Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
due rocche - excursions points of interest attractions in licata

 CAMPING VILLAGE DUE ROCCHE

CAMPING VILLAGE
DUE ROCCHE

Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to LICATA Gela Canicattė Agrigento

SITO ARCHEOLOGICO DI GELA

SITO ARCHEOLOGICO DI GELA  Apri
Loc. VIA PALAZZI, 1, GELA CL, ITALIA - SICILIA  Navigatore
25 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Niscemi, Licata, San Cono
According to Thucydides, the foundation of Gela (ancient Lindioi) was the work of Rhodium-Cretans led by Antifemo and Entimo we are in the year 689 BC The first inhabitants, after fierce battles with pre-existing populations, began to penetrate into the interior. Going across the river Gela began the process of Hellenization who later involved other nearby villages (Ariaiton, Maktorion and Omphake, the current Butera). Gela reached its peak between the sixth and fifth centuries BC emerged as a dominant center greek. Under the tyrants Cleander, Hippocrates and Gelon assuming an important political and military, in opposition to block the Carthaginian who ruled western Sicily. With the revolt of 450 BC for autonomy from Greece, Gela began to take the road of decline. After a period of stagnation, was finally destroyed by the Carthaginians and the Agrigentini around 280 BC Gela in the neighborhood are many archaeological sites, evidence of a long period of time from the Age of the copper comes to the Middle Ages. The Hill Molino a Vento is a Neolithic necropolis with graves round. Of particular interest is the acropolis of the Greek city, with its sacred buildings, the walls of the sixth century BC, the dwellings. Return Sopranos you can see the walls of the fort, built by Timoleon in the fourth century BC To the outside world, outside the city walls, shrines dedicated to the gods Demeter and Kore and the Hellenistic quarter of the fourth century BC with public toilets. Bitalemi and Piano Notaro buildings are tombs and the ruins of suburban sanctuaries. Finally, we must mention Manfria, presenting evidence of the Bronze Age, stages of rhodium-Cretans and the Middle Ages (the same name is famous lookout tower). The specimens collected during this century in the various archaeological sites mentioned above, are kept in the Archaeological Museum of Molino a Vento. Very well known are the Corinthian vases of the seventh and sixth centuries BC, the antefixes mask sileniche and Gorgon, the sacred statues depicting Demeter and Kore, the fragments of Attic pottery. Very interesting is the Horsehead fifth century BC, forming a decorative acroterial. Several are also objects of gold and silver, as a fan earrings and other jewelry found in large quantities in various buildings tomb.

RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA SUGHERETA DI NISCEMI

RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA SUGHERETA DI NISCEMI  Apri
Loc. RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA SUGHERETA DI NISCEMI, CONTRADA PISCIOTTO, NISCEMI CL, ITALIA - SICILIA  Navigatore
41 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Mazzarrone, Gela, Caltagirone
In the cork Niscemi, along with holm oaks, are represented evergreen shrubs typically Mediterranean scrub-forest. The magnificent forest is now a thing of the past, but are still interesting environments where there are mastic trees, carob, wild olive, myrtle, arbutus, phillyrea and the dwarf palm. The undergrowth is rich and bright populated by a diverse fauna that includes wild cats and foxes; mice and dormice dormouse. Small warblers nest in the woods, the great spotted woodpecker and the hoopoe.

UVA DA TAVOLA DI CANICATTI IGP

UVA DA TAVOLA DI CANICATTI IGP  Apri
Loc. CANICATTI AG, ITALIA - SICILIA  Navigatore
30 Km from DUE ROCCHE
Altitude: 447 mt. a.s.l.  Area Caltanissetta, Agrigento, Pietraperzia
  Brochure PDF
The Table Grape Canicatti' PGI acini spheroidal ellipsoidal-sized medium-large, characterized by a fleshy pulp and crisp, sweet with delicate aroma of muscat. The skin is pale yellow - golden straw yellow. The production area of Canicatti' Table Grape PGI includes several municipalities in the province of Agrigento and Caltanissetta. The vine arrived in the Mediterranean as early as 600 BC. The Phoenicians were known in France, while the Romans in Germany. In particular, the cultivation of the type Italian, although it was introduced in the first half of the twentieth century, he said only in the early '70s in the area of Canicatti', where he took the place of the traditional cereal crops, almond and legumes. Produced nell'agrigentino appreciated and recognized in various parts of the world, the Italian grapes of Canicatti' is creation of the illustrious geneticist Alberto Piovano through the intersection of two varieties, Bicane and Muscat d'Hamburg. The result of this intersection is a grape-looking, large size and very durable. You can store it for over a month, if placed in a humid environment at low temperatures. In addition to the canon fresh consumption, the grapes can be used as an ingredient in desserts, jams and juices. Disinfectant and antiviral, diuretic and laxative.

