Loc. VIA TEATRO GRECO, 1, TAORMINA MESSINA, ITALY - SICILIA
4 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Altitude: 219 mt. a.s.l. Area Castelmola, Giardini Naxos, Francavilla di Sicilia
The ancient theater of Taormina is the second center of classical theater in Sicily in size after the greek theater of Syracuse.
The theater Tauromenion would Hellenistic origin - on the basis of the few archaeological documents could be the third century BC but it looks totally Roman in its appearance visible today. The original structure was tied to a small shrine which still stand on the belvedere overlooking the auditorium .
A first reconstruction of the building took place in the Republican age or First Empire , perhaps under Augustus , later to be expanded in the first half of the second century BC in the forms known today . The building reached the maximum diameter of 109 meters , with an orchestra with a diameter of 35 meters, with a capacity of about 10,000 spectators.
In the middle and late Empire , the building was adapted to accommodate venationes (shows the fight between gladiators and wild beasts ) , turning into a genuine amphitheater : the orchestra was changed in the arena replacing the lower tiers with a vaulted corridor that connected to an underground in the center of the clearing , where the stage machinery allowed the special effects of the fight. Finally, in late antiquity , was built on the porch behind the scene . His departure is likely to be attributed with the siege of the Vandals and the consequent decay of the Empire. During the Middle Ages , the stage building and the two turris Scalae were reused in order to obtain a private palace. During the Grand Tour fame grew romantic building, a fallen monument , surrounded by lush vegetation with an unusual view of Mount Etna , this visual for anything existing at the time of its greatest extent , as covered by the stage buildings in masonry.
Loc. REGGIO CALABRIA, PROVINCE OF REGGIO CALABRIA, ITALY - CALABRIA
44 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Area Messina, Santo Stefano in Aspromonte, Fiumedinisi
Reggio di Calabria, commonly known as Reggio Calabria or Reggio simply, in the South and before the unification of Italy, is an Italian town of 180728 inhabitants, capital of the province. It is the first town in the region in terms of population and the second surface. Unique City metropolitan rank in the region, being one of the 14 Italian metropolitan cities, the leader of an agglomeration of more than 260,000 inhabitants, is the largest functional pole of a polycentric metropolitan area has about 400,000 inhabitants and is part of the extensive and populous conurbation Sicilian and Calabrian Arc called Etna. There are strong historical, cultural and economic relations with the neighbor across the city of Messina. Reggio, along with Naples and Taranto, is home to one of the most important archaeological museums dedicated to Ancient Greece (which houses the famous Riace bronzes, rare example of Greek bronze sculpture, which became one of the symbols of the city), two young universities (the Mediterranean and Dante Alighieri) and the Regional Council of Calabria. It is the first city in the region despite its antiquity and ancient foundation - was an important and thriving colony of Magna Graecia - shows a modern urban layout, due to the catastrophic earthquake that December 28, 1908 destroyed most of the town. Its urban tem, forced to the east by the Strait of Messina and crowned from behind by the foothills of the Apennines, is one of the main economic and regional service but also one of the highest concentrations of nodes and equipment for transport and logistics natural structure the region to the southern coasts of the Mediterranean. The old town, mainly consisting of palaces lines liberty, has a linear development along the Calabrian coast of the strait with parallel streets to the waterfront dotted with magnolias, palms and rare or exotic
Loc. COMPLESSO ARCHEOLOGICO TERME DELLA ROTONDA, CATANIA, ITALY - SICILIA
40 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Area Aci Castello, Paterṇ, Provincia di Catania
The Baths of the Rotunda of the spa facilities are from the Roman period , dated to the I-II century AD site and in the historical center of Catania. Also a church was built on the site of Byzantine origin likely headed to the Virgin Mary. The unique architecture of the church that he obtained it , a large dome supported by massive buttresses placed on a square room , gave rise to the nickname of the Rotunda church complex , often indicated by the name La Rotonda in the sixteenth and seventeenth-century plans . The spa was only recently clarified , as a large complex of buildings connected to each other and square following the same orientation . Among them there emerges a large hall with an apse - maybe ice rooms - oriented in a north- south dating from the first vital phase of the baths , which relies on the east side of a large room with hypocaust rich in numerous suspensurae that were to carry a mosaic floor laid well have found small traces and identifiable as the steam bath . The size of the latter the lead back to the monumental area . In the second stage ( around the V -VI century AD ) was split into several smaller spaces , while to the west of the great hall with an apse opens a vast space paved with large slabs of marble which were found several tombs , some made by destroying the floor itself . To the south several other open spaces belonging to the phase II -III century , like two floors with hypocaust relevant to small circular spaces , maybe a tepidarium . Other quadrangular continue north , inside the building of the church which in part relies on the Roman structures .
