Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
san giorgio - excursions points of interest attractions in udine

 HOTEL SAN GIORGIO

HOTEL
SAN GIORGIO

Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to UDINE Cividale del Friuli Majano Buia

GRADO

GRADO  Apri
Loc. GRADO GORIZIA, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
44 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Aquileia, Duino-Aurisina, Grignano
The Adriatic ' mainly dominated by two winds : the bora wind that blows from the north-east, cool and dry , and the south wind that rises from the southeast , hot and humid. The possibility ' of direct two-way shipping has , in antiquity' , allowed the development of marine connections . The ships of Julius Caesar maintained , in fact , the links with the legions stationed at Aquileia , using the alternate expiry of the two winds. L ' island of Grado was the first port of these ancient navigators who , from the island, then went up the lagoon and the river Natissa to Aquileia . Grado was already ' famous then and was not yet born Venice ... The rest of the story, one of the patriarchs of Venice daughter of Grado, the Habsburgs, in Central Europe , come and read it here on the spot, beautiful island , born from the wind: from the bora and the sirocco. The beauty lies in the degree of possibility ' to associate a period of carefree holiday immersion into an ancient world full of historic charm and evocative suggestions that here, on the Island of the Sun and Golden , shows large and eloquent traces ; degree meets with style and hospitality ' desire for relaxation, fun and well-being of everyone, big and small.

LIGNANO SABBIADORO

LIGNANO SABBIADORO  Apri
Loc. LIGNANO SABBIADORO - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
41 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Marano lagunare, Palazzolo dello stella, Bibione
Lignano Sabbiadoro( Friuli Lignan) is an Italian town of 6,804 inhabitants in the province of Udine in Friuli -Venezia Giulia. Until 1959 it was part of the municipality of Latisana , is one of the most famous and popular beach resorts awarded the blue flag . Located in a green peninsula, about sixty kilometers from Udine and equidistant ( 90 kilometers ) from Venice and Trieste , Lignano Sabbiadoro is located between the Marano Lagoon, the left bank of the Tagliamento River and the Adriatic Sea . It is the southernmost municipality in the province of his appartenenza.Attualmente connected to the hinterland by a regional road (No. 354), Lignano has developed its tourist in the thirties of the twentieth century. The first settlements date back to hotel in the early 1900s , however, when the peninsula was not accessible by road , but only by boat across the lagoon of Marano . At the time, Lignano peninsula was almost entirely covered by a pine forest and the only rural settlements were located along the shoreline of the lagoon. In 1903 was built the first modest bathing facility , thanks to lenders Venetian Bregant , Poletti , Vighy and impresario Alessandro Toffano , and the first hotel on the impulse of Angel Marin , Mario and Luigi Plans Plans . However, due to malaria , common in marshes adjacent to the peninsula , the development of Lignano came only after the land reclamation of territories unhealthy , made during the twenties. In 1926 was opened the first municipal road between the town of Lignano and Latisana that allowed the birth of a first settlement ( in 1931 there were already a few hundred residents). In 1935 , with the establishment of a company of Hospitality and Tourism, was added to the name of Sabbiadoro promotional purposes. Three years later (1938) Lignano Sabbiadoro had about a thousand beds with a tourist movement estimated at more than sixty thousand visitors. The real development of the town, started from the plan in 1936 , was hampered by the outbreak of World War II but resumed at a rapid pace in the fifties. In 1953 the architect Marcello D'Olivo creates and develops an original urban plan for the road network of what will become Lignano Pineta. Born in those years the famous spiral that will later become one of the symbols of the town of Friuli . In 1951, the fraction of Lignano Sabbiadoro had about 1,200 inhabitants. At the end of that same decade, the inhabitants were almost doubled. Became independent from that of Latisana in 1959. La Terrazza a Mare Lignano was designed by architect Aldo Bernardis in 1969. Inaugurated in 1972 , it replaced the one designed by the Valley , already in place. The structure , as well as characterize the landscape of the central area of the country, includes services solarium, bar and various shops. The harbor and the marina . Lignano with its marina , vastness, the largest in Italy and among the most prestigious in Europe , with over 5,000 berths. The various structures of Aprilia Marittima , the dock of the Old Port , the harbor Marina Punta Faro , the dock and the dock One Marina Marina Punta Verde , are strategically placed around the peninsula of Lignano , from the lagoon to the river Tagliamento .

CASA CAVAZZINI

CASA CAVAZZINI  Apri
Loc. UDINE - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
1 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Cividale del Friuli, Majano, Buia
Modern and functional, designed the renovation project by architect Gae the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art House Cavazzini the structure is intended to be a hub of contemporary art in Udine. Located in the heart of the historic center housed in the sixteenth century and donated to the city by the merchant Udine Dante Cavazzini, the museum is spread over three levels, for a total of 3,500 square meters. THE PERMANENT EXHIBITION It occupies the first and second floor and offers a completely renewed exhibition of the collections from the previous museum (the Gallery of Modern Art, now closed, which was housed in the complex Palamostre). The museum makes it so visible to the public again the most prestigious collections of its assets: Astaldi Collection, donated to the Civic Museums of Udine in 1982 by Sante Maria Luisa and Astaldi: masterpieces by internationally renowned artists such as De Chirico, Savino, De Pisis, Carra and Santomaso, the Collection FRIAM: 113 works by important names of the American contemporary art history, such as Willem de Kooning, Frank Stella and Carl Andre, which were donated by the artists themselves on the occasion of the earthquake that struck Friuli in 1976, the works of the brothers Dino, Mirko and Afro Basaldella. The section dedicated to Basaldella is located next to the apartment manor, now an integral part of the exhibition, where Dante Cavazzini, in 1938, ordered the construction by young Afro and Mirko Basaldella and Corrado Cagli an important cycle of wall paints, recently restaurate.Una section of the course is devoted to permanent, rotating and theme, other works of the rich heritage of the museum. Museum within a museum, the restoration of Casa Cavazzini brought to light even more spectacular frescoes, previously unknown and dated to the second half of the fourteenth century, depicting secular subjects and is thus of works leading to the study of Gothic painting in ' Friuli area.

