Please, enable JavaScript on your browser
grandes jorasses - excursions points of interest attractions in courmayeur

 CAMPING VILLAGE GRANDES JORASSES

CAMPING VILLAGE
GRANDES JORASSES

Excursions, points of interest and attractions close to COURMAYEUR Avise Etroubles La Thuile

COURMAYEUR

COURMAYEUR  Apri
Loc. COURMAYEUR AO, ITALIA - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
8 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area La Thuile, Avise, Introd
Courmayeur (1,224 m) is located at the foot of the Mont Blanc massif , in a green valley surrounded by fir and larch trees , mountains and glaciers. Despite being a tourist resort of international importance , Courmayeur retains its authentic mountain ambience that exudes both walking through the shops in the central Via Roma, narrow and winding , both in the traditional villages - beautiful - that surround the core of Courmayeur and push up to the head of the central valley , where the Dora the Val Veny and Val Ferret Dora the flow into Baltea, which runs through the Valle d' Aosta. Alpine atmosphere and Italian style can also be found in hotels in Courmayeur and other accommodation - from luxury hotel to the mountain hut and camping - in the center of the historic cafes and restaurants on the slopes : Courmayeur hospitality, love of tradition and respecting the local architecture are treated in detail , anywhere. Courmayeur is easily accessible all year round by France and the rest of Europe through the Mont Blanc tunnel , and the other Italian regions of Aosta Valley Highway , which connects Turin to the Mont Blanc tunnel . Mont Blanc, the giant of the Alps If you decide to visit Courmayeur, you can not miss The crossing of Mont Blanc, an amazing experience made possible by cable car of Mont Blanc, in a few minutes covering over 2,000 meters in altitude . During the crossing, which offers a magnificent view of the glaciers and the great peaks of the Alps , you can visit an alpine botanical garden and the crystal exhibition of Mont Blanc. Always connected to the Mont Blanc , Courmayeur is one of the historical capitals of mountain climbing and hiking . To know the big companies that have marked the history of alpinism , visit the Alpine Museum Duca degli Abruzzi , where documents are collected , memorabilia and equipment for climbing : the museum is housed in the House of Books, right in the center of Courmayeur, next to the ancient parish church. Great sports throughout the year Courmayeur offers sport a varied and of high quality. The ski downhill skiing in Courmayeur is frequented by skiers from all over the world. Great for off-piste skiing , are on the Toula glacier and the descent of the Vallee Blanche , which crosses the Mer de Glace glacier to reach Chamonix on the French side of Mont Blanc. The cross- country ski trails in the Val Ferret, pleasant and suitable for complete beginners , it is flanked in part , for non-skiers , from a pedestrian path in the snow: a walk in the middle of nature just a few kilometers from Courmayeur.

CASTELLO DI SARRIOD DE LA TOUR DI SAINT PIERRE

CASTELLO DI SARRIOD DE LA TOUR DI SAINT PIERRE  Apri
Loc. CASTELLO DI SARRIOD DE LA TOUR DI SAINT PIERRE, RUE PETIT S.BERNARD, 20, AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
27 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint Maurice, Aymavilles, Introd
Looking at it from the top of the castle of Saint- Pierre, the Sarrio de la Tour looks like a set of irregular buildings surrounded by a wall , located in a flat area a little ' outside the town center and close to Baltea . By going to the right of the river you can see that the location of the castle is not so devoid of natural defenses , and that the sides of southeast stand on a rocky outcrop overlooking the Dora . To enter the castle must first overcome the external walls . The original walls of the fourteenth century was strongly modified from the works uted around 1470 by Antoine de Sarriod de la Tour: the walls were fitted with a circular defensive towers and a new entrance was opened on the eastern side , the most strategically protected . The new entrance , which leads even today, consists of an elegant pointed arch doorway , above which is carved the coat of arms of Sarriod de la Tour, topped by a crenellated caditoia supported by a double row of corbels Inside the most remarkable buildings are the massive donjon with its lancet windows , the chapel and the so-called hall of heads . Originally one of the oldest buildings in the castle, the chapel located on the south side of the castle was modified several times over the centuries . The original structure was probably surmounted by a wooden ceiling , whose remains have been dated to around 1250 , and three walls are still visible on some fragments of an ancient cycle of paintings dating from the same period depicting religious episodes such as the Adoration of the Magi, the ' Christ's entry into Jerusalem and the Crucifixion. The chapel is now topped by a baroque time added in 1700 , which cuts in half the ancient frescoes . The old entrance of the chapel was decorated between 1478 and 1483 instead of during the work ordered by Antoine de Sarriod de la Tour, who dedicated the chapel to the Virgin and St. John the Evangelist , and has two well-preserved squares depicting the Crucifixion of Christ and St. Christopher. The hall of heads , located on the first floor of the north wing , was the reception hall of the castle and takes its name from the decoration of the wooden ceiling , supported by a series of carved shelves built in the fifteenth century.