Loc. SANTUARIO MARIA SS.MA DEL TINDARI, PATTI ME - SICILIA
40 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Area Tindari, Fiumedinisi, Francavilla di Sicilia
The Sanctuary of Tindarys is located at the eastern end of the promontory, overlooking the sea, at the ancient acropolis, where a small church was built on the ruins of the abandoned city. The statue of the Black Madonna, carved cedar wood, I was placed in an unknown time, possibly from the East came here after the phenomenon of iconoclasm in the eighth and ninth centuries. The church was destroyed in 1544 by Algerian pirates, was rebuilt between 1552 and 1598, and the sanctuary was enlarged by Bishop Joseph Pullano with the construction of a new larger church was consecrated in 1979.La feast of the shrine is held annually between 7 and 8 September. At the base of the cape there is a sandy area with a series of small ponds, whose conformation is changed as a result of the movement of sand, driven by the storms. The beach is known as Marinello or the sea dry, and there are many legends related. According to one of the beach they would miraculously formed after the fall of a child from the terrace of the sanctuary, then found safe and well on the beach as soon as created by the retreat of the sea. The girl's mother, a pilgrim came from afar, after the miracle, the miracle would have changed my mind about the true nature of the sculpture, which he had doubted because dark complexion of the Virgin. Another legend tells of the death on this very beach of Pope Eusebius, on August 17, 310, a few months after his election, on 18 April, which would have been exiled to Sicily by Maxentius. Above the beach, on the ridge, it also opens up a cave, which according to local legend, was inhabited by a witch, who devoted himself to attract sailors with her singing and then devour them. When someone gave up because of the difficulty of being lured to the entrance of the cave, the sorceress vented anger his fingers digging into the wall: this should have small holes that open up many of the rock.
Sounds, scents and colors around the big volcano
The beauty of the Park of Etna is not only the grandeur of eruptions and lava flows. Around the great volcano is a unique and unparalleled, rich sounds, scents and colors. An enchanting landscape, protected by a natural park that anyone in Sicily can not fail to visit. The territory of the Etna Park, which stretches from the summit of the volcano to the upper belt of Etna villages, was divided into four zones with different degrees of protection: zone A, B, C and D.
Altitude: 2411 mt. a.s.l. Area Maletto, Provincia di Catania, Randazzo
The summit craters represent the junction area of the volcanic activity through which breathes the persistent vent of Etna, and in more or less regular intervals, are the site of explosive events of various types as: Strombolian obstruction phreatic activities etc. that continually change the morphology. Since ancient times the climb to the summit of the volcano has represented the most important moment of travelling inSicily. This is the meeting place for the force of nature, which is capable of destroying and at the same time creating a unique and fascinating world as that of ''Mongibello'' (Arabian name for Etna). The ascent is by jeep to 2900mt (Torre del Filosofo), for there on foot towards the summit craters (3340). After an informative visit we go down along the pyroclastic deposits of the last eruption following part of an ascarpment that borders the great depression of theBoveValleywe arrive at Rifugio Sapienza at 1900mt. TheBoveValleyis an itinerary of rare beauty, a huge depression bordered by steep walls formed like a horse shoe, open on the eastern side towards the massive volcano. It is an exquisite geological viewpoint that has always held a notable importance in the comprehension of the evolution of Etna, where through observing the emerging lava, we can reconstruct the different types of Etna volcanic levels going back thousands of years. After having arrived at the cable-car station, we go round Montagnola to begin the long sandy downward path of Rina Channel to the bottom of the valley. Then after having crossed the 1991-1993 lava flow we go upwards alongBeechCanyon. Length of excursion: about 6 hours
Olive oil is the undisputed king of Mediterranean cuisine, not only for the unique flavor that gives each dish, but also for the healthy.
As for wines, even the oil has its own characteristics and is tasted by professionals assagiatori that evaluate the three main aspects: the color, the taste, the flavor. The pleasant sensations oil originate from substances that are naturally present in healthy, fresh fruit, and that together comprise the basic feature of the olive oil: the fruity.
When the olives are processed (mandatory within the production area located on the slopes of Etna), during the grinding and kneading above all natural substances of the fruit are divided into oil and vegetable water as a function of their partition coefficient, highly influenced by temperature. That's why a judicious use of the temperature in the extraction involves a harmonic composition of the natural substances of the oil, in particular those responsible for the organoleptic characteristics and, consequently, also of greater pleasantness of the product. The extra virgin olive oil DOP Mount Etna is the ideal condiment both raw and cooked.