SPIAGGIA DI SAN MICHELE AL TAGLIAMENTO

SPIAGGIA DI SAN MICHELE AL TAGLIAMENTO  Apri
Loc. PALAZZOLO DELLO STELLA - VENETO  Navigatore
35 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Marano lagunare, Lignano Sabbiadoro, Bibione
At one time this area was crossed by the Via Annia, an important Roman road that connected Rome and Aquileia and there are many testimonies of Romanization from Bibione Pineta, in particular by the seaside villa of the Mutteron of the Friars. During the nine years of Napoleonic domination , between 1805 and 1814, the river was ideal layout to divide the Lordship of Latisana into two municipalities: to the left and right Latisana San Michele, which became an autonomous administrative entity annexed to the province of Venice. Italians are major events Also gone from San Michele: a track still visible in the Second World War the villa Ivancich torn apart by the bombing. Among the ruins of this abandoned mansion, now shrouded by creepers, we see the ancient glories of late 1500, when it was probably built by Longhena by the will of the Mocenigo, one of the most important Venetian families. Della Villa, which was once home to the writer and philosopher Ernest Hemingway Ezra Pound, few traces remain, and so many memories that are part of the story. The whole country, not just the villa, was devastated by bombing aimed at destroying the bridges over the river: the current San Michele is in fact the result of a reconstruction of the original settlement to the south, thanks to a new master plan architect Angelo Scattolin of Venice. These events testify to the strength of will of the City, who has found new vigor and has been able to capitalize on the tourist resources of Bibione to improve services and bathing facilities with an unwavering commitment today.

LAGUNA DI MARANO

LAGUNA DI MARANO  Apri
Loc. GRADO GORIZIA, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
43 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Aquileia, Duino-Aurisina, Marano lagunare
The Marano lagoon , enclosed between the last bit coast of Lignano Sabbiadoro and Grado Lagoon , is an area of outstanding natural beauty that is home to a unique fauna and flora and of great natural value . Protected from the open sea by a string of islands and islets , like that of Sant'Andrea and the Martignano , also known as the Island of the shells , is characterized by a marsh vegetation and the individuality of the temporary settlements of fishermen, the typical casoni , houses made of cane and wood , which make the Lagoon of Marano one of the most interesting places in the Northern Adriatic . You can also choose between different boat trips in the lagoon, with ferries that will take a closer look at the nature of these places. Before setting out the inevitable visit the old town of Marano Lagoon , where a tower stands millennial , reveals a series of narrow streets and small squares, evidence of the passage of the Republic of Venice , who ruled these lands from the fifteenth to the end of Settecento.Evento from Do not miss: the Procession of St. Vitus, every year on the 15th of June, and the following Sunday. A ritual that was founded in the fourteenth century to ward off the dangers that threaten fishermen and commemorate those who lost their lives at sea . Hop on one of the boats in procession in the lagoon offers an experience that is very suggestive .

UDINE

UDINE  Apri
Loc. UDINE - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
2 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Cividale del Friuli, Majano, Buia
Udine is situated between the rivers Tagliamento and Isonzo and is dominated by the Castle, symbol of the city. The castle was probably built to lookout and defense at the time of the Hungarian invasions. The first mention of Udine with the name of Udene is found in a diploma of Otto II of the 983 who gave the patriarch Rodoaldo. The city experienced its greatest splendor, both culturally and economically thanks to the Patriarch Berthold of Andeches that in the ''200 preferred in Cividale. In sec. XIV began a series of struggles between factions for and against the patriarchy until the final defeat at the hands of the family of Savorgnan who had allied with Venice and Udine in 1420 and Friuli were joined to the Republic of Venice. After a long period of peace that lasted until 1797, the city was conquered by Napoleon to become Italian and Austrian in 1866 after the Second War of Independence.

LIGNANO PINETA

LIGNANO PINETA  Apri
Loc. LIGNANO SABBIADORO - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
42 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Marano lagunare, Bibione, Palazzolo dello stella
Even Ernest Hemingway stayed in Lignano , contributing to Launch of the resort, which he called the Florida of Italy . The company Lignano Pineta born in the 50s geographically located in the center of the peninsula of the city of Lignano Sabbiadoro , then still Municipality of Latisana . Lignano Pineta originated thanks to the initiative of a group of local entrepreneurs led by Count Carlo Alberto Kechler carrying out an innovative urban design in a spiral shape designed by architect Marcello D'Olivo . Hemingway Picture This project has been taken up by numerous magazines specialized for its originality and functionality, and because it has disfigured the landscape and pine forest, this realization snail-shaped green ospirale , has been reported on the flag of the city of Lignano Sabbiadoro. Even Ernest Hemingway stayed here, contributing to the Launch of the resort, which he called the Florida of Italy . Alberto Sordi, with home Pineta , was one of the protagonists of the social life of Lignano in the 60s. Lignano Pineta The company has a concession area of 270,000 square meters , which includes a long beach about 1,2 km on the sea front , surrounded by a raised walkway on the waterfront . The walk is accessible for the handicapped , joins Seven round numbered and marked with a flag, on which are located bar, toilets and showers with warm water and beach offices , at the latter you can also rent beach umbrellas, deckchairs , sunbeds , director chairs and booths according to a differentiated by sector ( elite , and standard beds) and file , from the first Saturday of May to the last Sunday of September. Under the walk there are also shops selling beach , newspapers and tobacconist , an emergency medical center and three painting studio . On the beach there are schools instead swimming and windsurfing, pedal boats and canoes.At the spa Lignano Pineta owns the Port Marina Uno in Lignano Riviera on the Tagliamento, built in the early '60s, expanded in 1983, Blue Flag since 1990 and has a total of 420 berths of various sizes. The marina is well integrated in a complex with four-star hotel with beauty center, newsagents, tobacconists, clothing store nautical, diving school, etc. ... Also in Marina One is the typical seafood restaurant Al Cason in the huts of fishermen with a roof made from marsh reeds.

