Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
fai: castello della manta - excursions points of interest attractions in manta cuneo, italy
Promotions found !
Look in the IdeasForTravels home page

 fai - fondo ambiente italiano FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA

fai - fondo ambiente italiano
FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA

Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to MANTA CUNEO, ITALY Saluzzo Revello Savigliano

PARCO NATURALE DI STUPINIGI

PARCO NATURALE DI STUPINIGI  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE DI STUPINIGI, STUPINIGI, MICHELINO TO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
42 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Stupinigi, Moncalieri, Piossasco
Just ten kilometers from Turin, is the building of Stupinigi, erected in the first half of the eighteenth century by the architect Juvarra. The hunting lodge and resort, built by the Savoy, is the nucleus around which develops the natural park. A short distance from the building, which now houses the Museum of Art and Furniture, you will find the Castelvecchio, an ancient medieval manor house in good condition.

FORMAGGIO BRA DOP

FORMAGGIO BRA DOP  Apri
Loc. BRA CN, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
33 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
Altitude: 277 mt. a.s.l.  Area Roddi, Barolo, Grinzane Cavour
  Brochure PDF
The name comes from the town of Cuneo: Bra entrepreneurs bought the cheese so-called homegrown by herdsmen from Valli Cuneesi, made him mature in their cellars and smerciavano a little 'everywhere. Today, the bulk of production of Bra happens in small and medium-sized dairies in the Cuneo plain or countries of the valley. The cattle must be strictly fed with fresh forage or affienato (are forbidden silage or feed). Production area: Province of Cuneo; town of Villafranca P. (TO). The Protected Designation of Origin was recognized July 1, 1996.

SALUZZO

SALUZZO  Apri
Loc. SALUZZO, CUNEO, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
3 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Manta, Revello, Savigliano
Saluzzo is a charming small town in the province of Cuneo, where the valleys of the Monviso open onto a plain rich in orchards. Marquis four times the capital of a secular, has preserved almost intact in urban solutions at the end of '400, its historic features, as important evidence of its rich past and noble. Saluzzo is a city of art, with a particular historical center that spreads like a fan on the hill and was originally enclosed by a double ring of walls. Dominated by the Castile, the village is a succession of narrow cobbled streets, steep stairways, churches and elegant palaces with loggias and terraces, gathered around hidden gardens.

MUSEO FERROVIARIO PIEMONTESE

MUSEO FERROVIARIO PIEMONTESE  Apri
Loc. SAVIGLIANO CUNEO, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
15 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Fossano, Racconigi, Saluzzo
The museum is designed to discover, preserve and , where possible , restore the functionally railway material of interest to the local culture , with particular reference to the rolling stock and traction tems that have characterized the history of the media in Piedmont, with particular respect to the railways contracts and for the three-phase traction . In the first years of operation ie from 1980 to 1985 , was granted by SATTI ( Joint Stock Company Torinese Trasporti Intercomunali ) the station square of Rivarolo Canavese to start admitting means that in the meantime they were preserved from demolition. Only from 1985 to 2000 was signed an agreement between the Museum and the SATTI who established the use of a part of the Workshops and the station square of Turin Porta Milano , to restore and restore locomotives. In these years are acquired locomotives, some of which are up and running , the State Railways , belonging to groups : n . 2 units locomotive FS gr. 422 n . 2 units locomotive FS gr. 640 n . 2 units locomotive FS gr. 880 At the end of the nineties was offered , by the City of Savigliano , the ground to be able to host the exhibition area of the Railway Museum , as over the years the number of locomotives, passenger carriages and freight wagons had greatly expanded the making insufficient ' Turin area . So with the regional law n . 56 , passed unanimously in 1996 was approved the allocation of funds to build the building that would house the relics , the library and all the material in the meantime obtained through donations and purchases . In addition was built the first part of the sheds that would have housed the means and installed the turntable of 1910, driven by compressed air , for giratura and sorting of rolling stock on the tracks pertaining to the same . The headquarters of Savigliano was inaugurated on 8 December 2001 and dedicated to three great railway engineers of the State Piemontese : Germain Sommeiller , Sebastiano Grandis and Severino Grattoni , active in the nineteenth century . The logo chosen is the locomotive engineer . Filiberto Frescot , head of projects of SFAI Company for Railways in Northern Italy in 1884 that he built in the workshops of a locomotive innovative Turin , the first with wheel 2.3.0 , power of 650 horsepower and maximum speed of 80 km / h . Numbered 1181 was dedicated to Vittorio Emanuele II and then built in 54 specimens; registration in the State Railways gr. 650 .

CRUDO DI CUNEO D.O.P.

CRUDO DI CUNEO D.O.P.  Apri
Loc. CUNEO CN, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
27 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Robilante, Crava, Limone Piemonte
  Brochure PDF
The ham called Crudo di Cuneo, covers an area of manufacture comprising the provinces of Cuneo, Asti and part of that of Turin (in the foothills of Pinerolo and Carmagnola) for a total of 54 municipalities. The production area of the PDO is very ancient times linked to the history of pig farming, processing and curing of Crudo di Cuneo ', thanks to specific climatic characteristics that distinguish it from other areas and to give the product typical qualitative properties easily recognizable by the consumer. The regulations impose that they use only fresh pork legs, from traditional breeds of animals born, raised and slaughtered in the production area, and fueled in large part by local cereals. Has a weight between 7 and 10 kg. When cut, the slices are uniformly red in the thin and white in fat.