CATTEDRALE DI AOSTA

CATTEDRALE DI AOSTA  Apri
Loc. AOSTA, ITALIA - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Saint Maurice, Villair-Amerique
Today's Piazza Giovanni XXIII is located on the southern part of what at the time of Augusta Praetoria was the sacred area of the Roman Forum, bordered by cryptoporticus. The crucial importance of this area for the life of the city, did not fail in the centuries that saw the gradual decline and the end of what was once the Roman world: to the east of the cryptoporticus fact, arose the first building dedicated to Christian worship. In this pre-existing complex, was built towards the end of the fourth century the Cathedral. It was a building of imposing size, with a single nave with an apse, with a baptistery to the west and various outbuildings, one of which is intended as a secondary baptistery. The facade was just a few meters from the structures of the eastern arm of the cryptoporticus and was practically linked to the structures of the main baptistery. This complex, to which were added some southern rooms in the episcopal residence or residences of the clergy, remained in use for several centuries and his appearance was not significantly modified, unless a construction phase early Middle Ages, until the great Romanesque yard which gave the Cathedral appearance that substantially retains today. At this stage of the eleventh century we also have an important cycle of frescoes that have been brought to light in the attic of the church, together with those of St. Ursus, Aosta make one of the main centers of Ottonian art in Europe. In the second half of the eleventh century it was completely rebuilt the western part of the building which consisted of two towers and a central apse projecting; in the thirteenth century were demolished two of the five original apses and the ambulatory, a circular corridor around the choir. Between the fifteenth and early sixteenth century, then, the bishops of Aosta planned a major restoration of the church and enriched it with numerous works of art. The high choir, dominated by a wooden crucifix of the fourteenth century, has two tiers of seating sculpted around 1460; on the floor there are two mosaics of the twelfth and fourteenth century, representing the months of the year and a series of real and imaginary animals along the rivers Tigris and Euphrates. The high altar is baroque, black marble inlaid with multicolored. Down from the choir, two staircases, one right and one left, giving access to the crypt of the eleventh century; Its plant is divided into three naves separated by agile medieval columns and more robust Roman columns for reuse. On the back wall you can see the original entrances to the west. The facade of the cathedral is composed of two distinct parts: an atrium and a sixteenth-century neoclassical facade was added in 1848. Lobby has an elegant architectural terracotta, decorated with statues and murals depicting scenes from the life of the Virgin to whom the church is dedicated , a fine example of Renaissance art in the Valle d'Aosta. Adjacent to the church on the north side, there is the cloister. It is a trapezoidal shaped building which was completed in 1460 to replace a similar one that already existed in the eleventh century. Its architectural elements are characterized by the presence of different materials: gray bardiglio, used for columns, alternating with plaster capitals and crystalline limestone, used for the segments of the arches. The capitals are of two types: some are decorated with plant motifs and figures of men and animals, others have carved the names of those who contributed to the building. In the central square there is a Roman column surmounted by a Corinthian capital, probable testimonies of the neighboring area of the forum. Around 1860, the southern wing of the cloister was mostly demolished to make way for the neo-Gothic chapel of the Rosary. The Treasure Museum provides a significant overview of Val d'Aosta XIII-XVIII centuries, combining pieces of the rich treasure of the Cathedral some works of art from different parishes in the Valley.

COLLEGIATA DI SANT'ORSO

COLLEGIATA DI SANT'ORSO  Apri
Loc. VIA SANT'ORSO, AOSTA AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Villair-Amerique, Saint Maurice
The archaeological excavation carried out in several batches between 1976 and 1999 , made it possible to trace the construction of the building . The investigation involved an area which used to be part of a vast necropolis where suburban , in the early fifth century , there arose a Christian complex that also included the cruciform church of St. Lorenzo . At the center of the south nave is found to be the building blocks of a burial dated between fourth and fifth centuries . AD, the early church , erected to the north of this mausoleum , consisted of a simple apsidal hall surrounded by a portico destined to privileged burial . In the ninth century , the church was completely rebuilt and enlarged, moving south towards the general axis of the building , the eastern end has three apses , while the facade was rebuilt to the west of the early Christian one . 989 In addition to a bell tower facade whose remains are still visible to a height of about 15 m. At the beginning of the eleventh century , was built the Romanesque church that incorporated the bell tower in the new facade , despite his position was eccentric with respect to the longitudinal axis of the new church . The building has a basilica plan with three naves concluded by semicircular apses . The current bell tower , built in the twelfth century , originally belonged to a defense tem consisting of a wall and a second large tower , the remains of which were uncovered against the northern perimeter wall of the church. The archaeological remains are not visible because they are situated immediately below the floor of the church . To note the beautiful fifteenth century wooden choir , the ancient crypt and the important cycle of frescoes Ottonian (XI ) visible in the attic of the church.

FONTINA DOP DELLA VALLE D'AOSTA

FONTINA DOP DELLA VALLE D'AOSTA  Apri
Loc. AOSTA, ITALIA - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Saint Maurice, Villair-Amerique
The production area is that of Fontina Valle d'Aosta Autonomous Region in the Western Alps, opened on Piedmont, Valais, Savoie and Haute-Savoie. The top and sides are the most famous mountains in Europe: Mont Blanc, Monte Rosa, the Matterhorn and Gran Paradiso. It's not all just a mountain, but for the most part the axis of the region is parallel to the arc of the Alps valley endoalpina for excellence. Dry summers and cold winters then mark the time of the flora, fauna and ... the inhabitants. So you can find some plant species in the meadows of the Mediterranean type, and in July the high pastures consist of a prestigious collection of alpine flowers. Because only in this land, the combination of flowers, herbs, water gives the milk of cows that special scent: and it is only the air in the Valle d'Aosta Fontina season ago. In onomastics detectable by the ancient documents on the name Fontina Val d'Aosta occurs with some frequency. Since the middle of 1200 we find the family de Funtina and a hundred years later we read de Fontines. Is very rich documentation on the use of the name Fontina to indicate luogh (place names): meadows, land, villages ... Rises slowly, sliding the archives, the combination of our distinctive name Fontina cheese; in place of the vacherinus, in conjunction with seras and then in the eighteenth century used unambiguously to the typical cheese. For many centuries the Fontina cheese was produced to where it was possible to get enough milk, that is enough cows, and that is in pasture. During the winter, almost all the families Aosta Valley had only one or two or three cows, just for the family. Only in the course of 1800 we formed the dairy manufacturing and milk was pooled to work with co-operative spirit. Fontina is therefore daughter of the high mountains, dell'alpeggio and took its name from noble families and recurring names in the Valle d'Aosta. If you visit the Aosta Valley castles, watch the frescoes of Issogne. Among ladies, knights and warriors will see a medieval counter sales of cheese: we recognize the typical forms of Fontina. It 's the sign of a tradition-indeed of un'arte- that this land has continued for seven centuries and gave a taste of the Aosta Valley and generations of visitors. Fontina, a word rich in history, a name that now provides Europe-wide compliance with strict rules of production and to retain the specificity and the organoleptic qualities of the product, as well as the centuries-old tradition from which it is derived.

