Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
b&b michelina di michelina campus - excursions points of interest attractions in oristano



Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to ORISTANO Torre Grande Cuglieri Cabras


Altitude: 9 mt. a.s.l.  Area Marina di Gutturu Flumini, Fluminimaggiore, Buggerru
  Brochure PDF
The coastal dune tem Piscinas is an area of sand dunes that is located in western Sardinia , in the town of Arbus , and covers approximately five square kilometers. The dunes , which extend from the coast to the interior for about three kilometers , reaching a height of about 100 meters and are shaped by winds blowing from the sea. They are among the highest sand dunes in Europe lives . The area of Piscinas degrades slowly by some hills to the coastline , passing by the famous rock formations of sand dunes. The Rio Piscinas is a stream that rises near Montevecchio and flows to the north of the area of Piscinas . It is also fed by the waters coming from some galleries of abandoned mines , giving it a reddish color , which is why the river is sometimes named the Red River . The rio Naracauli is instead a stream that arrives in the mining village of Piscinas from Naracauli . Among the vegetation are found juniper, mastic tree (Pistacia lentiscus) , broom, euphorbia . At the Rio Naracauli are tamarisk , reeds and other shrubs of the garrigue. For the fauna is the Sardinian deer (Cervus elaphus corsicanus ) , the Mediterranean tortoise ( Testudo hermanni ) and the loggerhead sea turtle (Caretta caretta) , which lays its eggs on the beach


Loc. BORORE - SARDEGNA  Navigatore
  Area Aidomaggiore, Bortigali, Dualchi
Borore is a village in the province of Nuoro, in the central area of Sardinia , bordering the territories of Macon , Scano Montiferro , Santulussurgiu , Norbury , Aidomaggiore , Dualchi and Birori . Located about 400 meters above sea level on the slopes of the mountains of Marghine , has an area of great environmental interest and natural beauty. The town of Boroughbridge is located at the foot of the mountain and plateau basalt Marghine Abbasanta . It is surrounded by a very fertile territory , the main reason of its ancient occupation by protosarde populations . The numerous archaeological finds which nuraghis graves of giants, Domus de Janas, dolmens and menhirs still bear witness to its origins . Borore is surrounded by fields and pastures, divided by the characteristic dry stone walls. While on the inside, runs a network of streets that weave around the parish church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin . It is part of the of Municipalities of Marghine GAL and the Foundation of Participation Marghine . Its economy is primarily based on agro-pastoral activities with a strong specialization in the cultivation of olive trees , vegetables , fodder , citrus , vines and fruit trees. As for the sheep , particularly common is the breeding of cattle, sheep and horses . Because of its position the center of gravity , Borore can be a convenient reference point for exploring the central area of Sardinia and part of the coast from Bosa to Oristano. Borore has so much to offer its guests , starting with the cultural heritage present in its center , to the archaeological sites scattered throughout the territory and natural landscapes , rich woods , streams , pastures and dry stone walls. Starting from the center , well worth a visit is the parish church of the Assumption Blessed Virgin , which has a neoclassical facade shapes and is bounded on either side by two towers. Inside, there is a wooden Baroque altar of the eighteenth century and four paintings by Emilio Scherer depicting the four Evangelists. The church of San Lussorio has inside instead , some paintings of considerable interest, depicting traditional costumes , while the church of the Carmelite houses the wooden statues of the Virgin and the Dead Christ. With regard to the archaeological sites of great interest are the graves of giants Imbertighe and Santy Bainzu , the Nuraghe of Porcarzos , Duos Nuraghes , Toscono , Craba and Oschera . Just outside the town of Boroughbridge , between the towns of Su fangarzu and Giunchedu you tova the dolmen burial Imbertighe with the same name similar to that of the tomb of the giants . The entire burial , seeds buried now , had a length of 11.50 m, with the burial chamber of 1 m wide by 9 feet . The monumental stele is 3.61 meters high , in the center of the exedra , composed of three rows of blocks , yet still perfectly in place that make the plan of the burial and the type of construction. Near the church of Santu Bainzu , a Km from the town of Boroughbridge and a few dozen meters from the dolmen Toscono and Porcarzos , lies the burial of Santu Bainzu . Originally the body tombstone was 13.70 m long with a rope exedra of 13.70 , while the burial chamber which is preserved today, is 6.00 m long by 1.10 wide. The large and impressive stelae, struck by lightning and renovated in the '60s, is now almost entirely devoid of the frame which is preserved only in the upper part .


  Area Scano di Montiferro, Abbasanta, Sennariolo
Located in the south eastern side of the chain of Oristano , Santulussurgiu is immersed in a landscape of rocks and woods , that knows how to combine the harshness of the mountain with lush vegetation and unexpectedly varied . In its urban structure and architecture still preserves the memory of the past , boasting one of the best preserved historical centers of Sardinia. The country has a characteristic structure of an amphitheater which protects against the prevailing winds and the single opening at noon. Dense forests of oak and chestnut trees surrounding the village , whose houses have the typical structure of the tower and in the streets, steep and winding , still retain the cobblestones. Picturesque spots are easily enjoyable in every district of the historical center of the town, where the houses are proudly displayed on the walls of exposed stone and with typical lintels and doors with antique knockers . Of the six churches in Santulussurgiu two are relevant from the point of view of art history : the church of Santa Croce and the church of Our Lady of the Angels. The church of the Holy Cross was originally dedicated to St. Lussorio , Christian martyr venerated in the whole island . The church was consecrated as evidenced by the documents , in 1185 by the Bishop of Bosa. Around this little country church arose the settlement of the country. The beautiful church of Santa Maria degli Angeli, late Gothic -Aragonese , was founded in 1473 at the behest of the Observant Franciscans and the Blessed Bernardino da Feltre , who came to Santulussurgiu in 1420. Atrium of the church , in fact, there is among other things, a plaque in which it states: Fue Fundado este por el convent B. Felt Bernardino de el dia 2 de agosto de 1478 The Convent , unfortunately, was demolished during the fascist period (1935) to give rise to the building of the elementary school . The memory of the past lussurgesi of what they were and what they did, is well documented in the Museum of Technology Peasant present Santulussurgiu , located on the premises of the Center for Popular Culture UNLA , in an ancient manor house of the eighteenth century and located in the central part of the country. The Museum was founded in 1976 and brings together over two thousand instruments of work and everyday objects from the past , donated exclusively by families lussurgesi , expertly collected and cataloged more than twenty years, testifying in a direct and concrete and very educational effectiveness , even the more subdued existential events that have marked , in days gone by , the difficult struggle for survival faced every day of community Santulussurgiu .