Spectacularly located on a terrace of Monte Tauro with views westwards to Mt Etna, Taormina is a beautiful small town, reminiscent of Capri or an Amalfi coastal resort. Over the centuries, Taormina has seduced an exhaustive line of writers and artists, aristocrats and royalty, and these days it is host to a summer arts festival that packs the town with international visitors. Perched on its eyrie, Taormina is sophisticated, chic and comfortably cushioned by some serious wealth and very far removed from the banal economic realities of other Sicilian towns. But the charm is not manufactured. The capital of Byzantine Sicily in the 9th century, Taor-mina is an almost perfectly preserved medieval town, and if you can tear yourself away from the shopping and sunbathing, it has a wealth of small but perfect tourist sites. Taormina is also a popular resort with gay men. Be warned that in July and August the town is choked with tourists and the only space left on the beach may well be next to the rubbish bins.
Loc. PARCO ARCHEOLOGICO DELLE EOLIE, VIA TEATRO GRECO, PATTI ME, ITALIA - SICILIA
41 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Area Patti, Fiumedinisi, Francavilla di Sicilia
Archaeological site of Tindarys, ancient greek-roman city founded by Dionysius of Syracuse in 397-6 BC as a fortress and military outpost. Occupied by the Carthaginians led by Hannibal in 264 BC, the Romans conquered ten years later, has the end of his time to a landslide first, then an earthquake around 365 AD, and finally the destruction of the Arabs in 836 AD. You can visit the greek-roman theater built with sandstone blocks from the Greeks in the third century BC, the Romans modified to adapt it to the circus games, part of the urban plan of the city, the theater propylaeum monument built by the Romans with large sandstone basilica2pietre and intended to Basilica for public meetings, or Gymnasium for conducting athletic exercises; the remains of Cyclopean walls, built by Dionysius; a tower (XVI - XVII c.), situated close to the theater. It 'also planned to visit the Antiquarium, located at the entrance of the excavations, which sets out the marble statues of characters who are judges, a head of the Emperor Augustus, a Corinthian capital, pottery from the Bronze Age, Roman lamps old Republican -imperiale, tools and many other historical artifacts found on the site.
CHIESA DI SAN BIAGIO (SANT'AGATA ALLA FORNACE) Apri
Loc. PIAZZA STESICORO, CATANIA CT, ITALIA - SICILIA
39 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Altitude: 29 mt. a.s.l. Area Aci Castello, Paterṇ, Provincia di Catania
The church of San Biagio is located in Stesichorus Square just opposite the great trench with the ruins of the amphitheater. The white facade, preceded by a flight of steps, is the late-eighteenth century. The origins of this church date back to 1098. After the earthquake of 1693 it was rebuilt by the bishop Andrea Riggio who incorporated the subsidiary church of San Biagio in which the temple was named. Also on Riggio established there, in 1710, the congregation of secular priests under the title of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the Seven Sorrows. In memory of this event was a large carved medallion dell'Addolorata by Salvatore Cali, which stands at the center of the white facade. Inside you can admire a painting of St. John of Nepomuk on the first altar and a painting of the martyrdom of S. Biagio, on the second altar (right side). The chancel contains two chapels, one dedicated to the Crucified (left) and one dedicated to Saint Agata. In this chapel houses a precious relic that tradition binds to the martyrdom of the patron saint of Catania, the furnace of St. Agatha which is the popular name of the church Carcarella. The furnace is guarded by a glass; a Latin inion reminds us of one of the most dramatic phases of the human story of Agatha, the torment with coals; In fact, says the inion: Here was caught between the burning coals. The tradition tells that the saint was able to overcome this ordeal, and since then, by analogy, was elected savior from the fire of the eruptions. For those who live at the foot of Etna is important to believe in a miracle able to stop the rivers of fire glowing in their race, engulfing houses and land; In this sense, over the centuries, it has been increasingly strengthened the bond between Agatha and the salvation of the fire; for the people of Catania the most powerful relic is the Veil of St. Agatha, that the year after his death (252) was carried in procession and approached the lava flow that threatened the city. The veil, it is said, he changed his color changing from white to red; it is evident the symbolic value of this second color which became active counterpart of the red fire of Etna. In addition to the chapel of the furnace meet the high altar, the altar dedicated to the Holy Family and another altar with the martyrdom of St. Andrew.