ETROUBLES

ETROUBLES  Apri
Loc. ETROUBLES AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
22 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Aosta, Saint Maurice, Saint-christophe
In Roman times it had the name of Restapolis and was the center of his main valley , probably there was the winter camp to the mountain garrison along the ancient Via delle Gallie . Over the centuries it was the capital of the Valle del Gran San Bernardo. In medieval times Etroubles was found to be one of the countries along the Via Francigena. Napoleon Bonaparte passed by the country in its descent into Italy . The leader stopped in Etroubles May 20 1800 , bound for Marengo where he would turn the battle of the same name . He was accompanied by , and in part had preceded him , an army of between thirty-five thousand infantry and five thousand cavalry and artillery . Napoleon stopped at the Hospice of the Great St. Bernard, where he stayed briefly with the men , before tackling the descent towards Etroubles , where he slept in the house of the Abbot Leonard Veysendaz . The arrival was preceded by a general battle on the slopes of Cretes May 15, 1800 , where the Croats of General Victor Rohan had put a gun to the guard, as evidenced by the discovery in June 1914 of skeletons with skull punctured. The place of discovery is near the chapel of the new cimitero.La parish church in 1815, is located on the promontory of La Tour on which once stood the ancient tower of Etroubles destroyed : the stones of the tower , which belonged to the family La Tour extinct in the mid- fifteenth century, they were used to build the church. In the capital remains the Romanesque bell tower of a church built in 1400 has since disappeared .

CASTELLO DI INTROD

CASTELLO DI INTROD  Apri
Loc. INTROD AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
26 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Avise, Aymavilles, Saint-Pierre
The Introd castle stands on a promontory protected by rugged gorges of the Savara and the Dora Rhemes (the name of Introd , in fact, derives from entre - eaux , or the waters ) and probably dates back to the twelfth century ; as the castle of Graines, and probably consisted of a square keep surrounded by a circle of walls . Around 1260 Pierre Sarriod of Introd transformed the early castle , which , following the modifications of the fifteenth century became almost rounded polygonal shape that sets it apart from other castles in the Aosta Valley. These changes mark the apogee of the Sarriod family , in whose hands were the Lords of Introd and La Tour (Saint -Pierre ) . The castle suffered two fires during the second half of the 800 and was rebuilt at the beginning of 900 by Gonella, who engaged the architect Chevalley . Owned by the Counts Caracciolo di Brienza and is on loan to the municipality of Introd, the management of the castle was entrusted to the Fondation Grand Paradis , which guarantees the use . Open to the public on the ground floor and the park. On the esplanade in front of the castle houses a magnificent structure and one of the rare examples of buildings erected entirely of wood, typical of mediaeval Val d'Aosta : the fifteenth-century granary used to store grain and seed. A small door , with an interesting Gothic lock featuring a richly turreted medieval castle , leads to two rooms that are located in the basement , these equipped with loopholes , are now completely underground .

COGNE

COGNE  Apri
Loc. COGNE - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
43 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
Altitude: 1549 mt. a.s.l.  Area Lillaz, Aymavilles, Aosta
Cogne, which overlooks the lawn of St. Ursus, rises 1,534 meters above sea level, with the profile of the Gran Paradiso and forests of conifers and birch trees in the background. Cogne offers an extensive network of trails, walking trails and ski trails for snowshoeing, to walk in all seasons in the heart of the Gran Paradiso National Park. Do not miss to know the variety of alpine flora, is Paradisia botanical garden, which is home to over 1,000 plant species of the Alps and other mountain ranges around the world, a rock, a collection of lichen and a butterfly garden . Cogne, with over 70 km of trails for cross-country skiing is one of the largest resorts in the Aosta Valley Nordic skiing. Among the major international competitions are organized in Cogne Gran Paradiso March and remember the various editions of the World Cup cross-country skiing. Cogne but there is also room for downhill skiing, with some slopes of medium difficulty from the slopes of Montseuc come up in the country. In addition, the Meadow of Saint Orso is a snow park equipped with treadmills, inflatables, donuts and ice skiing for children and beginners. Cogne is also internationally known as a destination for ski-mountaineering and ice climbing: in winter, between Lillaz and Valnontey Gimillan, there are more than 150 natural ice waterfalls. Once an important mining center for the extraction of iron, Cogne is now a well known tourist locations, yet quiet and cozy and discreet elegance. Hotels in Cogne - cared for, never too large and mostly family - you'll find the quality of services and the genuine warmth of human relations. Cogne has a rich history, culture and traditions, who loves to tell and share with its guests through festivals, exhibitions and meetings. In summer, the veilla' evokes the streets of the village of Cogne trades that were exercised during the long winter nights. The veilla' is also an excellent opportunity to taste typical products, such as Cogne Soup, the mecoulin (sweet bread with raisins), and the cream of Cogne, and to know the working of bobbin lace, a tradition of craftsmanship that has been handed down for generations in Cogne.

