Altitude: 24 mt. a.s.l. Area Monreale, Capaci, Isola delle Femmine
The Teatro Massimo Vittorio Emanuele in Palermo is the largest opera theater building in Italy, and one of the largest in Europe, the third-largest architectural after the Ope'ra National de Paris and the Vienna State Opera. Reception rooms, halls, galleries and monumental staircases surrounding the theater itself, forming an architectural complex of grandiose proportions.
Altitude: 32 mt. a.s.l. Area Alcamo, Cinisi, Punta Raisi
Ciammarita is a small village in the municipality of Trappeto and its beach is several hundred meters long. A very beautiful beach made of fine golden sand, all free, but there are no beaches catering services and bars. A small paradise where you can enjoy breezy air and the sea always a little 'whimsical.
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE SAN CALOGERO Apri
Loc. RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE SAN CALOGERO, PALERMO, ITALIA - SICILIA
43 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Casteldaccia, Montemaggiore Belsito, Alia
Monte San Calogero geologically is a large anticline (folded portion of the earth's crust by tectonic forces that do emerge) that sinks in E-SE direction. More than a mount would be more correct to call it mountain of San Calogero tem looks like a mighty massif composed of limestone and dolomite originated from the Mesozoic onwards, siliceous layers and the so-called Numidian flysch (of sedimentary).
Loc. VILLA GIULIA, VIA LINCOLN, ., PALERMO, ITALIA - SICILIA
39 Km from RIDOCCO
Altitude: 7 mt. a.s.l. Area Monreale, Capaci, Isola delle Femmine
Villa Giulia is born, during the period from 1775 to 1778, outside the city walls, where once there was the aristocratic garden of the Chiaramonte family, the Counts of Modica, near the sea, on the plain of St. Erasmus. Expanded around 1866, became the first public park in Palermo.
Created by architect Nicholas Palermo Palma and at the behest of the magistrate and governor of the city, Antonio La Grua, Marquis of Regalmici and Prince Carini, takes its name from that of the wife of the Spanish viceroy Marcantonio Colonna, the viceregina Woman Julia Avalos Guevara.
Johann Wolfgang Goethe called it the most beautiful corner of the earth and that is where - during his visits to Palermo - stopped to read Homer.
Conceived according to a rigorous and classic geometric design, the villa has a square plan and is enclosed by an iron railing, placed on a wall.
Altitude: 10 mt. a.s.l. Area Capaci, Isola delle Femmine, Monreale
The beaches of the beautiful province of Palermo are more attractive than the real havens which occur along the northern coast of the island of Sicily, with harmony and order, leaving gaping their many visitors. The beach of Arenella / Virgin Mary is located near Mount Pellegrino and belongs to the fraction of the Virgin Mary. It is a wide sandy beach on which there is also a feature of the trap with all its anchors on display. Tranquility and peace are at home.
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA PIZZO CANE, PIZZO TRIGNA E GROTTA MAZZAMUTO
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA PIZZO CANE, PIZZO TRIGNA E GROTTA MAZZAMUTO Apri
Loc. RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA PIZZO CANE, PIZZO TRIGNA E GROTTA MAZZAMUTO, PALERMO, ITALIA - SICILIA
35 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Caccamo, Santa Flavia, Mezzojuso
This mountain range has not only limestone due to sedimentation of the shells and skeletons of animals in the depths of the ancient sea Mesozoic era, but also the presence of silica walls, arranged in parallel lamellae to mixed incoherent elements (shale) formed by the 'slow and steady accumulation over the centuries from the husks of micro-organisms (diatoms and radiolarians) and siliceous sponges in the seabed. Not only on Pizzo Cane, inside limestones, there are intrusions of volcanic rocks that come to surface.
Loc. VIA MONTE JATO, PALERMO, ITALIA - SICILIA
22 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Monreale, Roccamena, Trappeto
The archaeological site of the city of Iaitas is located in the municipalities of San Giuseppe Jato and San Cipirello, Mount Jato overlooking the valley of the river of the same name, in the hinterland of the province of Palermo, in Sicily. The human presence in the area is attested since Neolithic times, the female figurines and animals on the walls of the cave of Mirabello. The first village witnessed by archaeological findings has been dated by some of the eighth century BC but it is probably much older; of its inhabitants do not know much but it seems that they were Elimi. The urban area, approximately 40 acres, is naturally defended by the steep cliffs to the north and north-west, and by walls on the eastern and southern slopes. It was established in the place because of its location could control the way for Panormos, and the valley of the Belice, which represented the easiest way for the south coast and Selinunte.
Starting from the sixth century B.C. you can see the influence of Greek culture both in ceramics in religion with the introduction of the cult of Aphrodite. It's that time of the founding of the Iaitas proper, fitted with the classic features of the poleis; a theater, a temple, the agora, beautiful houses and craft shops. In the fourth century B.C. Iaitas and western Sicily, were under the dominion of Carthage. Diodorus relates that around 275 B.C. the city was attacked by Pyrrhus. During the First Punic War (264-241 BC), surrendered to the Romans, and since then, according to Plutarch, it was tax. There were no reports of the Byzantine period. We know that it was occupied by the Arabs, and that under the rule of the Swabian these revolted. Frederick II destroyed it in 1246, and deported the people to Lucera in Apulia; Since then the site was abandoned. The excavations carried out since 1971 by the Institute of Archaeology, University of Zurich, carrying out regular excavations made it possible to bring to light the theater with a capacity of about 3000 people, which is built against the mountain. The scenic area was adorned with four statues. In the south of the ancient city stood the agora surrounded by arcades with the Council room to the west. In the residential part, besides the temple of Aphrodite (destroyed in the first century AD), there was a mansion of the greek period with a peristyle courtyard.
The theater is a theater of Segesta greek ancient city of Segesta in the archaeological site of Segesta Calatafimi, Italian town in the province of Trapani in Sicilia.Il theater, which can be dated around the middle of the fourth century BC (or II BC) is placed at the top of Mount Barbaro, opposite to that of the temple, about 440 meters high. Although not Segesta was a Greek city, the theater of the Greek canon. Seven wedges divide the seats of the spectators. The separations are done in travertine. The horizontal division of the theater (diazoma) allowed the shift of viewers from section to section of the theater. The upper zone is partially destroyed, and very little is also the scene, according to scholars who would have been decorated with columns and pillars. The auditorium has a diameter of 63.60 m. The theater could accommodate over 4,000 people. Restored, it is regularly used for theater performances.