GORIZIA

GORIZIA  Apri
Loc. GORIZIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
36 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Duino-Aurisina, Cividale del Friuli, Sgonico
The province of Gorizia borders with Slovenia and is crossed by the river Soca. The capital of the province of Gorizia is a city that despite having had an important urban development has kept the green and a center of interest. Gorizia has medieval origins and had its heyday until 1500 under the Counts Eppensteins the territory which extended up to Treviso and Conegliano. With the fall of Gorizia Eppensteins was contested between Venice and Austria until it came under the rule of the Habsburgs in sec. XVI, especially under Maria Theresa and Joseph II, promoted the development of cultural, industrial and commercial. The Habsburg regime was suppressed for a brief period during the French domination, to be restored in 1814. Between 1815 and 1915 there were many factions irredentist who demanded the release by the Austrians. Italian Gorizia became again only in 1918 after the First World War. With the Treaty of Paris of 1947 Gorizia lost most of its territories in favor of Yugoslavia.

SPIAGGIA DI BIANCO D'ORIO

SPIAGGIA DI BIANCO D'ORIO  Apri
Loc. AQUILEIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
37 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Grado, Marano lagunare, Duino-Aurisina
The Beach Tour d'Orio is a free beach and uncrowded . Consists of a long strip of golden sand wild-looking that immerses you in clear blue waters with sloping seabed . The beach is home to many birds that nest in the area . Close to Aquileia , which was a charming rural village character, and founded by the Romans around the year 181 BC , and was an important and strategic military base in Roman times and kept at that time an interesting political and administrative role . Its imposing walls were torn down by Attila the Hun in 452 AD The city has a rich artistic heritage , and is considered one of the most important archaeological sites in northern Italy. It is worth exploring all the day 's great that the city offers, such as the Archaeological Museum and the Museum of Early Christian Monastery , the charming hamlet , and the beautiful Basilica of the city , built in the eleventh century . The city had a strong and representative role in spreading the faith in Jesus and his teachings of love , after the liberation of Christian worship done by the Roman Emperor Constantine in 313 ( Edict of Constantine ) .

SPIAGGIA DI LIGNANO SABBIADORO

SPIAGGIA DI LIGNANO SABBIADORO  Apri
Loc. PARCO DELLA CHIESA-UFF. SPIAGGIA N.6, LIGNANO SABBIADORO UD, ITALIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
42 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Marano lagunare, Bibione, Palazzolo dello stella
A coastline of 8 kilometers of fine sand, served for more than 40 factories, for the rental of beach equipment: umbrellas, sun beds, parasols, gazebos, hot tubs, equipped with facilities for the disabled, bars, entertainment for adults and children, internet service, and anything else musical entertainment for the tourist who can spend the day on the beach. A private beach allows the animals to remain in the company of our little friends in the sea. Numerous areas of open access are located along the coast for those who want to use their material from the beach. And 'possible to rent boats paddle boats, sailing, wind surfing or kite and use the special lanes for launching out into the deep. A capillary professional rescue service ensures the safety of the bather.

SAN DANIELE

SAN DANIELE  Apri
Loc. SAN DANIELE DEL FRIULI UD, ITALIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
22 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Majano, Buia, Udine
  Brochure PDF
ONE LEG OF PORK CAN 'TO BECOME A HAM SAN DANIELE ONLY THREE CONDITIONS First, the origin of the raw material. The thighs must come exclusively from pigs reared in ten regions of central and northern Italy (Friuli Venezia Giulia, Veneto, Lombardy, Piedmont, Emilia Romagna, Tuscany, Lazio, Abruzzo, Marche, Umbria). Secondly, the respect of the processing inherited from an ancient tradition. As it is any form of freezing the meat fresh legs must quickly reach the town of Friuli hills to be processed by recreating the natural rhythm of the seasons, with the use of sea salt, without the addition of chemical additives or preservatives. Finally, it is necessary that the following takes place in San Daniele del Friuli. It could be called seasoning, but in reality it is something more, that relates to the genius loci of the capital of the ham. E 'nature to come in handy. It takes the fresh air blowing here, where the winds that descend from the Carnic Alps meet with those from the Adriatic, bringing resinous scents mingle with salty ones in an environment where temperature and humidity are regulated by the moraine lands and waters of the Tagliamento, one of the last European rivers to retain its original course. The secret seems unveiled, enclosed in a technical term, the microclimate, but to understand the Prosciutto di San Daniele you have to go deeper into the knowledge of the location and identity of the people who always take care of it to arrive on our tables .

RISERVA NATURALE DELLA VALLE CANAL NOVO

RISERVA NATURALE DELLA VALLE CANAL NOVO  Apri
Loc. GRADO GORIZIA, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
42 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Aquileia, Duino-Aurisina, Marano lagunare
A former fishing valley to visit thanks to the typical huts for the observation of birds and aquarium in which you discover the secrets of the lagoon In addition to huts and artifacts for the observation of the study and the environment in the lagoon of Marano , has recently been made in the aquarium . The Reserve covers a total area of 121 hectares, made up of former fishing valley , from which it takes its name from a lagoon area of a few acres called Dogwood and some arable land : it is a complex natural ecotem , including wetlands and water in varying degrees of salinity. Within the reserve , not far from the town of Marano , was made the Visitor Center lagoon , modeled on the Anglo-Saxons Wetlands Centres . With some buildings made the traditional style of the local lodges , is equipped with modern teaching equipment and facilities in order to offer advanced methodologies and new opportunities to become better acquainted with the lovely lagoon environment . In addition to huts and artifacts for the observation of birds and animals and the study of the lagoon , the area has recently been made the aquarium, an easy proposition for dip in the lagoon and discover the various organisms that inhabit this extraordinary environment .

DUOMO DI SAN DANIELE DEL FRIULI

DUOMO DI SAN DANIELE DEL FRIULI  Apri
Loc. VIA ROMA, SAN DANIELE DEL FRIULI UD, ITALIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
22 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Majano, Buia, Udine
The cathedral dedicated to St. Michael the Archangel is located in the main square of the city and is preceded by a grand staircase. Realized in its present form between 1707 and 1725 by the Venetian architect Domenico Rossi was consecrated in 1806. The origin of the church is in fact much older and is recorded as early as the thirteenth century. The bronze doors contain panels (1982), of the local sculptor Nino Gortan depicting Death and Resurrection of Christ and the four Evangelists. By the same author, are kept within the sculptures depicting the Virtues. Going into the church you appreciate the decorations of the aisles with works by Giovanni Antonio de 'Sacchis called Pordenone (altarpiece with the Holy Trinity, 1534), Pomponio Amalteo (Marriage of the Virgin and Circumcision, 1549) and Vincenzo Lugaro (scenes from the Bible, 1625). You can also admire a monumental baptismal font, carved in white stone by Carlo da Carona in 1510. The main altar is the work of Francesco Fosconi (1735). The bell tower was begun in 1532 to a design by Giovanni da Udine, the project then modified on the advice of the same designer. Indeed, it was built to a height less than that prescribed in the original project.