FAI: GIARDINO DELLA KOLYMBETHRA

FAI: GIARDINO DELLA KOLYMBETHRA  Apri
Loc. VALLEY OF THE TEMPLES, AGRIGENTO AG, ITALY - SICILIA  Navigatore
38 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Realmonte, Siculiana, Canicattė
The temple of Castor and Pollux and that of Vulcano, in the heart of the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento, is a vast green area known as the Garden of Kolymbethra . After a long period of neglect , during which the Garden had become a thicket of brambles, in 1999 the Region of Sicily has entrusted the area to the FAI for a period of twenty-five years. In November 2001 , after completing the campaign of restoration and landscape have restored the ancient cultures , the Italian Environmental Fund has re-opened the historic Garden to the public by ing it into the circuit to visit the Valley of the Temples , a small valley that , because of its amazing fertility , looks like the Garden of Eden or a corner of the promised land ( Abbot of Saint Non , 1778) . the Garden The five acres of Kolymbethra offer a wide variety trees and landscaping . In the most craggy there are species typical of the Mediterranean, such as myrtle , mastic trees, oak , phillyrea , euphorbia and broom . In the flat land of the valley , beyond the little river bordered by reeds along which grow willows and poplars white , extends the citrus grove that with lemons, mandarins and oranges of old varieties , is irrigated using the techniques of Arab tradition . Where water does not arrive, born mulberry trees, carob trees , prickly pears , almond and olive trees gigantic Saracens . The Kolymbethra represents, for characters perception, environmental and productive , the most illustrious of arboriculture Sicilian landscape , or the irrigation of citrus . In Sicily citrus plants are called gardens in order to emphasize their beauty , as well as the productive purpose . The scent of orange blossom takes on the sense of a presence tree that is never linked only to production but also to the pleasure . According to feedback from local farmers, until the last decades of the twentieth century was the Kolymbethra Agrumento and vegetable garden planted with and maintained the appearance of a wonderful scented garden with lemon and orange trees and planted with almond trees, olive trees , mulberry trees , pomegranates and figs ' india . Lack of water caused it until after the abandonment all'ntervento the FAI , which provided for the care and restoration of vegetation of a time returning to the Valley of the Temples its original value , which is not only archeology , but also historical , geological, botanical and agricultural .

TEMPIO DI GIUNONE

TEMPIO DI GIUNONE  Apri
Loc. VIA PANORAMICA VALLE DEI TEMPLI, AGRIGENTO, ITALY - SICILIA  Navigatore
37 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Realmonte, Siculiana, Canicattė
The temple, whose attribution to Juno is due to an erroneous interpretation of a piece of a Latin author , is built in local limestone and is situated in a dominant position at the eastern end of the Hill of the Temples. The building of the Doric style ( 450-440 BC) , rests on a base of four steps and has six columns on the short sides and thirteen on the long sides . The interior was divided into three rooms : the central (cell ) was preceded by an entrance hall (vestibule ) and followed by a rear compartment ( opisthodomos ), the latter had two columns in front , the sides of the compartment door stood the stairs leading to the roof. The base with three steps on the bottom of the cell was added at a later date . The surface of some blocks reddened shows signs of fire perhaps due to the destruction of Akragas accomplished by the Carthaginians in 406 BC On the east side are the remains of the altar preceded by a monumental staircase of ten steps that led to the floor where he celebrated the sacrifices . Numerous renovations have been carried out since the end of the eighteenth century , when they were brushed up the columns on the north , to the ultimate static and conservative interventions for stone surfaces made by Park (POR Sicilia 2000-2006 ) . To the west of the temple is Port III - of which little remains today because of the landslide part of the rocky ridge - originally opened in a recess oblique with respect to the line of the fortifications and crossed by a roadway still visible. The defensive tem dating from the late sixth century. BC was reinforced during the fourth century . BC by the construction, in the north -east of the port and of the temple, an imposing tower of which today remains part of the collapse of the high .