Altitude: 212 mt. a.s.l. Area Roccamena, Contessa Entellina, San Cipirello
Poggioreale ( Puggiuriali in Sicilian) is an Italian town of 1,576 inhabitants in the province of Trapani in Sicily. The village is 67 km from Trapani , 61 km from Palermo , 120 km from Agrigento is situated on a hilly area (approximately 150 m above sea level) in the Belice Valley , near the river of the same name . It has an area of 37 km ² and a population density of 46 inhab. / Km ². The name comes from the Latin Poggioreale podus regalis (or Poggio del Re ). The town was founded as an agricultural center in 1642 by the Marquis of Gibellina Bite Francis , who in 1643 received the title of Prince of Poggioreale . In 1968 there was a violent shock that hit the Belice Valley destroying the city . Ruins remain , even today , bear witness to the life before 1968 . After the earthquake , it was decided not to restore these ruins believing their recovery uneconomical and potentially dangerous. The town was rebuilt a few kilometers downstream , with modern and futuristic ( for the time) .
In the time it has given rise to a tourist passing by, interested in the splendid ruins of the old city , called by some The Ghost town , destroyed by the earthquake of 1968 , but remained miraculously intact in the road network and in some the most representative buildings . At the Public Library is home to an ethno-anthropological museum of country life , and are also exposed some of the finds recovered during the excavations of Monte Castellazzo . In the new center you can admire the new Piazza Elymian by Paolo Portuguese, The Bus Stop and the Chapel of St. Anthony Franco made by Pure .
Loc. RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE CAMMARATA, LOCALITA' SAN GIOVANNI GEMINI, SAN GIOVANNI GEMINI AG, IT - SICILIA
34 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Alia, Burgio, Montemaggiore Belsito
The picnic area Savochello-Monte Cammarata is located in a beautiful pine forest with a recreational area for children, which can accommodate up to 300 visitors. To get there, follow the road that leads from Santo Stefano di Quisquina Cammarata. Once at the forest domain called Ledera, marked by specific signs, we must take the only road that leads to the top of the mountain. The area is also equipped with toilets, cooking areas, bike paths and nature trails.
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE GENUARDO E S.MARIA DEL BOSCO
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE GENUARDO E S.MARIA DEL BOSCO Apri
Loc. RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE GENUARDO E S.MARIA DEL BOSCO - SICILIA
13 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Roccamena, Burgio, Ribera
The natural aspect of the reserve represents what remains of the ancient forests that once covered these areas, but not all. Within the protected area there are different environments: Monte Genuardo (1,180 m), the area of Santa Maria del Bosco and Bosco Location of the Pomo, but the whole area, from the geological point of view, is affected by slow and massive landslides that by associating the action of surface erosion of rocks, led to the formation of huge boulders and disjointed, the largest of which is found the settlement of Adranon.
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA BOSCO DELLA FICUZZA Apri
Loc. GODRANO - SICILIA
15 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Mezzojuso, Casteldaccia, Roccamena
There are many and varied natural environments of this reserve: one can speak of a real mosaic of vegetation that among his weave includes the oak forest, the cork wood, the wood of deciduous oaks, the Cerreto, shrubs and bushes , rocky areas and semirupestri, wetlands (rivers and lakes), grasslands and scrubland pasture. So much environmental diversity involves a rich overview of species: more than 1,000 plant species.
Cuba Sottana Castle of Cuba , Cuba or, more simply , it is a pavilion of delight , originally in one of the Regi Sollazzi of the Norman kings of Sicily. Palermo is located in the homonymous district . It's called petticoat to distinguish it from Cuba soprano , now incorporated in the eighteenth century Villa Di Napoli . Cuba was built in 1180 by King William II , in the middle of a large park that was called Jannat al- ard , Genoardo . The Genoardo also included Cuba Soprana and Cubula , and was part of the sunny or Sollazzi Regi , a circuit of splendid palaces of the Norman court located around Palermo. The original use of the Cuba pavilion was of delights, that is, a place where the King and his Court could spend pleasant hours in the cool fountains and gardens of citrus , resting during the day or attending festivals and ceremonies in the evening . Cuba Sottana today appears quite ungainly tower-shaped proportions . The explanation is simple . It was surrounded by an artificial lake almost two and a half meters deep . The larger opening , on the northern front , facing the water to a height inexplicable today . From the outside, the building is rectangular in shape , 31.15 meters long and 16.80 wide . At the center of each side protrude four bodies in the shape of a tower. The body most prominent was the only access to the building from the mainland. The exterior walls are adorned with pointed arches . At the bottom open some windows separated by pillars of masonry. The thick walls and few windows were due to climatic requirements , providing greater resistance to heat of the sun. In addition, the largest area of open windows was on the north-eastern side , because they are better prepared to receive the fresh winds from the sea , even tempered and humidified by the waters of the surrounding basin . The interior of Cuba was divided into three rooms aligned and communicating with each other . At the center of the internal environment are the remains of a beautiful marble fountain , a typical element of Arab necessary to freshen the air . The central hall was decorated with muqarnas , and ornamental architectural solution similar to a half- dome.
The Cubula (also known as Little Cuba ) is a small square-shaped building with pointed arches on each side decorated with rusticated bands and surmounted by a hemispherical dome in Arab-Norman style in red color .