CASTELLO DI RODDI

CASTELLO DI RODDI  Apri
Loc. CASTELLO DI RODDI, VIA CARLO ALBERTO, 2, RODDI, PROVINCE OF CUNEO, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
43 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Grinzane Cavour, Alba, Barolo
The castle stands on the massive city center. The original building dates from the eleventh century, has undergone a major overhaul in the fifteenth century. It was owned by Gianfrancesco Pico della Mirandola , the grandson of the famous scholar Pico della Mirandola . Subsequent owners of the castle were the Church of Saluzzo , who took ownership in 1690 . Since 2001 is state-owned . Since 2007 is part of the circuit of the 8 castles , better known as Doc Castles The network of castles includes the manors of Grinzane Cavour, Barolo , Serralunga d' Alba, Govone , Magliano Alfieri , Roddi d'Alba , Mango and Benevello . It is also included in the circuit of the Open Castles Southern Piedmont . The name of the country is made to derive from the Celtic Giraud or rod , which means River certainly of ancient origin , the site of a pre-Roman settlement at the time of the Romans Raudum , was the center of reconciliation between the nearby Alba Pompeia and then great Pollentia . According to historians, in the plain below the town was fought the battle of Pollenzo in 403 d. AD, when the Roman general Stilicho defeated Alaric's Goths . Following Roddi was the site of an ancient monastery , from 1400 on, it was under the rule of several families (the Falletti of Barolo , the Duke of Mantua , the Della Mirandola) , until the Church came to the Marquis of Cinzano , who held him in property until 1836 , when it was acquired by King Carlo Alberto.

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE SAN GIORGIO

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE SAN GIORGIO  Apri
Loc. MONTE SAN GIORGIO, PARCO NATURALE DI INTERESSE PROVINCIALE DEL MONTE SAN GIORGIO, PIOSSASCO TO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
43 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Avigliana, Ravera, Rivoli
A treasure chest of precious natural, historical and cultural A trip out of town worthy of natural interest is definitely one that you can take to the Natural Park of Monte San Giorgio, who, despite being only 20 kilometers from Turin, offers the visitor walks immersed in nature, picnic areas for a relaxing break and for those who wish to carry out free flight, the top of the mountain is a great point of fledging for hang gliding and paragliding. The area allows for continuous use throughout the year for those who love the mysteriousness of the winter forest for lovers of warm weather, being able to see the many colors of flowers and plants and having the opportunity to see the small and large birds found in the park.

PARCO NATURALE DI CONCA CIALANCIA

PARCO NATURALE DI CONCA CIALANCIA  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE DI CONCA CIALANCIA, TORINO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
44 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Ghigo, Balziglia, Fenestrelle
An area on the morphology typical alpine glacial This park has the typical characteristics of the alpine environment, ideal for mountain lovers, to make walking between the scents and colors of Val Germanasca. It has unspoilt nature, where you can meet the typical mountain fauna such as deer and marmots; The flora is represented by shrubs and herbaceous vegetation cover, more rarely trees.

TOMA PIEMEONTESE DOP

TOMA PIEMEONTESE DOP  Apri
Loc. CUNEO CN, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
27 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Robilante, Crava, Limone Piemonte
The cheese is presented in circular shapes with flat faces or semipiane with diameter between 15- 35 cm and a barefoot variable between 6-12 cm; also the weight of each form, accordingly, is very variable and lies between 1.8 kg and 8 kg. The Toma Piemontese has flavor characteristics differ depending on whether it is the traditional production obtained from whole milk or half-fat variant obtained from skimmed milk. In the first case the crust is supple and smooth with a straw-colored, reddish-brown, depending on the seasoning, while the pasta has a straw yellow color with tiny and widespread; the flavor that comes out is sweet and pleasant, delicate aroma. In the variant semi-fat crust is inelastic, a rustic appearance of color ranging from straw to reddish brown, the pulp is white in color with minute holes and the flavor is intense and harmonious, fragrant aroma which becomes more characteristic with seasoning. The milk exclusively vaccine coming from at least two consecutive milkings is left to stand up to a maximum of 12 hours, for the cheese to whole milk, and up to a maximum of 24 hours, for the semi-fat cheese. After skimming for skimming the milk is placed in the boiler where the temperature of 32 - 35 C and is added with calf rennet. The curd that results initially undergoes a break coarse, often with turning of the outermost surface which is cooled; followed by a brief stop favoring an initial massive clearing of the serum. It then proceeds to a further breaking of the curd, often accompanied by a further heating which can lead to the cooking temperature to 44 and 48 C. The break lasts until the lumps have reached the size of a grain of corn for cheese from whole milk or a grain of rice for cheese semigrassi after which it is left to rest for a few minutes the mass, in order to enable the curds settle to the bottom, separating the serum. The collection curd is put into molds and, after a first pressing, leaving the whey to drain superfluous in a suitable environment; during this pause ranging from 3 to 24 hours for cheese made from whole milk and from 3 to 72 hours in milk-fat cheese, the cheese is more turnings. It then proceeds to the salting, traditionally hand, with coarse salt alternately on the two faces for not more than fifteen days, or in brine from 24 to 48 hours depending on the size of the shapes. Maturing takes place in traditional caves or in a suitable environment with a humidity of about 85% and the temperature is between 6 and 10 , during which time the cheeses are turned over several times, sometimes washing the flat surfaces with a solution of water and salt. The minimum duration of this period of sixty days for the forms weighing more than 6 kg of fifteen days for the forms of lower weight. And 'the only PDO cheese whose production affects the entire region as the area of origin of the milk, processing, curing and processing of Toma Piemontese encompasses the entire administrative area of the province of Cuneo, Turin, Biella, Vercelli Novara and Verbania and some municipalities in the province of Asti (Bubbio Buttigliera d'Asti, Cassinasco, Cellarengo Cessole, Dusino St. Michael, Loazzolo, Monastery Bormida Roccaverano Mombaldone, Olmo Gentile, Scarampi St. George, St. Paul solbrito, Serole , Sessame, Valfenera and Villanova d'Asti) and Alexandria (Acqui Terme, Third, Bistagno, Bridges and Denice).