CASTELLO DI SAINT-PIERRE

CASTELLO DI SAINT-PIERRE  Apri
Loc. SAINT-PIERRE AO, ITALIA - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
27 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint Maurice, Aymavilles, Introd
Located on a rocky promontory in Tache, from its cliff overlooking the plains and the hills of the village. The original castle consisted of two different buildings, the fortified house and the tower. Subsequently were added other buildings intended for civilian and military use, and the structure was unified. The north side overlooking the rocky promontory, while the south side overlooks a small courtyard surrounded by crenellated walls. The keep square central rises in height from the center of the building and in the corners have been added to the end of the nineteenth century four turrets decorative circular linked by a walkway supported by a series of arches. At the foot of the castle is the parish church of Saint-Pierre which was rebuilt in 1872 but whose origins date back to before the year one thousand. Between the church and the castle is the ancient Romanesque bell tower of the twelfth century, consisting of a square tower. Inside the castle, with its nine rooms, was turned into a Museum of Natural Science. The first room is made in the old stables of the castle and basement houses the ticket office, the mineralogical section and some stuffed specimens of the extinct fauna of the region, such as bears and wild cats, and other species such as the wolf and the vulture. To access the other rooms you pass through the so-called throne room, full of antique furniture, with a large stone fireplace on which is painted the coat of arms of Saint-Pierre. The other four rooms are dedicated to the climate, flora and fauna of the Aosta Valley.

PONTE DI PONDEL

PONTE DI PONDEL  Apri
Loc. AYMAVILLES - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
30 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-Pierre, Introd, Saint Maurice
Going from Aymavilles to Cogne , find the fraction Pondel on the right, down the road you are currently driving . What Pondel is an aqueduct-bridge (there is a covered walkway for pedestrians, above the water channel ) built in Roman times . An inion on the wall downstream attributes its construction , in the year 3 BC, to private Caius Avillius Caimus . About the purposes of the article there is disagreement among scholars : those who associate it with presumed mining activity in the territory of Cogne , who to irrigation requirements of the hilly slopes between Aymavilles and Villeneuve. With its 2.30 meters wide, 50 meters in length and 14.20 arch span , is one of the largest civil engineering projects carried out by the Romans in the Alps . On 14 November 2011, work began on the research , restoration and enhancement of the site of the Pont d' Ael , which consist in the complete restoration of the bridge - aqueduct of Roman epoch, in the creation of a guided tour and recovery of an adjacent building destined to become the center of interpretation of the site. The completion is scheduled for September 2013.

TEATRO ROMANO DI AOSTA

TEATRO ROMANO DI AOSTA  Apri
Loc. AOSTA - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Villair-Amerique, Saint Maurice
  Brochure PDF
The theater building is withholding took place a few decades after the founding of the city in 25 BC, in fact, have been found remains of existing buildings . The amphitheater dates from the time of Emperor Claudius . Along the amphitheater , located on the same axis , occupies three blocks adjacent to the walls , along the main road of the city, Decuman maximum , near the Porta Praetoria . The theater occupied an area of 81 m wide and 64 m long . The auditorium was placed in a rectangular enclosure , whose facade is preserved to a height of 22 m on the south side , and its front was marked by a series of buttresses placed at 5.5 m apart from each other and lightened by four orders of openings : at the bottom , the arches of entry and , upwards , three orders of overlapping windows , of different shape . This entry has suggested the existence of a cover, he had to do a theatrum tectum of the building , modeled on that of Pompeii. Roman Theatre of Aosta : view of the external enclosure and the steps of the cavea The tiers of the auditorium could accommodate 3.500/4.000 spectators. The orchestra of the theater had a radius of 10 m. The wall of the scene, of which only the foundations, was decorated with Corinthian columns and statues and covered in marble . According to local tradition , in 1833 for the construction of the municipality of Aosta was proposed to use the Roman theater as a stone quarry : to oppose this destruction of the prior and historian Jean -Antoine Gal he would go personally to the king, to walk in Turin turin to invoke the operation. Starting from 1838 Carlo Promis began the first archaeological investigations in the area : the walls unearthed were attributed to a magistrate 's palace (Palais du pre'teur ) . A first rough arrangement of the structure took place in the twenties . Extensive work of recovery and restoration between 1933 and 1941 affected the facade and the south- west. In the same area the excavations carried out in the sixties have brought to light the remains of houses in the second or third century AD and the bases of six columns that are part of a porch that ran along a street. In 2008 - 2009 were made more consolidation across the monumental facade with the Restitution of 2009. From 2011 onwards, alongside the Roman complex was built a structure that can accommodate over 1,000 people indoors, where you can see the theatrical structure . The stage was also home to the award Mogul 2011. During the summer , the concerts take place in the theater of the reviews and Ete' au the'atre The'atre et lumie're .

CASCATE DEL RUTOR

CASCATE DEL RUTOR  Apri
Loc. LA THUILE - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
19 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Courmayeur, Avise, Introd
The 3 Rutor waterfalls are among the most spectacular in the Valle d' Aosta and are generated from the stream , fed by many small lakes places on the north- west of the Rutor glacier ( glacier sixth of Italy). To admire the beauty we can follow a path that the total time of 1 hour and twenty leads from La Joux (1,603 m) , about 3 km from La Thuile , the third waterfall (1,996 m) . It starts from the houses of La Joux , walk along the trail , which runs through coniferous forests, up to, after twenty minutes , the spectacular vantage point on the first waterfall, which is located at 1,700 m, it is recommended a short detour to ' exciting step on the deck overlooking the waterfall and allows you to observe it from above. It continues through the woods until you reach the hut Parcet (1,772 m) , through a bucolic plateau close to the stream, and then starts to climb the path, sometimes paved , until the right turn to the second waterfall, at 1,850 m. A few bends again and in a very short time you can see on the right the third waterfall , near which there is a junction that gives everyone a chance to reach the Rifugio Deffeyes ( 2,494 m) or deflect to the right in the direction of the Lakes Bellacomba , while the experienced climbers the chance to get on the Rutor .