The pavilion , built in 1184 by architects Fatimids , is located where once flowed the waters that fed the lake Alberira immense garden and is located within the Park Genoardo commissioned by King William II of Sicily , called the Good . Inside the park, it was possible to admire many kiosks , stately mansions , fountains , ponds , trees of all kinds ( especially citrus and magnolia ) , as well as Cuba Sottana , better known as the Castle of Cuba 's why the king had chose it for the name of which derives from Gennai to Genoardo ard , namely: Heaven on Earth. Due to its special location, so immersed in the green, the Cubula was often used as a resting place by the king and his guests. The particular hewn stone building rustication , with its slightly recessed pointed to three rings , of which the central one with a distinctive raised pattern , reminiscent of other churches in the appearance of the Sicilian capital , such as the Basilica of La Magione and Church of the Holy Spirit. The same pattern is found in the gable of the cathedral and the bell tower of the Church of Saint Mary of the Admiral . Today the Little Cuba is located in the garden of Villa Di Napoli . Originally known as the Cuban soprano or tower Alfaina , the villa was built around the twelfth century, but it became the property of the family of Naples only in the eighteenth , before passing into the hands of Ventimiglia, then the Rao and finally of Torres. When Don Carlo Di Napoli bought it , brought considerable changes to the original structure , so as to effectively disappear Cuba Soprana and instead giving life to a typical eighteenth-century villa with dual- scale ramp opposite . Only the kiosk , a few hundred meters away from the villa, has remained unchanged over the centuries.
The Botanical Garden of Palermo is a teaching and research institution and museum of the Department of Botany , University of Palermo , which has its headquarters there . Adjacent to the Villa Giulia , it is accessed from Lincoln street , on the border of Kalsa district of Palermo. The Garden is home to over 12,000 different species of plants.
Its origin dates back to 1779 , the year in which the Academy of the Royal University , establishing the chair of Botany and Materia Medica , assigned her a small plot of land order to set up a small botanical garden to be used for the cultivation of medicinal plants useful to teaching and to public health. This first Garden soon became insufficient for the needs and in 1786 it was decided to transfer it to the one that is the current home , in the Plan of St. Erasmus , at the time notorious as the home of the fires of the Inquisition . In 1789 began the construction of the main building of the Garden, made up of a central building, the Gymnasium , and two lateral bodies , the tepidarium and the Roman Baths , designed in neo-classical style by the French architect Le'on Dufourny . Near the Gymnasium is the oldest part of the Garden, that linneo tem , also designed by the architect Le'on Dufourny with a rectangular pattern divided into four parallelograms . Upon the recommendation of the Franciscan priest Bernardino Ucria , a distinguished botanist, in this part of the garden species were arranged according to the Linnaean taxonomy , the classification tem developed by Carl von Linne and exposed in the aspects of botany in 1753 in Species Plantarum .
The new garden was opened in 1795 and in 1798 was enriched with the Aquarium , a large tank where several species of aquatic plants thrive .
In 1823 they completed the Serra Maria Carolina . The large Ficus magnolioide , which is the symbol of modern Garden , was imported in 1845 from Norfolk Island . Following successive enlargements in 1892 was reached the current extension of 10 hectares. In 1913 he was joined by a colonial garden then d. Since 1985 , the Garden is in the custody of the Department of Botany of the University of Palermo.
Loc. PIAZZA GUGLIELMO II, 1, MONREALE PALERMO, ITALY - SICILIA
34 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Palermo, Capaci, Isola delle Femmine
The Cathedral of Santa Maria Nuova is the main place of worship of Monreale, near Palermo , bishop of the Archdiocese of the same name . Built starting in 1174 under the will of William II d'Altavilla , King of Naples and Sicily from 1166 to 1189 , is famous for the rich Byzantine mosaics that decorate the interior. According to legend, William the Good , who succeeded his father on the throne of Sicily, he would fall asleep under a carob tree, caught by fatigue, while he was hunting in the woods of Monreale. Our Lady appeared to him in a dream , in which he was very devout , who revealed the secret of a truvatura with these words: In the place where you're sleeping is hidden the greatest treasure in the world : dissotterralo and costruiscici a temple in my honor . With these words the Virgin disappeared and William , confident of the revelation in a dream , he ordered that sradicasse the carob tree and you dig around . To their amazement, it was discovered a treasure in gold coins which were soon used for the construction of the Cathedral of Monreale , which were called for the creation greek Byzantine mosaic masters ( the master of the oru ) interior.
The construction of the great temple was started in 1174 and ended in 1267. It was conceived first as a territorial abbey church of the annexed Benedictine , independent chair of Palermo. In 1178 , the abbot William obtained that was erected the metropolitan archdiocese of Monreale and the abbey church became the cathedral. In the following centuries the construction , the cathedral underwent some changes. In the sixteenth century , designed by Giovanni Domenico and Fazio Gagini Gaginis , the porch was built along the left side , while that of the main facade was added in the eighteenth century. The facade, overlooking a nice square , is pressed between two bell towers , of which the left unfinished at the first order . The entrance is preceded by a portico century in the Baroque style , which opens to the outside with three round arches resting on Tuscan columns , below it, there is the portal , closed by two bronze doors , the work of Bonanno Pisano , dating back to 1185-1186 . In the upper part of the facade, ending with a low triangular pediment , it opens a lancet arched framed by a decorative blind arches interlaced with each other.
Ficuzza , 682 m above sea level, is a hamlet of the town of Corleone in the province of Palermo. The small residential enclave of the vast municipality of Monreale, is located in the center of the state-owned forest omonimo.La birth is due to the Bourbon king Ferdinand III of Sicily that here he built a hunting lodge in 1799 , called the Real Casina di Caccia, after purchasing the feuds racks , Wolf and Ficuzza , before belonging to the clergy . The king's passion for hunting led thus the birth of the first nucleus of the Real borgata.La hunting lodge was built in the grounds of Ficuzza , starting in 1799 , King Ferdinand III of Sicily , and is characterized by its rectangular facade and strict. The design of the building was drawn up by the architect Carlo royal Chenchi with changes made by the architect Joseph Venantius Marvuglia . The building has a rectangular table with neoclassical lines of the Sicilian , dominated by the group of sculptures of the god Pan and the goddess Diana with the coat of arms Bourbon . Along with the building were built smaller buildings and the central square . Around it grew over time the small town .
In 1871 he was entrusted Ficuzza Forestry Administration , who will administer the woods, the building , the township and the residents .