  Area Bosa, Sennariolo, Scano di Montiferro
The small village of Planargia , surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, is just 3 km from the blue sea of Bosa and coves of the coast that leads to Alghero. There are different interpretations about the origin of its name , Modolo may derive from the name nuragico Madala , an ancient term , introduced in Sardinia by migrants from the East Asia; or it could be originated from the Latin Modulus , is attributable to a small extent that the method used by the ancient peoples of these valleys to channel or intubate the water of the nearby sources. In Roman times there was already Module Vallis , center crossed by the road from western reaches Sulki Neapolis , Othoca (the current St. Just ) , Cornus , in the Gulf of Oristano , and continues to Bosa and Nure , until Turris Lybissonis , today's Porto Torres. The name is maintained throughout the Roman era , transforming the current Modolo only in the medieval period. Among the archaeological monuments must remember the Domus de Janas at Silatari and Coronedu . It is prehistoric burial structures carved into the rock , built by the people who lived in the area in the Neolithic era . You can not not also visit the Nuraghe Albaganes and Monte Nieddu , large stone monuments , evidence of a thousand year old civilization : a people of shepherds and farmers , divided into small communities , who lived in Sardinia for eight centuries and built these amazing structures , the use of which is still uncertain. Near the town you can still see the remains of an ancient monastery , probably the residence of the Dominican friars , and those of a Roman villa . They are located in the historic center , however, the church of Santa Croce, dating from the seventeenth century , and the parish church dedicated to St. Andrew the Apostle. The latter, built in the medieval period , it was destroyed by fire in 1828 and then rebuilt . Today, following the work of restoration , retains some of the features of the original . Inside there are several well-preserved wooden statues dating back to the seventeenth century. Finally, another church that is worth visiting is the one dedicated to Our Lady of the bunch .


  Area Scano di Montiferro, Modolo, Bosa
The City of Sennariolo is one of the smallest municipalities of Sardinia and is located on the western side of Oristano. The geographical position of the small town , between two rivers (Rio and Rio Mannu , Maral or Marafe' , in Sardinian Malafau ) and in low-lying country , it has favored human settlement since ancient times , as evidenced by the presence of some Domus de Janas . In the town there are numerous nuraghis : Fro'migas , Murgu , S'Ena and Tiana , and especially Liorti'nas , really impressive , guarding the confluence of the Rio Piraura and the Rio Mannu ; Guests can also find the graves of giants. Within the municipal area you can also admire the Funtana Ezza , old fountain in Italian , an ancient source . The territory of Sennariolo boasts a rich natural heritage and archeology. Dating from the early Middle Bronze Age , Sat Cobelcada is one of the rare examples of so-called architectural type in Sardinia Alle'e couverte . Several also the Nuraghe. Among them : S'Ena ' and Tiana , and Murcu Leortianas . This is a rare example of archaic dolmen , is characterized by the circular corridor viable for two-thirds of its length. A short distance from the village can be seen the imposing remains of the country church of San Quirico , headquarters, until the first half of the twentieth century , the solemn celebrations in honor of the saint. Detail of the architecture of the old town , typical of the area of Oristano : houses of good quality blocks of basalt and sandstone , sometimes embellished with jambs , lintels and cornices carved in sandstone . The grid of streets and narrow alleys then suddenly opens into several squares, meeting places and meeting place . In addition, with the redevelopment of the historic center that he wanted the creation of numerous murals that reflect the history and traditions of the place, Sennariolo has become popular tourist destination .


  Area Bidoń, Nughedu Santa vittoria, Norbello
Along the Provincial Road 15 , on the slopes of a hill , relax Sorradile country of 356 meters above sea level , a small town in the province of Oristano , where you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the valleys below and the lake Omodeo , offering a unique and charming, in an area rich in vegetation and water sources. To see him up against the sky , the country is individually extended , it is surprising to discover that in fact today , has more than 490 inhabitants. The City of Sorradile is situated in the historical region of Barigadu in the past played an important role as a hinge between the plains and the mountains ; geographically occupies a central position with respect to neighboring countries. The territory consists mainly of forests of oak trees and abundant springs of crystal clear water . It extends in a range of altitudes of 110 meters above sea level Omodeo along the lake , which has sandy shores and rocky , full of shrubs typical of wetlands. The perennial streams are the Tirso River and the river Taloro that flow into the reservoir dell'Omodeo , long considered the largest artificial lake in Europe . Primacy, which , however, did not bring benefits to the whole country , because with the invaded, they had to sacrifice much of the best land , and those flat fat valley . The landscape is unique , in fact , in the months of September and October , when the season was dry and hungry for rains , the lake is almost dry , and you can see the ghost forest . It is a very charming place , and because you can walk on the bottom of the lake, and because it is possible to admire the majestic trees that seem petrified . The City of administrative territorial Sorradile owns an island , on the border with the province of Nuoro , in the town of Salto Lochele , characterized by a harsh territory and rich in vegetation . Striking is the gorge that cuts the host territory Taloro the river , a tributary to the lake. Sorradile boasts a beautiful landscape can be admired from any glimpse , through the setting of the buildings in terraces ( with residential units at multiple levels above ground ) , and an impressive structure , with the ancient village consisting of houses characterized by shades and decorations trachyte . The main road ( SP15 ) with which they develop construction creates two distinct clusters . The upstream is still called short ' e susu and is located in a green slope overlooking the town . Here you can visit the church of St. Michael the Archangel , an ancient Romanesque church of setting the first of which dates back to before the eleventh century. The elders say that it was the parish church until it was built the church of San Sebastiano Martire .


Loc. SARDARA - SARDEGNA  Navigatore
  Area Collinas, Sanluri, Masullas
The town of Sardara is perched on a spur at the center of the fertile plain of Campidano . Located in Lower Marmilla is one of the twenty most important countries of the new province of the Middle Campidano . Its location, on the edge of the border of the province of Cagliari with the province of Oristano, has always had a strategic importance that has favored the development . Historically belonged to curatoria Bonorzuli and is characterized by the presence of the castle of Monreale, on the hill of the same name , for the establishment of thermal waters on the ancient Roman thermae and the complex nuragico - Phoenician- Punic of St. Anastasia in the center of town. Sardara has always been rural and agricultural country for its beautiful countryside, the plain which opens from Sanluri to Uras , creeping up to Pabillonis and San Gavino and its hilly tem , in addition to Monreale , spread to the ends of Mogo , Collinas and Villanova . The town , at the foot of the hill on Sibizziri , in the oldest part , offers a panorama from the hill in front of really pleasant . In the old town you find some of the typical architecture of the Campidano better preserved and enhanced ever. The court houses are proudly displayed with their portals employers , edited and embellished with pride by the owners. Many still retain the symbol engraved on the lintel of corporate membership as blacksmiths, saddlers and winemakers . The streets , neat and tidy, or cobbled streets, give us back the atmosphere of the times. Interesting from a geological point of view the landfills of two mines located in an area not far from the town who have a number of lines of barite and fluorite collected in schists of Paleozoic origin . Sardara is also famous for its presence on its territory of the Baths of St. Mary Waters , surrounded by a forest of eucalyptus which is just two kilometers from the town, which use since ancient times some mineralcarbonato - alkaline springs that flow at temperatures close to 60-70 degrees Celsius.