CHIANALE

CHIANALE  Apri
Loc. PONTECHIANALE - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
38 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Ghigo, Perrero, Pradleves
  Brochure PDF
At 1800 meters above sea level , on the border with France, in the bottom of the Varaita of Occitan culture , is this village from the heart of slate, with its roofs to lose , its stones , its timber , the old beams . Les Montagnards sont there. The location is great , in the shelter of avalanches. A Chianale one breathes the fragrance of the Alps, when the air blows away the thoughts of snow under a steel -colored sky , and when the numb silence descends on the houses that seem to cling to each other as to keep warm . The larches rest like caresses in the snow and the joy dispels loneliness friend near to the fire of the fireplace. The Provencal culture , proudly exhibited by the few remaining inhabitants , back to the time of the troubadours , maybe in the summer composing verses and music nell'Aleve' , the forest of stone pines largest in Europe , on the slopes of Monviso . Crossed by the Chemin Royal leading in France, the village was only touched by the wars of religion , as the Calvinist temple and the Christian church were no problems facing each other. The High Varaita closes in Pontechianale (1610 ) , with its lake surrounded by woods and pine forests. Then you go up again and you arrive at the stone village of Chianale , almost 1800 m . , The structure of which is centered on the axis of the ancient Chemin Royal, the salt road that led in France . Continuing from Chianale , in fact, through a spectacular climb up to 2748 m . , That the car can only deal in the summer , you reach the hill of the Lamb where you go in the region of Queyras . The village of Chianale is divided into two parts by the river Varaita connected by a stone bridge , the true heart of the village. The bridge is located at a small square with a fountain that overlooks the ancient Church of St. Anthony. Built in the fourteenth century , was the parish church of Chianale from 1459 until the end of the seventeenth century. simple and harmonious , with a double-lancet bell tower and a portico entrance , has a beautiful Romanesque portal triple ring .

PALAZZINA DI STUPINIGI

PALAZZINA DI STUPINIGI  Apri
Loc. STUPINIGI - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
44 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Nichelino, Moncalieri, Torino
The construction of the Palazzina di Caccia began in 1729 and designed by Filippo Juvarra which redraws the entire territory of the Commandery ( first donation from the Boss Emanuele Filiberto the Order of Saints Maurice and Lazarus ), and continues until the end of the eighteenth century . with work on extension and completion of Benedetto Alfieri and other architects such as John Thomas Prunotto , Ignatius Birago Borgaro , Ludovico Bo, Ignazio Bertola . Exceptional testimony to the spirit of the late Juvarra and Benedetto Alfieri , reflected and found in Rococo International royal residences in Europe. And ' place of loisir for hunting in the life of the court of Savoy , sumptuous and refined by the Savoy favorite residence for parties and weddings in the buckets. Eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, appreciated by Napoleon in the early 800 . At the beginning of the twentieth century was chosen as the permanent residence of the Queen Margherita , and since 1919 it is also home to the Museum of Furniture . Constitutes the eminent historical and artistic heritage of Mauritius . Since June 2011, thanks to the coordination of the many support obtained for the restoration and redevelopment of the area, Stupinigi has reopened to the public with the first steps on the green (June 2011) and the internal path in the form of exhibitions ( June 2011) : Stupinigi First Time . Treasure trove , in particular where you can admire the apartment Levante with fixtures and furniture of 700 restored and returned to their former glory. Dall'15 March 2013, the course is enhanced ( Stupinigi . Intermezzo . Works in progress ) from the complete restoration of the Hall of Squires , supported by the Council for the Promotion of Arts and Culture in Turin, and the progression of the restoration : gardens , facades south of S. Hall Hubert, Central Hall and adjoining apartments of the King and Queen. La Palazzina di Caccia is currently involved in a complex restoration site outside on the central and south facades , while work is in progress in the restoration of the decorations in the Hall of Squires and nell'Anticappella of S. Uberto .

CASTELLO DI RACCONIGI

CASTELLO DI RACCONIGI  Apri
Loc. RACCONIGI - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
23 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
Altitude: 25 mt. a.s.l.  Area Savigliano, Bra, Saluzzo
The royal castle of Racconigi (in Piedmontese el castel ed Racunis) is located in Racconigi, in the province of Cuneo but not far from Turin. In the course of its almost thousand-year history has seen many changes and became the property of the Savoy in the second half of the fourteenth century. Later it was the official residence of the Savoia-Carignano branch and was later elected the seat of the Royal Villeggiature of the royal family of the King of Sardinia (and then in Italy) in summer and autumn months. Become a highly attended exhibitions and cultural events, the castle is part of the circuit of Savoy Residences of Piedmont, tem Open Castles in Southern Piedmont since 1997 and is part of the serial site Savoy residences included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