VALLE DEI TEMPLI

VALLE DEI TEMPLI  Apri
Loc. AGRIGENTO - SICILIA  Navigatore
38 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Realmonte, Siculiana, Canicattė
The birth of the polis Agrigento is linked to the development of the polis Geloan : the city, in fact , was founded in 581 BC by some inhabitants of Gela, originating in the islands of Rhodes and Crete , with the name of (Akragas) , named after the river which flows through the area. It was one of the major cities of the ancient world , important urban center , both economically and politically . The settlement was protected in the sixth century by a defense tem consisting of a circuit of walls that took advantage of the topography of the area consists of the plateau on the side of hills overlooking the coast and in the Valley of the Temples occupied the southern edge and was not the acropolis instead localized further upstream , at the medieval core of the city. The military expansionism of Akragas was particularly pulse at the time of the tyrant Theron ( 488-473 BC) and the victory over the Carthaginians . A period of rivalry with Syracuse. The great temples built in the fifth century testify to the prosperity of the city. After the looting by the Carthaginians in 408 BC followed a period of decline in the city, which was rebuilt anyway . From 262 B.C. Agrigento entered the Roman rule , while remaining a major city . From the seventh century, the city was left impoverished and depopulated and the city center was reduced to the only hill of the Acropolis , thus abandoning the urban area is the area of the temples , which was saved well by urban transformations . At the heart of the Valley of the Temples, in the area west of the church of St. Nicholas ( now the National Museum ) , there are the remains dell'ekklesiaste'rion and the so-called Oratory of Phalaris . The works for the construction of the museum have revealed a very interesting complex of a public nature ( Agora higher). In the northern part , no longer visible because brutally buried the building of the museum, was a sanctuary of Demeter and Kore in the sixth and fifth centuries BC , to be connected in all probability, as a garrison sacred , with the public activities carried out immediately down south : sanctuary come from the usual votive pottery and ceramics.

CALTANISSETTA

CALTANISSETTA  Apri
Loc. CALTANISSETTA - SICILIA  Navigatore
44 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Pietraperzia, Enna, Canicattė

Caltanissetta e' una delle province della regione Sicilia. Si trova nella parte interna dell''isola ai piedi del monte San Giuliano. Questa sua posizione geografica ha favorito notevolmente l''insediamento di varie popolazioni tra cui i Siculi, i Sicani e soprattutto i Greci. In seguito nell''829 venne conquistata dagli Arabi e prese il nome di Kastra-Nissa. Successivamente venne dominata dai Normanni, dagli Svevi, dagli Angioini e dagli Aragonesi e poi da alcune signorie siciliane. Nel 1860 venne poi annessa al Regno d''Italia dopo un lungo dominio di Spagnoli e Borboni. Questa grande storia eterogenea ha lasciato tracce indelebili sul territorio nisseno: si trovano infatti bellissimi siti archeologici, castelli medievali con torri di avvistamento, palazzi e bellissime chiese di vari comuni, impianti minerari (solfare) ed i forni di arricchimento dello zolfo (gills) oggi rimasti come testimonianza dell''industria solfifera siciliana. Da vedere: Castello di Falconara: originariamente questo castello era una torre di avvistamento. Questa costruzione sorge sulla costa a ovest di Gela e nel corso dei secoli ha subito numerose modifiche che gli hanno conferito l''aspetto di un vero e proprio maniero medievale. Nei primi anni del XIX secolo divenne proprieta di Giorgio Wilding che fece aggiungere alla costruzione originaria un salone ed un grande terrazzo a picco sul mare. Successivamente il castello passo ai Chiaramonte che impreziosirono le stanze con quadri, ceramiche e mobili antichi di grande pregio. Abbazia di Santo Spirito: questa e' probabilmente la chiesa piu antica di Caltanissetta. E'' stata costruita prima dell''anno Mille, e' in stile romanico e possiede tre absidi. Nel corso dei secoli ha subito numerose modifche e al suo interno sono conservati dipinti ed opere di grande valore, tra cui antichi testi sacri ed una bellissima fonte battesimale ottenuta da un''urna cineraria romana. Cattedrale: questa chiesa venne edificata tra il 1570 ed il 1622: e' in stile neoclassico ed la pianta a croce latina con tre navate separate da due ordini di colonne. Le navate laterali presentano bellissime nicchie con Statue della Vergine, di gesu Risorto e di alcuni Santi. All''interno della chiesa vi sono anche splendidi affreschi di Guglielmo Borremans (1720) che decorano le colonne, gli altari e la volta. Di notevole pregio sono anche l''organo in stiile barocco e la statua di San Michele Arcangelo (patrono della citta) delXVII secolo (opera di Stefano Li Volsi). La cattedrale ha subito recentamente nuovi restauri. Chiesa di San Sebastiano: questa bellissima chiesa si trova in Piazza Garibaldi accanto alla cattedrale. E''stata costruita nel XVI secolo come dono a San Sebastiano da parte del popolo della citta per ringraziarlo della liberazione dalla pesta bubbonica. Nel corso dei secoli questa chiesa ha subito ingrandimenti, rimaneggiamenti e restauri: la nuova facciata che possiede ricchi elementi architettonici risale ai primi anni del XIX secolo e venne realizzata dall''architetto Pasquale Saetta.

