 410 hectares. The WWF Lake Burano is the first of more than 100 Oasis of the association. Once a hunting reserve , includes a stretch of untouched coastline with sandy dune and scrub and a brackish lake behind the dunes dominated by a tower . environment What is called Lake of Burano actually is a coastal brackish pond , a relict of an ancient lake, now connected to the sea by a channel partially artificial , which is opened according to the needs of management . The lake has an area of 140 ha and an average depth of 1 m . Starting from the beach , which stretches for 12 km, where we can find all the plants typical of the coast , rises immediately behind the dune covered by a band of Mediterranean maquis , which consolidates the soil and sheltering from the sea wind flap residue of the Mediterranean evergreen forest . The banks of the wetland are surrounded mainly by reeds and Scirpo . Around the wetland there are vast cultivated fields divided by drainage canals . Extension 1010 hectares Flora and fauna Rich flora comprising more than 600 species , formed in the vicinity of the beach from the sea daffodil , santolina , sea holly marine sandstone ammofila and , on the top and in the area behind the dunes , from juniper , juniper , myrtle, mock privet , oak and mastic cork . The shores of the lake are covered with reeds , Scirpo , water lily , etc. . There are also about 60 species of lichens including the now rare Teloschistes villosus . The fauna consists of 274 species of birds, including tufted ducks , Pochard , grebes , herons, flamingos, many birds of prey , such as the marsh harrier , harriers , osprey , hawks lanner , and small passerines such as warblers , subalpine warbler and Zitting Cisticola . Among the mammals are the porcupine, badger, fox , weasel , marten and the rare skunk. Most important is the Coleoptera of the dune , composed of 233 species , including the rare Eurynebria also complanata . For several years now you play the monarch butterfly, the death's head sphinx and Lelya cenosa , a small moth whose caterpillar feeds on the reed .

NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DELLA CACCIA E DELLA PESCA

     

NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DELLA CACCIA E DELLA PESCA  Apri
Loc. TARQUINIA VITERBO, ITALY - LAZIO  Navigatore
<1 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Tolfa, Barbarano Romano, Canale Monterano
This tomb was discovered in 1873 and consists of two rooms, is one of the most famous and studied. Surely it is the most original to the nature of the subjects that express a unique indigenous cultural value. The protagonist of the wall of the second chamber is the nature, the sea and the sky populated by birds and dolphins, waves a small fishing boat on a rock and a hunter armed with a sling which tries to hit the birds. On the pediment of the same wall is painted a banquet scene. In the first room, always on the back wall, depicting scenes of dance and outdoor games while in the pediment is designed to return from hunting. Monterozzi Necropolis, the sixth century B.C.

PALAZZO DEI PAPI

PALAZZO DEI PAPI  Apri
Loc. PALAZZO DEI PAPI, PIAZZA SAN LORENZO, 8, VITERBO, ITALY - LAZIO  Navigatore
34 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Bomarzo, Caprarola, Barbarano Romano
  Brochure PDF
The Palace of the Popes - commonly called the Papal Palace - Viterbo is , together with the Cathedral , the most important historical monument of the city. It was built in its present form by expanding the palace headquarters of the Episcopal Curia of the city when Pope Alexander IV , because of the hostility of the people and the Roman bourgeoisie , headed by Senator Brancaleone of Andalo' , transferred the seat of the Papal Curia in Viterbo in 1257 . The expansion was prepared and edited by the Captain of the People Raniero Gatti , who belonged to an influential family town . He built among other things, with the consent of Pope Clement IV , a large audience hall now known as the Hall of the Conclave for the fact of having hosted the first and longest conclave in history , that is, in 1268 -1271 , lasted 1006 days ! Also notable is the Loggia of the blessings , elegant and harmonious architecture , erected in 1267 by the will of the Captain of the People Andrea Gatti , during the pontificate of the same Pope Clement IV, who so loved the city of Viterbo , Viterbo and was reciprocated by hand love, so much so that at his death, he demanded in a loud voice the beatification . The fall of part of a wing of the building , recently built and took place on May 11, 1277, mortally wounded Pope John XXI. The visit of the Palace can be addressed at the Museo del Colle del Duomo di Viterbo. The Palace is a massive building that , on the opposite side of the square, with powerful buttresses overhangs the valley of Faul . It ends on the right with the impressive Conclave Hall , which overlooks the square with six double lancet windows surmounted by as many slit . Access to the room is from the square via a wide staircase , finished in 1267, leading to a portal with a barrel vault , surmounted by the coat of arms of San Bernardino and a shelf regent small statue of a lion. Between the height of the arch of the portal and the shelf is placed , framed , a plaque in memory of square Raniero Gatti. The facade of the palace is adorned with battlements rectangular , placed exactly at the bottom of the pitch of the roof . Beside the portal is located more modest opening , also with a barrel vault , which is accessed by a gallery and through a gate that gives access to the balcony of the lodge , right next to the exit of the Conclave Hall to the loggia .