BAROLO DOCG

BAROLO DOCG  Apri
Loc. BAROLO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
39 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Grinzane Cavour, Roddi, Sinio
It is the quintessential Italian wine made from Nebbiolo grapes. Born in the heart of the Langhe hills, a few kilometers south of the town of Alba, in the territory of 11 municipalities that are pursued in a fascinating journey of hills, chased by the expert hand of man and guarded by imposing medieval castles, including its that of Barolo, which gave its name to the wine now famous throughout the world. Municipalities are also central in the Barolo La Morra, Monforte, Serralunga d'Alba (with the military castle that stands in the hills), Castiglion Falletto (the round tower is part of a manor house still privately owned), Novello, Grinzane Cavour . Verduno, Diano d'Alba, Cherasco and Roddi (with the castle under renovation) are only concerned with portions of their territories. Thanks to the perseverance of Count Camillo Benso di Cavour and Julia Colbert Falletti last Marchioness of Barolo, began to be produced in the mid-nineteenth century, an exceptionally rich and harmonious wine, destined to become the ambassador of Piedmont in the courts of Savoy from all over Europe. Together with Barbaresco has traveled all the moments of exploitation of the twentieth century, starting with the association 'Pro-Barolo' until the founding of the Association then obtaining the DOC and DOCG until the start of the Plan controls for the Certification required by the European Union in 2005. The last major work on behalf of Barolo was the definition and formalization of the Disciplinary additional geographical occurred in 2009, as well as Barbaresco had happened a couple of years ago. The principle is already set out and still does not involve a 'reading' of the prestige of the 'Cru' (left to other times), but usually the many place names used on the label. With the crucial help of the municipalities, the Consortium has exceeded many situations of uncertainty and litigation by placing a cornerstone for future developments. To make important Barolo was and is the structure that expresses a complex bouquet and wrapping, which can develop over time without losing its charming characteristics. From the close link between the intrinsic characteristics of the wine and the taste of nobility of the nineteenth century was born the saying 'the king of wines, wine of kings'. The color is garnet full and intense, fruity and spicy scent at the same time; the nose, the mouth is reminiscent of red fruit, cherry liqueur and jam, but also gives hints of rose and violet, cinnamon, pepper, nutmeg, vanilla and sometimes licorice, cocoa, tobacco and leather. Must age at least three years, one and a half in oak, and only five can boast the 'reserve'. As with Barbaresco we find more traditional and others more international with a different use of the small wood. Currently the differences tend to fade with productions that revolve around a simple balance. The slight differences are however wines Barolo a concert of voices at the highest level. Already a treat after 4-6 years comes to a head after 10 years of aging and is good even after 20 or more years. Obviously it depends on the year, which can be perfect but unfortunate as the famous 1977 when it was decided not to produce Barolo and 2002, when the rains and hailstorms put a strain on the experience of winemakers. To taste Barolo in his country there are many possibilities; the 'Strada del Barolo' touches different manufacturers but there are also shops Municipal Serralunga, Diano d'Alba, Castiglione Falletto the City Winery in La Morra, Enoteca at Grinzane Cavour (which offers a view of the central area) and the Enoteca Barolo which is taking off a wine museum of great value. Other items, including private, are located in all the municipalities is growing and the willingness of companies to welcome visitors. This is why you created the service Piemonte On Wine which we refer to in the relevant section of the Local Networks.

SANTUARIO DI SANT'ANNA DI VINADIO

SANTUARIO DI SANT'ANNA DI VINADIO  Apri
Loc. VINADIO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
43 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Pradleves, Valdieri, Robilante
The Shrine of St. Anne is a sanctuary that is located in the municipality of Vinadio in the province of Cuneo. It is the highest sanctuary in Europe, being located 2,035 meters high. It is located along the road up the hill from Vinadio of Lombarda . Dedicated to Saints Joachim and Anna Maria's parents . The Patronal feast is on July 26. Between the eleventh and twelfth centuries in close proximity to many alpine passes and initiative of the Church arise churches - hospices to assist travelers. The sanctuary had the same origin and was initially dedicated to St Mary Brasca . Legend has it that St. Anne appeared the shepherdess Anna Bagnis to indicate the place where to build it. She would have appeared on the boulder still said the apparition at about 500 meters from the Sanctuary on the trail that leads to the pass of St. Anne . Of S. Mary speaks of Brasca a document of 1307. In the first of 1400, coming from the Church of the East, spreads in Piedmont devotion to St. Anna and in 1443 we find the first text that refers to the church dedicated to Mary no more , but his mother, Anna . In the early 1500s it comes to a chaplain fixed , a multitude of people that goes to the chapel on the feast - hospice and a guardian , the randiere , transport and Winter assistance , for the service of guide , food and accommodation to travelers , and the bell sound as a reminder in case of storm and fog. In the same century the Cathedral of Apt, the first church in Europe dedicated to St. Anna , gives the shrine a small part of the relic of the Saint, who had been saved from the barbarian invasions and the related destruction. In 1722 the relic donated will be placed in the arm that still honors . In 1681 was inaugurated the new church on the size of the current one and with the floor on the rise , laid on the smooth rock by ancient glaciers. A few decades later there are the first block of randiere , stable , barn , attic , and in the second half of 1700, new buildings to house the thousands of pilgrims who climb to the Sanctuary . From 1793 to 1796 the whole thing was a theater of war for the events related to the French Revolution and had to start almost from scratch. It is 1860 when it is completed in the courtyard which today is celebrated with outdoor buildings that surround it . Following the hardships due to the laws for the suppression of ecclesiastical bodies and only with the Concordat of 1929 the Sanctuary was assigned to the Diocese of Cuneo and flourished again the devotion to St. Anna and the task for the decoration of the sanctuary and hospitality to pilgrims. Meanwhile, the area is heavily militarized with the construction of several barracks and in 1940 when World War II broke out , the Sanctuary , and his works are the theater of military operations with the resultant looting and the inevitable ravages . Finally , from 1949 onwards , it's all a revival of works and activities since 1964 and renovated and paved the way makes it easier to access . In the same period the liturgy rediscovers the value of both parents of Mary, Joachim and Anne , as witnesses of conjugal life according to God's plan

WWF: OASI CASCINA BELLEZZA

WWF: OASI CASCINA BELLEZZA  Apri
Loc. POIRINO TURIN, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
45 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Chieri, Moncalieri, Monte Aman
  Brochure PDF
Cascina Bellezza is located within a Site of Community Importance in the municipality of Poirino (Turin). The oasis for 4 hectares immersed in the countryside south of Turin , in the municipality of Poirino . This is an area originally intended for the poplar with a pond in the center in the shape of a horseshoe , typical of fish ponds in this area. The pond and surrounding grounds have been the subject of a massive naturalization in 2001 that returned the wetland and its functionality has transformed the agricultural land in a heterogeneous mosaic of reforestation , hedgerows , meadows and fallow ideal venue for numerous species of flora and fauna. The wetland tem of Cascina Bellezza has an exceptionally high number of amphibians : there are nine species , among which the Italian spadefoot toad , which is present here with a stable population and that each year is subject to a specific monitoring , only one of its kind in Italy. environment Cascina Bellezza is located within the Ponds Poirino - Favari , a large area of 1845 hectares in the south- east of the hill of Turin , between the towns of Santena , Poirino and Villastellone . This protected area was established by ' European , precisely to protect the last breeding sites of the Italian spadefoot toad . The SIC is characterized by a predominantly agricultural landscape ( with maize crops , cereals, vegetables and poplars , including the famous asparagus ) and poorly urbanized , to the exclusion of some farm buildings and blocks the small town of Favari ( Poirino , TO) the latter , however, in recent rapid expansion .