SCALA DEI TURCHI

SCALA DEI TURCHI  Apri
Loc. STRADA PROVINCIALE 68, REALMONTE, AGRIGENTO, ITALY - SICILIA  Navigatore
45 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Siculiana, Agrigento
The Scala dei Turchi (Italian: Stair of the Turks) is a rocky cliff on the coast of Realmonte, near Porto Empedocle, southern Sicily, Italy. It has become a tourist attraction due to its unusual white color, as well as by its mention in Andrea Camilleri's series of detective stories about Commissario Montalbano.

AGRIGENTO

AGRIGENTO  Apri
Loc. AGRIGENTO, ITALY - SICILIA  Navigatore
39 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Realmonte, Siculiana, Canicattė
Agrigento (whose name derives from the Arabic Girgenti, original name of the city until 1197) is one of the provincial capitals of the region Sicily. It is located on a hill in the southern coast of the island and is famous for being one of the archaeological and tourist centers of Italy. Agrigento was founded in the sixth century a.c. Greeks of Rhodes (as Akragas) and was one of the most important city of Magna Grecia. It was later destroyed and sacked by the Carthaginians and later conquered by the Romans. Later it was ruled by the Vandals, Goths and Byzantines, and spent a period of serious economic decline. Later it was under the rule of the Arabs by which repurchase economic and commercial importance. In 1086 it was occupied by the Normans and became a bishopric. In the following centuries it was dominated by the Aragonese and then by the Spanish. In 1817 he became a province of Sicily and was one of the first Sicilian city to arise after the proclamation of Salemi Garibaldi: in 1860 joined the Kingdom of Italy. Things to see: The Valley of the Temples: In Agrigento is one of the archaeological sites of the most important and best preserved Greek civilization to the world. The Valley of the Temples is located in the southern part of the city and consists of several temples that date back to the fifth century a.c. These temples are in Doric style and oriented east to respect the principle that the statue representing the gods (at the entrance of the temple) was fully illuminated by the sun at dawn. This valley presents the various temples of various deities almost aligned with each other; covering the area you can admire the 'Temple of Olympian Zeus' built in honor of Zeus for victory of Agrigento against the Carthaginians; the 'Temple of Heracles' which is oldest in this place, the 'Temple of Concord', the only one to be received fully intergovern, the 'Temple of Hera Lacinia' built around the fifth century a.c. And then set on fire by the Carthaginians. The Valley of the Temples has been d a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1997. Hellenistic Roman Quarter: the archaeological site of the Valley of the Temples also includes the Roman Hellenistic district; it is a complex of dwellings with mosaics and decorative flooring of the I-II century d.c. of which it is still visible the urban layout. Cathedral: the original building was built by the Normans in the eleventh century but has undergone alterations in the XIII-XIV century and then later restored in 1966. And 'structured on three naves and the central one has a beautiful wooden beamed ceiling with figures of saints and apostles. The choir is rather full Baroque style: decorated with angels and golden garlands. Abbazia di Santo Spirito: this church dates from the thirteenth century and has a facade with a Gothic portal surmounted by a beautiful rose window. The interior is predominantly Baroque style. There are preserved some reliefs depicting the Nativity, the Flight into Egypt, and the Presentation of Jesus

FICODINDIA DI SAN CONO D.O.P.