SELLA NEVEA

SELLA NEVEA  Apri
Loc. PASSO DI NEVEA, CHIUSAFORTE, UDINE, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
43 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Camporosso In Valcanale, Tarvisio, Venzone
  Brochure PDF
Between Mount Canin and Montasio: beautiful landscapes and lots of snow Sella Nevea, located at 1200 meters above sea level in a beautiful valley nestled between Mount Canin and Montasio, you do not call it coincidence: it is a place where snow falls abundant. Sella Nevea winter Country, downhill, snowboarding and downhill skiing, surrounded by breathtaking scenery. Several miles of trails, two plants, a cable car and a modern cable car that take skiers and mountaineers to share next ai2000 meters, Sella Nevea make it the ideal destination for winter sports enthusiasts who do not want to give up the beauty of a bucolic landscape and wild. Downhill skiing is the pride of the town, thanks to the track Canin and its recent variant racing, the fastest and most technical of the whole region. But snow lovers here are spoiled for choice: they can go into the woods on the slopes of Montasio and tackle the quota of Conca Prevala, have fun on the ski and snowboard on the routes for downhill skiing, enjoy with cjaspe the foot the romance of a beautiful nature and quiet plateau Montasio and enjoy dog sledding. Sella Nevea Summer Hiking and nordic walking, discovering pastures and quiet corners. Montasio, known for huts where you can taste typical and genuine products, it is a pleasant hiking destination in the summer, thanks to the simplicity of the rocks that emerge from the green pastures as bastions seemingly inaccessible. Then there are the rejuvenating shores of an alpine lake and cool forests where Nordic walking.

MUSEO ARCHEOLOGICO NAZIONALE

MUSEO ARCHEOLOGICO NAZIONALE  Apri
Loc. CIVIDALE DEL FRIULI - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
18 Km from SAN GIORGIO
Altitude: 135 mt. a.s.l.  Area Udine, Gorizia, Buia
Founded in 1817, the Museum is housed since 1990 in the sixteenth century Palace of the Venetian. The collection of the Museum tells the rooms of the ground floor of the city's history, from the town of Roman times up to the period of the Venetian domination. The stages are marked by the beautiful mosaics from the domus, the letters carved into the public inions and sculptures from the churches and palaces of medieval Cividale. The main floor is home to the rich section of Lombard, a remarkable sequence of objects from the necropolis of Cividale and his duchy, which tells the charm and uniqueness of the culture of the Lombards and handed down the importance of their contribution in the formation of medieval Italy.

MUSEI CIVICI DI STORIA E ARTE

MUSEI CIVICI DI STORIA E ARTE  Apri
Loc. UDINE, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
1 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Cividale del Friuli, Majano, Buia
It was founded in 1866, bears witness to the evolution of painting in Friuli Venezia Giulia from the fourteenth to the nineteenth century. The journey begins with the frescoes from a town house, with stories of the Trojan War, and hunting scenes of peasant life. The fifteenth section is filled with works by artists active in the area, such as John Martini, Andrea Bellunello, Pellegrino da San Daniele, Carpaccio, Pomponio Amalteo, Pordenone. On display are works by Antonio Carneo and Sebastiano Bombelli, two masters of the seventeenth century Friulian. Worthy of note is the section dedicated to Giambattista Tiepolo and his son Giandomenico, and the room that houses the works of the Carnian Nicola Grassi. The nineteenth-century painting is represented by the works of the Bison and the numerous paintings of Politi. The museum also houses a significant collection of sculptures and artistic furniture. The Civic Museums of Udine, housed since 1906 in Castello, have originated at the time of the annexation to Italy, when in conjunction with natural history collections and the library opened to the public for the first time at the Palazzo Bartolini. During the twentieth century collections of historical, artistic, documentary have increased allowing the opening of several sections, features a large museum of reference in the region. The museum houses the Archaeological Museum, the Gallery of Ancient Art, the Gallery of Drawings and Print, the Friuli Museum of Photography, The Museum of the Risorgimento and the Photo Library.

TOLMEZZO

TOLMEZZO  Apri
Loc. TOLMEZZO UDINE, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
43 Km from SAN GIORGIO
Altitude: 958 mt. a.s.l.  Area Lauco, Sutrio, Venzone
The first historical Tolmezzo you have towards the end of the first millennium , in a document appears with the name Tulmentiumed is included among the fiefs of the Patriarchate of Aquileia. Most likely , however, the town is older , it is thought to have originated from a small village dating back to pre-Roman times . Tolmezzo is the historical capital of Carnia is located in a strategic position at the mouth of the canal of S. Peter in the middle valley of the river Tagliamento . The city belonged first to the Patriarchs of Aquileia , then allied himself with the lordship eventually becoming the Italian city of Venice in 1866. During the eighteenth century it became an industrial center , famous overseas for its weaving activities . The ancient walls of the village remain consistent views ritrovabili in Borga't , ie the old town, with palaces and porticos, from which you can reach by walking for half an hour the recently restored tower Picotta , the last bastion , together with the port under of Tolmezzo fortified the Middle Ages. Do not miss the later eighteenth-century Cathedral of San Martino and the Carnic Museum of Arts and Popular Traditions , established on the basis of the wealth of ethnographic evidence collected by Gortani . Few traces remain of the ancient castle instead of the mountain resort . In 1976 he was devastated by the earthquake of 6 May and 15 September , which caused immense damage and collapse . Many crashes were favored advanced age of the buildings, which had been spared from the ravages of the world wars . After the earthquake, was rebuilt completely with seismic criteria .