SANTUARIO DI VICOFORTE

SANTUARIO DI VICOFORTE  Apri
Loc. VICOFORTE - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
43 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Crava, Frabosa Soprana, Garessio
The Vicoforte Sanctuary , also known as the Sanctuary Basilica of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary or Shrine Basilica Regina Montis Regalis is a religious building located in the territory of the municipality of Vicoforte . This is a monumental church , among the most important of Piedmont , whose dome with elliptical horizontal section appears to be the largest of such form to the world . Has the dignity of a minor basilica . The complex has its origins in a medieval sanctuary , consisting of a small pylon decorated with a fresco depicting the Madonna and Child , which was built by a fornaciaio to propitiate the good firing of the bricks . In 1592 , during a hunt , a hunter named Julius Sargiano hit by mistake the image of the Virgin who, according to tradition, bled . The reality instead sees the hunter repented hanging his gun to the pylon and start a large collection of funds to repair the damage and thus to expiate his sin. Even today the blunderbuss is kept in a chapel of the Sanctuary , next to the fresco disfigured . Within a few years this place became a place of pilgrimage more frequent and also attracted the attention of Duke Carlo Emanuele I of Savoy, who , in 1596 , commissioned the construction of a large sanctuary court architect Ascanio Vitozzi . The intention of the Duke , the Sanctuary would have to accommodate the many pilgrims and later becoming the mausoleum of the House of Savoy , the place destined to the tombs of the family, assumed function followed by the Basilica of Superga in the Turin hills . The Vitozzi died in 1615 , when the large building was erected up to the ledge, where it should have engaged the drum of the dome . Also ed the Duke ( who wished to be buried in Sanctuary ) , at a distance of fifteen architect , construction stopped completely , leaving the sanctuary discovered long time . A new infervorazione of faithful came in 1682, when the Virgin of the pylon was solemnly crowned as thanks of the end of the war of salt. Since then resumed construction , not to mention more on the support of Savoy ( fired up by the construction of the Basilica of Superga ) , thanks to the efforts of the architect and engineer monregalese Francesco Gallo, who , encouraged by Filippo Juvarra , tried his hand at a large company since 1728. Above the mighty sandstone base , mold mannerist , was quickly built the drum of obvious Baroque lines , and the dome , which was finished in 1732. The powerful elliptical dome raised by Gallo , 74 meters high , 37.15 meters long and 24.80 meters on the major axis minor axis , was unarmed , not without trepidation , given the boldness of construction , so that it is said that he had go himself to remove the scaffolding, because no one thought that a structure of that kind could stand .

LANGHE E ROERO

LANGHE E ROERO  Apri
Loc. CUNEO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
26 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
Altitude: 52 mt. a.s.l.  Area Robilante, Crava, Limone Piemonte
the Langhe The name is very old and of uncertain derivation: It can mean Land of the Ligurian, wasteland or Languages of Earth. This set of hills whose average height ranges from 550 m. to 950 m above sea level is tight between the rivers Tanaro and Bormida and is a maze of picturesque small valleys surrounding an ancient world made of medieval villages, colors, scents, castles, churches and abbeys, traditions, storytelling, cooking recipes linked to the territory and great wines now known in the world. The Langhe have found their natural capital in Alba, the historic center of Roman and medieval times and today lively and charming town where you can go for a hike to discover picturesque villages such as La Morra, Barolo, Serralunga d'Alba , Verduno, Monforte, Barbaresco and over until Astigiano. the Roero About 150,000 years ago Langhe and Roero constitute a single territory, but it is believed that during a flood the river Tanaro diverted its course revolutionizing the topography of the area, leaving the Rocks (split rock createsi on watershed) a witness what happened. The name Roero has replaced the ancient name Astixum and is derived from secular domination exercised over these lands by Rotari then Roerio, ancient Ghibelline family of noble origins. In its history, the territory was often the scene of wars, looting and devastation but in '700 several restorations, reconstructions and modifications baroque Piedmontese gave new life to a land already full of unique riches and thousands of years. Today, on the left bank of the Tanaro, Roero includes 24 countries where unlike the kind and combed Langhe vineyards that characterize the landscape is painted in an uncontaminated nature and unique in the region of Piedmont; from its capital, Bra, you can easily reach the valleys of Saluzzo, the monregalese, Cuneo and Turin.

FAGIOLO CUNEO I.G.P.

FAGIOLO CUNEO I.G.P.  Apri
Loc. CUNEO CN, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
27 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Robilante, Crava, Limone Piemonte
Le Varieta' di fagiolo coltivate in zona Sono Varieta' rampicanti appartenenti alle specie Phaseolus vulgaris e Phaseolus coccineus e di tra di esse distinguiamo Varieta' idonee per la Produzione di granella secca, comunemente Indicato venire fagiolo secco e Altre per la Produzione di baccelli con granella allo Stato ceroso, conosciuto in zona vieni fagiolo rosso. Le Varieta' Piu' idonee alla Produzione di fagiolo secco Sono la tipologia 'Billo'' con granella characterized da screziature bruno-violacea su fondo crema e le varieta 'Bianco di Bagnasco' e 'Bianco di Spagna, con semi completamenti bianchi. Le Principali Varieta' per la Raccolta allo Stato ceroso Sono lo 'Stregonta' (Lingua di fuoco) e la tipologia 'Borlotto'.