The building was reopened to the public in April 2009
Palermo (dal greco pan-ormos, 'tutto porto') e' il capolugogo di regione della Sicilia, sorge nel golfo omonimo, nella Conca d'Oro (regione nordoccidentale della Sicilia in provincia di Palermo, ricca di rigogliose colture soprattutto di agrumeti), circondata da insenature bellissime ed incontaminate e bellissimi frutteti. Storicamente sorse come porto fenicio e nel I secolo a.c. divenne un importante municipio romano. Successivamente fu sotto il dominio bizantino e nell'831 i Saraceni la trasformarono in capitale di un emirato. Nel XI-XIII secolo Palermo ebbe un picco di sviluppo economico e commerciale sotto i Normanni-Svevi. In particolare sotto il regno di Federico II la citta ebbe un fiorentte sviluppo artistico e culturale. In seguito purtroppo venne mal governata dagli Angioini e dagli Aragonesi che furono causa del degrado della citta e successivamente Palermo divenne proprieta Borbonica. Nel 1860 venne annessa al regno d'Italia. La provincia di Palermo comprende circa 82 comuni tra cui due famosissimi centri d'arte: Cefalu e Monreale. Da vedere: Cattedrale di Palermo: questa chiesa e' stata costruita alla fine del XII secolo per volere dell'arcivescovo Offamilio. Lo stile prevalente di questa costruzione e' siculo-normanno anche se e' stata piu volte rimaneggiata durante i secoli. E' strutturata su su una pianta a croce latina e nei XIX secolo vi vennero aggiunte le navate laterali e la cupola. La facciata e' racchiusa tra due torre formate da colonnine e bifore ed e' congiunta al campanile (in stile medievale) da due archi ogivali. Si ritrovano quindi elementi gotici fusi con elementi di tipo medievale. All'interno si possono ammirare elementi di stili diversi che appartengono ad epoche diverse: nella cappella a destra sono conservati i sarcofaghi di Federico II, di Costanza d'Aragona e di Enrico IV. All'interno di questa chiesa e' conservato il Tesoro che consiste di un bastone capitolare del XVII secolo e di numerosi gioielli appartenuti a Costanza d'Aragona. Nella cripta e' conservato un bellissimo sarcofago di eta romana con rilievi di muse greche e del dio Apollo. Cefalu: si tratta di un comune in provincia di Palermo che sorge su un promontorio del litorale della costa tirrenica. Si tratta di una caratteristica cittadina balneare ed un fiorente centro agricolo i cui prodotti sono le olive, gli agrumi, l'uva. Nella parte settentrionale del nucleo abitativo, si trovano resti di antichissime fortificazioni megalitiche. Molto importanti sono anche i resti di un tempio preellenico del IX secolo a.c. (tempio di Diana) che si trovano sulla Rocca, la parte rocciosa che si trova al di sopra della cattedrale della cittadina. Monreale: si tratta di un comune in provincia di Palermo (da cui dista solo 8 km) che sorge su un promontorio da cui si puo godere della vista della Conca d'Oro e della Valle dell'Oreto. Questa piccola cittadina e' nota agli amanti dell'arte in quanto possiede una bellissima cattedrale che e' uno splendido esempio di architettura medievale siciliana. In questo paese e' famosa anche la produzione di agrumi e frutta ed e' rinomato per la produzione di mosaici e la lavorazione del vimini (con cui vengono realizzate bellissime ceste).
Altitude: 51 mt. a.s.l. Area Isola delle Femmine, Monreale, Punta Raisi
The beaches of the beautiful province of Palermo are more attractive than the real havens which occur along the northern coast of the island of Sicily, with harmony and order, leaving gaping their many visitors. The beach of Capaci belongs to the homonymous municipality and is the last part swimming in the Gulf of Carini. Even at this beach you can find numerous beaches and a part of beach. The depths of this beach are very low and sandy.
Altitude: 6 mt. a.s.l. Area Monreale, Capaci, Isola delle Femmine
The area formerly occupied by the fortress of Castellammare today constitutes more than half of the Keystone pier of the port of Palermo. Inside the fortress you can visit two main areas: the so-called Tower Mastra, surrounded by a buffer zone, and a large archaeological site with a collection of buildings rather heterogeneous.
The Castello a Mare is located in the Archaeological Park of Castellammare, near the Cala district, the Lodge, north of the port of Palermo. It was the most important bulwark of the port of Palermo until the twentieth century. Until 1923 the fortress had a quadrangular walls bordered on two sides by the sea, which contained within it a huge architectural complex, the result of continuous restructuring and adaptation to various needs in the time it took.
In ancient times, the castle was composed of a large male of the Arab era, some parts of the Channel (as the Chapel of Bagnara), bastions and entrance area of the fifteenth century, a Renaissance palace, a sixteenth-century church (Our Lady of Piedigrotta, built on an ancient mosque Arabic), two low hexagonal towers and many other facilities and factories in more recent times.
Of the old buildings remain part of the tower coaming, the cylindrical tower and the body of entry. The Tower Mastra is located almost in the center of gravity of the entire area of the pier Keystone. It 'consists of a square building and a buffer zone perimeter. The second archaeological site, one that contains the surviving structures of the face of the south-west, is much larger than the first and is bounded away from Barillai, from the street F. Patti and the fish market. The general floor plan of the latter set of buildings, ditches, etc.. is rather heterogeneous but rational with respect to the concepts of the first historical phase delel defenses in relation to firearms.
It can be summarized as follows: the backbone is the wall which engage in projection outwards, different parts of the building: the entrance with the first bridge; the falsabraga and rivellino pentagonal; the second bridge; to the west and the bulwark bulwark St. Peter St. George. The first circular, the second spear. And the first is located within the second. The perimeter ditch it all together, from the outside, and is bordered by the wall of counterscarp on which they develop the way counterscarp and esplanades (overs artificial earth with sloping trend that reflects the scope and ditches).
The reserve Capo Rama is situated on a high limestone cliff and falls into one of the most beautiful stretches of coastline and naturalistically interesting of the Sicilian coast , characterized by an expanse of more than 5 hectares in palmetto scrub .
The Oasis is located in the town of Terrasini ( Pa) .
Sull ' namesake promontory stands an ancient watchtower and the coast, high and rugged , is full of pleasant scenic coves and headlands, with numerous caves created by the concomitant action of sea erosion and karst dissolution .