LAGO DI BRACCIANO

LAGO DI BRACCIANO  Apri
Loc. TREVIGNANO ROMANO - LAZIO  Navigatore
44 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Lungolago, Anguillara Sabazia, Bracciano
  Brochure PDF
The natural beauty , the historical and cultural heritage , the archaeological and artistic heritage , make Lake Bracciano a very popular tourist destination . The lake, as the water supply for the capital , boasts crystal clear waters that invite you to swim and many sports activities: swimming, sailing , windsurfing, canoeing , dragon boat , sub . Canoeing and sailing are the most practiced water sports in the lake, as evidenced by the presence of many circles on its shores. For all lovers of bicycles , even for the least competitive , you can make a complete tour of the lake : it is nearing completion of a comfortable bike path which you can already go some places around Trevignano . The only major climb (a few hundred meters) is the one that leads to the village of Vicarello , picturesque cluster of houses with one small typical restaurant. The area between Lake Bracciano and Lake Martignano is crossed by many dirt roads, ideal terrain for mountain biking and horseback riding. There are, in addition, the gastronomic specialties of the area where the fish is the main protagonist. Eels and fillets of perch, whitefish , broccoli , mushrooms , game and white wine are the most appetizing , prepared and served in many restaurants around the lake. It 's the volcano park , or rather of the volcanoes that there are no more . Big and man-made Bracciano , extending much smaller Martignano , the two lakes occupy the bottom of a basin in fact linked to the activity of the ancient volcano sabatino , which reached its peak around 400,000 years ago. But a past of explosions and earthquakes today does not just have a placid landscape of hills covered with woods, crown bodies of water where the parade sailboats and canoes. The lakes are an excellent destination for birdwatchers . Walking on the shore or from a boat , binoculars in hand, you can observe many species of birds including coots , ducks also some rarities like the turkish fistione and the ferruginous duck , species such as the northern distribution Smew and Black-throated Diver , birds of prey like the black kite that nests in the surrounding area . Among the fish that live in the lakes there are pike , perch , rudd and roach .

TERME PISCINE CARLETTI

TERME PISCINE CARLETTI  Apri
Loc. STRADA DELLE TERME, TERME VITERBO, ITALY - LAZIO  Navigatore
31 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Bomarzo, Caprarola, Barbarano Romano
The Viterbo is one of the most successful Italian provinces from the point of view of the spa free . The thermal springs free, not received, still exist, even if they are still many . The best known are the Baths of Bulicame , although these days one can not speak of real spa area , since the thermal water that flowed into the lake has disappeared as if by magic ( conveyed in other lands , it is thought . . ) , and the much-vaunted magical place in the Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri our , now there is only a memory. We hope and rumored for a few years of some control intervention and restoration of the beautiful area , but , for now, we must rely on other thermal areas still freely accessible . We speak of Pools Carletti for example , even if in this case there is not to remain unhappy! The spring waters of the pools Carletti is the same as that fed the pond Bulicame and , wonder of wonders, here the water Spa still manages to get in the beautiful pools , a privileged destination for lovers of the spa free Viterbo. The event consists of two hyperthermal springs located between Bath Road and Tuscanese . The temperature of the soergente reaches about 58 ° C and the water is classified as sulfur - sulfate -bicarbonate -alkaline . The source is also rich in trace elements and minerals , with a fixed residue of about 2,420 g / l. The source has a range between 3 and 10 l / sec . The Municipality of Viterbo has settled in a more than satisfactory the surrounding area , planting trees and creating a large car park. The water from the springs out of two smoky pools of very hot water coming down from the slopes of the hill in the first three beautiful pools , each with different temperatures and traditionally used for baths and mud . The water then flows again to the other two large swimming pools , a short distance .

VITERBO

VITERBO  Apri
Loc. VITERBO, ITALY - LAZIO  Navigatore
35 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Bomarzo, Caprarola, Barbarano Romano