CASTELLO DEGLI ACAJA DI FOSSANO

CASTELLO DEGLI ACAJA DI FOSSANO  Apri
Loc. PIAZZA CASTELLO, FOSSANO CUNEO, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
22 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Savigliano, Crava, Bra
  Brochure PDF
The current castle is the result of Fossano construction begun by Philip of Achaia in 1314.In earlier, on the same site , there was already a bastion of defense, hovel , built shortly after 1236. A first expansion begins in 1324. The essential parts of the castle were completed in 1332 and the structure appeared perfectly smooth and square with square towers at the corners , turn forty-five gradi.Con the extinction of Achaia , the castle passed to the Savoy Fossano and transformed by the Duke Amedeo d' Aosta into an elegant residence , intended to accommodate the large court and the government ducale.Nel Five hundred were made further renovations of the building in order to make it even more comfortable . In those years is called John Caracca to ute the decorations interne.Fu then between the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries , the castle went through the most flourishing period , when even the Madama Reale Christine of France lived there : it was embellished with stucco and paintings , now almost entirely lost , while two towers were revisited with the addition of galleries belvedere.Successivi expansions were made in the seventeenth century when the castle was transformed into a prison . It was then that the great halls were turned into small cells. And he went to a period of decadenza.Nel 1689 in the prisons of the castle 1,800 Waldensian , because of persecution , were imprisoned and died of starvation . In the nineteenth century the castle became a military barracks and later home to a veterinary school . In the second half of the twentieth century undertook the work of recovery and the fortress of Achaia was used as headquarters of the Municipal Library and the State Archives , returning to its former glory .

CASTELMAGNO D.O.P.

CASTELMAGNO D.O.P.  Apri
Loc. PRADLEVES - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
33 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Vinadio, Valdieri, Robilante
The cheese comes in a cylindrical shape with flat sides with a diameter of 15 to 25 cm, height of 12 to 20 cm and weighing from 2 to 7 kg. The crust is thin and smooth reddish yellow in the most fresh and takes on a rough shape and coloring ocrea - brownish in more mature. The pasta is very friable and free of holes is off-white with a tendency to turn to a yellow coloring ocrea and blue-green veins present in more mature. The presence of veins is due to the development of special molds belonging to the genus pennicillium, which distinguish the so-called blue cheese or blue paste. L 'marbling, a term that derives from the Lombard dialect word erborin means and parsley in Castelmagno occurs naturally with aging without the need for injection mold specifications. The fine flavor is delicate and spicy becomes strong with increasing the curing period. The authenticity of the product is guaranteed by the presence of the brand embossed on each form and printed in the center of the feature label that resembles the shape of a cross Occitan. Castelmagno DOP is made from milk of cows, possibly supplemented with sheep and / or goat as a percentage of a minimum of 5% to a maximum of 20%. The milk used is obtained from the union of the milk of two milkings of which the first stored at low temperature and possibly skimmed or centrifugation. Coagulation is done on raw milk heated in boilers of steel up to 35- 38 C using liquid rennet. The curd is then broken up to the size of a hazelnut (but in some cases it arrives to the grain of rice), left to stand under the whey for a variable time of 5 to 30 minutes and finally extracted and put into sheets where it is left to drain for about 24 hours. At the end of this period the curd is cut into slices and immersed in tanks of steel or plastic containing the serum of the processing of the day or the previous workings. In this whey, the curd is usually left for 2-3 days after which it is extracted and chopped. The mixture is then salted with salt, place in plastic or steel molds and pressed for 24-48 hours in order to facilitate bleeding. The seasoning, made in natural, or in cold cool and humid, lasts for at least two months.

ABBAZIA DI SANTA MARIA DI STAFFARDA

ABBAZIA DI SANTA MARIA DI STAFFARDA  Apri
Loc. REVELLO CUNEO, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
9 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Saluzzo, Manta, Savigliano
The Abbey is located along the national road 589 lakes of Avignon . With the A6 motorway exit at Marene , take the main road up to 662 Saluzzo (13 km ) and continue for the Abbey (10 km). By train get off at Saluzzo and go with a local bus . The construction site was chosen deliberately in an unhealthy and marshy and all the surrounding land was subjected to reclamation by the monks . The important medieval complex , founded in the twelfth century by Cistercian monks was dedicated to the Virgin and its construction continued throughout the thirteenth century. The Abbey , situated in open countryside , is still surrounded by a small rural village. The religious complex includes the Church which preserves an internal wooden pulpit in the Gothic style of the fifteenth century and the bell tower , built in 1250, still in Gothic style. From the cloister , with pointed arches double nut governed by twin columns , you enter the chapter room intended for community meetings . Complete the complex where the guest were welcomed travelers and the loggia of the market, massive Gothic building . The buildings are characterized by Romanesque and Gothic style . The Abbey , typically medieval , was defended by walls that surrounded it and the entrance was guarded by a tower marked by a cross. There was a drawbridge, as in the ancient castles. This input is still clearly visible, embedded in a country home . The complex stands on the ruins of a building from Roman times to the below which lies a Celtic site . The rare paintings in the Abbey report Templar crosses and denote an insistent use of colors related to alchemy (red and white). The whole structure is sfully constructed on the axis of the sun , which illuminates the altar in the morning , at noon and at sunset the bell tower of the main entrance.

CUNEO

CUNEO  Apri
Loc. CUNEO, ITALY - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
26 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Robilante, Crava, Madonna D'ardua
  Brochure PDF

questa citta si trova su un colle a forma di cuneo dove confluiscono i fiumi Gesso ed il Stura di Demonte e e' contornata dalla Alpi. Storicamente fu fondata nel XII secolo da una rivolta degli abitanti contro il marchese del Monferrato: ne risulto un nuovo nucleo regolamentato dagli ordinamenti comunali. Nel 1382 inizio la dominazione dei Savoia e Cuneo divenne un importante centro fortificato ed un fiorente centro commerciale. Nel 1859 divenne capoluogo di provincia. Da vedere: Duomo: chiesa con pianta a croce latina con facciata in stile neoclassico con quattro grandi colonne ai lati dei portici. All'interno vi e' una splendida icona nell'altare maggiore che rappresenta la Madonna in trono (di Andrea Pozzo). Chiesa di San Sebastiano: edificio del XIV secolo ha subito numerosi interventi durante il periodo seicentesco e quindi conserva ben poche caratteristiche originarie. All'interno vi e' un bellissimo coro della fine del XVI secolo, opera di Tommaso Fontana. Palazzo della torre: splendido edificio di epoca medievale prende il nome dalla torre comunale che ancora conserva al suo interno. Santuario Santa Maria degli Angeli: edificio costruito nel 1718 per opera di Francesco Gallo in un luogo di un eremo francescano. L'interno della chiesa e' formato da un'unica navata con una cupola affrescata con la figura dell'Assunta. E' conservato inoltre della tela San Diego d'Alcantara di Moncalvo e di un insieme di affreschi che raffigurano la vita di San Francesco. Museo Civico: questo museo si trova all'interno dell'antica chiesa-convento di San Francesco, edificio del XV secolo con facciata in cotto e campanile gotico. Il museo conserva reperti romani e medievali ed una strana collezione di bambole Lenci vestite con costumi tradizionali delle valli alpine.