Altitude: 19 mt. a.s.l.  Area Fluminimaggiore, Arbus, Buggerru
E Cosi' Chiamata per via della ricchissima Vegetazione di lentischio , ginestra , corbezzolo e ginepro Che scende Dalle montagne Fino al mare fra valli e dune di sabbia . La Costa Verde , o Marina di Arbus , SI estende Sulla costa Sud Occidentale della Sardegna per circa, 47 chilometri , in Un susseguirsi di chilometriche e splendide spiagge , cale rocciose da Interrotte , scure ed imponenti Scogliere Che scendono a picco sul mare e deserti di sabbia intercalati Dalla profumata macchia mediterranea . Tutt'intorno monti ed arbusti modellati Dal Migliore fra Gli scultori : il vento . E non raro infatti Incontrare Ginepri o ALTRI arbusti piegati quasi Fino al Suolo entrare nella sezione Un elegante inchino ad Una natura incontaminata e regale Ancora Che non chiede ALTRO CHE Essere rispettata . L'incanto e la magia di ONU Territorio rimasto quasi incontaminato , tempo sospeso Nel, per ragioni legato al Passato Economico , basato , Fino alla Meta' del Secolo scorso , Sulle Attivita' Minerarie ; importantissimi erano , infatti , i Centri di Ingurtosu , Montevecchio e Buggerru , da cui proveniva circa il Dieci Percento della Produzione Mondiale di piombo e zinco . In Seguito alla chiusura delle Attivita' Produttive ed al conseguente Abbandono del Territorio da altera parte di Attivita' Umane , la natura ha avuto Modo di prendere la SUA rivincita , sviluppandosi in Modo Spettacolare , fino a Nightlife osare Luogo annuncio ONU ecosistema unico . I ruderi dei Villaggi e dei palazzi minerari abbandonati , delle gallerie colomba Ancora riecheggiano i Passi dei minatori Che li' lavorarono , Sono Oggi veri e propri Monumenti di archeologia mineraria , il Che con il Loro fascinoso silenzio SI incastonano nella sezione Un ecosistema Che Offre paesaggi Fra I Piu' affascinanti di Tutto il bacino del Mediterraneo , attribuendogli un'atmosfera unica . Queste Aree Sono diventati Dei Veri e propri Monumenti , facenti Parte del Parco Geominerario Storico Ambientale della Sardegna , ufficialmente Riconosciuto Nel 1997 dall'UNESCO vengono Primo parco all'interno della rete Mondiale dei Geositi / Geoparchi . This also E la patria del cervo sardo Che , insediato qui da SECOLI , E Tornato a regnare su queste montagne DOPO Avere rischiato l' estinzione ; E non raro di Primo Mattino , Durante delle passeggiate Sulla sabbia , Incontrare dei Cervi Che SI spingono Fino al mare . La Costa Verde rappresenta , dunque , ONU patrimonio unico in Tutta la Sardegna , non un Caso E infatti Stata ripetutamente Premiata con le Cinque Vele di Lega Ambiente .


Loc. MASULLAS - SARDEGNA  Navigatore
  Area Collinas, Sardara, Sanluri
Tondeggiandi bucolic scenery and rolling hills provide the perfect back of Sardinia , still little explored , where nature has total freedom of expression. Masullas is located in the typical landscape Marmillan : green, hilly and mostly uneducated . Its territory extends for 18,88 square kilometers , is trapezoid in shape and is bounded on the north by the municipalities of Siris and Pompu , to the east by those of Simala , Gonnoscodina and Gonnostramatza , south and west by Mogo from Uras and Siris . Inside runs the Rio Mannu River torrential going to flow into the artificial lake of Mogo , built during the fascist period to implement the reclamation of Arborea. In the northwestern part of the municipality of Masullas is the obsidian field of Conca Cannas , which some scholars define as the largest and most interesting of all the Monte Arci. Are of significant interest to the rock forms present at Su Columbariu that are characterized by intense tafonatura , present on a vertical wall about 80 meters high . Masullas is located within the Regional Park of Monte Arci an ecotem that is of fundamental importance for the whole area Marmillan . The park - rich concentrate of flora and fauna - has particularly rare and endemic species critical to the survival of local biodiversity , among which are found oaks, cork oaks, juniper , myrtle , African tamarisk and strawberry , with regard to the flora . The fauna is instead characterized by wild boars, frogs Tyrrhenian different kinds of butterflies , ravens , warty geckos and several species of snakes, including rat snake . The park of Monte Arci is a great place for hiking and nature trails for mountain lovers and trekkers , offering extremely suggestive scenes , moments of tasting , as well as the chance to discover more about the local history, thanks to archaeological sites and historical monuments . Once you leave the trails, go into the heart of the ancient village authentic Masullas . The historic center is divided by a series of lanes that connect the four religious buildings with houses built in local sandstone . This small town , in centuries past , it was inhabited by landowners. In fact, much of the territory as it was still used for grain crops . The main local families such as cones , the Diana and Salis boasted of noble origins and today , remains strong especially in their testimony palace called Heirs Nicholas Salis House , at the moment being restored .


  Area Oristano, Cabras, Cuglieri
A quiet promenade bordered by tall palm trees is the peculiarity of the beach of Torre Grande, also characterized by a sandy golden coarse and fine gravel. The origin of the name is linked to Sa turri manna, the highest among the many towers of the Spanish era, spread along the coasts of Sardinia and built-up areas and to protect people from the frequent pirate raids. The beach, because of its key position within the province, it is very well equipped: it is wheelchair accessible, has ample parking suitable for campervans. For accommodation, there are hotels in the area that is camping and eating no shortage of eateries and bars. The length dell'arenile and the gradual depth of water make the beach of Torre Grande perfectly usable by children and perfectly suited to every type of pastime. You can rent beach umbrellas, beach chairs and pedal boats, but also make excursions on horseback with the help of numerous stables located in the area. The waters are rich in pleasant surprises for those wishing to practice diving and snorkeling. You can finally enjoy all kinds of surfing.