Loc. RISERVA DEI LAGHETTI DI MARINELLO, VIA TORRE FORTUNATO, ., PATTI ME, ITALIA - SICILIA
44 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Area Tindari, Alcara li Fusi, Vulcano Piano
At the foot of the promontory of Tindarys is the characteristic of the lagoon Marinello lakes which together with the lakes of Ganzirri are the latest examples of brackish coastal environment in the north-eastern Sicily. The formation of the lagoon area dates back to about 100 years ago, between 1865 and 1895, due to specific tectonic processes as well as the unusual weather and sea conditions exist along this section of coast. The lagoon area is located within the Nature Reserve lakes of Marinello established in 1998 and managed by the Province of Messina. Within the reserve, which covers approximately 380 acres, there are a wide variety of environments: it goes from lacustrine to brackish coastal marine sands, the steep slopes and areas overlooking the sea. There is also a beautiful natural cave: Cave Woman House, difficult to reach because overlooking the sea, within which there are formations of stalactites, stalagmites and columns. An old legend tells that in this cave there lived a witch enchantress (as the sorceress Circe of Homer) that having attracted to if the sailors with her singing sublime liberate devouring it. If the prey escaped the sorceress vented his immense rage against the walls of the cave affossandovi, with all its force, the fingers of his hands. The name of the sorceress was Donna Villa and only a few would be able to escape!
The Consortium for the protection of Etna Prickly Pear Dop, formed in 2003 after obtaining the prestigious Community agricultural production value of closely related to the area of production, after a brief period of inactivity, has started the last two years an intense process of working to bring together all the players in the sector ficodindicola, with particular attention to agricultural producers, real pivot of the entire supply chain.
A work centered on professionalism and passion by creating a structure capable of performing with continuity and competence the functions of protection, promotion, enhancement, consumer information and general care of the interests related to the production chain of the PDO.
Several initiatives have been carried out successfully, the collaboration with the University of Catania in the field of research and innovation process, achieving significant results especially in the irrigation process that will significantly lower the water and energy resources used, the collaboration with public and private entities to promote the product and its production area.
The relaunch of the chain ficodindicola must pass by the initiatives on the territory and in this spirit the Consortium for the Protection of Etna Prickly Pear PDO with the collaboration of the City of Belbasso (Ct), which represents the Etna area with the highest concentration of companies ficodindicole, deemed essential to establish an annual event, with that values and promotes the Etna Prickly Pear DOP both locally and nationally.
Thus was born the Festival of Etna Prickly Pear PDO, which will involve all stakeholders in the supply chain, an event that goes beyond the traditional concept of the festival of the square, whose objective is to establish a network of effective and efficient, able to generate the synergies indispensable today to compete on major domestic and foreign markets.
The leadership of the Consortium Eurogrumi OP intends, therefore, also through some of the actions in this program, supporting the Consortium, providing it with the minimum requirements established by the operational and representativeness MIPAAF / DELE POLICIES DEPARTMENT COMPETITIVE WORLD RURAL AND QUALITY ', by decree departmental prot 7422 of 12/05/2010.
Supporting a consortium of Protection, which will be a candidate to the ministerial recognition pursuant to art. 14 of Law 526/1999 and that it intends to distinguish itself as a body guaranteeing the quality and authenticity of the prickly pear Etna DOP, the full respect of the rules of production at all stages of production, and to generate value for the benefit of farmers and conditioners of the territory.
Loc. GIARDINO BELLINI, VIA ETNEA, 292, CATANIA CT, ITALIA - SICILIA
39 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Altitude: 24 mt. a.s.l. Area Aci Castello, Paterṇ, Provincia di Catania
In Via Etna, the living room of Catania, an area of about 70 940 square meters spread Villa Bellini, one of the most beautiful public gardens in Europe thanks to its rich botanical heritage that includes a wide variety of tropical plants and trees.
Named after the great musician Vincenzo Bellini, the villa was inaugurated back in 1883.
The main entrance, on the road to Etna, opens under the canopy of majestic specimens of Ficus growing at the foot of the wide staircase paved with white pebbles and blacks willing to mosaic.
The stairway ends in a vestibule at the center of which stands a large lake with a fountain and swans, and it is bordered by monumental scenes surmounted by four statues symbolizing the Arts, the sculptor Lazarus, and the Seasons, a work of Perrotta. From the vestibule, two pedestrian walkways, cobblestone mosaic, intersect up the slope of the hill south.
The facade of the main entrance is closed at the top by the elegant stand of concerts in Moorish style built in 1879 on the hill south of the square, where stood the house of Biscari.
On the western border lies the marble monument dedicated to Androne (a boy Catania lived between the V and IV century BC., Who first joined the dance mimic the sound of the tibia) by Antonio Gangeri.