La provincia di Viterbo chiamata anche Tuscia si trova nell''area nord della Regione ed caratterizzata da varie tipologie di paesaggio, da quello marino, a quello pianeggiante della maremma fino a quello montuoso. Il capoluogo di provincia, Viterbo, e' situato a 325 mt sul livello del mare ai piedi dei monti Cimini. Nelle sue vicinanze si trovano anche i laghi di Bolsena, Vico e Mazzano. Viterbo e' ricca di sorgenti termali e siti archeologici risalenti al periodo etrusco nel quale ebbe origine, e a quello romano dove si sviluppo in modo particolare sotto l''impertore Augusto. Troviamo inoltre interessanti monumenti dell''epoca medievale come le stesse mura di cinta merlate costruite fra il 1095 e il 1268, e di epoca rinascimentale. La denominazione Viterbo deriva da ''vetus urb'' che in latino significa citta vecchia. La storia di Viterbo e' associata a quella dei papi che ci vissero e che vi furono eletti, per questo e' denominata anche ''citta dei Papi''. Il primo fu Papa Alessandro IV che la scelse come rifugio. La decadenza di Viterbo inizio con il venire meno della corte papale quando la citta passo da una Signoria all''altra fino a che venne annessa allo Stato Pontificio. Il 12 settembre del 1870 fu annessa al Regno d''Italia e riconosciuta capoluogo di provincia i 1° gennaio del 1927. Da vedere: Il Palazzo dei Priori: Fu iniziato nel 1460 come sede per il Governatore della Provincia del Patrimonio e nel 1510 ne presero possesso i Priori. Dopo vari rifacimenti fu ultimato nel sec. XVI° Di particolare nota il portico del duecento e l''imponente facciata rinascimentale. Nella parte centrale del palazzo e' collocato lo stemma di papa Sisto V° Della Rovere. La Chiesa di San Francesco: Chiesa in stile romanico-gotico, eretta nel 1237 e distrutta nel 1944 durante bombardamenti. Il restauro risale al 1953. Qui sono sono conservate le reliquie di molti Papi fra cui quelle di Clemente IV (1265-68) e di Adriano V (1276), il supposto ''Papa di un giorno''. Altre chiese da visitare: La chiesa di San Sisto, la chiesa di Santa Maria Nuova e quella di Santa Rosa. I Museo Civico: Si trova nel convento della chiesa di Santa Maria della Verita ed e' uno dei piu antichi d''Italia. Qui si possono ammirare stupendi sarcofagi etruschi ed opere dell''epoca romana. Merita una visita anche la Pinacoteca dove e' conservata la tavola della Deposizione di Sebastiano del Piombo. Il Parco Terme Bulicame: Dove si trovano anche piscine termali pubbliche all''aperto ed il vicino Orto Botanico. Tarquinia: E'' stata uno dei principali centri etruschi dove sono visitabili le necropoli villanoviane e resti dei villaggi da cui ebbero origine. Il laghi di Bolsena e Vico: Due oasi naturalistiche di origine vulcanica.

TREVIGNANO ROMAN0

TREVIGNANO ROMAN0  Apri
Loc. TREVIGNANO ROMANO ROME, ITALY - LAZIO  Navigatore
44 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Anguillara Sabazia, Lungolago, Sutri
On the trail of the Etruscans in Trevignano Romano Trevignano, one of the three villages located on the shores of Lake Bracciano , presents a charming historic center dominated by the ruins of the castle of the Orsini . A day in Trevignano Romano as Bracciano and Anguillara Sabbazia , allows you to spend pleasant hours, depending on the season, walking along the lake on foot or by bike along the bike path or stopping for a cup of tea with a view of the lake or to go shopping in small and refined boutiques opened by many Romans who have chosen it as a place of residence , leaving the bustle of the city .   For 16 years in the month of May, Trevignano is also home to the International Festival of Short Fiction . Ancient origins of this small country that would rise on the site of the ancient city of Sabate , which indeed are the remains , if not for an extensive necropolis that stretches for about three kilometers behind the modern town . Some of these kits are visible chamber tombs in the Etruscan Museum in the Town Hall, the town's main square . The medieval village preserves and maintains the atmosphere of a fishing village.   Also worth seeing are the remains of the thirteenth-century Rocca Orsini , especially at sunset : the best , to enjoy the view of the lake and its villages, over the roofs of Trevignano . Inside the Church of the most important work is the fresco in the apse of a painter of the school of Raphael , which has as its subject the Dormition , or death of Madonna and her assumption and coronation in heaven. Many opportunities to play sports for fans of windsurfing, paragliding and canoeing.   A large number of possible cycling along the bike lane Lakes ( 7,880 meters), a ring designed to offer a panoramic view of the two lakes Bracciano and Martignano , the Sabatini Mountains Mount Rocca Romana and the mountains of Tolfa .