MAJANO

MAJANO  Apri
Loc. MAJANO - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
20 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Buia, San Daniele del Friuli, Venzone
A mix of Latin and Gallic components , in a land that was long undecided whether to join or not Italy , rippled mountains more or less imposing and always embroidered with crops and farming properties . This is the nature of Majano , a town of about 6000 inhabitants of Friuli -Venezia Giulia , province of Udine : the mountain environment, harmony with nature and the small number of people have made it a family center and authentic, imbued with timeless traditions and cultural traits fascinating . The people of Majano strongly warns the Community component , and do not miss an opportunity for parties , gatherings, banquets and recreational activities that take advantage of the beauty of the surrounding landscape and the abundance of nature trails. The regional folklore Ladin is an endless repertoire of proverbs , legends and traditional costumes , and the kitchen area is a sful blend of simplicity and good taste. To disrupt the peace of the village there was , in 1976 , a violent earthquake and infamous , known to history for the extensive damage caused to the beginning of May and repeated in September. The scar is still sore , and the memory of that tragedy is alive in the minds of citizens: 130 dead and many buildings destroyed were the bitter budget of the rebellion of nature. But today is a town of Majano reborn , with sacrifice and courage that you are putting up : although the historical and artistic heritage is greatly reduced compared to the past , the few remaining jewels have been refurbished with dedication, and what it was not possible to save has been replaced with the value of works of art . This is the case of the eighteenth-century parish church , designed by Domenico Schiavi Tolmezzo , along with the bell tower demolished and replaced by a building with modern lines designed by Oliviero Accosano , Eugene Boranga , Tito De Biasio and Armando Pinellini . Other interesting buildings are the modern industrial complex Snaidero Angelo Mangiarotti and the Centro Studi Enrico Fermi. Of a different kind is the Romanesque church of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem , in San Tommaso , which is undoubtedly the richest memories . It seems that the foundation of the church dates back to the early years of operation of the hospital , which opened in 1199 , to which he belonged , and is characterized by a gabled facade of stone, with a small bell tower . Inside there are fragments of thirteenth-century frescoes , including a St. Christopher on the eastern side, but also a Roman altar with reliefs of the first century AD Before the earthquake there were fine late Gothic wooden altars and paintings by Giovanni Maria Furnius and Urbanis Giulio di San Daniele .

PARCO NATURALE REGIONALE DELLE PREALPI GIULIE

PARCO NATURALE REGIONALE DELLE PREALPI GIULIE  Apri
Loc. PARCO NATURALE REGIONALE DELLE PREALPI GIULIE, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
43 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Camporosso In Valcanale, Tarvisio, Venzone
  Brochure PDF
The Regional Natural Park of the Julian Alps was established in 1996 and covers almost 100 square kilometers , including the territory of the municipalities of Chiusaforte , Lusevera , Udinese bushel , Resia Resiutta and Venzone in the province of Udine. Includes the highest parts of the chains of Mount Plauris ( 1958 m ) , Mount Musi ( 1869 m ) and Monte Canin (m 2587) , only ping in altitude at the fraction of Povici in Resiutta and in the Valley of the River Mea Lusevera . The specificity of the contact area is determined by three different biogeographical areas , Mediterranean, Alpine and the opera , which combine to determine a unique biodiversity . These areas have become a park by virtue of their great interest not only geology , nature and landscape , but also historical - cultural , as they contain special characters are hard to find elsewhere. Numerous riding trails in the mountains of the protected area : the summer you can fully enjoy the charm of the mountains and the colorful blooms , while in winter , it's fun to travel with cjaspe or on skis snow routes , the discovery of traces left in the snow by wild animals . Possible Activities : Guided tours , educational activities and minisettimane green for school groups , hiking tours, Hiking tours with the cjaspe , Nordic Walking , Hiking and classic sportswear, mountain climbing and winter ( touring, ice climbing etc . ) , Caving to Fontanone Goriuda , Canyoning

BROVADA D.O.P.

BROVADA D.O.P.  Apri
Loc. BUIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
22 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Majano, San Daniele del Friuli, Venzone
The brovada (brovade or broade in Friuli) is a typical dish from Friuli, used to accompany roasted or boiled meat, combined with the wine. Since 2011 he is also recognized DOP. It is obtained by cutting into small slices (about as sauerkraut) of rape in the marc macerated in purple collar and cooking them in a pan along with olive oil, bay leaves, and often a piece of pork (coast or nose or other cut of pork fat).

VENZONE

VENZONE  Apri
Loc. VENZONE UD, ITALIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
32 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Tolmezzo, Buia, Majano
It will be impressive for the background , made of thick forested mountains , or perhaps a little silence ' that surrounds the whole sacred in the quiet hours of the day ; will be for those stone buildings that speak of a rich history but at the same time simple fact is that Venzone in 1965 it was d a National Monument. Nestled in the countryside of Friuli Venezia Giulia , province of Udine, a town of just 2300 inhabitants located 230 meters above sea level Venzone if it is at the confluence of two major valleys , that of the Tagliamento that reaches the Carnia and the Val Canale, and the territory is partially included in the beautiful Natural Park of the Julian Alps . Historic area of recruitment Alps, the town hosts the headquarters of the 8th Alpini Regiment and is dominated by the sublime shapes of the grandest mountain range in Italy, to be explored and admired. The local beauties , however, are already beginning in the heart of the city, with its monuments and buildings dating back to medieval times . This is the case of the Cathedral of Venzone , built on a former church at the beginning of the fourteenth century, dedicated to Saint Andrew the Apostle , partially destroyed by the violent earthquake in 1976 and rebuilt ably later. The specimens collected near the church suggests that as early as the sixth century there was a small church building , made larger by Glizoio of Mels in the middle of Twelve hundred , but the first church of St. Andrew dates back to 1308 and was consecrated after thirty years Patriarch Bertrand of San Genesio . The current cathedral was dependent then the parish church of Gemona , until Pope Boniface IX decided not to erect a parish as long as the rector of Venzone would pay 25 ducats annually to Gemona . In 1647 came a special episode , intended to mark Venzone and his fame : during the extension work of the church were found a score of mummified bodies , kept in good condition thanks to the special shape of the soil, rich in calcium sulfates , and presence of a fungus from the dewatering capacity . It seems that the mummies, known today as ' Mummies of Venzone ' , belong to a period between the fourteenth and nineteenth centuries , and are kept in a building just a few steps from the Duomo. Other testimonies that are well worth a visit are the ancient gates of the walled city , especially the Porta di Sotto and the Port of San Genesio , and the beautiful Town Hall. Among the civil buildings are no less Orgnani -Martina Palace , the Palace and the Palace Zinutti Scaliger , and stand out among the churches of San Giovanni Battista , one of St. Catherine and St. Anthony the Abbot. The striking appearance of the village and the surrounding landscape has meant that the location has been chosen as the background of various scenes from famous movies , such as A Farewell to Arms by John Huston and Charles Vidor in 1957 , and Monicelli's The Great War in 1959.