CASTELLO DI GRINZANE CAVOUR

CASTELLO DI GRINZANE CAVOUR  Apri
Loc. VIA CASTELLO, 5, GRINZANE CAVOUR CN, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
44 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Roddi, Alba, Sinio
The name of the small village pays tribute to the renaissance statesman who was mayor of Grinzane for seventeen years. Appointed in May 1832, twenty-two, retained that position until February 1849. Upon his death the castle passed to the beloved niece Josephine, who married Count Carlo Alfieri Support. The last descendant of this family, Marquise Adele Alfieri, he left the castle to the town of Alba, which was Grinzane fraction. The municipality is divided into two centers, and Gallo Grinzane Cavour. Gallo is home to numerous craft and industrial activities (including Nougat Sebaste and the World), while the center of the country consists of Grinzane Cavour, with its few houses, narrow around the austere silhouette of the castle. Built in the first half of the thirteenth century, the castle has undergone some changes in architectural character. The present appearance is the result of restoration work begun in 1961 on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Italian state. The imposing brick building has a trapezoid, with four bodies to the small irregularly arranged around the main courtyard. In the sixteenth century it was enlarged with the addition of two picturesque cylindrical turrets; the same period, the Hall of Masks, a coffered ceiling with painted tablets 157 on the occasion of the marriage of Petrine Falletti, bearing depictions of coats of arms, animals, portraits and allegories.

ROBILANTE

ROBILANTE  Apri
Loc. ROBILANTE CN, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
37 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Cuneo, Limone Piemonte, Madonna D'ardua
Some say the name of the village derives from bullante stream , ie bubbling stream , with reference to the sparkling waters of the stream Cialancie , which runs through the town. Others believe it is derived from the Latin word robur , which means oak but also force and strength . That the interpretation is correct or not , we can say with confidence that Robinstown , mountain village in the province of Cuneo, of fortitude he has always been , and continues to prove still . It is a picturesque village in the heart of Piedmont, in the Mountain Community Gesso and Vermenagna , nestled at an altitude of 670 m and a population of about 2,400 inhabitants. Until recently, Robinstown was a simple and rather poor village , whose inhabitants were often forced to migrate to procure a living, but the ability to not lose heart has paid off and today the country is a place charming , full of legends and mysterious stories , rich in tradition and folklore uses colored by picturesque . After having been for a long time feud abbot of St. Dalmas , who had received from the Marquis of Saluzzo, Robinstown became part of the district of Cuneo and passed to the Savoy in 1364. During the following centuries the masters who took turns in these lands were numerous, but to make known the name of the village were the lords of Varallo , who received him as a fief in 1619 and assumed the title of Counts of Robinstown . Today, the country is a concentrate of intense culture , which is expressed through customs , but especially through the ancient stones of the monuments and palaces. Among the beauties that stand out the most is the Parish Church of San Donato , founded in the eighteenth century , with its beautiful exterior facade and inside some valuable works of art : in particular , deserves the attention of tourists crucifix wood of the fourteenth century. A short distance from the church , at Via Eminia , there is a small fifteenth-century fresco representing the Virgin Mary with Baby Jesus, and a little further on you will come across in the former Church of the Holy Cross, was born in the sixties and now home of the Pro Loco of Robinstown . Leaving aside for a moment the center of the country, and pushing in the verdant countryside of the Valle Vermenagna , you will discover a constellation of small rural chapels , as perfect destinations for outdoor excursions . From the Chapel of St. Anne, for example, you can enjoy a spectacular panorama of the town, while other interesting climbing routes along the valley of Cialancie and reach the white churches that testify to the devotion of the people of the past, still alive today , especially in older people. If you walk down to the basin of Malandre you will discover the old cottages with thatched roofs, while a little ' further down the valley there is the pillar of the Moor , which tells of the mythical Saracen raids.

LIPU: RISERVA NATURALE CRAVA MOROZZO

LIPU: RISERVA NATURALE CRAVA MOROZZO  Apri
Loc. CRAVA CN, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
31 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Vicoforte, Fossano, Cuneo
The Nature Reserve Crava Morozzo is the first protected area in the history of Lipu (with diction Oasis Crava Morozzo). E 'was established in 1979 thanks to a resolution and agreements between the towns of Morozzo, Mondovi and Rocca de' Baldi and the Province of Cuneo. Later identified as a special nature reserve by the Piedmont Region and ed within the Regional Park Alta Valle Pesio. The Oasis before, and now the Nature Reserve, was created with the aim of protecting the wetland and enhance its potential natural and educational. Inside it has several environmental types: two dams built for hydroelectric purposes and now re-naturalized (owned by Enel), a stretch along approximately 3 kilometers of the river Pesio, forests and cultivated land surrounded by hedges. Currently it is ed within the Regional Park of Marguareis, institution with which the Lipu collaborates for management activities. The set of environments Nature Reserve favors the presence of a very rich and diverse flora. Crava Morozzo is a wetland of great importance for nesting and stopover for many species of waterfowl. The best seasons for ornithological observations are definitely the fall and early spring. In these periods, to sedentary species as the mallard, the coot and the little grebe, adding migratory species such as the Pochard, the Garganey, the Shoveler, Teal, the Pintail, the Purple Heron and Heron, the Night Heron, the Knight d 'Italy (which in recent years has begun to breed in the protected area). The relevance of the nature reserve for parking deigli Migratory Birds is also demonstrated by the presence of uncommon species such as the Black Tern and Marsh Harrier. Abundant wildlife linked to the environments is wooded, both river. Where Tifa is denser than the little grebe and coot build their nests floating, while riparian forests covered by bushes are preferred dall'Usignolo intricate river and, in winter, the camouflage Woodcock. A blue arrow in flying low and some rocks on the creek stained white signal the presence of the beautiful Kingfisher and dipper, characteristic inhabitants, along with Piro Piro small, the environment of the river. Even the observation of birds of prey brings good fruit: it can in fact meet different species like the kestrel, tawny owl, the owl and the Buzzard.