TUSCIA DOP

TUSCIA DOP  Apri
Loc. VITERBO VT, ITALIA - UMBRIA  Navigatore
35 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 329 mt. a.s.l.  Area Bomarzo, Caprarola, Barbarano Romano
  Brochure PDF
The extra virgin olive oil DOP Tuscia (Regulation no. 1623/05 of the Commission of 4:10:05 and published sullaGUCE no. 259/15 of 5.10.2005) is obtained from olives of three varieties (Frantoio, Leccino and Canino ) present for at least 90%, alone or in combination depending on the individual olive groves, with the admission of the presence of other varieties (Moraiolo and Pendolino) in maximum percentage of 10%. For this reason it can have small variation depending on the collection area. The characteristics of this oil at the time of consumption are: emerald green color, with golden reflections; fruity odor reminiscent of the sound, fresh fruit, harvested at optimum ripeness; fruity flavor with balanced bitter and spicy aftertaste of varying intensity; total acidity of up to 0.50%. The production area indicated by the Regulations, includes the following municipalities of the province of Viterbo: Capodimonte, Capranica, Caprarola Carbognano, Castel S. Elia, Castiglione in Teverina, Celleno, Civita Castellana, Civitella d'Agliano, Corchiano, Fabrica di Roma, Faleria, Gallese, Gradoli, Grafton, Grotte di Castro, Latera, Lubriano, Marta, Montalto di Castro (in part), Montefiascone, Monteromano, Nepi, Oriolo Romano, Orte, Crieff, Proceno, Ronciglione, S. Lorenzo Nuovo, Soriano nel Cimino, Sutri, Tarquinia, Tuscania (in part), Valentano, Vallerano, Vasanello, Vejano, Vetralla Vignanello, Villa San Giovanni in Tuscia, Viterbo, Vitorchiano.

PITIGLIANO

PITIGLIANO  Apri
Loc. PITIGLIANO GROSSETO, ITALY - TOSCANA  Navigatore
44 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Sorano, Ischia di Castro, Saturnia
Of tufa towns in central Italy there if they are different. The nearby Sorano and Sovana, for example, or remaining within fifty miles, Orvieto and, a little further south, Orte. But Pitigliano is different ... and, despite not having the Momumento breathtaking that remains engraved in my mind, it's all the context that is almost magical enchanted. The origin of Pitigliano affected by this spell and is lost in the mists of time. Legend has it that it was founded by two young Petilio and Celiano. Petilio was the gens Petilia, an important Etruscan Roman family, while Celiano appartiena the Etruscan family of Celes Vibenna. Petilio Celiano and found nothing better than to steal the golden crown from the temple of Jupiter Stator in Rome and bring it right on the cliff of Pitigliano where, fascinated by the beauty of the place, we stayed and founded the city. We do not believe much in this legend Etruscan - Roman ... just because the origin of Pitigliano is certainly the oldest and perhaps before the Etruscan civilization itself. Today in Pitigliano is to stroll through the narrow streets, with many small craft shops, immersed in the colors of the tufa and the smell of wood-burning fireplaces ... and assure you that it is an endless pleasure, even if confined to only the historical center ... one above the tuff cliff. Beyond the walls, in the east, it is naturally extended Pitigliano new very modern, but without the charm of centuries. But what is the best time to visit Pitigliano. Surely from spring to fall, even though many of the pictures that we publish are done in the middle of winter. In particular we indicate the Torciata of St. Joseph, which takes place March 19

TOLFA

TOLFA  Apri
Loc. TOLFA - LAZIO  Navigatore
19 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 481 mt. a.s.l.  Area Barbarano Romano, Canale Monterano, Bracciano
The urban development of the town of Tolfa allows us to clearly follow the steps historical and economic expansion that led to this urban , however, are scarce news about who built the most beautiful buildings and exactly when . Little is known of the medieval period and the most important buildings of that era , the Castle, the Baron's Palace and the Church of Sant'Egidio. Renaissance period we have a deion of Tolfa anything but flattering Annibalcaro of the poet , who is said to have lived in the Baron's Palace and we know that Agostino Chigi , contractor alum quarries from 1501 to 1520 , built the church of the cork , but we do not know where he lived during his stays in Tolfa nor if one of Renaissance palaces have been built by him. Waiting for these buildings are studied, there is a promise of the Norwegian Institute in Rome, or that scholars find in the archives of local news regarding the same. We invite you to take a virtual tour of Tolfa illustrated, for the most part , from Vintage postcards collection GAR : Greetings from Tolfa . Coming on Piazza Vittorio Veneto ( New Square ) is attracted by the long balcony that overlooks the countryside and from which in clear day you can see Rome and the Apennines. The square was built in the 30s to give pride of place to the Town Hall , behind her you can visit the beautiful Villa Comunale. Before incamminaci by Rome to our right we have the War Memorial . The main building of Via Roma is the Palace Buttaoni , at No. . 30. Reach Piazza Giacomo Matteotti (Old Square ) we start by Frangipani, at No. . 12 there is the ancient Palazzo dei Priori, Palazzaccio today , dominated by the clock tower. Following the outer walls of the medieval Tolfa pass under the arch of the Palazzo della Ragione and we climb to the summit. Before you get there is the church of Our Lady of the Rock from the churchyard where you have a view of the landscape of the country. Between the church and the castle there is a path , now overgrown with weeds , which leads us to a plateau from which, as they say the authors mentioned : you can see how far in the Hereafter. Coming down from the castle we are faced with the Church of St. Egidio and to follow that of the Crucifix . Down on the right you get to Via Costa Alta and the Palace Celli. Back on the Old Town Square , admire the fountain and we walk by Annibal Caro. Built from the late fifteenth century the street is lined with Renaissance and Baroque palaces , at No. 37 we find Palazzo Panetti , at No. 61 on the facade of the palace was built in the following centuries , a tabernacle in the baroque style with all ' internal image of the Virgin . On top of the road we find the Convent of the Capuchins. At the end of Via Annibal Caro is the Church of Our Lady of the cork with the adjoining convent Augustinian fathers . Then go down the Avenue of Italy and you find yourself at the starting point .

NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEI TORI

     

NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEI TORI  Apri
Loc. TARQUINIA VITERBO, ITALY - LAZIO  Navigatore
<1 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Tolfa, Barbarano Romano, Canale Monterano
The Tomb of the Bulls, discovered in 1892 , dates from the beginning of the second half of the sixth century BC and consists of a large atrium onto which two cells funeral . Here are represented the most famous erotic images of the necropolis of Tarquinia, the more rough are painted on the back wall of the main chamber : the erotic group on the right is made up of two naked men and one woman also naked , with white meat , connected to each other in a complicated game sex , a tame white bull and is lying next to them , and the other is the scene of male homosexuality obvious , inferred by the color used to distinguish the sexes ( a brown or reddish color to the complexion male , white for the female , the homosexual is represented with a pink, almost to highlight its diversity ), and even here there is a bull with a human face that this time he rails angrily against the two protagonists. Even in the fresco of the main mound , which represents the mythological episode of the attack of Achilles in Troilus , the youngest son of Priam, king of Troy , revealing a subtle erotic thrill : Troilus is designed as a beautiful young man, slender limbs and soft, long haired blonde naked on his horse and is said to Achilles, and then cut his throat before sacrifice to Apollo, was seized by a sudden desire sexual assault that led him to a love so beastly to Troilus in the close of his embraces. Hypogeum appear , however, other figures : in the center of the main pediment , the two heads columen blue ram with horns of power in sight are the procreation of their herds and multiply without end , to the left looms Chimera , be mysterious and elusive with a lion's body , blue wings spread, head of the goat, and serpent's tail , and the Chimera is being chased by another enigmatic creature with a lion's body and a woman's face , is the Sphinx , the treacherous monster that does not cause the ravages of the body, but those of the mind and the soul; another wall a young man , dressed only in a pair of boots , riding a huge hippocampus. Monterozzi Necropolis .

CASTELLO ODESCALCHI

CASTELLO ODESCALCHI  Apri
Loc. CASTELLO ODESCALCHI, PIAZZA GIUSEPPE MAZZINI, 14, BRACCIANO RM, ITALIA - LAZIO  Navigatore
39 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 282 mt. a.s.l.  Area Lungolago, Trevignano Romano, Canale Monterano
The Orsini-Odescalchi (Rome) is a building of the fifteenth century consists of three walled exterior; pentagonal, has five towers, one for each vertex of the outer fortification. The castle was built by Braccio da Montone (the family arms) then passed all'Orsini militant in the troops of Arm, at the request of Pope Martin V (1418). It is currently owned by the Odescalchi family who own the Orsini took over the lordship of Bracciano in the late seventeenth century. The castle is now a place for receptions and also houses a museum, opened in 1952 by Ilvio Odescalchi. The expansion of the castle began in 1470 (with participation of the famous Leonardo De 'Medici) on the orders of Napoleon Orsini which is then completed by his son Gentil Virginio Orsini in 1485. Throughout its history, the castle undergoes many changes from the initial draft Francesco di Giorgio Martini. Pope Alexander VI, in 1496 comes to seize the castle, animated by a deep resentment towards the Orsini. In these years back the first decorations, among the most famous woman of the cycle illustrating the medieval court life of the late Middle Ages and the fresco Antoniazzo Romano depicting the triumph of Gentil Virginio Orsini, important page of this painter of the fifteenth century. Once the quarrel with the pope Orsini resume possession of the castle thus continuing the expansion and beautification of the castle. At the end of the sixteenth century James Duke, a pupil of Michelangelo, made a series of interventions at the lavish wedding of Isabella de 'Medici and Paolo Giordano Orsini. On that occasion the brothers Taddeo and Federico Zuccari were called to decorate some of the rooms, including one that in 1481 it housed Pope Sixtus IV della Rovere fleeing the plague that raged in Rome. The Zuccari, two of the most important artists of the late sixteenth century, realized the frescoes with the horoscope of the couple and the emblems of the two illustrious families. In 1696 the Orsini Odescalchi entered the ancient family from Como, whose prestige town increased considerably when one of its members ascended the papal throne with the name of Innocent XI. Administrative center and representation of the important families who have owned the castle tells its six centuries of history through the ancient weapons, furnishings and paintings, books and manus, the decorations and frescoes. After popes and kings, weddings and sieges, Prince Baldassarre Odescalchi and architect Raffaello Ojetti open a new chapter in its history: in the early years of the twentieth century a long restoration campaign returns beauty to the ancient stones, pomp to the rooms, quiet and elegance to the gardens. As mentioned before, the castle was open to the public since 1952 by Prince Livio IV Odescalchi Castle in Bracciano today is a dynamic reality, which combines its vocation as a museum with an intense activity in the organization of events useful to the enhancement of good and able to create a virtuous circle that allows you not to overlook a wise and constant work of protection and restoration. Careful management of the Princess Maria Pace Odescalchi renewed attention in the last decade to the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage represented by the castle careful protection and ensuring full accessibility that knows no interruption and can accommodate a large number Guest, motivated by curiosity of tourists but also the interest of the scholar and researcher.