FICODINDIA DI SAN CONO D.O.P.  Apri
Loc. SAN CONO CT, ITALIA - SICILIA  Navigatore
42 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Piazza Armerina, Caltagirone, Aidone
Among the distinctive features of the 'Ficodindia di San Cono' remember the large size of the fruit, the peel from the intense and deep colors, a very delicate scent and taste very sweet. The sweetness and size of the fruit, compared to other production areas of Sicily, appear to be distinctive because of the important parameters related to the peculiarity of the geographical area. The production area of 'Ficodindia di San Cono' includes the territory located at an altitude of between 200 and 600 meters above sea level, in the municipalities of San Cono (CT), San Michele di Ganzaria (CT), Piazza Armerina (EN and Mazzarino (CL ). The particular characteristics of 'Ficodindia di San Cono' develop thanks to the perfect combination of environmental and human factors that characterize the area of production. In fact, the area is equipped with special features, such as altitude and orographic that are essential elements in determining the particular conditions of intensity and quality of light radiation, of alternating cycles of wetting-drying epicarp fruit and the daily temperature, especially during fruit ripening.

TEMPIO DELLA CONCORDIA

TEMPIO DELLA CONCORDIA  Apri
Loc. AGRIGENTO - SICILIA  Navigatore
37 Km from DUE ROCCHE
  Area Realmonte, Siculiana, Canicattė
The Temple of Concordia is a greek temple ancient city of Akragas site in the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento. This temple , built like that of Hera on a massive base designed to overcome the uneven rocky terrain , for the state of conservation is considered one of the sacred buildings of the classical period greek most remarkable in the world ( 440 BC -430 BC). On a crepidoma of four steps ( 39.44 m x16 , 91) stands the conservatissima peristyle of 6x13 columns , high m. 6.72 and are characterized by winds grooves and harmonious entasis (curvature of the vertical section ) , surmounted by architrave , frieze of triglyphs and metopes and frame mutuli , are also stored in an integral manner the eardrums. To the cell, preceded by pronaos in antis (like opisthodomos ) is accessed through a step; well preserved are the props with access stairs to the roof and , on top of the walls of the cell and in the blocks of the entablature of the peristyle , the business for the wooden truss cover. The exterior and the interior of the temple were covered in plaster with the necessary polychrome. The mum showed gutters with lion heads and the coverage provided marble tiles . The transformation into a Christian church acted primarily a reversal of orientation ancient , so we broke down the wall of the cell, closed the intercolumns and practiced twelve arched openings in the walls of the cell, so as to constitute the canonical three aisles , the two in the central and lateral peristasi coincident with the cell. Then destroyed the altar of the classical era and place in the corners of the east sacristy , the building became virtually perfect body basilica . The trenches dug within and outside the church relate to early medieval burials , according to custom placed in close relationship with the basilica.

PIETRAPERZIA

PIETRAPERZIA  Apri
Loc. PIETRAPERZIA - SICILIA  Navigatore
39 Km from DUE ROCCHE
Altitude: 462 mt. a.s.l.  Area Caltanissetta, Piazza Armerina, Enna
Based on the indications of historians and geographers Pietraperzia seems to have originated from an ancient Greek colony in Sicily called Caulonia . Pietraperzia due to the Saracen domination both the name and its prosperity . Golden age for Pietraperzia can be considered the sixteenth century when Barresi , barons of the city, were promoted prior to the dignity of Marquis Matthew Barresi III , the founder of Barry (1529), and then with the principles of Peter Barresi (1564 ) . The Castle of Pietraperzia their house then became coveted hangout of the lover of culture and politics. Was the serious social crisis that swept through the city , culminating in the tragic establishment of an armed by Antonino Di Blasi, understood Testalonga , which he created , in little more than two years of banditry (1765-1767) , un'esteso climate of terror in Sicily . Since 1926 Pietraperzia joined the new province of Enna. Among the buildings include: the Mother Church , the Sanctuary of the Madonna della Cava , the Governor's Palace ( XVI century). The Pyramid of Pietraperzia On the plateau of Cirummeddi ( Cerumbelle ) are a series of natural acrocori including that of the pyramid. It consists of a set of probable Neolithic megalithic structures , which are ed later buildings until the late Middle Ages . The appearance is hilly and pyramidal height of about 12 meters. The base of the structure, 55 meters long and 30 wide , is composed of three tiers of terraces cut off vertically by four stairways carved through which you access the overlying terraces connected by ramps inclined planes . The steps correspond to the four cardinal points. The monument has two constructive ideas by the strong symbolic connotation : that of the circle (its circumference) and that of the square (the plant construction on the upper floors engaged in it ) . Feast of the patron Maria SS. Cava August 14 and 15 , August 16 Feast of the patron St. Rocco