Loc. VIA GIUSEPPE FAVA, 7, CATANIA, ITALY - SICILIA
39 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Area Aci Castello, Paterṇ, Provincia di Catania
Akrai was built in 664-663 BC by Corinthian Syracuse, seventy years after the founding of Syracuse (see Historical). Situated on a high hill with rocky walls impregnable, the small polis was the bastion of the Syracusan expansion in the Sicilian territory. Because of its strategic location Akrai was also the sentinel of the southern borders of the Syracuse area. The town had a continuous development over the centuries, as can be inferred from the two great necropolis of Colle and Pinita Patch. The first archaeological excavations in the area were led by Baron Gabriel Judica, in the first third of the 800, this passionate and generous patrician Palazzolo, can rightly be regarded as the true discoverer of Akrai. The Judica, in 1819, published a very interesting book The antiquity of Acre in which he described the excavations and the circumstances of the finds.
Area Taormina, Giardini Naxos, Francavilla di Sicilia
From the top of its impressive rocky pedestal , Castelmola if it is suspended between the sky and the sea, a few kilometers from the beautiful Taormina and especially a few steps from the Ionian coast , which is shown in front of the viewpoint as a long ribbon of sand and rocks . We are in the province of Messina, in the land of sailors, pirates and warlords illustrious which is the Sicilian : here lies a village that over the centuries has preserved the magic of the Middle Ages. Little more than a thousand inhabitants and a genuine heart , imbued with timeless traditions : these are the ingredients that make Castelmola so welcoming , along with the soothing song of crickets and waves.
The Mediterranean landscape drunken tourists of scents and colors : the salty breeze teases the stain , and makes the smells of fresh pine trees and shrubs rise up in the air. The brush strokes of fuchsia bougainvillea make the earth less harsh , and the gulls trace routes silent in the deep blue of the sky seem the sentinels of the village, hovering over the rooftops and winding little streets , the square and St. Anthony on the ruins of the castle. Castelmola has been d one of the most beautiful villages in Italy . The reason you have to find out for yourself , and each can make some assumptions : perhaps for the transparency of the sea, to the appearance of scenic cliffs , or perhaps to the picturesque labyrinth of narrow streets and stairways ? Certainly the medieval urban structure, so well preserved, with a unique charm to the small Sicilian town . At one time, to tell the truth , the village was even more impressive, with a fairy-tale entrance consists of a long staircase carved into the rock, step by step , guests Castelmola arrived at the foot of the castle , looking forward immediately the beauty of the citadel. Even today, the Municipal Auditorium , there is an exhibition of photographs showing the arched entrance with staircase, now lost : it was 1928 when the port was modified , replaced by its modern . But the most ancient testimonies resist , giving Castelmola that unique and genuine flavor . Resist certain houses, with doors and windows finished in Taormina stone , and the walls stained the color of the earth ; resistant roofs ' Sicilian ' , with the tiles on the slopes pendants, but above all resist the more points you live in the city. As the central square, with a mosaic floor made of lava stone : here is the former church of St. Anthony , which today constitutes the aforementioned Auditorium. The building, ancient , is flanked by other interesting buildings such as the Casa Sterrantino and the eighteenth-century Caffe' San Giorgio , founded by monks and is now used as an inn .
The name is derived from the castle Aci Castello placed on a nearby hill of lava stone built in 1076 by the Normans. During the period of Greek colonization first , and then the Roman domination , the rock on which stands the Norman castle was frequented for its strategic location , which allowed control of the sea and the passage of vessels bound for the Straits of Messina. It was colonized by many peoples of the ancient era , even by the Arabs who marked a period of bloody wars and destruction , witnessed by the Arab writers themselves . The castle was later granted to the bishops of Catania that right here , in 1126 , received the sacred relics of St. Agatha , brought home from the city of Constantinople. In 1169 , the castle was destroyed by a double cataclysm a violent earthquake , but also by a massive volcanic eruption that , among other things, would have met the shore islet where once stood the castle . Since the end of the thirteenth century up to the age of the Viceroy , the castle witnessed the long struggle that pitted the Aragonese of Sicily under the Angevins of Naples. In the seventeenth century the castle underwent a renewed splendor, also due to the radical renovation work commissioned in 1634 by King Philip III , who on this occasion had affixed a marble plaque at the entrance with the words:
Philippus III FOR FREE
ET Utriusque Siciliae
DIVI YEAR 1634 .
It was also equipped with artillery , which is likely to witness the walled cannon on the upper terrace . In 1647 the castle was sold by King Philip IV of Spain in Giovanni Andrea Massa, who paid him 7,500 crowns.