CASTELLO DI UDINE

CASTELLO DI UDINE  Apri
Loc. UDINE, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
2 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Cividale del Friuli, Majano, Buia
The origin of the castle hill, a significant impact in the center of the Friuli plain, is almost certainly due to the accumulation of debris over the centuries. The first documented report of the presence of a building on the hill is the 983, in that year, the castrum, a military fortification, are donated by Emperor Otto II the Patriarch of Aquileia Rodoaldo. The complex was the seat of the Patriarchs of Aquileia from 122 until about 1420 when the civil principality of the patriarchs took over the government of the Serenissima. The present building was built in the late sixteenth century, after the 1511 earthquake had damaged irreparably the previous construction. The construction of the castle - as is still visible today - began in 1517, the work lasted over 50 years and the last phase saw the participation of Giovanni da Udine, a pupil of Raphael, his are the external finishing and decoration of the Salone Parliament. Scenes on the walls celebrating the greatness of Udine and the Friuli Homeland painted by Pomponio Amalteo, Giovanni Battista Grassi, Francesco Floreani and Giambattista Tiepolo. The ceiling is decorated with wooden panels allegorical (the work of different artists - XVI / XIX century); coats of arms on top of the walls with the names of the lieutenants to the Venetian government from 1420 to 1797. Above the building is the observatory of guardiafogo, city guards who had to give the alarm in case of fire. Past the lobby with vaulted ceilings, you will notice, on the left, the guest can admire frescoes attributed to Pellegrino da San Daniele and works of art dating from the wooden XIV - XVIII. In the basement you will find the secret and ancient dungeons. In 1906 the castle became a museum and today is the seat of the Civic Museum, houses the Art Gallery, the Archaeological Museum, ilMuseo of the Risorgimento and the Photo Library. The halls are often temporary exhibitions.

LAGO DI REDONA

LAGO DI REDONA  Apri
Loc. TRAMONTI DI SOTTO - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
45 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Frisanco, Poffabro, Ampezzo
The Inn at the Lake is positioned at the beginning of the Val Tramontina on the banks of the artificial lake of Redona (also called Lake of Tramonti). It is a great area to practice different sports, from relaxing walk by the lake to the mountain bike ride; from jogging to mountain running up to more strenuous activities like mountain walks with guided tours to various shelters or paragliding / gliding activity on Mount Valinis Meduno (less than 5 km from Redona) by practitioners who come from all over Europe. For nature lovers can organize trips to discover the natural Dafne Blagaiana flower that in Italy you can 'only be found in Val Tramontina, or fishing trips in the surrounding lakes, discovering the marble trout, the local can enjoy some trophies arriving to 9 kg.

PORTOGRUARO TERME

PORTOGRUARO TERME  Apri
Loc. PORTOGRUARO VENICE, ITALY - VENETO  Navigatore
45 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Concordia Sagittaria, Caorle, Porto Santa Margherita
  Brochure PDF
Like most places and the beauty of Venice, Portogruaro is a treasure to be discovered . The town is crossed by the river Lemene and offers each corner interesting views that reveal similarities with the nearby Venice. Its unique urban structure preserves intact its medieval core of the city and its ancient buildings while the thirteenth-century walls and many historical buildings in the Italian Gothic style and Renaissance are fascinating testimonies of different historical cha marked this city. Piazza della Repubblica square overlooking the fourteenth-century Palazzo Municipale, considered the most important medieval monument present in Portogruaro . Adjacent is the elegant cockpit of the crane , which is considered one of the symbols of the city, with two lovely sculpted bronze crane from Turchetto . The two main roads with arcades , Corso and Via Martyrs of Liberty Seminary , home to typical shops , cafes and taverns where the townsfolk are usually met with a good glass of wine produced in the area of Lison -Pramaggiore . To visit the Molini di Sant'Andrea on the Lemene , near the Oratory of the Madonna of the Fish and the many religious buildings that preserve valuable works of art . These include the cathedral that houses some paintings by Palma the Younger and his school . Interesting the National Museum of Concordia which contains finds from the Roman and early Christian , for the most part from the nearby Concordia Sagittaria . Portogruaro is too strong of an important musical tradition : in fact gave birth to Luigi Russolo , a member of futurism music and hosted by Lorenzo Da Ponte , Mozart's librettist illustrious . Among the most important are Terre dei Dogi in Festa , the spring food and wine festival , the International Music Festival organized the Fondazione Musicale Santa Cecilia ( August) , the Fiera di Sant'Andrea , an ancient autumnal festival with an attractive market for geese and boots .