FINZIADE

FINZIADE  Apri
Loc. LICATA AG, ITALIA - SICILIA  Navigatore
2 Km from DUE ROCCHE
Altitude: 9 mt. a.s.l.  Area Canicattė, Gela, Agrigento
Licata has had a very old tradition that began back in the Neolithic period, about 7000 years ago, and continues with the different cultures of the Copper Age and the Bronze Age, the latter particularly in the area attested by the presence of thousands of tombs artificial caves carved on the walls of limestone. Already in the late Bronze Age, the site of today's Licata was abandoned by indigenous communities living there, probably due to the extreme danger of the coast Licata, subject to continuous raids by people coming from the sea. The lack of archaeological evidence from the Bronze Age to the Iron Age, it can also be read in relation to the occurrence of epidemics or serious disasters at the same time the continuous flooding and the formation of swamps, which made the whole area unhealthy and unproductive. The territory of Licata will again be busy in the seventh century BC, coinciding with the first wave of Greek colonization. The tracks riferibli this particular historical period have emerged in the district Mollarella, but it is sporadic and fragments recovered out of context. Frequenstazione a stable place you will only from the sixth century BC, as evidenced by the sanctuary and the necropolis of the ancient Greek-Poliscia, the shrine of the district Casalicchio, the necropolis of Portella of course, and many other unknown sites in the archaeological literature, which members of Finziade are by surveying in the countryside licatesi. The fourth century B.C. represents a period of prosperity for the campaigns licatesi: a recent survey conducted by the University of Siena has in fact established the existence of small rural villages, devoted mainly to agriculture winemaking. About 15 millstones, in fact, were found in the hills licatesi, often in connection with rural and residential units located in the vicinity of fortified towns. In the third century BC, Phintia, the tyrant of Akragas, decided to build a new polis by the sea, transferring it destroyed all the inhabitants of Gela. On the remains of a rural village of Sant'Angelo hill was formed the acropolis of the new city from the tyrant who took the name: it is called Phintiade and lived for about 300 years before being finally abandoned.

Excursions and attractions in SICILIA close to LICATA Gela Canicattė Agrigento: 'SITO ARCHEOLOGICO DI GELA'   'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA SUGHERETA DI NISCEMI'   'UVA DA TAVOLA DI CANICATTI IGP'   'FAI: GIARDINO DELLA KOLYMBETHRA'   'TEMPIO DI GIUNONE'   'VALLE DEI TEMPLI'   'CALTANISSETTA'   'SCALA DEI TURCHI'   'AGRIGENTO'   'FICODINDIA DI SAN CONO D.O.P.'   'TEMPIO DELLA CONCORDIA'   'PIETRAPERZIA'   'FINZIADE'  

SICILIA


Sicily is the largest Italian Island, separated from the continent by the Strait of Messina and lapped by the Ionian, the Tyrrhenian and the Mediterranean Seas. It is one of the pearls of Southern Italy and can be discovered, understood and experienced through a series of itineraries dedicated to all tastes ranging from nature to history and tradition. Nature seems to have endowed all of its wonders to this land: mountains, hills and above all the Mediterranean Sea, with its incredible colours, its crystal-clear water and the beauty of its seabeds, in no way inferior to those of other seas. Here, the Mediterranean Sea, with its many little islands scattered around the coasts of Sicily, offers unique and intense sceneries, scents and flavours of an uncontaminated nature. Last but not least, are the great volcanoes, symbols of the irresistible exuberance of this incredibly charming region. The fascination of this region grows with the precious archeological vestiges that tell the story of the ancient origins of Trinacria (ancient name for Sicily). The provinces of the region are: Palermo (regional capital), Agrigento, Catania, Caltanissetta, Enna, Messina, Ragusa, Siracusa and Trapani.