FONTINA D.O.P.

FONTINA D.O.P.  Apri
Loc. AOSTA, ITALIA - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Saint Maurice, Villair-Amerique
  Brochure PDF
The area of production of Fontina is that of the Valle d'Aosta, the Autonomous Region in the western Alps, opened on Piedmont, Valais, Savoie and Haute-Savoie. Vertices and sides are the most famous mountains in Europe: Mont Blanc, Monte Rosa, the Matterhorn and Gran Paradiso. It's not only mountains, but for most of the region is the axis parallel to the arc of the Alps: the valley endoalpina par excellence. Dry summers and cold winters therefore mark the time of the flora, fauna and ... the inhabitants. So you can find in the meadows some plant species of the Mediterranean type, while in July the high pastures are formed by a prestigious collection of alpine flowers. Because only in this land the combination of flowers, herbs, water gives the milk of cows that special scent: and it is only the air in the Valle d'Aosta which is matured Fontina.

CASTELLO DI AVISE

CASTELLO DI AVISE  Apri
Loc. AVISE - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
22 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Introd, Saint-Pierre, Aymavilles
The Castle of Avise is a massive building located at the entrance of the village Valle d'Aosta same name, which is often confused with the Castle Blonay that is imposed in the town center near the church , and that was the first home of the noble Avise. The nobles then moved from the castle to the Castle of Blonay Avise and it still bears their nome.Il castle was erected in 1492 by Boniface or Rodolphe d'Avise Avise and was long in the hands of the family. Avise passed to the extinction of the White of San Secondo , who in 1798 ceded it to private . Today is occasionally houses exhibitions . The castle is well preserved. More than a castle is a fortified house which was flanked by a square tower , slightly higher than the rest of the building , on top of which presents elegant trap doors decorated by reason Gothic said inverted . The facade is studded with double windows of the sixteenth century of remarkable effect , often made with ancient stone s a frame . As noted by the geologist Francis Prinetti , the facade shows examples of the three main families of rocks be found in the area: the marbles oceanic alternate with gneiss, originating in the continental basement , and amphibolites , resulting from deep magmatic intrusions occurred in the past. The decorative elements , the quadrature of the doors and windows to the elements inverted keel , are made from marbles and schists . The front door of the tower is surmounted by carved coats of arms of the family and the motto Here tost Avise tard if you repent . Throughout the castle are easy to read the various phases of construction and the changes that have occurred over the centuries, some steps have been walled , and have been included in the time windows to give more light to the rooms , in tune with the changing uses of nobility .

PORTA PRETORIA

PORTA PRETORIA  Apri
Loc. AOSTA - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Villair-Amerique, Saint Maurice
The monument is located between St. Anselm and forth via Porta Praetoria. Located in the eastern part of the walls, was the main access to the city of Augusta Praetoria, built in 25 BC after the defeat of Salassians by Varro. It was equipped with three openings are still visible: the central one for carriages and the side for pedestrians. The area within the openings was used as a parade ground; in its southern part, the ground was dug up to reach the alleged ground level in Roman times (about two meters below the current level - the difference is due to the materials transported by river floods). In the openings facing the outside are still see the grooves where the gates that were lowered at night. In the eastern facade still has some of the marble slabs that covered the entire monument, which is made within blocks of conglomerate rock. In the Middle Ages it was leaning against the Porta Praetoria a chapel dedicated to the Holy Trinity (now I just have a niche), from which it took its name, for several centuries, even the same Porta Praetoria.

RISERVA NATURALE MARAIS

RISERVA NATURALE MARAIS  Apri
Loc. VILLAIR-AMERIQUE - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
37 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Aosta, Fénis
The natural reserve of the Marais (French , Re'serve naturelle de Marais ) is a regional nature reserve located in the Valle d' Aosta, created in 1992 and close to the towns of Morgex and Salle.La The reserve was established by decree of the President of the Regional Council . 156 of 30 February 1992. In 1999, a regional law for the enhancement of

ARCO DI AUGUSTO

ARCO DI AUGUSTO  Apri
Loc. VIA PORTA PRETORIA, 3, AOSTA AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Villair-Amerique, Saint Maurice
Just past the bridge over the Buthier , along the road leading to the monumental Porta Praetoria, the main access route to the city of Rome, was the honorary arch dedicated to the Emperor Augustus. It was an eloquent sign of the presence and power of Rome in 25 BC had finally defeated the people of the Salassians and founded the new colony . The arch, which is characterized by its severe stateliness , typical of the late Republican era , is just one round arch , 8.29 meters in width as the road that crosses it. The pillars that support it have the four corners of the semi on attic bases surmounted by Corinthian capitals , the same that divide the fronts and sides. Originally, these surfaces were interrupted by reliefs likely trophy representations that were placed in the four niches of the facade. A Doric entablature with triglyphs and metopes closes up what remains of the monument, for centuries without on which it was affixed , in bronze lettering , the dedicatory inion . In the Middle Ages the arch was called Saint- Vout an image of the Saviour which was planted and later replaced with the Crucified. In 1716 the Conseil des Commis decided to preserve the monument from the infiltration of water by covering with a slate roof . The arch was restored between 1912-1913, an excavation nearby , dating back to the early '900 , brought to light two large gilt bronze letters , probably belonging to the dedicatory inion.