The ' Regional Ministry of Land and Environment , in 2000 , established the Natural Reserve of Capo Rama to be managed by the WWF Italy . In addition to the headland Cape Rama, the constraint Nature Reserve extends adjacent coastal areas , covering a total of 57 hectares of protected area divided into Zone A and Zone B.
The Reserve Cape Rama stands on a platform formed as a result of erosion due to changes in sea level of Quaternario.In this limestone outcrop of Mesozoic age that date back about 200 million years ago, these rocks were deposited on the bottom of the sea , in a carbonate platform and lagoon , and are subsequently emerged as a result of the orogenic forces which led to the formation of Sicily. The rocks are rich in fossils , which prevail among the shells of Megalodonts , Lamellibranchs large and typical of the Triassic fossils , as well as the remains of marine gastropods , corals and other fouling organisms that lived in the seabed. In these rocks has been identified a cyclic stratigraphic succession , which are alternating periods of emersion and immersion and various environments of deposition, The esplanade is affected by karsts that gave rise to the furrowed fields and deposits of red earth .
The coast is high and rocky ( cliff ), open it in some caves created by the concomitant action of sea erosion and karst dissolution . The promontory of Capo Rama has been included in the exclusive list of Italian Geosite (location of significant geological interest ) . The geological site Capo Rama was d by the Ministry of Environment , deserving of this recognition due to the presence of important geological facies useful in the reconstruction of the geological history of Sicily.
Caccamo (Ca'ccamu in Sicilian) is an Italian town of 8,526 inhabitants in the province of Palermo in Sicily. Are uncertain about the origins and history of the country, given that very few historical documents to draw on for information on the origins. It is assumed that the first layout was made by the Carthaginians, refugees in the country after Himera (in the vicinity of the Termini Imerese) was destroyed by Gelon, tyrant of Syracuse. But have also been found traces of Byzantine and later also some names of neighborhoods and districts in circumstances indicate the presence of a nucleus buckwheat (the same name Caccamo could be of Arabic origin). Later, in 1094, Caccamo was entrusted to the Normans, which was granted in fief to Godfrey de Sageyo. The town is a medieval town dominated by its castle high on a hill in the oldest part of the country. A Caccamo was born architect and Mannerist painter Nicasio Azzarello (Contino and Mantia, 1998), disciple and son of the architect, painter and cartographer Palermo Antonino Spatafora, brother of the architect and painter termitano Vincenzo La Barbera. The Azzarello worked, as an architect at the Quattro Canti (octagon Piazza Villena) of Palermo. His only known painting, as recently documented Contino and Mantia (2001), is the Annunciation Church of the Monastery of Termini Imerese, carried out together with the disciple, the termitano Francesco La Quaraisima.
Altitude: 30 mt. a.s.l. Area Monreale, Capaci, Isola delle Femmine
The Pretoria fountain was built in 1554 by Francis Camilliani in Florence, but in 1581 was moved to Piazza Pretoria in Palermo . The fountain was built in the garden of Don Luis Toledo in Florence on land obtained by the Sisters of St. Dominic in mallet in 1551 after much pressure . On this land would later be built , starting in 1584 , the Palace of San Clemente which still exists today . The realization of the unusual garden (without a building or a building survey ) and the monumental fountain was commissioned to the Florentine sculptor Francesco Camilliani , a pupil of Baccio Bandinelli, who worked there , starting in 1554. The fountain consisted of 48 statues and had unusual size , especially since it was not intended for a public space , and was fronted by a long pergola consists of 90 wooden pillars put in place under the supervision of Bartolomeo Ammannati . Driven by debt and about to move to Naples , Don Luigi , thanks to his brother Don Garcia de Toledo , was able in 1573 to sell the fountain to the city of Palermo. Don Garcia , who had been viceroy of Sicily, was on good terms with the Senate of Palermo , who decided to buy the fountain and place it in the square overlooked by the Praetorian Palace . The fountain arrived in Palermo, May 26, 1574 disassembled into 644 pieces of which 112 are packed in 69 crates. To make way for the monumental achievement, a place designed for open , several homes were demolished . The fountain , however, did not arrive complete and some sculptures were damaged during transportation , while others perhaps were retained by the owner. Among these are to be considered probably the two Gods in the Bargello Museum in Florence, and other statues that were placed in the private garden of Don Luigi in Naples .
The Park of the Sicani Mountains, fifth protected area of the island, between the provinces of Agrigento and Palermo, includes four precious reserves falling in the valley of Sosio, Palazzo Adriano, Carcaci Monte, Monte Genuardo and Monte Cammarata. The park headquarters have been identified in the municipalities of Bivona and Palazzo Adriano. Twelve municipalities involved.
The Sicani Mountains, limestone reliefs with shares generally exceed 1,000 m above sea level up to 1,578 m of Monte Cammarata and the 1436 Monte delle Rose, show a remarkable complexity of environments and microclimates, from which a great floristic richness and situations forest.
From the botanical point of view has in fact been found to contain over 700 plant species listed forty endemic.
From one point of view only in the forest, the particular features of the park are:
- The important ecological and environmental value of natural areas
- The high biodiversity landscapes
- The re-naturalization of plants artificial conifer and use of
biomass with a view to production management and impetus to alternative energy resources. The natural forest is, in large part, consists of formations oak Mediterranean, especially of Holm and pubescent that, with the inclusion of other species and a rich undergrowth, form a wooded complex-rich natural aspects interesting, from the environmental point of view , geo-botanical and landscape.
Even as regards the fauna, the territory Sicanian, in relation to its morphology, presents somewhat different habitats that allow the presence of numerous and important animal species and in particular of waterfowl (to detect the presence of the hawk, of Bonelli and Sicilian Rock Partridge).