CIVIDALE DEL FRIULI

CIVIDALE DEL FRIULI  Apri
Loc. CIVIDALE DI FRIULI UD, ITALIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
18 Km from SAN GIORGIO
Altitude: 138 mt. a.s.l.  Area Udine, Gorizia, Buia
Perched on the banks of the river Natisone, Cividale del Friuli has developed and maintained over the centuries a 'footprint noble and austere, worthy of a capital city of great strategic importance, marked and enriched by the passage of foreign peoples, the Lombards and the Franks. Let's start exploring the city across the river Natisone on the Devil's Bridge, and starting from the heart of the historic center, Piazza del Duomo. facade of MunicipioLo eyes are immediately captured by the imposing Basilica of Santa Maria Assunta, whose bright white stone facade in the clear signs of its moments of edification. The building was in fact built from the fifteenth to the eighteenth century, in Gothic style veneto.La measured grandeur of the interior offers many cues of admiration among others the wonderful Silver Shovel Pellegrino II, placed on the altar, embossed in silver foil with fire gilding, which is one of the masterpieces of medieval Italian dell'orificeria. Bridge of DiavoloSulla left aisle is a large wooden crucifix '200 and on the right, leads to the Christian Museum, which houses some precious masterpieces of Lombard sculpture. Noteworthy is the Baptistery of Callisto, a 'newsstand octagonal adorned with beautiful carved decoration, dating from the middle of' the eighth century, and above all, the Altar of Ratchis, dedicated to the eponymous king of the Lombards, as well as the Duke of Cividale: yes is a rectangular stone of the Carso richly decorated, considered one of the most important artistic events of the High Middle Ages. On the outside, in the Piazza del Duomo and Nordis us pause in front of the palace, built in the late '400, or the imposing Palace of the Venetian, which closes like a theatrical back to the east side of the piazza.Eretto in 1565, in all probability designed by Palladio, now houses the NATIONAL ARCHAEOLOGICAL MUSEUM. The Temple LongobardoImboccando Corso Mazzini, the main street of the town, we will dive more and more into the ancient Cividale, square up to Paul the Deacon, animated daily from the picturesque market costermongers Surrounded by old buildings and interesting, with traces of frescoes and windows emphasized floors, is dedicated to the most famous historical Lombard, the house of which, remembered by a plaque, stood in this very square. Leaving the square and going between the streets, past the mighty fortification walls that enclose the majestic gates of the city, churches that meet behind the stern facade of stone, often hide unexpected treasures: as an altarpiece by Palma il young in St. Peter's at Faces or the frescoed ceiling of the church of San Silvestro and Valentine's Day. well callistoPer not to mention the purity of the lines of San Francisco, located in the homonymous square next to the palace Pontotti-Brosadola, whose exterior does not foresee the beauty of leaves. Built in the full 700, between the marble staircase and the splendid ballroom retains the best frescoes of Cividale that gives a glance of concomitantly unique and sumptuous.

CASTELLO DI GORIZIA

CASTELLO DI GORIZIA  Apri
Loc. CASTELLO DI GORIZIA, BORGO CASTELLO, 36, GORIZIA GO, ITALIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
36 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Duino-Aurisina, Cividale del Friuli, Sgonico
The Castle is situated within the walls of the ancient town, what the medieval sources cite as higher ground, which took place in the administrative and judicial functions of the County. The manor changed its appearance several times during its long history: during the First World War it was partially destroyed and rebuilt in the Thirties, giving the building the pentagonal and the overall appearance that characterized the sixteenth century. The heart of the Castello dei Lanzi is the Court, in which the foundations are still evident of the high central tower which was demolished during the sixteenth century because they are too vulnerable to artillery fire. From here are visible the thirteenth-century Palace of the Counts and the Palace of the Provincial States dating back to the fifteenth century, while the XVI-XVII century is the so-called Palace Veneto linking the two main bodies. The Castle of Gorizia presents itself as a fascinating residence of princes: to the ground floor are the small dining room and kitchen furnished with tables and dressers complete with dishes late medieval period; at the ground floor of the charming environment of the Knights hall houses a fine collection of weapons in use in the County of Gorizia from the eleventh to the sixteenth century, supplemented by outside perfect (in 1 to 1 scale) replicas of war machines, as catapults and scorpions used for sieges in medieval times. On the main floor are the Sala del Conte, now used as a conference and the exhibition of the Provincial States, certainly the most evocative setting of the Castle. This large room, which overlooks a lovely wooden walkway and retaining a spectacular coffered ceiling, annually hosts major exhibitions. Also on the first floor, the Music Room, which contains perfect reproductions of medieval instruments, enhanced by an interactive learning tem. On the second floor of the Palace of the Counts, in addition to the collection palatine chapel dedicated to St. Bartholomew, in which are some important paintings of the Venetian school, is the so-called Granary, interesting lecture hall of the Museum of the Middle Ages Gorizia, accompanied by the four plastic showing in 'order: the greater extension of the County of Gorizia; the development of the city of Gorizia; the appearance of the castle around 1300; the reconstruction of the siege of the city by the troops of the Patriarch Bertrand in 1340. The dining room is complemented by a multimedia station.

TRAMONTI DI SOTTO

TRAMONTI DI SOTTO  Apri
Loc. TRAMONTI DI SOTTO PN, ITALIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
45 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Frisanco, Poffabro, Ampezzo
Tramonti di Sotto (Tramonc Disot Friulian standard Vildisot in western Friuli) is an Italian town of 426 inhabitants of the province of Pordenone in Friuli-Venezia Giulia. Mountain municipality of probable medieval origin, that along with the traditional rural activities is developing tourism. The tramontini, with an aging index exceptionally high, are distributed between the capital city, numerous scattered houses and locations Tramonti di Mezzo, Faidona, Campone, Sghittosa, Tamarat and Tridis. The territory, which also includes part of the lake of Tramonti (shared with Tramonti di Sopra), has a geometric profile irregular, with marked differences in altitude: the car reaches 1,899 meters of Mount Sciara. The town, surrounded by high peaks and extensive forests, is affected by a booming construction industry; enriched by charming houses with porches supported by arches, has a plano-altimetric varied. The coat of arms, silvery, granted by Decree of the President of the Republic, it depicts a plant beech placed on top of a central Italian mountain green resting on a band of blue enamel.

RISERVA NATURALE FOCI DELLO STELLA

RISERVA NATURALE FOCI DELLO STELLA  Apri
Loc. MARANO LAGUNARE - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
35 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Palazzolo dello stella, Lignano Sabbiadoro, Bibione
It is in the Marano lagoon that stretches the Regional Natural Reserve Foci dello Stella, reached by the special tourist ferries through the river delta star, which can be traced up to Precenicco and Palazzolo. So, you will enter into a microcosm outstanding, a true paradise for bird-watching in the reeds that line the river bed, living, among others, hawks, swans, herons, red and white herons. When you enter in the extreme mouth, before the eyes opens a show of rare beauty: a village of fishermen's huts. Made of cane and wood, guarded a central hearth and were furnished only with the need for survival. You will notice that all the huts look to the west: the slope is more protected from the bora winds and wind. A wooden jetty allows the berthing today.