PARCO REGIONALE MARTURANUM

PARCO REGIONALE MARTURANUM  Apri
Loc. BARBARANO ROMANO - LAZIO  Navigatore
24 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 229 mt. a.s.l.  Area Canale Monterano, Tolfa, Sutri
  Brochure PDF
Hilly area near the volcanic complex of the Monti Sabatini This protected area is made up of two clearly distinct natural environments: typical of river valleys, also known as gorges, carved into the tufa by the streams and the hilly, partly covered by oak forests and pastures. Among the most full of life inside the park are undoubtedly the waterways that are home to a large number of amphibians in particular is marked by the presence dell'ululone yellow belly (Bombina pachypus).

SUTRI

SUTRI  Apri
Loc. SUTRI VT, ITALIA - LAZIO  Navigatore
39 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
Altitude: 296 mt. a.s.l.  Area Caprarola, Trevignano Romano, Barbarano Romano
The ancient city stood on the site of a tuff spur of spindle-shaped, surrounded by deep valleys crossed by small streams and tight around by high plateaus. Post the foothills of the Monti Cimini which rise to the northeast dominating the basin of Lake Vicoe the plain of Viterbo, and at the foot deiMonti Sabatini south-west, the city was to implant along a natural corridor linking the inland territories Southern Etruria and the coastal strip and, at the same time, along the transit line from Rome to the north of the region. Happy to topographic position and the actual control that the village could exert on the line of travel, Sutri had probably the reason for its existence and the importance of it, in alternating phases and with different function, dressed up to the late Middle Ages . A problem still difficult to solve the current state of research is related to the first forms of employment and organization of the site, later occupied by the subsequent historic city, Sutrium. Surface surveys conducted in recent years have made it possible to identify, along the northern edge of the plateau, some fragments of materials of dough forms and ornamentation can be dated to the later phase of the Bronze final (X century BC.) . This figure, although quantitatively small, is of considerable importance for now constitute the only evidence of attendance at certain historic era of the future urban area. The information available, however, does not allow you to define in more detail the process of formation of the oldest urban core. It is not excluded that the birth of the city may be the result of the fusion of more modest settlements located in the territory, under the pressure of finding new economic resources that could result from the happy position of the promontory along the natural line of connection between Falisca the area to the east and the territories of Etruria and coastal north-west, and at the same time a place that offered greater guarantees of defense and of urban organization.

NECROPOLI DELLA BANDITACCIA DI CERVETERI

NECROPOLI DELLA BANDITACCIA DI CERVETERI  Apri
Loc. BRACCIANO - LAZIO  Navigatore
36 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Canale Monterano, Cerveteri, Lungolago
  Brochure PDF
The Etruscan necropolis of Banditaccia is the main area of the ancient burial Caere, which is concentrated in the most monumental tombs. It is a huge complex (it is estimated that there are about 20,000 graves in cemeteries in this one room) with characters of absolute oneness, which earned him inclusion in the UNESCO list of World Heritage sites. Placed on a tufa plateau parallel to the urban area, the necropolis of Banditaccia was used already in the seventh century. B.C. Inside are distinguished sectors, which reflect the different nuclei in which the necropolis had to be articulated in his long life, up to the first century. B.C. The area open to the public includes the Old and New Fence and covers nearly 10 hectares, covering less than one-tenth of the total length of the necropolis. Here affect especially the imposing circular mounds of earth with a hemispherical cap, the tombs nut and the great aristocratic tombs, which are arranged along the Main Street Burial and minor streets. Other areas of the cemetery are those of 'Highway - the paved road that leads from the modern town to the cemetery, so called during the excavations Mengarelli - and the Tombs of the City, where there is a homogeneous group of underground tombs of IV century. B.C. To the left of the motorway is the Tomb of the Five Chairs (third quarter of the seventh century BC.), The number of seats carved into the tufa in one of the environments, today included, thanks to recent excavations, within a larger complex monumental. On the right side of the same road, in front of the entrance of the fence, is located another area with chamber tombs and burial mounds dating from the Orientalizing (area of large mounds). With the name of the pond is indicated hill located at the edge of the area and the center-east of the plateau, between the Via Ripa Manganello and the Underworld, where they were identified as key areas, called Pond I and II. The area was intensively exploited by the construction of tombs, small squares and walkways, at least until the second century. B.C.