  Area Norbello, Aidomaggiore, Borore
  Brochure PDF
The Nuraghe Losa , located in the countryside in the Sardinian Abbasanta , is one of the most important and best-preserved monuments nuragici . The tower dates from the fifteenth - XIII century BC, while the rampart, the rampart and the walls date back to the thirteenth - end of XII. Already in the early Iron Age finds indicate that the site was down but did not fall entirely into disuse. It was also used for funerary purposes as witnessed by the findings of the seventh and eighth centuries . Located 304 m s.l.m. on a plateau of basaltic rock not far from the town of Abbasanta is clearly visible along the SS 131 in Cagliari and Sassari at the graft - road Nuoro Olbia (SS 131a ) . Nearby are the remains of a tomb of giganti.Costruito entirely of basalt rock , the Nuraghe Losa consists of a central tower and a three-lobed rampart in turn surrounded by a rampart . The whole complex nuragico , including the village , is surrounded by a wall vaguely ellipsoid of 172 x 268 m. The first excavations of the site conducted by Philip Vivanet , assisted by Philip Nissarda , began in 1890 and regarded the bastion . In 1915 , Antonio Taramelli led a new campaign of excavations brought to light new structures and the surrounding village . In the fifties John Lilliu examined the finds from earlier excavations . In the ' 70s Ferruccio Barreca conducted further excavations and restoration , thus making it possible to visit the monument . From 1989 to 1994 further investigations were carried out on the tower and the bastion .


  Area Modolo, Scano di Montiferro, Bosa
Sindia is a town in the province of Nuoro , on the border between the regions historical and geographical Marghine , Planargia and Lower Meilogu in western Sardinia. Located at 510 meters above sea level , its territory with an area of 58.30 square kilometers , bordering the territories of Pozzomaggiore (SS) , Suni (OR) , Sagar (OR) , Scano Montiferro (OR) , Macon (NU) and Semestene (SS) , has an area of great natural value due to the presence of thick forests of cork oaks, holm oaks and large areas devoted to pasture. Its history is linked to the construction of the Cistercian abbey of Santa Maria Court , also known as Cabbuabbas . The surrounding area is quite fertile and this has been inhabited since ancient ages , as evidenced by numerous archaeological finds which nuraghis , giants' tombs , dolmens and menhirs . Around the country you can see the fields and pastures divided by the characteristic dry stone walls. In the country runs a network of streets that weave around the Parish Church of SS. Rosario . Were registered in the territory sindiese forty nuraghis , many of which unfortunately in poor condition. Two of them are included in inhabited the country: the dolmen Giambasile and one called Sa Mandra de sa Giua , surrounded by a massive rampart , located on the southern outskirts of the village. There are several archaeological sites in the country , because of this abundance of finds : also , often , these areas of archaeological interest also represent a resource from the point of view of landscape and therefore lend themselves to hiking, biking, contact with nature. Places of worship exist in Sindia are very many compared to the number of inhabitants and all are of particular historical and architectural interest . The most important church for historical, architectural and religious, the Abbey of Santa Maria or the Court of Cabuabbas , built by Gonario II of Lacon , Judge (Re) Torres ( or Logudoro ) , in the twelfth century . Another important church is that of St. Peter ( Santu Pedru ) . Almost coeval Abbey Court , this little gem of architecture, was probably the first parish church of the villa of medieval Sindia which he joined around it ; the church of San Pietro was built by French masters in a reduced size in a single nave ; practically twin of the San Lorenzo Silanus , with whom he shared presumably the workers , the construction techniques and even functions. Other churches that we recommend you visit are the San Demetrio , of the Blessed Virgin of the Rosary and St. George .


  Area Norbello, Borore, Dualchi
Aidomaggiore ( Bidumajore in Sardinian ), is located in the central- western part of Sardinia , not far from Lake Omodeo , one of the main reservoirs of the island. Its territory covers an area of 41.33 square kilometers located in a depression below the plateau of Abbasanta . Sheltered from winds and surrounded by majestic forests, it is a agro-pastoral center located at 250 meters above sea level , in a very fertile territory . The Village of Authentic Aidomaggiore is crossed by several rivers , among which we find the Merchis Riu , Riu Siddo and other minor streams . The plateau on which it is located is of volcanic origin, originated from basaltic flows of the Pliocene era , fuoriscite from the volcano of Oristano. Its territory is rich in both natural attractions of interest , both archaeological and historical , yet retaining the centuries, the testimonies of its ancient occupations. The town's name derives from its geographical position. Aidumajore means ford major or major step , indicating the obligatory passage between the plateau and the ghilarzese Barigadu . The first settlements of the country must be made presumably date back to 1015 - 1016 d. C. when a first group of pastors , perhaps belonging to the villages of nuragici Sanilo and Sa Bastia , they decided to move into the valley below the plateau of Abbasanta , presumably attracted by the natural shelter provided by the surrounding hills . These groups were joined , in 1400 , the surviving inhabitants of the ancient villa of the Judicial Ruinas , scourged by the black plague , forced to search for a healthier place . During the Middle Ages it belonged to the Aidomaggiore Curatoria of the United Guilcer or judged by Arborea , right on the border with the Kingdom of Torres, and even today part of the municipality of Monte Aidomaggiore is called Arboreal . Towards the end of 700 Aidomaggiore also had its landowners who , during the same period , Giovanni Maria Angioy never tired of fighting, including one reminiscent of the Pitzalis , the Marras , the Vidili and Sanna. In 900 Mr. Luigi Sanna left to the City Palace where the town hall and the house in which he lives , the parish priest of the village. Joseph Sotgiu , during the period when he was mayor , built the fountain , with an adjoining washroom , to Cortejosso , which together with the fountain of Binzale and well Cortesusu guaranteed to Aidomaggiore an unlimited supply of drinking water. Electric lighting was made public in 1934 and between 1935-36 he was made the block for elementary and middle schools , where before there was the church of San Giorgio with an adjoining cemetery. ll 1953 saw the construction of a paved road Borore and the Church of Santa Maria delle Grazie, while 1955 saw the start of work of the building that asylum will be completed only eight years later. In the '60s we realized the water network in the country and , in the years 1966-1974 , the asphalting , concreting and asphalt of the streets.