MUSEO ARCHEOLOGICO DI AOSTA

MUSEO ARCHEOLOGICO DI AOSTA  Apri
Loc. PIAZZA RONCAS, 12, AOSTA AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Saint Maurice, Villair-Amerique
The exhibition of the Archaeological Museum ( former convent of the Visitation ) is divided into a chronological itinerary. The exhibition opens with the Assyrian tablets collected by Canon J. Boson granted by the Collegiate Church of S. Orso and put on display for the first time . On the trail of the Tigris and Euphrates , the exhibition includes anthropomorphic statues found at the archaeological site of Saint- Martin -de- Corle'ans , which refers to that type of culture. Further on you come to the model of Augusta Praetoria, including information plates and two video displays . The burial rituals and their kits are presented in two rooms in which it is also a reconstruction of a funeral bed based on bones found in an incineration tomb in the necropolis of San Rocco . Two other rooms dedicated to the funeral epigraph and local cults , displaying exhibits include the famous bronze Balteo and a wonderful Jupiter Dolichenus . The Christian religion is represented by the precious pulpit of the sixth century , found during excavations at the Cathedral of Aosta . Public building works are presented with a collection of prints with the main monuments of Aosta , fragments of sculptures and frescoes , while everyday life is represented through the table furnishings and cooking. The exhibition concludes with references to Man : work-related objects , personal ornaments, toys and several objects found in tombs .

CASTELLO REALE DI SARRE

CASTELLO REALE DI SARRE  Apri
Loc. SAINT MAURICE - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
29 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-Pierre, Aymavilles, Introd
  Brochure PDF
The castle stands on a promontory , in the locality Lalex , which dominates the Aosta flatland above the road to Mont Blanc, just past the junction for Cogne . Built in 1710 by Giovanni Francesco Ferrod of Arvier on the ruins of a fortress in 1242 , after several changes of ownership was purchased in 1869 by the King of Italy Vittorio Emanuele II, who renovated it and used it during his hunting Valle d' Aosta. The royal castle of Sarre , became the private property of Her Majesty , then became the headquarters used by the king for his expeditions in the valleys of Cogne, Valsavarenche and Rhemes . To accommodate the first king of Italy, the home underwent some changes , including the raising of the tower and the construction of new stables. Inside, the rooms have been completely renovated and modernized. The curator of the Royal Palace of Milan was charged , for which he provident moving the furniture from other royal residences. The Victor Emmanuel's successor , Umberto I (1844-1900) destined the alpine castle for related hunting activities. In the last years of his reign , Umberto I took a particular interest in the Sarre residence , and commissioned the interior renovation . Among the works carried out at the time, included important decorations in monumental , decorated with trophies of ibex and chamois . The castle was inhabited by Queen Maria Jose' resort in the years following the monarchy . In 1989, the Region of Valle d' Aosta purchased the estate to restore . The castle , which is a longitudinal body with a square tower in the center , can be considered a museum of the presence of the Savoy in Valle d' Aosta.

PICCOLO SAN BERNARDO

PICCOLO SAN BERNARDO  Apri
Loc. LITTLE SAINT BERNARD PASS, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
23 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Courmayeur, Avise, Introd
The Col du Petit Saint Bernard Pass ( Col du Petit -Saint -Bernard in French) is a mountain pass that connects the valley of La Thuile , side valley of the Valle d' Aosta, with Val d' Ise're ( Tarentaise ) . Its height 2188 m, making it the hill less high in the Alps North - Western and therefore easier passage between the valleys of Savoy and Aosta Valley . The hill is popular since ancient times, as evidenced again by the numerous archaeological and historical sites that are found there . The opening of the trans-Alpine tunnels of Mont Blanc and Gran San Bernardo has greatly contributed to diminish its importance. The importance of the hill starts from Neolithic times. The traces of a wide circle of stones , or cromlechs , are still visible today , despite the irreparable deterioration committed during the construction of the paved road ( RN90 / SS26 ) . According to some authors , the work of the road would destroy a central dolmen . The cromlech trace an ellipse whose major axis is perpendicular to the highway , measuring about 72 meters. Its dating is problematic. The Colle del Piccolo San Bernardo from the French side. In the foreground the stones of the cromlech at the center of the road to the ancient customs. The Salassians , a Celtic tribe of the Valle d' Aosta, later outfitted the hill to communicate with Ceutroni , their cousins the Tarentaise . It may have been used in 218 BC by the owner of Hannibal to cross the Alps Later, in 45 BC , the Romans built , by order of Julius Caesar, a road that connected Milan to Vienna . This is the way , called Apis Graia , which will be used until 1858 , when it will be replaced by the current state roads SS26 and RN90 . The Romans also built a mansio , designed to accommodate travelers and provide them with fresh horses . Its foundations are still visible on the Italian side of the pass. They have also built a temple dedicated to Jupiter, similar to that of the Great St. Bernard. This temple was adorned with a statue of the god on the top of a column, the Columna Jovis , locally in French Colonne de Joux ( name derived from Jovis , genitive of Jupiter - Jupiter in Latin ) .