MONTERANO

MONTERANO  Apri
Loc. CANALE MONTERANO - LAZIO  Navigatore
32 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Bracciano, Lungolago, Barbarano Romano
Monterano is an ancient feud abandoned on top of a hill tuff within the Reserve partial natural Monterano, in the Municipality of Canale Monterano, in the Lazio region, Italy. The ghost town, for its beauty and its proximity to Rome, and then at Cinecitta' and the film industry, has been and still is in numerous films. Monterano had been inhabited since the Bronze Age but flourished, both culturally and economically, in Etruscan, between the fifth and fourth centuries BC The town Manturanum, identified with Monterano, was again thriving in the early Middle Ages: it became the seat of the Episcopal Diocese powerful that included the lands between Lake Bracciano and Tolfa mountains. In the eleventh century it became the property of the abbey of St. Paul in Rome who gave the village a quadrangular tower later ed in the ducal palace. Monterano era of common maintained its importance, since it was located strategically on a consular and, in the thirteenth century, was, along with other neighboring territories Urbe, territory area is that the Papacy by the Prefect of Rome. The town became a fief of the Anguillara in the fourteenth century, then duchy in the hands of families close to the Papacy that succeeded over time, including the Orsini. In the seventeenth century was built the aqueduct that emerges at the surface just outside the village, still well preserved thanks to a recent restoration of the Province of Rome. The most impressive building in the center of Monterano is the Castle, probably dating back to the eighth century bishop. The fortress, which leads to the testimonies of several architectural changes over the centuries, it underwent a remarkable transformation in the Baroque period. In 1679, at the behest of Prince Altieri, Gian Lorenzo Bernini redesigned Fortress Monteranese transforming it into a ducal palace, decorating the outer wall of Piazza Lunga with a fountain on which dominates the statue of a lion, hence the name of the Fountain of Lions. In the same era is the convent of San Bonaventura, Mattia de Rossi designed by Bernini, other notable architecture visible today in a flat area outside the village in ruins at the center emerges the octagonal fountain. As Monterano lost commercial importance depopulated gradually, the convent became the property of the Secular and later the hermitage of Monte Senario. In 1799, following a dispute between the wheat and monteranesi Tolfa, a sack by French troops decreed the decline of the village of Monterano, from which it was not intended to recover, contributory cause malaria, and therefore its abandonment: the last inhabitants moved to the nearby town of Canale and Montevirginio.

OLIO CANINO D.O.P.

OLIO CANINO D.O.P.  Apri
Loc. VITERBO VT, ITALIA - LAZIO  Navigatore
35 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Bomarzo, Caprarola, Barbarano Romano
  Brochure PDF
The extra virgin olive oil Canino DOP, is obtained from a single cultivar Canino variety, from the olive groves of members, certified to the production of DOP Canino. Certification D.O.P. CANINE is an additional guarantee for the consumer, in fact the entire production process adheres to a rigorous discipline followed by an organoleptic and chemical, in order to check the nutritional qualities, which are essential for the certification of Canino DOP . Oil with excellent organoleptic properties, intense green color, it offers a good balance between bitter and spicy with final notes of aromatic herbs. The nose is inviting, with a smell do fresh fruit. Ideal for dressing bruschetta, soups, salads, vegetables and grilled meats.