The disastrous earthquake that devastated the eastern Sicily in 1693 went to the castle extensive damage, which , however, were repaired in subsequent years by the descendants of Massa.
In the nineteenth century the castle became part of the State Property Hall, but in 1818 an earthquake caused damage so severe that again it could no longer be used as a prison . Lacking historical information on the second half of the nineteenth century ; However, the castle was inspired in this period in Giovanni Verga's novella The stories of the castle of Trezza , which, between love , betrayal and ghosts, tells the fascinating story of Don Grace and Donna Violante . At the beginning of the twentieth century, the castle became Acicastello storage of household goods ; during the Second World War, a cave of the rock was used as a bomb shelter .
As the castle is located on a promontory of lava rock overlooking the cobalt blue sea is virtually inaccessible except for access via a staircase in masonry. The wooden drawbridge that no longer exists , occupied part of the entrance stairway . At the center of the fortress is the donjon the square tower , the hub of the manor. There remain a few surviving structures : access , which preserves the remains of the drawbridge , the courtyard where there is a small botanical garden , different environments , including those where he is greeted museum and a chapel (according to some Byzantine ) and a large terrace overlooking the bay in front where you can enjoy a beautiful view of the Faraglioni and the island Lachea Aci Trezza .
Catania e' uno dei capoluoghi di provincia della regione Sicilia. E'' situata alle falde dell''Etna a meta della costa ionica. E'' la seconda citta della Sicilia e un importante centro industriale e possiede nella sua provincia importanti centri agrumari. Originariamente venne fondata nel VIII secolo (il suo nome originario era Katane) dai Calcidesi di Nasso ai quali venne sottratta da Gerone di Siracusa (e venne chiamata Aitna) ed in seguito divenne una delle citta romane (Catana). Nel VI secolo divenne sede vescovile ed in seguito venne conquistata da ostrogoti, dai bizantini e dagli arabi. Nel 1071 passo sotto il dominio normanno ed in seguito sotto gli svevi. Con gli Aragonesi divenne sede della loro corte e fu da loro favorita per alcuni privilegi tra cui la fondazione della prima universita siciliana (1434). Alla fine del XVII secolo venne estremamente danneggiata dall''eruzione dell''Etna e poi distrutta qualche anno piu tardi da un fortissimo terremoto. Venne ricostruita completamente nel XVIII secolo. Da vedere: Cattedrale: questa chiesa venne completamente distrutta nel 1693 a causa di un fortissimo terremoto. L''edificio originario dedicato a Sant''Agata patrona della citta, fu edificato per volere di Ruggero sui resti di antiche terme romane. L''aspetto che possiede oggi la cattedrale e' frutto del progetto dell''architetto G.B. Vaccarini. Attualmente presenta una facciata molto elegante e decorata: e' formata da un marmo policromo ed e' ornata da due ordini di colonne e possiede un simulacro della patrona. All''interno e' strutturata su tre navate e custodisce le tombe del Bellini e di Costanza di Aragona. Vi e' custodito anche il sacello che conserva le spoglie di Sant''Agata. Castello di Nelson (Maniace): a Maniace in provincia di Catania, e' presente il castello di Nelson. Questo maniero venne edificato nel XII secolo per volere della regina Margherita di Navarria, vedova di Guglielmo I il Normanno. La struttura del castello e' stata modificata rispetto al suo aspetto originario. Per entrare al suo interno si deve attraversare il ponte levatoio che si trova al di sopra di un fossato: si giunge nell''unica sala che costituisce il castello. L''edificio e' a pianta quadrata, possiede un torrione su ogni angolo e cinque colonne per lato e risultano moilto belli i quattro mestosi camini nelle pareti nord e sud. Degno di nota e' poi il portone principale: ha forma ogivale ed ha decorazioni in marmo finimente decorate. Santuario della Madonna di Ravanusa (San Giovanni la Punta): San Giovanni la Punta si trova nel versante sud-est dell''Etna a pochi chilometri da Catani. Il nome di questa localita deriva dal patrono del paese e da una caratteristica sporgenza a punta in materiale lavico che si trova nelle vicinanze. Questo paese si trova immerso nel verde tra boschi, vigneti e agrumeti ed accolgie il bellissimo Santuario della Madonna di Ravanusa. Questa chiesa risale al XVIII secolo e fu edificata per volere del Vescovo di Ventimuglia. Nel santuario e' conservato uno splendido affresco del 1500 che raffigura la Vergine Maria che si adorava in un tempietto limitrofo. Il nome del santuario deriva da un miracolo avvenuto in questo paese: una ragazza cadde come fosse morta mentre stava pregando la Madonna poi subito dopo rinvenne come se nulla fosse accaduto. Da qui proviene il nome Madonna della Rinvenuta poi divenuto Madonna della Ravanusa. Strutturalmente il santuario mostra un portola finemente decorato ed un elegante orologio che adorna la parete esterna. Il 15 di agosto viene festeggiata la Madonna della Ravanusa con un rito solenne.