  Area Sennariolo, Modolo, Santu Lussurgiu
Scano di Montiferro is a town in the historical region of Oristano , mountains of volcanic origin. Located at an average altitude of 385 meters above sea level between the seven hills Saggioro , Santa Wrinkles , Puba , Iscala Ruggia , Cannedu , Wrinkles Bianca knows and knows or Serra Santu Giorzi , the town extends to mo'di amphitheater , in a hidden valley , protected by a ring of mountains sloping down to the sea and the Planargia . In the area of Scano of Montiferro there are many examples of religious architecture and in particular the Parish Church of St. Peter the Apostle , the Oratory of the Rosary , the Oratory of Souls and the Church and the ' Oratory of St. Nicholas ; there are also many country churches ( Church of St. George , Church of Sant 'Antioco , Church of St. Barbara , Church of the Holy Cross , Church of Santa Vittoria , Church of Pedras doladas and Church of S. Antioco ) . SorgentiTra the many environmental attractors should be counted the Natural Park of Sa Roda Manna ( recognized area of great natural interest by the Department of Defense of the Environment) and the park of Sant 'Antioco (located about 6 km from the village) rich sources . The City of Scano also abounds with examples of Civilization Nuragica (1700 , 1500-600 BC). In its territory there are as many as 47 nuraghis , including the three-lobed of Nurtaddu , the tritorre sa de Mura Mazzala and the complex four-sided sa de Mura Nuracale that was the most important inhabited center of reference for all the area . There are also several graves of giant , Domus de Janas and menhirs .


  Area Torre Grande, Oristano, Cuglieri
Mari Ermi offers the tourist a long beach with a background of bright white quartz, with stretches of sandy ocher very end. The beach is enclosed by high dunes and vegetation low and hugging the ground and extends between the sea and the lake that bears his name. Its shape is similar to that of the most famous beach of Arutas, but has a greater variety of colors, including clear, deep blue sea and the white sand, alternating golden ocher.


BOSA  Apri
Loc. BOSA - SARDEGNA  Navigatore
  Area Modolo, Sennariolo, Scano di Montiferro
The territory of Bosa is of exceptional scenic and natural interest , among the most beautiful of Sardinia, which are represented in almost all ecotems characteristic of the island ( marine, coastal , river and mountain ) , enriched by the presence of historical and archaeological evidence . From a botanical point of view the area is characterized by a great variety of plant species from the Mediterranean to the forests of holm oak and cork oak . From the point of view of wildlife the area has international importance as 58 nesting species protected under EU Directives and International Conventions ratified by the Italian State . Among these, of particular interest is the presence of the last Italian colony of griffon vulture . The area is scarcely populated , the only human presence is the traditional shepherds , and looks hardly accessible to outsiders , and for the conformation of the complex and rugged territory , and the absence of slopes and trails used by hikers inexperienced . We invite you to discover it in all its incomparable beauty, without damaging the delicate balance in strict compliance with the ecotems that constitute it.


  Area Isili, Aritzo, Gergei
Gateway to Barbagia, Lacock is a green oasis surrounded by massive relief . The origins of ancient and precious , are demonstrated by the presence of an environmental, cultural , historical and archaeological heritage of great value. The urban fabric of Lacock expresses unequivocally the history of this country. The first core perched at the foot of the castle dates back to the Middle Ages through the winding streets of the old town houses overlooking the low profile, with walls of stone and mud , or , less frequently, plastered with a mixture of lime and silica sand of the place, is the case of the districts of Corongiu Romao're , Pitzie'dda . Modern hand, is the part of the village built around the neoclassical architecture of the Palace Aymerich and the Municipal House , whose facade was rebuilt by the Summit on the original design engineer Balestri . In its urban development , Lacock shows clear signs of change and growth of the place, also determined by a more equitable distribution of resources , after liberation from feudal power of many families of farmers and shepherds. Until the first half of '800 , the epicenter of political, economic and feudal Lacock resided in the Castle and the surrounding park . Only the parish church, dedicated to Saints Ambrose and Ignatius, seemed to breathe in absolute freedom. Today, the front elevation of the ecclesiastical structure , which manifests renovations over time have marred the score late Gothic original . The first step to learn about Lacock , can not begin with a visit to the birthplace of St. Ignatius of Lacock , all 'inside of the center. St. Ignatius is the most revered saint of the island of Sardinia and the celebrations in his honor are held in August , attracting thousands of visitors every year . Lacock is a paradise for botanists and reserve many surprises to those who carefully explores the territory. A witness to the special natural interest , rich in biodiversity , there is the orchid of Sardinia, an endemic species that finds its highest concentration in this zone . Inside the Garden Aymerich we can admire the gigantic Himalayan cedar , beech and the Pendulum Colletia cruciata ( a rare plant with leaves forming a very attractive many small fighter planes ) . You can admire the Magnolia grandiflora , the Thuia orientalis and Taxus baccata , known as the ' Tree of Death. But it is inside the park Aymerich that we can observe the many botanical species , which can not go unnoticed among the majestic cedar of Lebanon and the Corsican pine . Just water is one of the major attractions of the park abundant in all seasons , it creates an atmosphere of incredible charm and shows unusual for a region such as Sardinia , endemically dry . The fulcrum of the attractive waterfall is greater . Another wealth of Lacock is the medieval castle , inside the park Aymerich , composed of a more ancient than the other, a rectangular building , perhaps a tower, crossed by a monumental step with a barrel vault and preceded by an entrance arch , which originally opened into a ' large courtyard . On the right side of the passage is an epigraph walled part of most segments , citing the presence of a door and a date : 1053 . Adjacent to the fortified gate facing south -west , stands the palace itself, a noble body wall , embellished with doors and windows, elegant frames of which are preserved Gothic- Catalan residence of the Lords of the manor of Lacock until the first half of 800 .