Loc. CASTELLO DI CALATUBO, ALCAMO TP, ITALIA - SICILIA
36 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Trappeto, Calatafimi, Castellammare del Golfo
Castle Calatubo (Latin castrum Calathatubi; Arabic: - Qal'at 'Awbi or Kalata et tub, land of tuff) is an ancient fortress built near the town of Alcamo (Trapani). The site has very old acquaintances, with remains of a settlement elimo and a necropolis. Being next to the A29, with its imposing size attracts the curiosity of travelers; however, is unknown to most people and pays today in a state of disrepair, although the City of Alcamo has often expressed the will to recover. It is currently unusable and therefore closed to visitors. The origins of the castle date from before 1093, when Count Roger defined the boundaries of the diocese of Mazara, to include Calatubo with all its dependencies. In ancient times, around the castle stood the village of Calatubo, which based its business on the export of cereals and millstone (water and wind, the latter called Persian mills), extracted from quarries around the creek Fennel, as mentioned by the Arab geographer al-Idrisi in the Book of King Roger, written in 1154. since the Middle Ages, because of its visibility, the castle of Calatubo played an important strategic role: in fact it was part of a line of towers and forts located along the coast from Palermo to Trapani; this defensive line was used to transmit light signals in case of attack of the enemy Saracens. In particular, the castle of Calatubo guaranteed the flow of information that took place between the outposts of Carini, Partinico and Castellammare del Golfo. The village of Calatubo was abandoned after the conquest by Frederick II and the castle lost its original function as a military fortress, turning into a farm. During this period, the castle were added warehouses, barns and other structures used for the administration of the estate of agricultural Calatubo. At the end of the nineteenth century at the second courtyard were then set up warehouses for the production of wine Calatubo. The castle remained in good condition until 1968, when it appeared the earthquake of Belice. To worsen the destructive action of the earthquake was the use of the structure as a sheepfold and illegal excavations, which had as its objective the finds of the necropolis of the seventh century BC pertaining to the castle. Also more recently (July 2013) the castle was surrounded by a fire that besides blackening the inner and outer walls has probably caused more damage to the structure. In 2007 the City of Alcamo bought the castle for 60 000 euro
Altitude: 7 mt. a.s.l. Area Monreale, Capaci, Isola delle Femmine
Also called Walk the Navy, the Foro Italico is a huge park and evocative - surrounded by the ancient walls - which is also one of Palermo's seafront. The sea view is great: from the long terrace called Walls of the Ugly - originally, the place where they used to walk widows - you can enjoy a breathtaking glimpse of the Gulf of Palermo. Benches, bollards, modern sculptures, a comfortable bike path, the lawn and garden of palm trees enrich this area of delight, among the most popular and frequented by citizens.
The Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) identifies the name of a product whose production, processing and preparation must take place in a defined geographic area and characterized by a recognized know-how.
A native of Ribera, the cultivation of the Orange Ribera PDO (Riberella) extends into the territories of 14 municipalities of the province of Agrigento. Its production begins in the first week of November with the variety Navelina and continues from December until the end of May, with the Brazilian variety and Washington Navel.
The Arancia di Ribera, pleasant taste, is a blonde pulp and seedless. It contains vitamin A, B1, B2, vitamin C, minerals and sugars. It has nutritional components well balanced, easily absorbed and easy to digest. Just one orange to meet the daily requirement of vitamin C which is an antioxidant and helps to strengthen the immune tem. It can be eaten as a fresh fruit or as juice. Indicated for use in the kitchen in the preparation of aperitifs, digestives, in the first and second courses. Excellent salads, oranges, sweets and desserts. That's fine also consumed in the evening because of its high digestibility.
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA FOCE DEL FIUME PLATANI Apri
Loc. RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA FOCE DEL FIUME PLATANI, ITALY - SICILIA
43 Km from RIDOCCO
Area , Ribera, Siculiana
The Mouth of the River Nature Reserve Platani is a protected natural area of Sicily established July 4, 1984 by the Sicilian Region for the following reasons: To ensure the preservation of birdlife population, assisting the recovery of the Mediterranean, associations and halophilic dunes. This reserve is made up of a total area of about 206 hectares which intersects the mouth of the River Plane trees, and in the territories of Ribera Eraclea Cattolica (AG). The oasis skirts the promontory of Capo Bianco, home of the ancient Greek town of Eraclea Minoa. The protected area is home to numerous species of birdlife that is permanent migration
The Norman Palace in Palermo, formerly known as the Royal Palace, is the seat of the Regional Assembly. It is one of the most visited monuments in the island. The building is the oldest royal residence in Europe, the home of the kings of Sicily and the imperial seat with Frederick II and Conrad IV. On the first floor is the Palatine Chapel. Additional services are handled by the tourist Fondazione Federico II.
Loc. PIAZZA MARINA, 61, PALERMO, ITALIA - SICILIA
39 Km from RIDOCCO
Altitude: 11 mt. a.s.l. Area Monreale, Capaci, Isola delle Femmine
The Palazzo Chiaramonte Steri, commissioned by Manfredi Chiaramonte in 1320, well represents the moment of transition from the medieval castle to the palace patrician, as revealed by the massive shapes and square. The building is part of the history of the city: from the fifteenth century to 1517 it housed the residence of the Spanish Viceroys, and the Royal Customs finally from 600 to 1782 it was the seat of the tribunal of the Inquisition. In the square in front of the opponents of the government were uted. In the fifties was the subject of a restoration by the architect Carlo Scarpa; Today it houses the Rectorate of the University of Palermo. On the inside there is the famous Vucciria Guttuso.
Altitude: 80 mt. a.s.l. Area Punta Raisi, Capaci, Trappeto
The Beach Magaggiari Cinisi is a beautiful sandy beach on the Gulf of Castellammare, lapped by a turquoise sea, transparent and crystal clear, shallow water and rocks near the shore. A very wide and long beach nestled in a picturesque coastline and picturesque arriving to Punta Raisi. The beach on the right is regulated by the sixteenth-century tower Mulinazzo. To get there take the SS113 in the direction Cinisi at the traffic lights, turn right at the next traffic light turn left, walk along the whole road for about 1 km until you get to the beach.
The oil Valle del Belice, extra virgin olive oil is a denomination of protected origin.