CERVETERI

CERVETERI  Apri
Loc. CERVETERI RM, ITALIA - LAZIO  Navigatore
41 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Bracciano, Lungolago, Canale Monterano
Cerveteri is an Italian town of 36,524 inhabitants in the province of Rome, Lazio ancient city dating back to the Etruscan and Roman times. Formerly known as Caere. Its modern name comes from Caere Vetus, named in the thirteenth century to distinguish it from Caere Novum (the current Ceri). Other ancient names of the city are Cisra (the Etruscans), Agylla, (for the Greeks). The city of Cerveteri has a long history, probably dating back to the mid-ninth century BC, as some archaeological excavations have shown that they have revealed the presence of stable employment in the area with human settlements and their Etruscan. Officially, appears for the first time in history because of the Sardinian Sea battle, which took place in 540 BC

NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEI LEOPARDI

     

NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEI LEOPARDI  Apri
Loc. TARQUINIA VITERBO, ITALY - LAZIO  Navigatore
<1 Km from NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEGLI AUGURI
  Area Tolfa, Barbarano Romano, Canale Monterano
The Tomb of the Leopards , Tarquinia is one of those which is discussed more frequently in the manuals of Etruscan art , as well as being beautiful , in fact, is the highest level of style. The cemetery in which it appears is a UNESCO World Heritage . This tomb is dated around 480 BC Artistically it is noted that it is still strongly linked to the archaic tradition , it can be seen from both the architectural construction is , in particular , the technique of painting : the images are two-dimensional and there is not even an attempt at chiaroscuro. The roof is gabled , with multicolored checkerboard pattern , while the central fascia presents patterns colorful circles. After all, in the pediment -looking trapezoidal continues the ancient tradition of the leopards that face : a metaphor for death. Below , the banquet scene is typical of a daily moment , there are , in fact , women, and Greece would not have been able to participate . All around you is a typical profusion of magnificent fabrics, represented by the local decorative syntax . On the left wall of the tomb there is a procession with musicians, and a person holding the cans , on the other hand, there are dance scenes . Mark the space of the main image , the three klinai , the beds on which they feast , and above each of these three pairs participating in the meal. It seems almost all fall within the Greek tradition of the triclinium , and instead there is a characteristic atypical : there are plants. In other words the banquet not takes place within , as happens in the depictions Greek , but outdoors. This connotation is recovered at the scene throughout his funerary purposes , if this is not a daily feast , homemade , it means celebrating a special occasion , and probably the one where the funeral took place and who was following the exposure of the deceased.

Excursions and attractions in LAZIO close to TARQUINIA VITERBO, ITALY Tolfa Barbarano Romano Canale Monterano: 'PALAZZO FARNESE'   'BRACCIANO'   'CAPRAROLA'   'PARCO URBANO DELL'ANTICHISSIMA CITTA' DI SUTRI'   'ROMITORI DI ISCHIA DI CASTRO'   'GOLF CLUB: LE QUERCE'   'NECROPOLI DELLA BANDITACCIA'   'NECROPOLI DI TARQUINIA'   'WWF: OASI LAGO DI BURANO'   'NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DELLA CACCIA E DELLA PESCA'   'PALAZZO DEI PAPI'   'LAGO DI BRACCIANO'   'TERME PISCINE CARLETTI'   'VITERBO'   'TREVIGNANO ROMAN0'   'TUSCIA DOP'   'PITIGLIANO'   'TOLFA'   'NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEI TORI'   'CASTELLO ODESCALCHI'   'PARCO REGIONALE MARTURANUM'   'SUTRI'   'NECROPOLI DELLA BANDITACCIA DI CERVETERI'   'MONTERANO'   'OLIO CANINO D.O.P.'   'CERVETERI'   'NECROPOLI ETRUSCA: TOMBA DEI LEOPARDI'  

LAZIO


This is the cradle of occidental civilization and Christian culture, of lakes and legends, of spas and history, of ancient roads and verdant hills. Latium is a region of central Italy bordered by the Tyrrhenian Sea, furrowed by the waters of River Tiber and mainly characterized by hills and mountains, while it slopes down near the coast. This region has different yet complementary features, unblemished sceneries and spectacular horizons among the towns. Visitors can enjoy incredibly beautiful views, like Villa Borghese in Rome, the Italian capital. Villa Borghese is the most famous city park for walking or cycling in. It represents an unparalleled experience between art, containing the Borghese Gallery with its masterpieces, and the nature surrounding it, among lakes and ancient trees. Latium is also full of spas, whose history is bound to the several thermal water springs that had great success in the Republican Age and continued to be used in the Imperial Age. The Romans built sumptuous thermal baths and we can still admire their vestiges around the territory; first of all, the Terme di Caracalla, in the heart of Rome. Tivoli is another spa, but its fame is mainly due to the artistic beauties it contains, like Villa D'Este, with its splendid fountains, gardens and magnificent palace of the Renaissance, and Villa Adriana, the ancient residence of emperor Adriano. The two villas are in the World Heritage List by Unesco. For those who prefer the sea, this region offers some real pearls like Gaeta, Sabaudia, San Felice Circeo, Sperlonga and the islands of Ponza and Ventotene, while those who love lakes will enjoy Bracciano, an enchanting stretch of water encircled by the intense green of the surrounding nature, overlooked by a magnificent sixteenth century castle.