Via Sant'Anna , cramped and noisy, is located in the heart of old Catania , a short distance from Piazza Duomo . Here, 8 , in a venerable three-story mansion of the late eighteenth century , waiting for restoration , of a noble family, was born and died Giovanni Verga . Here, as stated in the plaque placed on the 2nd floor of the balcony of the bedroom , formed his world and ended it in the immortal power of art .
Getting in Via S.anna is simple. From Piazza Duomo along Via Garibaldi , for about 500 meters , the second street on the right , after Piazza Mazzini is via St. Anne.
The House Museum is open from Tuesday to Saturday , from 9 to 16 . Wednesdays ' and Fridays closing time is postponed to 18. Sundays (except in some special date ) and is closed on Mondays . Illuminated by rigorous balconies that open onto Via Garibaldi (via Ferdinandea until 1862 ) , on Via Sant'Anna and a quadrangular courtyard , the palace is now home to the Regional Museum, which houses the library of the writer and essential furnishings . A door to a round arch , ornamented neo-classical , and a marble staircase , flanked by an elegant balustrade , enter the house Verga on the 2nd floor . A house that strikes the visitor to the austere sobriety far from the glitz , kitsch at times , the sumptuous ' monument ' The Italian Vittoriale Gabriele d' Annunzio built himself in Gardone Riviera . Eloquent testimony of two antithetical personalities and lifestyles.
Loc. VIA PAPA GIOVANNI XXIII, 23, PATTI ME, ITALIA - SICILIA
44 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Area Tindari, Alcara li Fusi, Vulcano Piano
The villa Castroreale - St. Blaise, now the town of Terme Vigliatore was brought to light in the fifties, is one of the most interesting examples of luxury villa suburbs.
Built in the late second or early first sec.a.C. on a site inhabited since the Hellenistic Age (III-II sec.aC) underwent at least two restorations or resets the first imperial age (mid-first century AD, II century AD), as indicated by the changes especially in the field the spa. The presence of the finds of pottery and late environments built with found materials, recently surfaced with the excavations carried out in the east (near the current entrance to the archaeological site), leading to assume a continuity of use of the site until late antiquity.
The residential part, in the light for a little less than half, develops, as usual, to the sides of a large peristyle of m.17 side, provided, on each side, of eight columns made of brick, covered with stucco, which today appear to be linked to low dividing walls. At the center of the south side opened the large tablinum (reception room), with a two-column table and back wall divided by niche, probably intended to hold a statue. Is remarkable in this boardroom floor in opus Sectile (hexagonal tiles marble) and mosaic, dating from around the second century AD From tablinum could directly access three private rooms, paved with mosaics in black and white.
In the area west of the peristyle and spas, have been brought to light other places to stay, some of which mosaics. In the south-west, at a level a little 'higher than the residential sector, were the spa facilities, which as usual included changing rooms (apodyteria) and rooms for the cold bath (frigidarium), warm (tepidarium and caldarium) . This area, in the sec.d.C. characterized by a small bathroom, it was expanded in the second century AD, with a number of new larger and more comfortable, especially for the needs of the warm bath. The new caldarium was in fact two pools, a niche within the other rettangolatre.
Some of the rooms created in the last phase, corresponding to the age of Trajan-Hadrian, we report the frigidarium with mosaic bench and black with fishing scene, opera, probably a mosaic italics.
The only riverside park in Sicily
Approximately 50 km of river channel, with natural features unique and unusual. Events geological and geothermal considerable intensity have determined the structure of the current basalts. It seems that in prehistoric times, a river flowed out of clay sediments; then channeled huge volcanic eruptions in the bed of that river a fluid magma, which sank in the most clay, resulting in the current basalt columns. The apotheosis of these spectacular sculptures of nature, it has in the Larderia of the municipality of Motta Camastra.