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE TRE DENTI - FREIDOUR

PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE TRE DENTI - FREIDOUR  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE DI INTERESSE PROVINCIALE DEL MONTE TRE DENTI - FREIDOUR, TORINO, ITALIA - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
43 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Avigliana, Piossasco, Sant'Ambrogio di Torino
The mountain of Cumiana The unmistakable profile of the crest of the Three Teeth with its outpost, the Fortress Two Teeth, it's definitely an attractive framework for landscape and man's imprint is evident in the Park there are vast spaces in which it captures a naturalness almost unthinkable, so a short drive from Turin. Flora and fauna are characteristic of the mountainous area and it can be observed, depending on the season, primrose, white and pink carpets of anemones, lush woods, ungulates and birds of various species. Inside the park you can hike by following the recommended itineraries or simply enjoy the beauty of the place with a walk and then relax and enjoy a good meal at one of the picnic areas.

PARCO FLUVIALE GESSO E STURA

PARCO FLUVIALE GESSO E STURA  Apri
Loc. CUNEO - PIEMONTE  Navigatore
28 Km from FAI: CASTELLO DELLA MANTA
  Area Robilante, Crava, Limone Piemonte
The park with the city inside ... 60 km of the river, 10 municipalities (Cuneo, Borgo San Dalmas, Castelletto Stura, Centallo, Cervasca, Montanera, Roccasparvera, Roccavione, St. Albans Stura, Vignolo) and over 4000 acres of natural riverine environment for sports, education, the leisure and culture. A Green Network of pedestrian paths - currently about 60 km, connecting the nature reserves and numerous picnic areas - and, above all, a hinge connection with the surrounding areas, upstream and downstream where it meets the Natural Park of the Maritime Alps. In a word, a unique park, ambitious ideals, such as the protection of biodiversity, respect for vocations originating in the territory and the exploitation of the full potential of the area.

Excursions and attractions in PIEMONTE close to MANTA CUNEO, ITALY Saluzzo Revello Savigliano: 'PARCO NATURALE DI STUPINIGI'   'FORMAGGIO BRA DOP'   'SALUZZO'   'MUSEO FERROVIARIO PIEMONTESE'   'CRUDO DI CUNEO D.O.P.'   'CASTELLO DI RODDI'   'PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE SAN GIORGIO'   'PARCO NATURALE DI CONCA CIALANCIA'   'TOMA PIEMEONTESE DOP'   'CHIANALE'   'PALAZZINA DI STUPINIGI'   'CASTELLO DI RACCONIGI'   'BAROLO DOCG'   'SANTUARIO DI SANT'ANNA DI VINADIO'   'WWF: OASI CASCINA BELLEZZA'   'SANTUARIO DI VICOFORTE'   'LANGHE E ROERO'   'FAGIOLO CUNEO I.G.P.'   'CASTELLO DEGLI ACAJA DI FOSSANO'   'CASTELMAGNO D.O.P.'   'ABBAZIA DI SANTA MARIA DI STAFFARDA'   'CUNEO'   'CASTELLO DI GRINZANE CAVOUR'   'ROBILANTE'   'LIPU: RISERVA NATURALE CRAVA MOROZZO'   'PARCO NATURALE DEL MONTE TRE DENTI - FREIDOUR'   'PARCO FLUVIALE GESSO E STURA'  

PIEMONTE


Piedmont is in the north-west of Italy and borders Switzerland and France. True to the meaning of its name (foot of the mountain), Piedmont is a land of mountains. It is surrounded on three sides by the Alps, with the highest peaks and largest glaciers in Italy. Monviso, the Piedmont side of Mount Rosa and the other spectacular mountains in the region, create incredibly beautiful landscapes; there are many ski resorts as well, such as Via Lattea and Sestriere, which welcome winter sports enthusiasts with their state of the art facilities. The Alps form the background for great picturesque valleys, for example, the Val di Susa, Valsesia and Val d'Ossola. The hilly landscape of the Langhe and Monferrato is different, but still beautiful: a succession of cultivated hills and vineyards, dotted with small towns and castles. Expanses of water and rice-fields, long rows of poplars and old farmhouses make up the typical scenery of the plains around Novara and Vercelli. Lake Maggiore is the most sought-after tourist resort, with Stresa and the Borromean Islands, charming landscapes with ancient villas surrounded by beautiful lawns. Yet, nature is only one of the many attractions in Piedmont. This region has many other facets: from Turin and the Italian car manufacturing capital and with its history and remarkable cultural heritage, to other cities such as Cherasco, Alba and Ivrea. Next we come to charming medieval castles, including the imposing castle of Ivrea, and prized works of architecture, for example the famous Residences of the Royal House of Savoy and the Sacri Monti (Sacred Mountains). The famous spa resorts of Acqui Terme and Vinadio offer treatments and therapy for a relaxing, reviving holiday. Discoveries and surprises of all kinds are in store for visitors to the region, including a wide range of food and wine for all tastes. The region's provinces are: Turin (regional capital), Alessandria, Asti, Biella, Cuneo, Novara, Verbano Cusio Ossola and Vercelli.