LA THUILE

LA THUILE  Apri
Loc. LA THUILE - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
17 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Courmayeur, Avise, Introd
La Thuile ( The Tchoueuille in Valle d'Aosta patois ; Porta Littoria during the fascist period from 1939 to 1946 ) is an Italian city located in the valley of La Thuile , side valley of the Valle d' Aosta. It is the westernmost municipality of Valle d' Aosta. The presence of the Colle del Piccolo San Bernardo makes certain the presence of man since ancient times : in Roman times the country had Ariolica name , while in medieval times was known as Thuilia . The current name appears in 1760 , replaced only during the fascist named Porta Littoria . He was among the first domains of the House of Savoy , along with the Tarentaise and Maurienne , in the tenth century . La Thuile he held a strategic military role between the eighteenth and the first half of the twentieth century , being the Colle del Piccolo San Bernardo guarding the passage between the Tarentaise and the Duchy of Aosta, and therefore important in the conflicts between the Kingdom of France and the Kingdom of Sardinia ( War of the Grand Alliance , War of the Spanish Succession , War of the Austrian Succession , the Italian Campaign of the French Revolution ) . La Thuile was then occupied by French troops in 1704 and then again in 1794. In the twentieth century saw the regular army fighting against France when , on June 10 , 1940, Fascist Italy d war on . This Italian attack on France already been won by the Germans was defined as a coup de poignard dans le dos ( a stab in the back ) . After September 8, 1943 , there were battles of the Italian partisans and French ( maquis ) against the occupation forces of Nazi Germany. In 1964 the General Society of the Swiss start in research and development in the creation of the ski resort La Thuile Valrutor . Jean de Senarclens follows the first project of the plants that will not be supported by the then Swiss investors . The resort will then be made with Italian investors .

AOSTA

AOSTA  Apri
Loc. AOSTA, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
Altitude: 583 mt. a.s.l.  Area Saint-christophe, Saint Maurice, Villair-Amerique
  Brochure PDF

Aosta e' il capolugo di regione della Valle d'Aosta, si trova in una conca delle Alpi sulla riva sinistra della Dora Baltea circondata da possenti montagne quali il Monte Emilius alto 3559 metri ed il monte Becca di Viou alto 2856 metri. Le origini di questa citta sono molto lontane, risalgono addirttura al Neolitico, ma il vero e proprio nucleo si ha nel VIII secolo come integrazione della popolazione locale con i celti. Questa citta ha subito dopo il dominio romano numerose invasioni barbariche: goti, burgundi, longobardi e franchi si sono susseguiti nell'invasione di questo territorio. Dopo la dominazione franca Aosta passo sotto la dnastia dei Borgogna nel X secolo per poi essere ceduta ad Umberto di Biancamano nel 1025, capostipite dei Savoia. Aosta rimase sotto la dinastia dei Savoia fino al XVIII secolo quando subi l'invasione francese e successivamente fu annessa all'impero di Napoleone. Grazie al Congresso di Vienna torno a far parte del regno di Sardegna e dal 1861 fece parte del Regno d'Italia. Da vedere: Anfiteatro Romano: questo teatro risale al periodo augusteo e ad oggi sono rimasti i resti della facciata meridionale. Si pensa che originariamente potesse contenere circa 4000 spettatori e da quello che rimane, si possono apprezzare le gradinate sui cui si sedevano gli spettatori, le fondamenta dell'orchestra ed il muro di scena. Parco Nazionale del Gran Paradiso: questo e' il primo parco istituito in Italia e si estende su un esteso territorio diviso tra la Valle d'Aosta ed il Piemonte che comprende alte montagne come ad esempio la vetta del Gran Paradiso. L'area e' ricoperta da abeti, larici, vaste praterie , ghiacciai ed e' abitata da molti esemplari della fauna montana come ad esempio l'aquila reale e gli stambecchi. Museo Archeologico: questo museo ha sede nel Monastero della Visitazione fondato nel XVII secolo. Questo Monastero e' stato costruito sui resti di un'antica torre romana e sulla sua faccita e' possibile intravvedere lo stemma della dinastia dei Savoia ed alcuni ritratti della casa Challant. All'interno sono raccolti molti reperti archeologici rinvenuti negli scavi della zona.

CRIPTOPORTICO FORENSE

CRIPTOPORTICO FORENSE  Apri
Loc. PIAZZA PAPA GIOVANNI XXIII, AOSTA AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
32 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Saint-christophe, Saint Maurice, Villair-Amerique
The Cryptoporticus Forensic is a Roman monument of the city of Aosta , was originally surrounded the sacred area of the hole of Augusta Praetoria . It is recognized italiano.E national monument consists of a gallery with two aisles on three sides embracing a perfect rectangle of 89 X 73 meters , leaving it open on the south side . The vaults are supported by massive pillars travertine. It is supported by a series of arches that divide the two navate.La function of this underground structure has not yet been fully clarified : it is assumed that it could be used initially as ambulatory and only the third century as a military depot . Certainly played an important structural role and served to regulate the natural slope of the land area of the legal complex . In the confined space of the tunnel , in an elevated position , they were, side by side , with two temples in front of six columns . The first is dedicated to the deified Augustus and the second to the Capitoline triad Jupiter, Juno , Minerva.La construction of the hole can be divided into two phases: 1st phase : In the Augustan age , when the city was founded ( 25 BC ) , he began to build the bore hole to the decumanus (today via Francois de Sales). On the artificial terrace were built two temples side by side and surrounded on three sides by a colonnade below which there was the cryptoporticus . 2nd phase : during the second century A.D. was built the large auditorium : an area in front of the sacred area where there were the so-called Tabernae . The audience was isolated from the sacred through the passage of a street. The audience measured 88.50 meters long and 130 meters wide. The recent discovery of an insula to the right of cryptoporticus will be part of the complex of monuments that will also include the cathedral of Aosta.