  Area Sardara, Masullas, Sanluri
The original name of the village was Forru until January 24, 1863 , the incumbent mayor John the Baptist Tuveri known jurist , philosopher and parliamentarian , proposed to change the name due to postal problems with the neighboring country , called Villanovaforru . Several proposals were made and eventually chose Collinas because of the hills surrounding the town . There is no certainty the exact origin of the name Forru , probably derived from the Latin word forum (because it denoted his position in a small valley between the hills ), or by terms indicating the ovens used to prepare the crockery or melt metals sign the strong orientation towards craft in the area. The country Collinas , is located in the Middle Campidano , located on the eastern end of the Valley Marmillan . In its territory , are found important archaeological sites ranging from the prehistoric to the Roman period , a sign of historical continuity in the home country . The history of the territory of Collinas has its origins in prehistoric times and nuragica , as evidenced by the presence of numerous findings nuragici , especially in the area of the plateau and Seddon know Caudeba Pranu Mannu. The presence of the remains of a spa instead denote the full activity of the area, during the Roman era , but it was mainly during the Middle Ages , which Collinas began to take on the characteristics of the country, still recognizable today, in its urban structure. The old village was part of the parish of Marmilla first and then of the parish of Montis or Montangia in the United giudicale of Arborea. In 1324 was born the United Catalan - Aragonese of Sardinia and the rents of the estate were granted by King Hugh II of Arborea , William Oulomar . Because of the war between the Kingdom of Sardinia and the Kingdom of Arborea the Oulomar lost control of the feud. Collinas , became part of the Kingdom of Sardinia, was administered by the Crown until 1430 , when the whole curatoria Manrique was given to Eleanor for her wedding with Berengar Bertran Carroz and was then annexed to the county of Quirra. In 1511 it passed under William Raymond Collinas Centelles who kept it until 1674 , when it was acquired by Pasquale Francis Borgia . The feud was granted Catala' and in 1798 it was bought by Osorio , who kept it until redemption in 1838. By Royal Decree of 1863 the country changed its name from Forru in Collinas . Today, Collinas belongs to the Diocese of Ales - Terralba .


Altitude: 319 mt. a.s.l.  Area Abbasanta, Aidomaggiore, Bidoń
Norbury is located on the eastern edge of the basalt plateau of Guilcier and overlooking the wide valley of the Rio Siddo , the cradle of the agglomeration of Domusnovas Canales, an integral part of the City . In the East you can see the valley Omodeo drawn from the lake and the ridges of the hills of Barbagia. The territory of Norghiddo , a little more than 10 km , looks like a wide corridor , the average width is 2.5 km , with an area of 2620 hectares in the fertile southern section , where you will find the core of Domusnovas Canales . This area is characterized by forests and abundant wildlife ; for this reason it is subject to agricultural and pastoral activities . The territory of Norbury is a flat strip of Monte Ferru (or Montiferru ) . The surface is due to basaltic volcanic eruptions of the volcano closely. The largest river is the Rio Siddo or Siddu right tributary of the Tirso, which flows into the artificial lake Omodeo . Important sources are those of Suei , placed at the origin of the valley of the Rio Benas . There are also fountains and Orconale Montigu , S'A'inas , Sos Bidiles , Ampridorzos , alinos , de Seurra and de Sella or Mulinu ' Etzu . The latter is indicated by the popular tradition for the healing of the sick. A Norbello the year begins with the fires of St. Anthony Abbot , as expressed by the rite de Sa Tuva (the trunk of an old oak tree , now so old cable ) : ritual is an opportunity for young people aged couple do the their entry into the society of their fathers. You know Tuva was erected in the square defendant and the night between 16 and 17 January will be burnt . The symbolism of the sa tuva , with erect toward the sky, expresses the ancient agrarian cult of fertility. Other rituals and festivities belonging to the tradition are: - Rites of Candlemas (February 2) ; - Carnival, with dances, masks, equestrian events , cakes and dishes typical characteristics. - The Passover rites , with the Via Crucis and the Solemnity of Palm Sunday , with particular functions in the country. - The syncretic celebration of St. John the Baptist (June 24) , with the traditional divination and public events , with the procession of confraternities , accompanied by horsemen. - The Massai , a threshing ended, celebrating St. Isidore , with the intervention of the yokes festively decorated with garlands of flowers and fruits of the field . - July 15 is the feast of the great patrons of San Quirico and Giuditta Santa .


Altitude: 11 mt. a.s.l.  Area Cuglieri, Torre Grande, Oristano
  Brochure PDF
The Sinis peninsula is one of the central-western Sardinia which is located between the Bay of Is Arenas in the north, and the Gulf of Oristano in the south. In the sea to the west of the peninsula lie the island of Mal di Ventre ( isula de Malu Entu in the Sardinian language ) and the Catalan Cliff ( On Cadelanu in Sardinian ) . The Sinis peninsula extending north- south from Capo Mannu to Capo San Marco, for a length of about 19 km in west-east direction from the Sea of Sardinia until the pond of Cabras, a width ranging from 5 8 km . To clarify the east boundary can be considered in the north ( between Is Arenas and the pond of Cabras ) the line drawn between the most northern part of the pond of Cabras and the channel outlet to the sea Pond Is Benas , south ( between the pond of Cabras and the Gulf of Oristano), the drainage canal that connects the pond of Cabras to the sea through the Pond Mardini . Geologically the Sinis is mostly alluvial area ricolmata by sediment from erosion near Oristano. the collection of debris led to unite with the mainland areas to the north - west and south -west of the peninsula that were almost certainly the islets separated from Sardinia. As evidence of this ancient archipelago is present, a few sea miles west of Sinis, the tiny island of Mal di Ventre.


  Area Sennariolo, Santu Lussurgiu, Scano di Montiferro
Archittu is a fraction of the marine part of the town of Cuglieri , in the province of Oristano , bordering the village of Torre pit , which closes with the North Bay Is Arenas.La resort takes its name from the rock natural ( in Sardinian just S'archittu ) overlooking the cove located directly next to the resort and can be reached on foot thanks to a dirt road in the summer months , after sunset the arc is lit , creating a tourist attraction. From this they usually dive the young and not so young , in 2001 the rear arc of the rock was the scene of the World Championship of diving from great heights. The arch , 15 meters high , is the result of sea erosion of an ancient cave formed by limestone , marl and deposits fossiliferi.Vicino Archittu is located in the archaeological site of Cornus , and generally throughout the area there were the events surrounding the end of the rebellion Ampsicora during the Second Punic War. Studies suggest that in the area of the Arch there was the city's port.