The Belice valley is an area of the province of Trapani represented by the municipalities of Castelvetrano (the more common), Campobello di Mazara, Gibellina, Santa Ninfa, Partanna and other minors. This area is united by the prevalence, especially in the municipalities of Castelvetrano and Campobello, the Nocellara del Belice, a cultivar dual purpose, that is capable of producing both table olives and for olio.Si is an extra virgin olive oil produced by at least 70% from olives of the variety called Nocellara Belice. The oil has a maximum acidity of 0.50% and a density of average value. Its color is green with yellow gold and has a scent of olive just shattered with hints of grass. Its flavor is fruity, just slightly bitter and spicy with a hint of almond, artichoke and green tomato. The production of Valle del Belice happens in the area of Valle del Belice obtained from the milling of the olives produced in the groves that fall in the municipalities of the province of Trapani: Gibellina, Poggioreale, Partanna, Castelvetrano, Campobello di Mazara, Salemi, Salaparuta and Santa Ninfa. He gained national recognition with DM September 29, 1998 published in the Official Gazette no. 250 of 26 October 1998 and the European registration with the EC Regulation. 2325/97 gazetted European L322 / 97 of 2 July 1997.
Loc. AREA ARCHEOLOGICA SEGESTA, CONTRADA BARBARO S.P. 68, CATALFIMI SEGESTA TP, ITALIA - SICILIA
42 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Castellammare del Golfo, Alcamo, San Vito lo capo
It was called Segesta ancient city, no longer inhabited, founded by the Elimi and located in the northwestern part of Sicily. The old city is located on Mount Barbaro, in the municipality of Calatafimi Segesta, about ten kilometers from Alcamo and Castellammare del Golfo. Of particular beauty are the temple in Doric style, and the theater, partly carved into the rock of the hill. The date of foundation is not known, but documents show that the city was inhabited in the fourth century BC The greek historian Thucydides tells us that the Trojan refugees crossing the Mediterranean Sea, they came up in Sicily, and founded Segesta, call Aegesta, and Erice. These refugees took the name of Elimi. According to the myth, Segesta was founded by Aceste (who was the first king), son of the noble Trojan Egesta and the river god Crimiso. Virgil brings the legend that Segesta was founded by Aeneas to rest the old men and women, after they had set fire to the ship shortly before resuming the journey. It was in 104 B.C. Segesta which began the slave revolts in Sicily, the so-called servile wars, led by Atenione. These revolts were bloodily suppressed by the Romans in 99 aCSegesta was destroyed by the Vandals in the fifth century, and never rebuilt in the size of the previous period. Nevertheless, there remained a small settlement, and after the expulsion of the Arabs, the Normans built a castle there. This expanded in the Swabian period, was the center of a medieval village. He then almost lost its name until 1574, when the Dominican historian Thomas Fazello, creator of the identification of several ancient cities of Sicily, he located the site.
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA SERRE DELLA PIZZUTA Apri
Loc. MONREALE - SICILIA
33 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Palermo, Capaci, Isola delle Femmine
Le Serre Pizzuta is a tem extended from the heights of the mountains and Maja Pelavet (1,279 m) up to Portella Pozzillo. The highest peak is Pizzuta, with 1,333 m above sea level The geological origin of the Serra dates back to the Lower Lias (about 250 million years ago) as evidenced by the fossil remains found on Mount Kumeta. The nature of the carbonate rocks is, with a predominance of dolomite (calcium carbonate and magnesium hydroxide). Strong is the karst both surface and underground, due to chemical corrosion exerted by meteoric waters that gave rise to the Grotto and the Zubbione Garrone.
In the area of Victory Square , in the corresponding period of the Punic and Roman Paleapolis , there were two Roman houses highlighted in the last century by Cavallari and Salinas.
The house more ' oldest dating to the second century BC, has a large peristyle with limestone columns , around which were arranged the service areas and representation. In particular, the tablinum was decorated with wall paintings of the style and a polychrome mosaic floor depicting the hunting of wild boar Alexander , of exceptional beauty. The scene ' framed by a band of festoons of leaves and fruit held by a bandage and with tragic masks at the corners, and is ' characterized by a bold composition perspective suggests that , through figures of foreshortening and the succession of parallel planes , the ' depth effect ' .
The house more ' big, dating from the third century AD, was decorated with extraordinary mosaic floors , now preserved in the Archaeological Museum of Palermo. In a large hall was probably the mosaic of the seasons defined by a frame with reason sweeps and adorned with a variety of subjects within rounds, almonds, and octagonal frames concave sides . There are busts of gods ' , scenes, characters and mythical Dionysian , such as the loves of Zeus , the Seasons , the Nereids . Recent hypotheses have proposed to identify the house as the headquarters of a brotherhood Dionysian .
Area Trappeto, Castellammare del Golfo, Calatafimi
The Oasis Montallegro, located in southern Sicily between Agrigento and Sciacca, was one of the first nature reserves of the island equipped for guided tours and public access. The Oasis, a reservoir under complete naturalization (owned by ESA-Agricultural Development Authority), includes several environmental types, from deep waters to riparian vegetation along the banks, from low and muddy waters to small but dense reeds. At the center of the lake, the waters blends are popular especially in winter by several groups of Cormorants and Great Crested Grebes, attracted by the abundance of fish, the main food source for both species. During migrations are the Moriglioni and Morette to populate the central portion of the lake, immersing himself in search of algae and other plants acquatiche.Seppur of artificial origin, the lake has always attracted other animal species. Among these is worth a special mention the marsh turtle (symbol of the oasis), a reptile rare and localized in Sicily, here present with a stable population and numerous. It is not difficult to observe some specimens of this species intent on sunbathing along the banks and in search of food on the ground or in the water: molluscs, worms, amphibians and their larvae and small fish are the most sought after prey. A multitude of butterflies and dragonflies and other insects, most common in the spring and summer, completes the panorama wildlife oasis.