Loc. CONTRADA VALLEBIONDA, RANDAZZO CT, ITALIA - SICILIA
28 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Altitude: 802 mt. a.s.l. Area Maletto, Bronte, Provincia di Catania
The cave is a cave Frost Etna, so called because of the presence within it of eternal ice. Located at 2030 meters above sea level is located in the territory of the town of Randazzo. Its opening is conical and the early seventies escursionionisti and a destination for tourists as well as experts and scientists. Previously it was used by shepherds to water their flocks. The cave Frost is a gallery scroll, originated from the cooling of lava after an eruption began in July 1614 and lasted for over ten years. The phenomenon that leads to the creation of this type of structure is very common: the walls and the surface of the casting, in contact with the atmosphere, cool faster than the inner part of the lava. It is therefore to create a sort of channel covered made of solidified lava, inside which flows the lava flow still glowing. When the power of the casting decreases, the level of the lava flow inside is lowered more and more, leaving a hollow structure precisely defined gallery scroll. These structures are not always easy to identify, as only collapses of time can reveal its presence. In the summer the cave is easily accessible, despite being required 5 hours walk to reach it. In winter, the entrance is often hidden by the snow that covers it completely. Even in the hottest periods inside the temperature never rises above -6 ° C in, while the one closest to the mouth is influenced by the external atmospheric agents. It has been noted in recent years that the cave has suffered a loss of volume of ice inside. The thing is due in part to the passage in the vicinity of the 1981 eruption, but someone attributed to other phenomena. Since the nineties we constantly monitor the temperature inside the cave using computerized sensors and a number of methodological controls in place by the experts of the volcanic center of Catania.
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA FIUMEDINISI E MONTE SCUDERI
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA FIUMEDINISI E MONTE SCUDERI Apri
Loc. RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA FIUMEDINISI E MONTE SCUDERI - SICILIA
27 Km from NAXOS GARDENS
Area Castelmola, Messina, Taormina
This protected area reserve many surprises impassioned naturalist: beautiful specimens of heather, at the foot of Monte Scuderi, a counterpoint to the woods of all species of oak known in Sicily, which occupy the valleys and other low areas of the reserve. Then, the rivers: real laboratories geological outdoors where myriads of pebbles of different mineral tell the story of the bowels of the earth and the physical nature of Peloritans.
Excursions and attractions in SICILIA close to LIDO DI NAXOS, VIA SCHISO, 98035 GIARDINI-NAXOS PROVINCE OF MESSINA, ITALY Taormina Castelmola Francavilla di Sicilia:
'TEATRO ANTICO DI TAORMINA'
'TERME DELLA ROTONDA'
'SANTUARIO DI TINDARI'
'OLIO MONTE ETNA DOP'
'PARCO ARCHEOLOGICO DELLE EOLIE'
'CHIESA DI SAN BIAGIO (SANT'AGATA ALLA FORNACE)'
'LAGHI DI MARINELLO'
'FICODINDIA DELL'ETNA D.O.P.'
'SITO ARCHEOLOGICO DI AKRAI'
'CASA NATALE DI GIOVANNI VERGA'
'VILLA ROMANA DI TERME VIGLIATORE'
'PARCO FLUVIALE DELL'ALCANTARA'
'GROTTA DEL GELO'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA FIUMEDINISI E MONTE SCUDERI'
Sicily is the largest Italian Island, separated from the continent by the Strait of Messina and lapped by the Ionian, the Tyrrhenian and the Mediterranean Seas.
It is one of the pearls of Southern Italy and can be discovered, understood and experienced through a series of itineraries dedicated to all tastes ranging from nature to history and tradition.
Nature seems to have endowed all of its wonders to this land: mountains, hills and above all the Mediterranean Sea, with its incredible colours, its crystal-clear water and the beauty of its seabeds, in no way inferior to those of other seas.
Here, the Mediterranean Sea, with its many little islands scattered around the coasts of Sicily, offers unique and intense sceneries, scents and flavours of an uncontaminated nature. Last but not least, are the great volcanoes, symbols of the irresistible exuberance of this incredibly charming region. The fascination of this region grows with the precious archeological vestiges that tell the story of the ancient origins of Trinacria (ancient name for Sicily).
The provinces of the region are: Palermo (regional capital), Agrigento, Catania, Caltanissetta, Enna, Messina, Ragusa, Siracusa and Trapani.
You will receive a Newsletter if will be registered new Promotions in the indicated area:
IdeasForTravels Id: 69HBX0EXU01PDANP
Point of Interest: MARINE LANDSCAPE BEACH
LIDO DI NAXOS, VIA SCHISO, 98035 GIARDINI-NAXOS PROVINCE OF MESSINA, ITALY - SICILIA - ITALIA
Area Taormina Castelmola Francavilla di Sicilia
Altitude: 6 meters above sea level
Have you a Tourist Structure ? Free register in IdeasForTravels
naxos gardens - point of interest - lido di naxos, via schiso, 98035 giardini-naxos province of messina, italy - excursions - attractions - points of interest - taormina castelmola francavilla di sicilia - sicilia - italia