  Area Bidoń, Sorradile, Austis
  Brochure PDF
Sheep's cheese, among the most renowned in Sardinia, boasts among its ancestors types dairy island that date back to the end of '700. And 'the holder of the Designation of Origin since 1991, first great consecration for a typical cheese particularly representative of the Sardinian landscape, and the Protected Designation of Origin in Europe since 1996. The PDO Pecorino Sardo in two types, Dolce and Mature, is exclusively produced in Sardinia. The whole sheep's milk, inoculated with lactic acid bacteria in the area of origin and coagulated on calf rennet, gives a curd that after half cooking is welcomed into cylindrical molds, purged in the right measure serum, salted and matured for a short period, from 20 to 60 days to get the type Pecorino Sardo Dolce, while curing times over 2 months requires matured Pecorino Cheese. The cheese, cylindrical in shape with flat sides barefoot straight or slightly convex, in the two types presents differences related to some special technological. Pecorino Sardo Dolce, with weight ranging from 1.0 to 2.3 kilograms, has a smooth crust, thin, white straw color, a white paste, soft, elastic, compact or with rare holes and a sweet and aromatic taste or slightly acidic. Pecorino Sardo Mature, with weight ranging from 1.7 to 4.0 kilograms, has a smooth rind, firm, pale yellow color that darkens as it matures; the paste is compact with sparse and small holes, white tending to straw in the more mature forms, which are also greater consistency and a certain grit; the taste is pleasantly spicy enough to make it valuable both as a table cheese that grating. In order to ensure traceability and labeling of the product, the production regulations of the Designation provides affixing, at the time of release in the production area, a flag with the words PS PDO and the toll business identification and production, all 'act for consumption, identification with a label in the annulus outside the logo giving the name derived from the words Pecorino Sardo DOP, separated by a narrow cone with base slightly arched blue, and a green marker or blue to identify, respectively, the forms of pecorino sweet and mature pecorino.


  Area Bidoń, Sorradile, Austis
  Brochure PDF
The Fiore Sardo was the cheese of the shepherds of the island, one produced in greater amounts, until the milk processing passed by shepherds to industrial and Pecorino Romano became the first Sardinian cheese. The name kind flower apparently derives from the use that historically it was the flower of the thistle as rennet, but other witnesses say that you would use for its manufacture wooden molds wild pear, chestnut, or on the bottom of which was carved like a flower all'asfodelo or pink peony. Each manufacturer and in some cases each municipality was recognizable thanks to this kind of brand. It 'a cheese noble, ancient, strong personality, which sometimes presents harshness organoleptic decidedly anti-modern, especially when it is very seasoned. And 'the typical product of the fold of the inner areas of Sardinia and right in Nuoro, and especially in Barbagia, finds its place of choice. The traditional method of production is that which is already using them ag dawn of civilization and has essentially remained unchanged. Raw milk, whole, in Sarda breed sheep, is placed just milked in a copper and coagulated at an average temperature of 32, 35 ° using lamb rennet normally produced by the same pastor. After 20-30 minutes, depending on the season, the curd is broken finely, until the size of a grain of rice and it deposits on the bottom. Then, without subjecting the mass to any type of cooking, collects patiently from the bottom of the boiler to pieces and is deposited in the characteristic molds in the shape of a d cone said pischeddas. At this point the shepherd-dairyman submit the form pressure and numerous frugature, to get the most of the whey. When it is very firm, the shape is extracted and laid to rest for about 24 hours, after which plunges into brine, where it remains generally from 8 to 12 hours every kilo of cheese. Later forms go on a trellis of reeds, knows cannizza, usually near the fire, where dry and smoke it for about two weeks. Finally go to mature, in a cool, dry, ground, where they remain for months, according to the style of the dairyman. Once you reach the right maturity, is periodically anointed with a mixture of wine vinegar, olive oil and salt. It is a simple technology, primordial, but that requires extraordinary attention by the cheesemaker, slow gestures, and a lot of patience. The aim was to get a cheese that was intended for the dry season, when the sheep do not give milk. seasonality Production takes place from December to June, the seasoning for at least four months.


Loc. BIDONI - SARDEGNA  Navigatore
  Area Sorradile, Nughedu Santa vittoria, Norbello
The City of Bidoni' is located in the heart of Sardinia , 260 meters above sea level . It is located within the geographic Barigadu and is the center that, in the most direct route, overlooking the lake Omodeo , where you can enjoy a wonderful panorama . The territory of this region has the characteristics of a plateau trachyte - tuff , with a typical vegetation of the bush, inframmezata clearings extension media , used mainly for grazing cattle . The predominant tree species are holm oak and cork. Surrounded by the mountain chain of Marghine Bidoni' center has a rich history with the famous Temple of Jupiter, unique architectural landscape of the island . The origin of the name comes from the combination of two Phoenician words : beth which means country , oni which means the source, thus indicating the area particularly rich in water , due to the proximity of the lake Omodeo that today represents , not only one of the largest artificial lakes in Europe , but especially an ecotem of fundamental importance for the environmental tem of this region. The territory of Bidoni' has many attractions both natural character , and historical , archaeological and cultural heritage. First of all is definitely the Omodeo lake , reservoir among the largest in Europe. Arisen by the damming of the river Tirso , its construction was completed in 1924 , with the aim of regulating the river floods , generate electricity and irrigate the plains of Campidano . In addition to being a great work of architecture , the lake plays a Omodeo ' imporanza strategically throughout the country, creating a rich and diverse ecotem of species. The woodlands are located on its shores are characterized mainly by holm oaks, cork oaks, poplars , elms , tamarisk and laurels. The faunal species are formed largely by birds , such as the roller, the osprey , the pilgrim , moorhens , herons and ducks . The lake represents a major tourist attraction, as the site for many water sports , including conottaggio , windsurfing, water skiing and fishing. As for religious architecture, worthy of mention is the church of St. Peter, an example of Romanesque- Tuscan preserved without alteration. In the last century continued to receive burials in and around the ancient ruins of the cropped Benedictine monastery which was annexed . Dedicated to St. Peter , his reconstruction dates back to 1200 . And yet the church of Santa Maria Ossolo , novenario country of first medieval located about two kilometers from the village , was rebuilt and enlarged in 1600. According to oral tradition , the church would be built as an act of devotion to the Virgin by a Bidoni' soldier , that he would fight against the Moors . Finally, there is the church of St. John the Baptist , was rebuilt in 1970 on the same tem as the old one . The first building was erected in the late- Gothic-Aragonese in scenic location , accentuated by a flight of steps , towards the middle of the seventeenth century , but was demolished in 1966.