Soluntum is an ancient Hellenistic city on the northern coast of Sicily, on Mount Catalfano, about 2 kilometers from Santa Flavia, in front of Capo Zafferano, near Palermo. Preceded setting up maritime Punic KFR (about VIII century BC) located on the headland near Solanto, the city was founded in the fourth century BC by the Carthaginians, who remained in control for more than a century. During this time it became a center of maritime traffic, rivaling Palermo and Mozia.Nella new city willing to Hippodomean Pattern Catalfano settled on the mountain (307 BC), with the approval of the Carthaginians, a group of Greek mercenaries abandoned by Agathocles in Africa after bankruptcy of his expedition. The presence of a strong core Greece is, moreover, confirmed not only by the very nature of their construction and decoration, by the presence of inions in greek, and the type of the judiciary and of the priesthoods in to be remembered: the Zeus of Amphipolis Olympian and hiero'thytai. In 254 BC, during the First Punic War, the city fell to the Romans, as Iatai, Tindari and others. We know from Cicero that it was part of the civitates decumanae. The news later is derived from the only Latin inion discovered in Soluntum, a dedication of the res publica Soluntinorum Plautilla Fulvia, wife of Caracalla. Judging from archaeological materials seems that the site, in the semi-desert and decay since the first century, it was finally abandoned shortly thereafter. The excavations began in 1825 due to the interest of the Commission of Antiquities and Fine Arts, and on this occasion it was found a statue of Zeus enthroned now housed in the Regional Archaeological Museum Antonio Salinas; it is characterized by the body carved in limestone and the local head of white marble, while the throne is decorated with reliefs depicting crowned by Nike Ares, Aphrodite, Eros and the Graces. The excavation continued in 1836 and in 1863, releasing a part of the city, but they were resumed in 1952 and continued in subsequent years. It is thus brought to light a significant sector of the urban fabric, which allows us to reconstruct the structure fully reorganized around the middle of the fourth century BC The city occupies the plateau of Mount Catalfano, which slopes from west to east, and is partly collapsed on the north side. The area originally was to be about 18 acres, and was divided regularly - according to the dictates of urban Hippodamus from Miletus - a series of streets oriented north-east to south-west, intersected by minor axes perpendicular, which, being willing perpendicular to the slope, are mostly made up of stairs.
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTI DI PALAZZO ADRIANO E VALLE DEL SOSIO
RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTI DI PALAZZO ADRIANO E VALLE DEL SOSIO Apri
Loc. RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTI DI PALAZZO ADRIANO E VALLE DEL SOSIO, ITALIA - SICILIA
16 Km from RIDOCCO
Area Contessa Entellina, Ribera, Cammarata
Here reside the oldest fossils and precious of Sicily, and have built up stratified since the Permian and that go to make up the limestone cliffs. These foraminifera, sponges, bryozoans, brachiopods, ammonites, trilobites and ostracods, all marine animals lived in one arm of the archaic Tethys Ocean, the ancestor of the Mediterranean current, which is wedged in the continent of Pangaea before it was fragmented into the current continents .
The Gurfa Caves, near Alia, are a vast monument and a rare example of rock-cut architecture, realised along a wall of red sandstone.
Their history and intended use remain a mystery even today. Recent studies have dated them to the fifth century BC; the most striking of them is certainly the large bell-shaped cave & referred to as a tholos & a grand hall evocative of propitiatory myths and ancestral beliefs.
Also unique is its acoustic effect & even a whisper inside the cave can be heard in the cave upstairs.
The Gurfa Caves can be reached easily from Villa Dafne on foot, by mountain bike or on horseback; it is, in fact, just 4 km away.
Excursions and attractions in SICILIA close to CORLEONE Roccamena Contessa Entellina Godrano:
'TEATRO MASSIMO VITTORIO EMANUELE'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE SAN CALOGERO'
'SPIAGGIA ARENELLA/ VERGINE MARIA'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA PIZZO CANE, PIZZO TRIGNA E GROTTA MAZZAMUTO'
'AREA ARCHEOLOGICA MONTE JATO'
'TEATRO GRECO DI SEGESTA'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE CAMMARATA'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTE GENUARDO E S.MARIA DEL BOSCO'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA BOSCO DELLA FICUZZA'
'CASTELLO DELLA CUBA'
'ORTO BOTANICO DI PALERMO'
'DUOMO DI MONREALE'
'REAL CASINA DI CACCIA DI FICUZZA'
'PARCO ARCHEOLOGICO CASTELLO A MARE'
'WWF: OASI CAPO RAMA'
'PARCO DEI MONTI SICANI'
'CASTELLO DI CALATUBO'
'ARANCIA DI RIBERA D.O.P.'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA FOCE DEL FIUME PLATANI'
'PALAZZO DEI NORMANNI'
'SPIAGGIA MAGAGGIARI DI CINISI'
'VALLE DEL BELICE'
'AREA ARCHEOLOGICA SEGESTA'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA SERRE DELLA PIZZUTA'
'CASE ROMANE PALERMO'
'LIPU: OASI MONTALLEGRO'
'RISERVA NATURALE ORIENTATA MONTI DI PALAZZO ADRIANO E VALLE DEL SOSIO'
'GROTTE DELLA GURFA'
Sicily is the largest Italian Island, separated from the continent by the Strait of Messina and lapped by the Ionian, the Tyrrhenian and the Mediterranean Seas.
It is one of the pearls of Southern Italy and can be discovered, understood and experienced through a series of itineraries dedicated to all tastes ranging from nature to history and tradition.
Nature seems to have endowed all of its wonders to this land: mountains, hills and above all the Mediterranean Sea, with its incredible colours, its crystal-clear water and the beauty of its seabeds, in no way inferior to those of other seas.
Here, the Mediterranean Sea, with its many little islands scattered around the coasts of Sicily, offers unique and intense sceneries, scents and flavours of an uncontaminated nature. Last but not least, are the great volcanoes, symbols of the irresistible exuberance of this incredibly charming region. The fascination of this region grows with the precious archeological vestiges that tell the story of the ancient origins of Trinacria (ancient name for Sicily).
The provinces of the region are: Palermo (regional capital), Agrigento, Catania, Caltanissetta, Enna, Messina, Ragusa, Siracusa and Trapani.
IdeasForTravels Id: 436R1ZQYVSXY0G9A
90034 - CORLEONE - SICILIA - ITALIA
Area Roccamena Contessa Entellina Godrano
VAT Code 05043290823
ridocco - agritourism farmhouse - corleone - excursions - attractions - points of interest - roccamena contessa entellina godrano - sicilia - italia