GIARDINO ALPINO CHANOUSIA

GIARDINO ALPINO CHANOUSIA  Apri
Loc. SAINT-CHRISTOPHE - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
33 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area Aosta, Villair-Amerique, Saint Maurice
The alpine garden Chanousia is located near the Colle del Piccolo San Bernardo , about 800 meters beyond the Italian-French border . It is located in an alpine landscape of great beauty , 2,170 m above sea level, in view of the great bulk of Mont Blanc and other impressive peaks and covers an area of about 10,000 sqm. , With a decent slope , on a substrate made of carbonaceous shale . The climate is characterized by snowfall varies from 4 to 8 meters which last until June and often beyond, the average annual temperature is ± 1 ° C, also frequently strong winds sweep the Hill . The natural vegetation consists of grassland satins, and the edge of the forest of larch and spruce is located on the Italian side , at about 1,850 m. It often happens that the garden is not free from snow before the middle of July and , not infrequently, even later. These severe weather conditions make the growing season very short ( two or three months and sometimes even less) , and they affect the choice of plants that can be grown , which must be only species from environments like alpine or snow . When you began the reconstruction of the collections , the first thing they tried to recognize which and how many species among those cultivated before the abandonment , had survived , by searching among the natural vegetation grown in flower beds and paths , and as mentioned above, it was possible to trace and identify more than a hundred. They were cleaned and arranged the trails and restored at first the old flower beds , while later they were built new ones, with the latest standards . Regarding the arrangement of the species , since, as has been said , the growing season is short, and often very short , and then the plants grow slowly , in the first years it was preferred not to perform too many shifts , while later you started the gradual realization of different environments, such as limestone roccera , the stony slope of calcareous and siliceous , the wetland , etc. . , in which to place species with similar environmental requirements .

SANTUARIO DI NOTRE-DAME DE GUERISON

SANTUARIO DI NOTRE-DAME DE GUERISON  Apri
Loc. NOTRE DAME DELLA GUERISON SANCTUARY, COURMAYEUR, AOSTA VALLEY, ITALY - VALLE D AOSTA  Navigatore
7 Km from GRANDES JORASSES
  Area La Thuile, Avise, Etroubles
A symbol of religion, a survivor of the advancing glaciers On the road to Val Veny , in the background of the Brenva glacier , lies this chapel , once dedicated to Vierge du Berrier , now at Notre -Dame de Gue'rison . The sanctuary was built in 1792, on a heap of stones , said in patois berrier , which means rock or stone. In 1816 the small sanctuary was destroyed by the glacier advanced Brenva : remained intact only the statue of the Madonna , which was considered miraculous . The current sanctuary was built in 1867 and consecrated the following year . The fame of the miraculous Virgin Mary has made this sanctuary a place of worship. Its interior walls are completely covered in crutches , votive offerings and gifts brought here by believers in miracles . The mountain guides of the valley celebrate a periodic mass to pray . Is located beneath the Mont Blanc , at the foot of the glacier of Val Brenva and early Ve'ny . It is named after Maria invoked as a healer . Built in the nineteenth century, it was consecrated in 1868. The many votive offerings , concern more climbers who have escaped the danger while trying to lift the White or the crossing of the many crossings . It was erected at the Diocesan Marian Shrine and is one of the most visited shrines in the Valle d' Aosta. Even Pope John Paul II and Pope Benedict XVI during their vacation in Les Combes went there several times.

Excursions and attractions in VALLE D AOSTA close to COURMAYEUR Avise Etroubles La Thuile: 'COURMAYEUR'   'CASTELLO DI SARRIOD DE LA TOUR DI SAINT PIERRE'   'CATTEDRALE DI AOSTA'   'COLLEGIATA DI SANT'ORSO'   'FONTINA DOP DELLA VALLE D'AOSTA'   'ETROUBLES'   'CASTELLO DI INTROD'   'COGNE'   'CASTELLO DI SAINT-PIERRE'   'PONTE DI PONDEL'   'TEATRO ROMANO DI AOSTA'   'CASCATE DEL RUTOR'   'FONTINA D.O.P.'   'CASTELLO DI AVISE'   'PORTA PRETORIA'   'RISERVA NATURALE MARAIS'   'ARCO DI AUGUSTO'   'MUSEO ARCHEOLOGICO DI AOSTA'   'CASTELLO REALE DI SARRE'   'PICCOLO SAN BERNARDO'   'LA THUILE'   'AOSTA'   'CRIPTOPORTICO FORENSE'   'GIARDINO ALPINO CHANOUSIA'   'SANTUARIO DI NOTRE-DAME DE GUERISON'  

VALLE D AOSTA


Aosta Valley is the smallest region in Italy and is in the north-west, between France and Switzerland. Its core is its majestic peaks in this mainly mountainous region, centred around the highest parts of the Alps; Cervino, Mount Rosa, Gran Paradiso and the king of them all, Mont Blanc, which at 4810 metres is the highest mountain in Europe: it is the roof of the old Continent. Those who are not familiar with mountaineering can use the comfor yet spectacular cable car, which can be caught a few kilometres from Courmayeur, one of the most important ski resorts in the world. In this setting of stately mountains and different types of valley, sits the oldest National Park, the Gran Paradiso, where it is still possible to see animals in their natural habitat - ibex, chamois, eagles and marmots live in vegetation which changes according to the surrounding environment. Historically, the Aosta Valley has been viewed as land of contact and fusion between Italy and France, which is reflected in its official bilingualism and its special autonomous region status. The great modern tunnels of Gran San Bernardo and, even more so, Mont Blanc, an engineering masterpiece that ends up in France, highlight even more clearly this aspect of intersection between Italy and the rest of Europe. The only province of the region is Aosta (regional capital).