VALVASONE

VALVASONE  Apri
Loc. VALVASONE PORDENONE, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
32 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Pordenone, San Daniele del Friuli, Portogruaro
Valvasone (Voleson in Friuli) is an Italian town of 2,224 inhabitants in the province of Pordenone in Friuli-Venezia Giulia. It's part of the club of the most beautiful villages in Italy. Valvasone has arisen at one of the last on the Tagliamento river crossings impassable for much of the year; further south you go in the lowlands and river flow is greater and distributed most of the year. The transit of goods and people has made him prime location for the Castle of the Counts Valvason, recently renovated, but not yet open to the public. The power of the accounts was such that a cathedral was built to preserve the Sacred tablecloth and the remains of the Eucharistic miracle that occurred in Gruaro (20 km to the south). With the advent of the railroad and automobile traffic has moved further south, along the line that connects to Pordenone, Udine and the towns of Casarsa della Delizia and Codroipo.

PARCO AVVENTURA SELLA NEVEA

PARCO AVVENTURA SELLA NEVEA  Apri
Loc. PASSO DI NEVEA, CHIUSAFORTE, UDINE, ITALY - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
43 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Camporosso In Valcanale, Tarvisio, Venzone
  Brochure PDF
The fun in Sella Nevea is not denied even to younger thanks to the Sella Nevea Adventure Park. The park offers five acrobatic courses of increasing difficulty, where you can emulate Tarzan in total safety thanks to the platforms in the trees, at varying heights, connected by walkways, ropes, bridges, pulleys, lianas and hanging bridges. The Sella Nevea Adventure Park, created in October 2005 in a forest of 8,000 square meters adjacent to the cable car station Canin, was officially opened on Saturday, May 20, 2006. The Sella Nevea Adventure Park, in the district of Tarvisio, is an amusement park where you can enjoy a very special new activity that is enjoying great success throughout Europe: the Tarzan or treeclimbing. Climb up and moved through the journeys made on the trees, with walkways, bridges, lianas, pulleys and much more: a sling identical to that used for mountain climbing guarantee maximum security. Immersed in the tranquility of pristine forest at the foot of the massive Canin and Montasio, the new Sella Nevea Adventure Park will appeal to everyone: families (children from 3 years of age), young and old, to sports, to schools, businesses wishing to their close-knit staff through team building. You will live an adventure green with a simple and rewarding physical activity. How is the adventure? After a short lecture on a path simulation on the ground, you will be invited to carry out a directly on the test track, which is useful to test your ss. And then off you go! There are 5 different paths with increasing levels of difficulty but also very accessible to those who do not have a particular physical preparation. Only the last path (the Red) provides evidence courage, balance and coordination of the participants. Ensuring the correct application of safety standards, instructors follow you from the ground, ready to intervene to give helpful advice and to correct maneuvers imperfect.

BASILICA DI SANTA MARIA ASSUNTA

BASILICA DI SANTA MARIA ASSUNTA  Apri
Loc. AQUILEIA UD, ITALIA - FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA  Navigatore
34 Km from SAN GIORGIO
  Area Grado, Marano lagunare, Duino-Aurisina
Of Romanesque, Gothic and Renaissance architecture, the Basilica of Aquileia is the result of several reconstructions carried out over the centuries. Erected on a building of the fourth century, underwent several expansions. The present structure is basically consecrated by Patriarch Poppo in 1031 after the changes made by him: elevation of the perimeter walls, renovation of the capitals, apse fresco and construction of the bell tower, 73 meters high, which offers from the belfry, accessible by internal steps, a beautiful view of the lagoon from the Alpine foothills. The real jewel of the Basilica of Aquileia is the mosaic floor, the largest in Europe, dating to the first frame of the fourth century AD; rich in Christian symbolism represents the triumph of life over death. Next to the Basilica are the so-called church of the Gentiles and the baptistery. Of great importance is the Crypt of the Frescoes (XII century) and the Crypt of the excavations, it is important to know the history of Aquileia early Christian centuries and the so-called Holy Sepulchre, built in the twelfth century in imitation of that of Jerusalem.

Excursions and attractions in FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA close to UDINE Cividale del Friuli Majano Buia: 'GRADO'   'LIGNANO SABBIADORO'   'CASA CAVAZZINI'   'SPIAGGIA DI SAN MICHELE AL TAGLIAMENTO'   'LAGUNA DI MARANO'   'UDINE'   'LIGNANO PINETA'   'GORIZIA'   'SPIAGGIA DI BIANCO D'ORIO'   'SPIAGGIA DI LIGNANO SABBIADORO'   'SAN DANIELE'   'RISERVA NATURALE DELLA VALLE CANAL NOVO'   'DUOMO DI SAN DANIELE DEL FRIULI'   'SELLA NEVEA'   'MUSEO ARCHEOLOGICO NAZIONALE'   'MUSEI CIVICI DI STORIA E ARTE'   'TOLMEZZO'   'MAJANO'   'PARCO NATURALE REGIONALE DELLE PREALPI GIULIE'   'BROVADA D.O.P.'   'VENZONE'   'CASTELLO DI UDINE'   'LAGO DI REDONA'   'PORTOGRUARO TERME'   'CIVIDALE DEL FRIULI'   'CASTELLO DI GORIZIA'   'TRAMONTI DI SOTTO'   'RISERVA NATURALE FOCI DELLO STELLA'   'VALVASONE'   'PARCO AVVENTURA SELLA NEVEA'   'BASILICA DI SANTA MARIA ASSUNTA'  

FRIULI VENEZIA GIULIA


This region is situated in the north-east of Italy and borders Slovenia and Austria. Friuli Venezia Giulia overlooks the Adriatic Sea and is surrounded by high mountains, enclosing many different landscapes. The impressive Carso plateau is formed by windswept rocks, and soil erosion created a series of caves, hollows and 'resurgences'. The sceneries of the mountains are spectacular as well, in the Eastern Dolomines, the Carnia and the Julian Alps, among lakes, valleys and protected areas. From its boundary with Veneto up to Monfalcone, the coast is trimmed with lagoons and has long sandy beaches, with several tourist resorts like famous Lignano Sabbiadoro; from Monfalcone to Trieste the coast is rocky. The great variety of landscapes matches a rich and variegated cultural heritage that was determined by a complex history and by the confluence of different civilizations in this territory. For this reason, Friuli Venezia Giulia looks like a small universe with many different traditions: it is the 'land of contrasts'. The provinces of the region are: Trieste (regional capital), Gorizia, Pordenone, Udine.