Loc. ORISTANO - SARDEGNA  Navigatore
  Area Torre Grande, Cuglieri, Cabras

Oristano e' uno dei capoluoghi di provincia della regione Sardegna: si trova nel golfo omonimo a nord della pianura del Campidano e sulla sua sinistra e' percorsa dal fiume Tirsi. E'' uno dei centri economici principali della Sardegna grazie alle sue industrie ed alla attivita agricola. Le origini di Aristanis non sono documentabili quindi si attribuisce attendibilita storica ad un documento del XVI come prima segnalazione di insediamento stabile: uno storico sardo scrive che nel 1070 e' avvenuto un esodo della popolazione della citta Tharros a causa del dominio saraceno. Nel XII secolo divenne capitale di Arborea (zona antica della Sardegna) e conobbe un notevole sviluppo economico. In seguito venne dominata dagli Aragonesi e dagli Spagnoli. Nel 1720 venne annessa al Piemonte insieme all''intera isola nel Regno di Sardegna. Da vedere: Torre di San Cristoforo: questa possente torre viene chiamata anche Torre di Mariano II dal nome del giudice d''Arborea che la fece costruire nel 1291. Questa torre e' tutto quello che rimane di un''antica cinta muraria medievale distrutta nel XIX secolo. E'' strutturata su pianta quadrilatera su tre piani ed ha il lato verso la citta aperto; in cima al baluardo e' presente una piccola torre campanaria merlata del XV secolo. Casa di Eleonora d''Arborea: questa casa e' situata in via Parpaglia ed e' un interessante esempio di architettura del XVI secolo. Presenta caratteristiche rinascimentali e nella facciata presenta l''emblema del Casato d''Arborea (un albero sradicato). Eleonora d''Arborea rivesti un''importante carica amministrativa ma e' molto ricordata come eroina locale per la sua difesa dell''impedenza della provincia ocntro gli Aragonesi. Ad Oristano in suo onore c''e' anche una piazza ed un monumento. Cattedrale di Oristano: la cattedrale della Beata Vergine Assunta si trova in piazza del Duomo ed e' affiancata da un bel campanile a pianta ottagonale e cupola a cipolla. E'' stata costruita nel XIII secolo e conserva ancora caratteristiche della sua struttura originaria, tra cui la Cappella del Rimadio, la base del Campanile e parte dell''abside. Nel corso dei secoli questo edificio e' stato rimaneggiato: alcune caratteristiche barocche furono aggiunte nel XVIII secolo. L''interno del Duomo e' strutturato su pianta a croce latina , possiede tre cupole di cui la prima a destra custodisce una statua in legno dell''Annunziata (opera di Nino Pisano).


Altitude: 220 mt. a.s.l.  Area Isili, Collinas, Laconi
The complex nuragico BARUMINI, as it is seen today with the majestic dolmen surrounded by a large village is the result of occupation of the site lasted for almost 2000 years, from 1600 BC approximately, until the third century AD, the Roman period. Initially the dolmen complex consisted of five towers, the central one, also called the Keep, and four side towers joined by straight walls, within which lies the inner courtyard with a well with active source today. The towers were all formed by two superimposed levels and still have intact the ceiling of the first floor, while the second are a few rows of masonry with the exception of the central tower, which houses internally both floors. The highest part of the tower, where there were terraces, was very finely built with blocks smaller than those used below, squared with much more precision and stacked in rows that ended with protruding corbels. These blocks, which fell from their original positions, were found in large quantities during the excavations of the dolmen and are currently exposed, partially reassembled along the fence of the archaeological site. Around this dolmen was a primitive defense wall with three towers that surrounded the property and that it was perhaps partially integrated with wooden palisades. This phase, which is given during the Bronze MEDIUM around since 1600 BC until 1200 B.C. ended just around the latter date, when after severe structural damage due to reasons largely unknown, they proceeded to a large-scale renovation of the complex, which completely transformed the look. The entire complex was rifasciato by a massive masonry which basically doubled the total thickness of the wall, the entrance was moved from the south side to the west side and rather than be at the ground level as before, was placed in (see more at http :/ / several meters in height, making it possible to access only using a wooden ladder. The ancient rampart was built and arrived to cover the entire circumference of the dolmen, the wall was punctuated by towers, with the addition of four new towers reached the total number of seven. It was then that the dolmen was given the massive and imposing appearance that he still retains. This second phase ended in the Late Bronze Age and the Late Bronze, when the area was abandoned for a certain period of time. Around the tenth century, given the reoccupation of the site and the construction of the first huts, which will occupy not only the surrounding area but also included within the ancient rampart, often exploiting the surviving masonry addossarvi for new construction. The Nuraghe this period had already begun the long period of decline that will continue throughout the course of the Iron Age and Roman imperial era until, during which it was used as a quarry for building materials, as can be seen by observing many village huts partially built with blocks clearly from the dolmen and even in Roman times, as a place of burial, as evidenced by numerous graves with their kits, found during gliscavi within the structure, especially in the inner courtyard that in this was already buried for a considerable height.



A journey sailing on an emerald sea among small and big coves with snow-white sand and this is Sardinia, an Island that strikes its visitors with natural contrasts, the lights and colours of a region that guards old traditions, amid wilderness and pure nature. Situated in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, Sardinia is a mainly mountainous region, without high peaks, with a vast and charming, yet bittersweet, natural environment. In fact, the presence of man does not seem to affect this territory; great surfaces still preserve their natural composition, luxuriant woods with even millenary trees, small desert areas and marshes inhabited by deer, wild horses and rapacious birds. The sea reigns over this region with its colours and it creeps into the coves, along the coasts, the beaches and the most popular resorts. An example is the Costa Smeralda (Emerald Coast) with its pearl, Porto Cervo, that combines the history and culture of a region that has old traditions with a joyful and colourful nightlife. Porto Cervo was named after its enchanting cove, which looks like the antlers of a deer; the Old Port is considered the best-equipped tourist port in the Mediterranean Sea. Porto Rotondo is also a famous location; it overlooks the wide Gulf of Cugnana and is full of villas and piazzas embedded in a splendid natural environment. Those who prefer the mountain to the sea can explore the area of Gennargentu, the greatest mountain range in Sardinia, with its peculiar landscape, where Man and Nature joined one another and decided that the latter should have the priority. This region is rich in flora and fauna, with its mouflons, golden eagles, Sardinian deer and several species that are now threatened with extinction. Among its wonders, Sardinia offers the visitor the Nuragic complexes scattered all over the territory. These are unique monuments in the world that testify an ancient culture, that remains partly mysterious, and that went from the fifteenth century to the sixteenth BC. The Nuragic constructions were built using great blocks of stone and develop around a central cone-shaped tower that transmits strength and power. These are archaeological sites where it is possible to grasp the archaic charm of ancient rituals and domestic life. Of these many constructions, the complex of Barumini, in the province of Cagliari, is among the sites in the UNESCO World Heritage list. The provinces of the region are: Cagliari (regional capital), Carbonia-Iglesias, Nuoro, Olbia-Tempio, Oristano, Medio Campidano, Sassari and Ogliastra.